Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Disabled spaces/toilets - Do You Use Them When You Shouldn't?

• 22-11-2011 9:47pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

Hello Ladies.:)

I'm a bit infuriated today. I've been looking after my cousin all day, and this afternoon I thought it would be nice to go Christmas shopping in a local mall.

Its not as straightforward as it sounds. My cousin is severely disabled after a catastrophic road accident several years ago, is confined to a wheelchair, and cannot communicate verbally. But we still enjoy being out together and have a laugh, even if just the two of us know it. :)

While we were out (got the disabled parking space no problem), I needed to take her to the disabled bathroom, not a problem.

Except it was occupied. I could hear laughing and several people inside (no, they weren't getting busy :P) and after about 15 minutes, I knocked. I was screamed at through the door to F-ck off, so loudly it set off a crying response in my cousin. Its very hard to stop her crying once it starts.

I had no choice but to wait, other toilets aren't an option for her. So I waited, and after twenty minutes three girls came out, after apparently applying their makeup and putting on their new clothes.

It was too late. The crying set off a chain reaction of physical responses and I had to abandon the trip and take her home to change.

I didn't want to upset or humiliate her further by laying into the girls, and to be honest they were so belligerent and vocal I don't think they'd have given a sh!t. One of them had the nerve to shoot a look of disgust at my cousin.

I'm angry with them, but more than that, I'm angry with myself for not saying anything. I'm filled with impotent rage!

My question is: Do any of you ladies use the disabled loo's for anything other than its intended purpose? Have you ever used a disabled parking space without reason? How would the Ladies of the Lounge have handled the situation?

Restore my faith in humanity!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,514 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

I have a disabilty and this pees me off no end. Local auld ones here seem to think they are entitled to use the disabled bays at the supermarket and people who frankly, could do with the walk, seem to think that being lazy is a disability.

As to toilets, when I need to go, I need to go NOW. 10 mins wait is not an option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,513 ✭✭✭✭Lucyfur

This type of thing infuriates me. There are so few disabled parking spaces and toilets to begin with. WHY would a perfectly able bodied person use them??? It really grinds my gears.

I hope you and your cousin are ok xx

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

I use disabled toilets from time to time. Only because they baby changing facilities are in them in most places. I have never parked in a disabled space.

Sorry about what happened with your cousin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

Das Kitty wrote: »
    I use disabled toilets from time to time. Only because they baby changing facilities are in them in most places. I have never parked in a disabled space.

Sorry about what happened with your cousin.

Its understandable if its a baby changing station :)

Thanks for the xx's Lucyfur :)

We're fine, but it takes so much organisation to go out for the day, and she just loves it so much when we get out alone. I was so disappointed for her I was literally crying on the way home.

I know that nearly every person is decent and kind in these situations. Its just so disheartening to meet such callousness.

• Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭Neyite

My pet hate is able-bodied people using disabled spaces, or toilets. Equally I am in constant disgust at tossers who park on pavements and block pedestrians, wheelchairs and buggys passing while they are yawing with their buddies outside a school. I really, really, really hate those wagons (and I dont mean the cars!) There are 2 schools on my way to work and if the buckles on my handbag happened to scrape a car while squeezing past on the pavement, I would not be in the least bit contrite. I may even be slightly gleeful (and thats coming from a car owner).

We had a disabled badge for the car, but at no stage did we use it parking when the disabled person was not with us. Not even if we were miles from the door and it p!ssing rain. We just knew how hard it is for the disabled to do the most basic of things. Going to the toilet or going down a street is not something non-disabled even think about, yet the disabled have to map and plan and think about their day, route, the establishment they go into all around their limited capabilites. I think you only understand the frustration if you have had someone close to you experience being inconvenienced by these scumbags.

Your poor cousin. Her day out ruined by 3 little scummers. :mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

disabled toilets are meant to be easily opened from the outside when necessary, with a coin or screwdriver. just so you know for next time some gaggle of numbnuts tells you to fcuk off.

