Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Poachers

• 27-11-2011 11:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32

Out for a family walk in a coillte forest at 3:30 today I came across a jeep parked ,round the bend were 3 deer hunters,not locals,2 with rifles shooting sticks binos etc.We just passed by and there was no exchange of words.There is no lease on this forest and it has the usual Coillte sign about no fires, camping, firearms ,vehicles etc at the entrance ,the barrier is often open as they cut timber often there.What would you do about this,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭aurin07

Dont confront them..

Take visual ID's of them.
    Camera phone pics of the Jeep / Reg if Safe to do so.

Ring guards/forestry board.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 fear tuath

Pics were taken.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

how do you know there is no lease? is there any private land close by where they could of been shooting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭Vizzy

how do you know there is no lease? is there any private land close by where they could of been shooting?

If there is no lease they are poaching
    If there is a lease they shouldn't be there at 3.30 in the afternoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭snipeface

fear tuath wrote: »
    Out for a family walk in a coillte forest at 3:30 today I came across a jeep parked ,round the bend were 3 deer hunters,not locals,2 with rifles shooting sticks binos etc.We just passed by and there was no exchange of words.There is no lease on this forest and it has the usual Coillte sign about no fires, camping, firearms ,vehicles etc at the entrance ,the barrier is often open as they cut timber often there.What would you do about this,

Are you sure they were poachers?

Deer poachers usually operate under cover of darkness, unless i'm wrong.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,696 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Firstly unless they were in possession of any wild animal its not poaching its trespass (possibly). Youwould need to be 100% certain that they are poaching/trespassing. So you would need to be sure that;
    • The vehicle was inside the forest boundary
    • They were shooting (as they had no deer, etc that could be hard)
    • Who the people involved are as all that could be proved was the vehicle was there, and possibly the registered owner of the vehicle.
    • That there is actually NO lease on that forest, and not just your say so/someone you know saying so. Coilte would be the only ones to answer this.
    Even after all this unless you had photgraphic evidence of them dragging out a deer or carrying some wild animal then the absolute worse thing they could be done for would be trespass. That would be hard to prove, and a long battle needing your involvement from start to finish.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭243Xpress

They shouldnt have been in there at that time on a Sunday evening poaching or not.Loads of cowboys going out shooting where ever they feel like.Have to look at it from a safety point of view.You should have rang the guards there and then.

Vizzy wrote: »
    If there is no lease they are poaching
    If there is a lease they shouldn't be there at 3.30 in the afternoon.
    I asked how he knew there was no lease.

They shuld not be shooting after 11am i know that but iv often gon out for a shoot and stood around talkin about it after for longer than the hunt was:D

I asked how he knew there was no lease.

They shuld not be shooting after 11am i know that but iv often gon out for a shoot and stood around talkin about it after for longer than the hunt was:D

Wasn't getting at you.
    Sorry if you took it that way:)

Vizzy wrote: »
    Wasn't getting at you.
    Sorry if you took it that way:)
    I knew that lad just sayin tho it wouldnt be uncommon to stand around talkin ****e for 4 hours aftr bein out for a shoot:D

could it have been NPWS rangers??

I knew that lad just sayin tho it wouldnt be uncommon to stand around talkin ****e for 4 hours aftr bein out for a shoot:D

could it have been NPWS rangers??

Unlikely I would think.
    I have come across the ranger a few times but if they are shooting they have all the signs up and I would think that they would be gone by 11.30

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭underthetumb

You can shoot in the evening, with permission from forest manager. However no signs up makes you think they shouldn't be there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭meathshooter1

You can shoot in the evening, with permission from forest manager. However no signs up makes you think they shouldn't be there

+ 1

also the vehicle can only be used in the forest for extracting shot deer unless they had a long drag ?.came across this myself last season two lads in a jeep they stopped me on private land forestry and asked what I was doing they had the lease of coillte.I politely told them they where on private land and that collite dint own this land or have not let any land in the area(know the ranger and the girl over the area in coillte)they then said red faced that they only got it the other day,two chancers not fair on the lad who pays coillte for the shooting rights

