Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Europol arrests 112 in child porn crackdown

• Registered Users Posts: 3,137 ✭✭✭Balfie

MagicSean wrote: »
    God help the cop who has to look through that much.

I wouldn't say it would just be the one, I'd say a few will have to put in enormous hours into it.. I'm glad its not me..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I've no doubt it does fuk them up. Presume there's a counselling programme - and a full-on one at that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

Good work, Europol.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

They must be incredibly stable people. I certainly couldn't do it - I think it would **** my head right up tbh.

They're silent troopers imo.

Much respect.

I totally agree, I'd be a mental case if I had to look at something like that! Even a few minutes would scar me, but trying to trawl through enough to make a case against someone I want to kill painfully would genuinely push me over the edge!

Silent Troopers... I like that, very very apt!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

RachaelVO wrote: »
    I totally agree, I'd be a mental case if I had to look at something like that!

Yep. I won't even look at those vids of kittens being maltreated never mind children being sexually abused. :(

Thanks. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

I totally agree, I'd be a mental case if I had to look at something like that! Even a few minutes would scar me, but trying to trawl through enough to make a case against someone I want to kill painfully would genuinely push me over the edge!

It's not just about getting enough evidence though. Every image must be viewed so that each victim can be identified.

• Registered Users Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

I was at a wedding and was seated beside a lovely couple, They were both police people. One was an inspector and the other was a computer forensic officer. She told me the worst part of the job was lifting child porn files off PC's. I didn't envy her job.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,610 ✭✭✭stoneill

I have a couple of kids in school, one secondary, one primary, so was interested in hearing a child welfare office speak at a talk organised by the schools. This was about 6 weeks ago.
    Initially it was about online bullying and how to tell if your kids are affected.
    But the talk did go into making sure your kids don't post pictures of themselves online using facebook or whatever social media they use. Even seemingly innocent pics can lure predators to start chatting online with your kids. If you do have children, please please make sure you are looking to see who they are chatting with, what sort of posts are being made and that their images are not being posted online - once the image is swiped from their social network you lose control of it, it can be posted pretty much anywhere on any site. I'm sure you would not like to think your kids pictures are being used on a lure site somewhere.

During the presentation he said that the number of women involved in child porn and abuse is increasing - or rather the number of women caught and convicted is increasing as previously women were not seen as a typical suspect in child porn and abuse cases. Women were seen as care givers and nurturers.
    He did highlight a recently high profile case from Cornwall where a woman working in a creche/childminders was using her phone to take photo's of kids and sending them onto male friends.
    He did mention at the time that a big Europol investigation was going on, and he did say that the gardai were aware of hub of electronic activity somewhere in the midlands, he did not elaborate exactly where.

(I would hope and expect that there are a lot more arrests, and that the bleeding heart liberal civil right do gooders stay the feck away and allow affected parents, abuse victims and society in general decide on what punishment should be meeted out to these people.)

Eh... the courts decide. The bleeding heart whatever derp expression... don't. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Balfie wrote: »
    What I ment by it is women are generally more caring by nature. Most women when they see a baby, a motherly instinct kicks in, not an instinct to want to rape and molest a baby.

Maybe I'm odd but I thought most men wouldn't have an instinct to want to rape and molest a baby when they see it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,610 ✭✭✭stoneill

Dudess wrote: »
    Eh... the courts decide. The bleeding heart whatever derp expression... don't. :rolleyes:

Of course you are correct - I would just hate to see a lenient sentence being handed down if convicted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Dudess wrote: »
    I've no doubt it does fuk them up. Presume there's a counselling programme - and a full-on one at that.

There was one widely reported case in the UK a few years ago where a cop involved in an operation like this ended up taking a liking to what he saw and was arrested and convicted. I'd be amazed if there's a 100% detection rate of such cases.

I was at a wedding and was seated beside a lovely couple, They were both police people. One was an inspector and the other was a computer forensic officer. She told me the worst part of the job was lifting child porn files off PC's. I didn't envy her job.

I wouldn't envy her her job either! I'd either turn into McMurphy at the end of one flew over the cuckoos nest, or I'd turn into Charles Bronson looking for the effers to blow them off the face of the planet!

Just makes ya think though, how much does she have to lift of PCs, if it's the part of her job that she hates most it must be more prevalent than we all believe...