I'd love to have the nerve, but I just couldn't put my cousin through more shouting and insults. She's very defenceless and they were VERY belligerent.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭Carsinian Thau

I have only ever parked in a disabled space having driven there with my dad (who's in a wheelchair), would never dream of using one otherwise. Absolutely drives me up the wall when people do this.

Would never have the courage to say anything to them (a "You've taken the space, would you like the disability as well?" note would be as far as I'd dare to go) so I just quietly seethe away.

Very unfair on you and your cousin. :mad::mad:

Times like that you really want the security guard to rout them out and give them a bollocking. ;) But I think I would have been like you Giselle, and not pulled them on it - not with 3 of them and your cousin already in distress.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Acoshla

I have never knowingly parked in a disabled space, I did once accidentally because the symbol on the ground was so worn away that I only realised I was on it when I saw them either side of me, I moved my car immediately and felt like apologising to any passers by to explain I hadn't done it on purpose!

I only use disabled toilets when two things collide at one time - I am dying to go, and the place I am in is very quiet or empty and the chances of anybody at all needing a bathroom in the next 60 seconds is slim. If I do have to use one I get in and out as quick as possible, and would never delay in there at all if someone knocked on the door to use it.

Teenage girls are a curse in bathrooms, they don't care about anyone else and think public bathrooms are there purely for them to feck about with makeup, alcohol or pregnancy tests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 494 ✭✭missbelle

Acoshla wrote: »
    I only use disabled toilets when two things collide at one time - I am dying to go, and the place I am in is very quiet or empty and the chances of anybody at all needing a bathroom in the next 60 seconds is slim. If I do have to use one I get in and out as quick as possible, and would never delay in there at all if someone knocked on the door to use it.

+1 here.
    One of the local shopping centres closes the main toilets in the evening (there's a 24hr tesco in the centre), so had to use the disabled toilet once. Also, in the nightclub I used to work in, was absolutely bursting to go one night so the bouncer let me use it, otherwise I'd have been ages, firstly trying to get to the main toilets through the crowd and then waiting for all the drunk girls to come out of one of the cubicles in their gangs!! :rolleyes: the manager didn't want me away from the bar for long :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,057 ✭✭✭MissFlitworth

I do use disabled toilets if all the other toilets areo occupied and I am desperate for a wee but my understanding of them is that they're there because people with mobility issues need a bathroom with extra space (for wheelchairs, helpers or general manouvering) & grab handles/lower sinks etc. and there has to be one stall provided that is accessible, not that it's for sole use of disabled people. As Das Kitty mentioned the baby changing facilities tend to be in that stall as well so they are kinda multifunctional a lot of the time.

I'm a serious in-and-out girl, wouldn't use one unless I really needed to & don't dawdle but I can't say I see a problem with someone using the disabled stall if there's nothing else available. Hanging around in one getting changed etc. is taking the piss.

I do use disabled toilets if all the other toilets areo occupied and I am desperate for a wee but my understanding of them is that they're there because people with mobility issues need a bathroom with extra space (for wheelchairs, helpers or general manouvering) & grab handles/lower sinks etc. and there has to be one stall provided that is accessible, not that it's for sole use of disabled people..

The issue I have with this is that an able bodied person is much more capable of waiting than a disabled person, most of the time. A wait for a stall isn't that big a deal for most people, but could be disasterous for a disabled person.

If its another disabled person using the loo thats one thing, but waiting for an able person to leave the disabled loo is very annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 538 ✭✭✭OkayWhatever

My mam works for St Michael's house and she likes to bring the girls out to Omni or shopping or whatever, get them out of the house.

One day she went to park in a wheelchair parking space to find that the 2 of them were taken up by one boy racer car. My mam waited for them to get back and when they did she gave them such grief. Went mental, and rightly so.

The driver turned around to my mam and told her to basically cop on and that she should have parked elsewhere because it doesn't make a difference to somebody who gets pushed around in a wheelchair all day. And that it's easier for them to get from one end of the carpark to the other. The 3 lads thought this was the funniest thing in the world, probably because they were just a bunch of pure scummers.

