Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tekken Hybrid

• 30-11-2011 11:06pm
    Registered Users Posts: 876 ✭✭✭

The most worrying thing for me was I had far more fun playing TTTHD with both my house mate who was a decent Tekken player and my house mate who was a casual player (both were fun contests) then trying to work the combo system in TTT2P.

The contrast between TTTHD and the TTT2 demo showed how far the series has disappeared up it's own arse, and how it's evolved into a sort of 'serious only' affair.

Now the combo system, which was basically tripled in complexity and length with the introduction of bind and wall stun has been made even longer with tag assaults, so if you get hit by a hop kick or a df+2 you now officially have time to go take a ****. while your attacker pleases them self with 7 seconds of very difficult commands to make a string which kicks your ass.

Netsu is more complicated version of rage which seems to come and go depending on character actions like some sort of random **** no one cares about(I believe something similar was in TTT, but this time it;s not just more strenght, it's special tags and ****.
    Certain moves effect red health, and there's a chicken **** emergency way of tagging in instantly and with utter invincibility (costing you mentioned Netsu and red health probably or some other random extra ****).
    Rendering spiking and oki or locking down a player and the unique aspect of losing the round if one player dies, almost useless, you'll definitely be able to tag out with perfect invincibility to the incoming player, if not the tagging out player aswell.

TTT2: 'combo porn'. it took the unwanted aspects of T6, and went further down the road.
    why not just make a new gauge or some **** which adds resets and further bind to combos. I want to be hop kicked at the start of the round and then watch a 20 second cartoon of me getting my ass handed to me, in which i have no interaction unless I actually throw my controller at my opponent's head, in real life.

• Registered Users Posts: 876 ✭✭✭Aurongroove

on the bright side TTTHD was far more fun then I remember ever having at Tekken.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,703 ✭✭✭✭K.O.Kiki

Having not played either game, I can state with full authority that they provide better entertainment than the CG movie Tekken: Blood Vengeance.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭1man3letters

id like to pick up tekken again but there just doesnt seem to be any reason2,as mentioned there games gettin worse,ill give TTT2 a chance but it might be the last chance ill give a tekken game.....unless a tekken vs mk came out :pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,447 ✭✭✭richymcdermott

when it comes to fighting games i only play 2 , tekken and mortal kombat
    i was looking forward to hybrid , is it worth picking up ?

when it comes to fighting games i only play 2 , tekken and mortal kombat
    i was looking forward to hybrid , is it worth picking up ?

if u play mk, u should get up to the mk tournies in dublin :D
    support irish mk :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,447 ✭✭✭richymcdermott

if u play mk, u should get up to the mk tournies in dublin :D
    support irish mk :cool:

i would love too but i would not stand a chance :pac::pac:

its not if u can win,its supporting your game and ull never get better just playin mk online :p go get out there and level up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

on the bright side TTTHD was far more fun then I remember ever having at Tekken.

Is that because it brought BigStupidGuy back down from his T6 perch?

Feckin hell I miss the Tekken craic!

Also found a place near me that has TTT2 consoles but I'm really lazy.

• Registered Users Posts: 551 ✭✭✭Monkeyto

Is that because it brought BigStupidGuy back down from his T6 perch?

Feckin hell I miss the Tekken craic!

Also found a place near me that has TTT2 consoles but I'm really lazy.

You might as well make the effort and go! I hadn't played any games in ages, but playing a few games of Aqua Pazza the other day reminded me how fun it can be :)

It only ¥100 right? Bring 500 in your pocket and your sorted for an hours worth of JPN Tekken craic!

• Registered Users Posts: 899 ✭✭✭BigStupidGuy

Yeah I mostly agree with Aurongroove, I only ever played Tekken 6... But after playing TTT1 HD it does feel that the game has become less technical, which is really sad, because it is a class game.

The risk vrs reward for throwing out a random hopkick in Tekken is totally retarded! That's the one big beef I have with the game, it rewards launch spammers to generously. Oh Funky you should stop playing skyrim and get your ass down to the arcade like a good Japanese boy, let me know if Jun is any fun

To answer your question Funky, Big stupid isn't too bad at it, he's actually gotten better at tekken in general several times over, so he's not without his weapons even if you take the main gun of brillient 100+ juggling. My encyclopedic knowledge of the older tekkens is just about keeping me above water. But I havn't really had any 'serious matches'

so TTT has leveled the playing field, but it hasn't made the playing field where I am once again tekken god of the house. I'd just be slighly more likely to win with shinanagins, like a weird move that has since been taken out, or player which have been drastically changed, then not.

myself v martin, myself v Big stupid, or with joe, are all close games.

to answer the question about wither tekken hybrid is worth buying.

it;s actually cheaper then a full game, (30ish quid?) dont be under any illusion that the film is brillient, it;s only OK, the TTT2 demo (prologue my arse; it's a demo) is fine, but highlights the need for a person to go instantly into practice mode for "post bind" Tekkens, you'll be scratching your head trying to "tag assault" combos.

TTTHD is the most fun I've had this year with a fighting game since Mortal Kombat, and it is MORE fun then Mortal Kombat especially the team battles.
    definatly worth 30 quid alone, with a free movie and game demo attached.

Am I the only one who likes the film...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,966 ✭✭✭Scavenger XIII

Am I the only one who likes the film...