Stoneill, sorry for snapping but it irks me when it's implied that people who don't agree with violent retribution somehow support sick fuks like these - which is what I thought you were saying.
    I wouldn't be surprised if they got light sentences but it wouldn't be anything to do with bleeding hearts, as is regularly incorrectly stated. Very few people would disagree with them getting very lengthy sentences.
    But not disembowelling like that guy in England - I was shocked that even some reasonable people here were pleased with that. That's not bleeding heart, that's just an objection to sick twisted violence.

stoneill wrote: »
    I would hope and expect that there are a lot more arrests, and that the bleeding heart liberal civil right do gooders stay the feck away and allow affected parents, abuse victims and society in general decide on what punishment should be meeted out to these people.

Use Google video (at your own peril) to see how child abusers and rapists are dealt with in the absence of a modern civil justice system.

Personally I don't agree with people being burnt, beaten and stoned to death by angry mobs. That just makes those who apply mob 'justice' almost as depraved as the generates who commit heinous crimes.

Don't get me wrong - I think sentences should be longer and people deemed a risk should have to wear one of those tracking things until they prove they are no longer a risk.

Proud liberal.

Use Google video (at your own peril) to see how child abusers and rapists are dealt with in the absence of a modern civil justice system.

Personally I don't agree with people being burnt, beaten and stoned to death by angry mobs. That just makes those who apply mob 'justice' almost as depraved as the generates who commit heinous crimes.

Don't get me wrong - I think sentences should be longer and people deemed a risk should have to wear one of those tracking things until they prove they are no longer a risk.

Proud liberal.

Sure don't we have a high profile case from years ago. The sentence that Tim Allen got. (Darina Allens husband, dunno if they are still married but they were at the time).

His sentence was ludicrous. For all intents and purposes for a man who is a multi millionaire he got away scot free. It was a shocking sentence, I'm "mildly" liberal in it's place, but this got on my wick, I am actually getting annoyed just thinking about it again and it's from 9 years ago... :mad::mad::mad:

http://www.rte.ie/news/2003/0116/porn.html

The Fine Gael spokesperson for justice has criticised the leniency of the sentence handed down to Ballymaloe chef, Tim Allen

The Fine Gael spokesperson for Justice has criticised the leniency of the sentence handed down to Ballymaloe chef, Tim Allen, who was convicted today of possessing pornographic images of children.
    The Judge substituted a nine-month suspended sentence for a 240-hour community service order after Mr Allen agreed to make a €40,000 contribution to the Edith Wilkins Foundation charity for street children in India.
    Mr Allen will have his name placed on the Sex Offenders' register and must report any change of address to the gardai for the next five years at least.
    John Deasy said it demonstrated a class distinction in the justice system and said anyone else convicted of a similar crime would undoubtedly have ended up with a jail sentence, if they did not have the means to pay such a fine.
    Earlier, the court heard that almost a thousand pornographic images of children, some as young as five years old, were recovered from computers which were seized from his home and his cookery school last May. 92 of these images were printed or had been stored on discs.
    Mr Allen, 52, who was at the court with his wife Darina and their four children, told the court he was horrified by what he had done.
    Judge Patwell said the fact that children had been exploited for sexual gratification was an obnoxious element of this case, and also described some media coverage ahead of the trial as deplorable.
    Paul Gilligan of the Irish Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Children said the sentence did not reflect the seriousness of the offences and sent out the wrong message.
    He also called for a child protection investigation to be conducted into every person convisted of being in posession of child pornography.

Sure don't we have a high profile case from years ago. The sentence that Tim Allen got. (Darina Allens husband, dunno if they are still married but they were at the time).

Oh I'm with you on the sentencing thing. It's appalling how leniently people who engage, either directly or indirectly, in the sexual abuse of kids get treated by the courts.

I don't really agree with the vigilante thing, not because I don't think these people don't deserve to have all their toenails and fingernails pulled out. Cos I do. BUT the problem with that kind of justice is that it could so easily be the wrong person, and that would cause me great concern. It's proven that mob justice just doesn't work. Anything done in anger will get out of hand and cause more trouble in the long run. Which is probably why justice has to be a bit more dispassionate!

The sentencing and the justice in these cases is always very divisive, part of me would like to see the effers hang, the other half wants to see public justice done and the culprit getting his/her just desserts.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Do they know why pedophiles molest kids? Why are they sexually attracted to them? Are they just born like that or is it something that happens to them? Also, not joking, but why do so many priests rape kids? Is it because they can't have sex with women? It must be something to do with it!