I don't understand how people can do things and say things like that, how they don't care even a little bit, it's not difficult to apologise. :mad:

I'm so mad reading this so I really hope you and your cousin are okay xxx

Thanks everybody for the lovely replies and the empathy! :)

Its nice to know how much it matters to other people that disabled people are treated with kindness and respect. I've been really upset all about it, because my lovely cousin has a hard enough life without being treated as a lesser being or abused.

I feel much better about the world after all the support.

Thanks a mil. :)

You're all lovely girls!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 711 ✭✭✭dammitjanet

I have a serious pet peve of people who park in disabled spaces. Really just gets to me. Especially people who park in them because the carpak is busy and they can't find a space :rolleyes: one will free up eventually, but don't make it so someone who needs the pace can't access it!

My grandfather had a wheelchair sticker, he was very unsteady on his feet and couldn't walk far and the amount of times we'd our day outs with him (which we couldn't do that often) screwed up by some twit parking illegally was insane.

My gran used to leave friendly notes on the cars polietly suggesting to them that they maybe think of others less fortunate in the future- she was such a classy woman.

I used to report them to the reception for announcement to move or if it was on a main street, to the gardai- less classy but to be honest, more likely to stop them doing it again imo.

OP, I'm so sorry for what happened to your cousin. I believe in Karma and hopefully it'll come back to bit those girls in the ass. How can people be so selfish??

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 27,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

I think I've only ever used them in places, like small cafes, where there is just one toilet, which is adapted so it suits all patrons' needs. And before, in a hospital, where all the cubicles were adapted.
    But again, there's a difference between someone popping in quickly because they're bursting (wrong) and staying in there for aages applying their make up (bloody rude!) :mad:

I know it's easy to say don't let them upset you, but, really, they're not worth it. You will have other lovely days out with your cousin whereas they're stuck being obnoxious tossers forever.

I'm not in any way making light of what was obviously very upsetting to your cousin, but since dammitjanet mentioned bad karma, if anyone ever watches 'The IT Crowd' there's a great episode called 'The Work Outing' which shows how wrongfully using the disabled toilet can certainly have consequences! :D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aW2esYwKxiU

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭Carsinian Thau

The driver turned around to my mam and told her to basically cop on and that she should have parked elsewhere because it doesn't make a difference to somebody who gets pushed around in a wheelchair all day. And that it's easier for them to get from one end of the carpark to the other. The 3 lads thought this was the funniest thing in the world, probably because they were just a bunch of pure scummers.

:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad: That's absolutely vile. Scum like that make me angry. :mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Rodin

Anyone parking in a disabled space without a badge should have their car physcially removed. That'd soon sort it out

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 27,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

Couldn't agree more. The sheer cheek of some people actually amazes me!! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭slarkin123

I would use a disabled toilet if i had the baby with me. But do you see this crap of parking in disabled spots and parents spots, it drives me mental altogether. There is nothing that gets me more wound up and I've been known to have a go at a few men for doing it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Acoshla

A bit off topic but my uncle (who lives in the UK) was in a branch of an Irish department store chain about 8 years ago with his first baby, he needed to change the baby's nappy and when he went to find the baby changing facilities he discovered they were in the women's bathrooms, none in the men's, and none in a unisex area. He was so used to them being in the general bathroom area in the UK that he of course hadn't considered he'd have any problems here.

Anyways, the staff wouldn't let him into the women's bathroom to change the baby's nappy, so he ended up changing it on the floor of the disabled bathroom, he gave them hell, and also pointed out that the Mother & Baby parking space should be Parent & Baby. Mad to think that it was so uncommon for a man to be out alone with his baby that they didn't even have changing facilities to accommodate him.

I use the wheelchair accessible toilets in cases where it is the only option.
    I would never pop in "quickly", "because I was dying to go" , because "noone who needs them is around" etc.
    Some people who need that facility havent the luxury of being able to hold it.
    To those people, that little simple facility can be the difference between staying cooped up at home, or interacting with the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 813 ✭✭✭wiger toods

I use one, on very rare occasions though, i mean really rare. There's one in our village and if i cant get parking and only intend being a few minutes, il block that **** up with my car. Nobody uses it anyway, except me that is. Sorry:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

I have used both - but with reason...there are three disabled toilet in our local shopping centre which double up as baby-changing rooms and family loos...I've also parked in spaces reserved for disabled drivers but only when I was on crutches for a very painful hip condition when heavily pregnant and needed to get nappies or medicine or something.