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 fear tuath

As confirmed by Ciollte there is no lease in that area,they were tresspassing,I live locally all my life and hunt in this area for the last 24 years they do not.When I bring my kids for a walk in the woods I no not expect to meet an 08 cork reg Ford Ranger with two rifles where it should not be.I know i also can do nothing about this .
    At resent community alert meeting I had to stand up for the local hunters when we were all were accused of lamping and jeeps being driven about at all hours.
    Local guards are now interested in all reg of strange vehicles to investigate who is about,I have deer on my land and have no problem culling them as they eat my grass and damage fences, its the guys that think they can enter any lands they wish i have issue with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Tawny Owl

Well put I agree 100% in our Club this year all the Vehicles have what looks like a tax disc showing that the Vehicle is a Member of the Local Club for the year 2011-2012 I had them printed myself it also helps with any Farmer or Landowner to idenify any Jeep / Car that seems strange in the area I think all Clubs should introduce this we sold the stickers within the Club for € 2 each so the cost is on the Member I don't think it;s a lot to ask and keeps everybody happy,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

It also advertises your a firearms owner and hunter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭ferrete

Makes your car a target for crimals or thrives looking for firearms or ammo and makes the vehicle more lilly to be damaged by tree huggers even if you are doing the shopping in a local super market

Dusty87 wrote: »
    It sure does it 's inplace when Hunting not when your driving to work

ferrete wrote: »
    Makes your car a target for crimals or thrives looking for firearms or ammo and makes the vehicle more lilly to be damaged by tree huggers even if you are doing the shopping in a local super market

And you dont cover everything when your shooting you only have to look into a car or jeep to work out there Hunters,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭323

Tawny Owl wrote: »
    Well put I agree 100% in our Club this year all the Vehicles have what looks like a tax disc showing that the Vehicle is a Member of the Local Club for the year 2011-2012 I had them printed myself it also helps with any Farmer or Landowner to idenify any Jeep / Car that seems strange in the area I think all Clubs should introduce this we sold the stickers within the Club for € 2 each so the cost is on the Member I don't think it;s a lot to ask and keeps everybody happy,

Like this idea.

Proud of it,personally I'd rather rub it in the tree huggers face's, after all we actually way outnumber them.

“Follow the trend lines, not the headlines,”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 672 ✭✭✭ace86

whats the story so if you have a forestry rented for coillte for game shooting you have to have it shot by 11.30 or does this only apply to deer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭homerhop

as far as I know it should stipulate on your agreement with coillte

323 wrote: »
    Proud of it,

As am I :confused:
    personally I'd rather rub it in the tree huggers face's

And maybe come back to your tyres slashed, vehicle in bits.
    (has happened plenty of times before).
    after all we actually way outnumber them
    So? Whats that got to do with it? I dont think you understood what i meant in the first post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭The Big Fella

As am I :confused:

So? Whats that got to do with it? I dont think you understood what i meant in the first post.

Many a hunter sticks up country side alliance stickers up in there window after all we have to stand up for our sport. If your tyres have been slashed in a carpark before Id be letting an garda know.;)

They havnt dont worry, and yea thats what id be doing. Usually CCTV around car parks. Not so much down a back road.
    How is sticking a sticker up standing up for our sport?
    Many hunters, including a lot on here, dont stick up stickers for the simple reason of what happened to lads on a hunt not too far from me. Im sure Tack has heard of it. I think he mentioned it here before too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,374 ✭✭✭J.R.

As I posted in a previous post elsewhere

J.R. wrote: »
    Friend of mine in the homeland - Kerry - does a lot of duck shooting. He was parked down a lane and gone duck shooting. Local poachers frequent there as it's a great spot for salmon. Often remarked that they hadn't a clue when he was around with that 'camo gear'.

When he came back to the car one evening after duck shooting the four tyres were slashed - 6'-8' slashes.....2 on each tyre.