I found it fairly entertaining though the end was particularly LOLWUT even by the standards it had set for itself... and
    Lee didn't fight Anna
    , that was a missed opportunity for some comedy.

Yeah your right there he was a pretty strangely used character. Alisa and Ling were funny though! And some pretty questionable camera shots/angles thrown in for the lads too... (shower scene too..:eek:)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭batman_oh

TTT was the one I was best at and by far the best one they ever made for me. I loved the game back then and actually went across to the UK to play it a few times. There was a big enough arcade scene too and we ran some successful enough tournaments. The game was based more on spacing and punishment and although there were overpowered characters it was never annoying like T6.
    T5DR is the closest they got to that. T6/BR are stupid nonsense in my book. Unless you are willing to spend your entire life learning every character you are open to spam/random string/misc bull**** as there are too many identikit characters with too many strings, too many spammy moves and too many juggles.
    TTT has feck all of anything, but works much better.
    Any1 for a few games :D

• Registered Users Posts: 405 ✭✭Kuro Tao

I feel out of place saying I can't wait for the console launch of TTT2 now.
    I loved T6, and the bind/wall system. If anything, the older games feel scrubby for me now.
    It's a shame the scene died out before I could play offline competitively, but that's really the main reason I look forward to TTT2.
    What characters are available in the demo? I don't think I'll be buying Hybrid if there are only like 4 characters.

Tekken 5 DR was the best.

Top tournament players agreed.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭Naphiel

T5:DR and TTT1 are my favourites.
    Wasn't that big a fan of T6. I'll try TTT2 before making a judgement.

Well TTT2 takes T6 and goes further down the path with it.

I was never a fan of the T6 changes but I did tolerate them. Unless I was given the wrong impression by the demo, I dont think I can tolerate them in TTT2 and still have fun playing.

An option to turn binding off and wall splat rolling escapes on (like in T4) for casual matches might be an idea? or SOME sort of way a person can controll falling or twisting to put the comboer off even a little bit of make then have ot adapt. T6 was all about combos and TTT2 is even more so, there are easily df+2 and hopkicks that can end matches in two openings.

Having your input into a match shut off for 5 to 10 seconds is borderline insanity for a vs fighter. If I wanted a game where I was the only person controlling the action when winning, and to watching helplessly when losing, I'd've taken up snooker.

Having your input into a match shut off for 5 to 10 seconds is borderline insanity for a vs fighter

you havnt played mk9 and got cuaght in a quan chi or cyrax combo then?
    or sub zero is any other mk :pac::pac::pac:

If I wanted a game where I was the only person controlling the action when winning, and to watching helplessly when losing, I'd've taken up snooker.

You have obviously never played Blazblue.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭Naphiel

Or UMvC3.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

Jesus lads, whether he played Mk9 (which he has, as stated above) or Blazblue (which he also has) is irrelevant.

The discussion is about Tekken, a completely different system from the aforementioned. Let's get with the programme etc!

Having your input into a match shut off for 5 to 10 seconds is borderline insanity for a vs fighter.

Come to think of it, what magical fighting game have you been playing lately where this doesn't happen?

Kuro Tao wrote: »
    Come to think of it, what magical fighting game have you been playing lately where this doesn't happen?
    KOF.

Though that's because we don't know combos yet.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,868 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

Eh... Street Fighter 4?

But yes it's the thing which auto puts me off any fighting game. I like short, heigh execution combos.

Will prob pick this up some time.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,229 ✭✭✭Dreddybajs

SF4 has its share of lengthy combo stuff, sure Abel's ultra animation lasts 7 or 8 seconds I think. Not nearly as bad or regular an offender as some other games though.

• Registered Users Posts: 550 ✭✭✭chueytoo

You have obviously never played Blazblue.

Blazblue gives you burst plus you have dead angle, also only 3/4 char right now can kill you in roughly 2 combos in a match which is viable.

one being 2D noel into fenrir near corner thats 100meter and mak and the last one being tager with 2, 720 and arukune with curse. thats is all.

tekken lacks a burst or a get off me move.

sf4 is the only game that doesn't have long combos, but consider the the cross ups/mix ups some char can do aka akuma I wish that game had a bloody burst.

TTT2 does have a combo breaker system now I believe. Which will let you stop one combo in a game. Quite interesting, I hope it is good and goes ahead for the console release.

TTT1 is probably the "magical fighting game" Aurongroove was referring to, the combos in that are very very short... less extreme than SSFIV etc....

But yeah, maybe the huge loss of life in TTT2 combos doesn't really matter since you can tag out and regenerate health now.

If you think about it moves in TTT1 lost more health than later games, so the longer combos basically evens it out now, except you have to learn how to do them :P

• Registered Users Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭batman_oh

If you think about it moves in TTT1 lost more health than later games, so the longer combos basically evens it out now, except you have to learn how to do them :P

True but the issue with t6 was say Bryan. Launch on almost any level with walls = wall carry nonsense mega combo and the you stand up into a taunt guard break or 50/50 mix up to see if you die. At least in TTT you had a second character. The intial juggles were damaging but when you add in the wall damage (Bryan, Bruce, Jack, Lars, Steve, Law being particular offenders) you end up with nothing left and a guessing game when you get up!

T5Dr had some broken wall nonsense too though, and T5 Bryan, Nina and Steve were just retarded