I don't like using public toilets so generally avoid at all costs when on my own - and I haven't parked in a space reserved for disabled drivers/blue badge holders since - promise!

Your poor cousin, Giselle - hope you get another run and it goes much better xxx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

I would never use a disabled parking bay, and the amount of people who shamelessly do shocks me!

I do however use disabled toilets on a regular basis in work-only because there are six of them (four disabled, two baby changing) very close to my desk and the standard loos are a good bit more away. There's never more than two in use at a time and its usually pretty quiet so the chances of someone needing one in the 60 seconds Im in there are slim to none. I do know of people who go in there to nap the odd time (no joke) and have given them a bollicking on a few occasions over it. Chances are someone wont need it, but they're there for a reason, and a sleep is not it.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I've never done it, though to be honest it would never be a problem most of the time if I did. The big supermarket nearby has over 100 disabled parking spaces and it's very rare to see a car (with or without a disabled sticker) parked in any of them. The shop itself is not exactly wheelchair friendly though which might account for them growing cobwebs. The point is though that the overwhelming majority of people will not apparently park in a wheelchair space whatever the circumstances.

There's a similar scenario in the multi-storey car-park in town where there are about 40 disabled spaces grouped on the 5th floor and the lifts aren't wide enough for a wheelchair! I can't begin to imagine how infuriating it is for someone to come up against a half-arsed design as that.

I will occasionally use disabled toilets if both kids need to go at the same time and there's nobody around. It's not really right, but I'm not going to lie and say I don't do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,787 ✭✭✭Feisar

Nothing you could have done about it. No point in giving trash like that a telling off. It really pisses me of that people are so insensitive to others these days. Maybe its the product of "how dare you say that to my little princess" parenting?

Things like this should be taken more seriously by security staff in shops: bar people or whatever. Unfortunately this is not the case.

Only method of recourse is to say something that is illicit a physical response and hand out an ass whoopin!

I never park in handicapped places.

First they came for the socialists...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭LeeHoffmann

I've used disabled toilets before because the disabled and ladies toilet was one and the same. I've often wondered why that is and whether disabled men take exception to this at all. I wouldn't use a disabled parking space

Terrible story OP. Sorry for both you and your cousin. The girls should be ashamed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭kiwi123

How were those girls not mortified?! truely disgusting behavious. I find it shocking that they werent very apologetic when they left. They should have been!!!

Leaving someone with a disablilty to wait for them - not to use the toilet (bad enough) but to stay inside and have the craic?

i know a story of a man who used parent and child parking and was told abused by some woman who said it was for mother and child so he wasnt entitled to park there with his som. She had NO child in the car.

Some people are just pig ignorant.

sorry to hear you had such a bad experience op x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭borderlinemeath

I would never, ever use a disabled parking space. There's a dunnes stores close to me that is regularly abused with people parking in the wheelchair accessible spaces and only once have I seen a car clamped. (with tow embarrassed women sitting in it!)

I think I have used a disabled access toilet once in my life. I can usually hold myself til a queue dies down.

So sorry for the situation you found yourself in OP, if it were me, I don't think I would've been able to keep schtum with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,788 ✭✭✭MrPudding

I hate people using disabled spaces and frequently complain in shops when they are used by people without badges.

Also, try using one of my favourite lines with able bodies people that park in them, "excuse me. You do realise your spaces are for the physically disabled?" It usually takes a while for that to work through their brain.

MrP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

I'll occasionally use the disabled bathroom if it's the only one free (and there's no sign of anyone needing it). As others have said, it's pretty much in and out...

At work though, the only disabled gents cubicle also has the only shower. I'll end up hogging that for a while in the mornings. No wheelchair users in the building though so it would only be need very rarely.
    Acoshla wrote: »
    A bit off topic but my uncle (who lives in the UK) was in a branch of an Irish department store chain about 8 years ago with his first baby, he needed to change the baby's nappy and when he went to find the baby changing facilities he discovered they were in the women's bathrooms, none in the men's, and none in a unisex area. He was so used to them being in the general bathroom area in the UK that he of course hadn't considered he'd have any problems here.