Had to leave the car there and return in the morning with cavity blocks so he could remove 4 wheels & tyres....then transport them to tyre replacement outfit......then return and fit.

Cost him €280 plus a wasted morning missing work & tying up a friend as well with transport and a trailer.

He guesses it was the poachers but couldn't prove it.....but is very hesitant to return and park at that spot. Reported it to Gardaí, Fisheries Baliffs, NPWS etc. who were all very sympathetic and digusted with such behaviour. They all promised to keep an 'eye' on the spot but couldn't patrol 24/7, which is understandable.

Poachers were never caught doing anything illegal although the authorities did bump into them on numerous occasions since at the spot.

It was a great duck hunting spot but sadly it now seems the poachers will have it to themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

The cheek of some of them is unreal...was chatting with a guy who works for a farmer/landowner who shall remain anonymous by name and location. There's a house on the farm but it's not fulltime occupied.

Anyway, one night not that long ago the landowner who was doing a few bits and bobs on the farm was staying overnight and sometime after dark he sees a set of headlights and a spotlight in one of his fields.

He jumps in the jeep and tears down the field towards the lights, stops the bucko's in the jeep who were lamping and asks who gave them permission. Reply came : oh such and such did. Reply from the farmer : Well, I am such and such and I don't even feckin know you, now get the feck of my land.

Agree with fear tuath on the fact that you should be able to walk at 3.30pm in a Forest but dont give out about a Cork Reg 08c as said in your first post you had no contact with the said Hunters I drive a 06D jeep and liven in Kildare does this mean I am from Dublin all us Hunters are there to enjoy our Sport and you will get the few ( Pochers ) but report anything you can but don't tar us Hunters as not responsible,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

I wouldnt have a sticker on my car advertising that i have guns. If someone see's the sticker and decides he want to rob them its not that hard to follow you home and find out where you live. or they could spot the sticker on your car outside the house.

I have to walk in and out of the village with the gun over my shoulder heading home. I was told its grand but one thing to watch out for is any strange cars seen you go into the house, theres a lot of Burglaries around here lately and I dont want strangers knowing theres firearms in the house.

garv123 wrote: »
    I wouldnt have a sticker on my car advertising that i have guns. If someone see's the sticker and decides he want to rob them its not that hard to follow you home and find out where you live. or they could spot the sticker on your car outside the house.

I have to walk in and out of the village with the gun over my shoulder heading home. I was told its grand but one thing to watch out for is any strange cars seen you go into the house, theres a lot of Burglaries around here lately and I dont want strangers knowing theres firearms in the house.

That's not a great statement you dont want a sticker on your Car in case someone finds out your a hunter and breaks into your house but you walk through your Village with the Gun over your shoulder O come on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

That's not a great statement you dont want a sticker on your Car in case someone finds out your a hunter and breaks into your house but you walk through your Village with the Gun over your shoulder O come on.

I dont want strangers knowing. i know everyone in the small village, Who all know i hunt. Its security reasons I dont want strangers knowing it.

you can watch your back when you are walking with the gun but you park in a carpark somewhere you could park beside someone who will read the sticker as "hey criminals iv got guns in my house! Follow me home if your interested in them". Not beyond any possibility and worth the chance for the sake of a sticker on your car? Not for me anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Put your stickers on the local antis car instead?:)

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

you can watch your back when you are walking with the gun but you park in a carpark somewhere you could park beside someone who will read the sticker as "hey criminals iv got guns in my house! Follow me home if your interested in them". Not beyond any possibility and worth the chance for the sake of a sticker on your car? Not for me anyway!

Lads your missing the the point here what carpark I put the sticker on the car at the local Farmer / Landowners Property I'am not shooting in Aldi's carpark any property we shot is well away from Houses I been out lots of times and you may never see anyone but another Member of the Club I agree in what you say about minding yourself. When leaving any Property I would be lucky to see a car till I get down to the Town.