• Registered Users Posts: 879 ✭✭✭mossyc123

Do they know why pedophiles molest kids? Why are they sexually attracted to them? Are they just born like that or is it something that happens to them? Also, not joking, but why do so many priests rape kids? Is it because they can't have sex with women? It must be something to do with it!

Paedo's are Paedo's.

They could be a seemingly happily married person or a loner with no sexual or relationship experience.

Celibacy is a non-issue IMO.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

mossyc123 wrote: »
    Paedo's are Paedo's.

They could be a seemingly happily married person or a loner with no sexual or relationship experience.

Celibacy is a non-issue IMO.
    Well why do so many priests abuse kid then. I'm not having a go against the church for the sake of it, but out of the general public, I imagine there's a higher percentage of paedo priests than say teachers or something.

I remember reading something Freud said about paedos developing into paedos if they don't mature properly or something as children.
    Do we have more than most counties here?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭St.Spodo

Well why do so many priests abuse kid then. I'm not having a go against the church for the sake of it, but out of the general public, I imagine there's a higher percentage of paedo priests than say teachers or something.

I remember reading something Freud said about paedos developing into paedos if they don't mature properly or something as children.

I've always thought the main reason why there were/are so many paedophile priests in Ireland because they realised the trust their position would ensure, and the access they would have to children who trusted them.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,137 ✭✭✭Balfie

amacachi wrote: »
    Maybe I'm odd but I thought most men wouldn't have an instinct to want to rape and molest a baby when they see it.

No I know that. I was tryin to explain somethin else. I wasn't saying that all men have an instinct to do that..

• Registered Users Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

RedXIV wrote: »
    Beauty of that though is that Anonymous don't have to jump through hoops to publish a list of names, they can just upload it wherever they like. I hope they keep it up to be honest. While the law enforcement process is a better one for these sickos to be subjected to, I'm sure the thoughts of having their name posted online with the title of "peado" should be enough to put off at least some.

Fair play to the cops etc in this operation, as said above, I'd be prone to letting these guys fall down the stairs if I was there....several times

Isn't it entirely possible for someone's name to be put on a list of names in error? Which is the whole reason we replaced lynch mobs with proper legal systems.

• Registered Users Posts: 173 ✭✭Callipo

KungPao wrote: »
    Babies, little kids...mental illness. That's just against nature, doesn't make any sense.

post-puberty? bit of grey area there perhaps.

One can assume you don't know a lot about "nature" as animals will have sex with their own sex never mind kids. Sometimes they will eat their kids.
    That is nature.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,804 ✭✭✭take everything

36000 hours of this stuff?
    That's something like 4 1/2 years.
    Mind boggling.

Apart from their urges towards kids, what i never get is how these ****ers value getting off over ruining a kid's life. There has to be a psychopathic aspect to this apart from the attraction to children.

Sickening how they try to normalise it.
    Pathetic deluded sick ****ers.

• Registered Users Posts: 173 ✭✭Callipo

36000 hours of this stuff?
    That's something like 4 1/2 years.
    Mind boggling.

Apart from their urges towards kids, what i never get is how these ****ers value getting off over ruining a kid's life. There has to be a psychopathic aspect to this apart from the attraction to children.

Sickening how they try to normalise it.
    Pathetic deluded sick ****ers.

There is a new scientist article on the subject. Google it. mentions all sexual desires including bestiality and homosexuality as well as the subject you mentioned.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,482 ✭✭✭JG009

If pedos are anyway tech savvy and understand and know how to use TOR, there is little the police can do to catch them, especially here in Ireland.

I don't know if anyone here has been on the deep web, or knows what it is but the evil that exists there is scary.

• Registered Users Posts: 32 teishen

JG009 wrote: »
    If pedos are anyway tech savvy and understand and know how to use TOR, there is little the police can do to catch them, especially here in Ireland.

I don't know if anyone here has been on the deep web, or knows what it is but the evil that exists there is scary.

They have to be to find and enjoy what they do. I've come across some of the site directories for TOR and it's sickening to actually come across proof of these websites oneself. :mad:

I feel nothing but sympathy for people who struggle with paedophilia without harming innocents, (I believe there was a movie or somesuch out a while ago about this subject... ?) but to go through with the rape of babies and children is... I don't even have words.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

The fact is that priests are no more likely to abuse minors than members of any other group or profession. We think they are but that's because such cases usually attract much more attention.

http://www.thedailybeast.com/newsweek/2010/04/07/mean-men.html