Anyways, the staff wouldn't let him into the women's bathroom to change the baby's nappy, so he ended up changing it on the floor of the disabled bathroom, he gave them hell, and also pointed out that the Mother & Baby parking space should be Parent & Baby. Mad to think that it was so uncommon for a man to be out alone with his baby that they didn't even have changing facilities to accommodate him.

He should have plonked the baby up on the counter and changed her there!...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,357 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

If I'm being honest, yes I have used a disabled toilet - in work from time to time. Where I work there are two toilets just outside our office - one is for staff and the other is a disabled toilet. On the rare occasion that the staff toilet is occupied I duck into the disabled toilet - but it's never for more than 2 minutes. Quick bathroom break like - I wouldn't be in there for 15 minutes like those girls but I do realise I still shouldnt do it. I'm embarrassed now:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,663 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

leahyl wrote: »
    If I'm being honest, yes I have used a disabled toilet - in work from time to time. Where I work there are two toilets just outside our office - one is for staff and the other is a disabled toilet. On the rare occasion that the staff toilet is occupied I duck into the disabled toilet - but it's never for more than 2 minutes. Quick bathroom break like - I wouldn't be in there for 15 minutes like those girls but I do realise I still shouldnt do it. I'm embarrassed now:(

Doesn't matter. They're for disabled people. It happens all the time where I work, and it p****s me off - big time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,357 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

Doesn't matter. They're for disabled people. It happens all the time where I work, and it p****s me off - big time.

Yes like I said I realise it's wrong - like some other posters here have said - they have also done it but it is only literally for 2 minutes. I'm sorry that you have to deal with this at work though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,663 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

leahyl wrote: »
    Yes like I said I realise it's wrong - like some other posters here have said - they have also done it but it is only literally for 2 minutes. I'm sorry that you have to deal with this at work though.

The same "excuse" is also used when able-bodied people use the disabled parking bays. It is a lame(excuse the pun) excuse, and it really grinds my gears.

The core of the problem though, is that these toilets/parking spaces are not being properly monitored by the people who are supposed to be doing it - particularly in large shopping centres.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Kooli

I was actually also of the opinion that while disabled parking spaces are obviously only for disabled people, a disabled toilet is provided so that disabled people can use it, but they are not the only people allowed to use it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 713 ✭✭✭Cherry Blossom Girl

I'm going to disagree with some and say that I don't think there is anything 'wrong' with using a disbled toilet if you're able bodied, in certain circumstances. Obviously if there's a disabled person in the bathroom you wouldn't use it but in instances where there's only 1 normal toilet and 1 disabled and a huge queue waiting to use them (happened me recently in an outlet centre), I think using the disabled toilet is ok. Otherwise people would be twice as long in the queue on the offchance that a disabled person may come along and need the disabled stall. Most people would only be a minute or two in the stall anyway, not twenty. That said, if I have choice I will choose a normal stall.

I never park in wheelchair spaces except in my local supermarket. There are literally about 50 wheelchair spaces there, and never more than 1/4 of them are occupied. Strangely I've never seen a disabled person in the store :rolleyes: I only do it if it's lashing rain and I've no umbrella. Otherwise I park in a normal space.

where there's only 1 normal toilet and 1 disabled and a huge queue waiting to use them (happened me recently in an outlet centre), I think using the disabled toilet is ok.

The problem here is the implementation of the regulations.That outlet either adapted that bathroom as an after thought, or set out to save in the first place by counting it into normal usage requirements.
    I have seen cases where toilets labeled as accessible, have been so small that it was difficult to get in and out of them as an abled bodied person.
    That just shouldn't be allowed.

I think using the disabled toilet is ok. Otherwise people would be twice as long in the queue on the offchance that a disabled person may come along and need the disabled stall.

The thing is, it isn't just about availability. If everyone was to use the wheelchair accessible facility, it wouldn't be long before they were in a state.
    If your lifting someone, or trying to manouevre yourself. That mess isn't just annoying, it could cause an accident.

