Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

In contrast to that 'never hand money in'

• 09-12-2011 5:14pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

I got my wallet back today that I lost in town, with all my money in it, right down to the cent, and my medical card :D. So, do hand money. If you know exactly who lost it anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

Did you grill them on what it was in, yeah?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

cloud493 wrote: »
    I got my wallet back today that I lost in town, with all my money in it, right down to the cent, and my medical card :D. So, do hand money. If you know exactly who lost it anyway.

Happy endings not welcome in AH.

Medical card?

Tell us about your health problems please...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

Was your gay card in it as well?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

later10 wrote: »
    Did you grill them on what it was in, yeah?

I don't quite understand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 593 ✭✭✭AnamGlas

I call shenanigans, AH doesn't do happy endings.

I don't quite understand?

What was it in??

What Was It In??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 901 ✭✭✭ChunkyLover_53

It wasn't a happy ending.

He found the money in his wallet in a supermarket car park and told no one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Caveman1

How come you have cash in your wallet if you have a medical card? dole cheat :D

Erm

585 euro in notes
    8.52 in coins
    Xtra vision card
    Medical card
    Library card
    English travel pass from 2009
    A load of old train tickets
    School ID card

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

Erm

585 euro in notes
    8.52 in coins
    Xtra vision card
    Medical card
    Library card
    Someone with a medical card having €585 in their wallet?

Prepare to get flamed :cool:

Its money I've been saving from working and what not since I started at my new job in february :o I was gutted that I lost it, nearly 600 quid, I thought someone would be all over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Caveman1

Erm

585 euro in notes
    8.52 in coins
    Xtra vision card
    Medical card
    Library card

Coins in a wallet? Are ya sure its not a purse :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭al28283

What kind of idiot saves money in his wallet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

That kind of money should be under the mattress and not walking around with you.

To claify this, I had the money with the coins, in a pikachu money box. I took it out, to go and spend it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Pj!

Found an envelope with a couple of thousand punts about 20 years back. I was young, but old enough to know that I should hand it in. But also old enough to know that I could stash it and spend it in bits over a number of years and have an epic time.

Anyway I picked it up, looked up and down the street and noticed a young woman from the other side of town looking very panicked (she didn't see me). She was looking under cars and stuff. It was obvious it was hers.

So I quashed my dreams and gave it back. I felt sort of proud walking up to her to return her hard earned. I suppose I was thinking that she might give me a small reward. £20 was the figure I had in mind but I wasn't picky.

She grabbed it off me and more or less shouted at me asking was it all there. I stood there stunned and she walked off.

Bitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

All your savings (~€600) are kept in your wallet that you walk around with every day?

To claify this, I had the money with the coins, in a pikachu money box. I took it out, to go and spend it.

I took it out that day, to go and spend it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

There are some kind people about, who/how did they give it back to you ?

It had my school ID card in it, with my name, school, on it. He dropped it in there, I went in this morning, they told me a gentleman handed it.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

Did you report the finder to the gardaí? If not, why not?

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

Why would I do that?

Erm

585 euro in notes
    8.52 in coins
    Xtra vision card
    Medical card
    Library card

€8.52?

How exact.

You forgot to mention your school student card.

That's how he found you...

Well I had 8.52 cos I said to myself 'I need 13 cents to buy smokes, So I'l need to break a note'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,605 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Erm

585 euro in notes
    8.52 in coins
    Xtra vision card
    Medical card
    Library card

No man card & inclusion of coins = definitely a purse :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,878 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

hondasam wrote: »
    There are some kind people about, who/how did they give it back to you ?

I am a kind person and I would give it back. And I have no doubt that you would do the same. We shouldn't think that other people are not as good hearted as ourselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭Toby Take a Bow

It had my school ID card in it, with my name, school, on it. He dropped it in there, I went in this morning, they told me a gentleman handed it.

And how!
    Well I had 8.52 cos I said to myself 'I need 13 cents to buy smokes, So I'l need to break a note'

Medical card and smoker? Hmm, surprised AHers haven't been all over this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

Erm

585 euro in notes

8.52 in coins
    Xtra vision card
    Medical card
    Library card
    School ID card

I dont know if this is a bullshit after hours post or not ... cause thats alot of money to be carrying in your wallet. But more importantly, thats alot of money to make someone just keep it and throw away your wallet.