As I have said before, many people who need this facility have conditions that give them bladder issues. However remote the odds are, of someone coming along in those "just two minutes", having an accident and having to give up on their day and go home. As happened in the ops case.
    To my mind. It is not worth risking that outcome, especially just to save yourself a couple of minutes in a queue.
    Most people would only be a minute or two in the stall anyway, not twenty. That said, if I have choice I will choose a normal stall.

I never park in wheelchair spaces except in my local supermarket. There are literally about 50 wheelchair spaces there, and never more than 1/4 of them are occupied. Strangely I've never seen a disabled person in the store rolleyes.gif I only do it if it's lashing rain and I've no umbrella. Otherwise I park in a normal space.

Can't help thinking that your seeing what you want to see here.
    From my experience, the kind of people who are so selfish/lazy that they can justify using these spaces, for ridiculous reasons like they forgot their brolly. Are the kind who could do with that 30-60 second extra walk in the first place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Gauge

Strangely I've never seen a disabled person in the store :rolleyes:

How would you know? Not all disabilities are visible.

Moonbaby wrote: »

Can't help thinking that your seeing what you want to see here.
    From my experience, the kind of people who are so selfish/lazy that they can justify using these spaces, for ridiculous reasons like they forgot their brolly. Are the kind who could do with that 30-60 second extra walk in the first place.

I'm perfectly fit and healthy actually, not that it's any of your business. And I'm neither selfish nor lazy, I just don't enjoy getting soaking wet. If the store provided more normal spaces as well near the door it wouldn't be a problem. Also I don't know why you're only attacking me, I'm not the only one who said they use disabled toilets occasionally. Post reported.
    Gauge wrote: »
    How would you know? Not all disabilities are visible.

True, I should have said wheelchair users.

As I have said before, many people who need this facility have conditions that give them bladder issues. However remote the odds are, of someone coming along in those "just two minutes", having an accident and having to give up on their day and go home. As happened in the ops case.
    To my mind. It is not worth risking that outcome, especially just to save yourself a couple of minutes in a queue.

In the OP's case, they were waiting twenty minutes, not two. Of course that was ridiculous and entirely more possible that a disabled person would come alOng in that relatively long period of time than the regular two minutes a person would normally take. The OPs situation was not a normal one.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,514 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

all very well to say it's only two minutes, but those are two minutes too long for my bladder.Same excuse for parking in the disabled bays. I have once or twice parked behind one of the people who take the disabled space and tell them I'll only be a minute too.

I'm going to disagree with some and say that I don't think there is anything 'wrong' with using a disbled toilet if you're able bodied, in certain circumstances. Obviously if there's a disabled person in the bathroom you wouldn't use it but in instances where there's only 1 normal toilet and 1 disabled and a huge queue waiting to use them (happened me recently in an outlet centre), I think using the disabled toilet is ok. Otherwise people would be twice as long in the queue on the offchance that a disabled person may come along and need the disabled stall. Most people would only be a minute or two in the stall anyway, not twenty. That said, if I have choice I will choose a normal stall.

I never park in wheelchair spaces except in my local supermarket. There are literally about 50 wheelchair spaces there, and never more than 1/4 of them are occupied. Strangely I've never seen a disabled person in the store :rolleyes: I only do it if it's lashing rain and I've no umbrella. Otherwise I park in a normal space.
    I have MS, I can walk short distances,so may not "look" disabled, but after about 5 mins, my legs start to give out. People taking "my" space are the reason I can't go lots of places.

I wish the world was full of people as considerate as you Moonbaby. :)

Unfortunately most people use the '2 minutes' excuse even when it clearly isn't two minutes, and was never going to be.

@ Bright Eyes: Its not on to ask anyone to explain their physical difficulties to you, never mind something as personal as bladder issues.

Surely you realise that a person who is physically compromised (even if you can't see it), may have bladder control issues etc.

Part of MS can be bladder or bowel urgency,so it's not the nomal, might need the loo sometime soon ,must think of finding a loo in the next half hour or so, but without warning, I need the loo NOW.I never go anywhere that is too far from a loo, I don't go to lots of places because if urgency strikes I can actually wet myself if I don't get to the loo in time.