Pj! wrote: »
    Found an envelope with a couple of thousand punts about 20 years back. I was young, but old enough to know that I should hand it in. But also old enough to know that I could stash it and spend it in bits over a number of years and have an epic time.

Anyway I picked it up, looked up and down the street and noticed a young woman from the other side of town looking very panicked (she didn't see me). She was looking under cars and stuff. It was obvious it was hers.

So I quashed my dreams and gave it back. I felt sort of proud walking up to her to return her hard earned. I suppose I was thinking that she might give me a small reward. £20 was the figure I had in mind but I wasn't picky.

She grabbed it off me and more or less shouted at me asking was it all there. I stood there stunned and she walked off. Bitch.

true story, bro.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

How much was the reward ?

LighterGuy wrote: »
    true story, bro.

Cool.

It's

"Cool story, bro"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

Pj! wrote: »

She grabbed it off me and more or less shouted at me asking was it all there. I stood there stunned and she walked off.

Bitch.

Indeed, some people just don't have any class. The matter is simpler in most other European countries, where persons who find valuables and either hand them in to the police lost property office or contact the owner directly are entitled by law to 10% of the value of what they find.:)

I have found several mobile phones and some other stuff over the years (never any more than a single banknote in cash, and I've kept that), but always refused the money offered me. I tend to believe that what goes round comes round.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,906 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Glad you got it OP...would have been a crappy Xmas for you to lose that amount of money...

later10 wrote: »
    Cool.

It's

"Cool story, bro"

I know what I said :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

i handed back a stuffed wallet before and the guy never said thanks... typical d4 batsards eh ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

Sure what self respecting student coming up to Christmas doesnt go arounds with the guts of €600 in his wallet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭Toby Take a Bow

I used to find loads of wallets when I was working in retail. Oh the fun we had rooting through people's wallets, looking at their notes and receipts and cards and the like (we also used this information to locate the owners).

I think where we worked was the 'drop off' point for thieves dumping wallets, though, as there was never any money in them.

I work in retail currently, and we have a box of stuff in the back thats 'left or lost' Don't think any actual effort is put into finding whose it is though, so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Daisy M

I was in a department store today and a young lady lost her purse with 400e in it, it was all her christmas money. She was going frantic looking for it and my sis came over to tell me what had happened and asked me to help look. I turned around and spotted the purse on a shelf. I was so delighted for the girl she had a young child and christmas would have been ruined if she didnt get it back. She was so thankful and tried to give my sisters baby some money as a reward which she wouldnt accept. No reward was necessary the relief on the ladys face was a reward in it self.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,255 ✭✭✭✭Esoteric_

Handed back a guy's wallet in work in town today after a customer handed it in. Don't know exactly what was in it as I didn't check (guy came in looking for it) but if it was you, HI! Thanks for the reward! /sarcasm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 483 ✭✭emer_b

I found a really tacky green and white ring when I was about 10. Held onto it for a few days, wore it going to school, thought it was a bit gaudy so let my sister wear it to school another day.
    Parents eventually reported it to the guards. Turns out it was reported missing by a lady who lost it out of her pocket, was real emeralds and diamonds!
    She gave me £100 reward, which was a fortune...until I was made share it with my sister, give a tenner each to my brothers, and put a few bob in the trocaire box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

I found €20 in a bag of walkers crisps once and I kept it all for myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

OP is too embarassed to mention the Tesco Clubcard that was also in the wallet

Tesco's are ****. Game reward card though :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 568 ✭✭✭irish_man

Was your gay card in it as well?

Can't really talk with your username. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

I do hand up stuff when I find things.

I heard this story from a guy I use to work with, he was out "hunting" around the Skerries area and he found a bag loaded with cash, 1000s, he called the Guards and it turned out to be proceeds from a Securicor robbery.

He got 20 quid reward and all he ever talked about was what he should have done with the money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭The Scientician

I found a wallet one time and coincidentally knew the person from the IDs in it. I knocked up to their gaff and they thought I was mental for returning it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭carfiosaoorl

Erm

585 euro in notes
    8.52 in coins
    Xtra vision card
    Medical card
    Library card
    School ID card

Liar