My world is defined by the nearest loo!!Motorways are my nightmare.I know the location of most handy acess loos in Munster and leinster.

I think using the disabled toilet is ok. Otherwise people would be twice as long in the queue on the offchance that a disabled person may come along and need the disabled stall. Most people would only be a minute or two in the stall anyway, not twenty. That said, if I have choice I will choose a normal stall.

Its coming up against those attitudes that ruin my days out with my cousin. It takes me two hours go get her ready and get everything I need organised for about a 4 hour outing. I need to take specialised gear and time meds and food very precisely to make it feasible, so its timed like a military operation. Because of the organisation involved, days out for her are rare. If she wakes up on the day and is having a bad day, we have to start again from scratch and plan for another day out.

She loves them. She looks forward to being out in the world so much, it lifts her spirits for a long time. In the days before a trip, she can't stop smiling.

It can be ruined by a 'two minute' (reality more than 5 minutes) trip to the loo by someone who has the luxury of two working legs, a working bladder, and a voice of their own.

Is it really that important you don't get wet or don't have to queue a few minutes?

Believe me, my cousin would LOVE to be able to queue, or forget a brolly, or do any of the things you can do. Don't let your avoiding a few minutes queuing ruin a weeks anticipation, and possibly the only outing a severely disabled person will have in a month.

Giselle wrote: »
    I think using the disabled toilet is ok. Otherwise people would be twice as long in the queue on the offchance that a disabled person may come along and need the disabled stall. Most people would only be a minute or two in the stall anyway, not twenty. That said, if I have choice I will choose a normal stall.

Its coming up against those attitudes that ruin my days out with my cousin. It takes me two hours go get her ready and get everything I need organised for about a 4 hour outing. I need to take specialised gear and time meds and food very precisely to make it feasible, so its timed like a military operation. Because of the organisation involved, days out for her are rare. If she wakes up on the day and is having a bad day, we have to start again from scratch and plan for another day out.

She loves them. She looks forward to being out in the world so much, it lifts her spirits for a long time. In the days before a trip, she can't stop smiling.

It can be ruined by a 'two minute' (reality more than 5 minutes) trip to the loo by someone who has the luxury of two working legs, a working bladder, and a voice of their own.

Is it really that important you don't get wet or don't have to queue a few minutes?

Believe me, my cousin would LOVE to be able to queue, or forget a brolly, or do any of the things you can do. Don't let your avoiding a few minutes queuing ruin a weeks anticipation, and possibly the only outing a severely disabled person will have in a month.

You're taking the first part of my post out of context. I said ok in certain circumstances. I'm not going to use a disabled toilet if a normal one is free. If there's a queue, I'll still try to use a normal one. The scenario I was describing had only 1 normal stall and 1 disabled. That's not my fault, it's bad planning. I'm not going to park in a disabled space just cause I feel like it, or can't be bothered looking for a normal space. I don't make a habit of it, and if there was only one or two disabled spaces I wouldn't do it all. However the majority of these spaces are free all the time, day and night, not that that justifies what I and others occasionally do.
    I think it's great that you spend so much time with your cousin and clearly care so much about her. She's obviously very lucky to have you. I'm not trying to downplay what happened to you and her, those girls were out of order and if i was in your position im sure I'd be upset and angry too. However, you asked a question and I'm answering it. Boards is a discussion forum, and if you're not prepared to be civil towards everyone's opinions then maybe you shouldn't have asked in the first place.

Giselle wrote: »
    Is it really that important you don't get wet or don't have to queue a few minutes? .

See, Giselle, I think it is that important to them. Certainly keeping hair dry or not having to walk a few extra steps seems to be much more important than consideration of the needs of our vunerable in society. I really dont think that a lot of people think about the disabled much at all. :(

For the record the "just 2 minuters" are never 2 mins in a disabled bay (maybe in a toilet) Same as the ones who have the big massive suv, and the only off road they do is up on the pavements, on double yellow lines, on parking on bends, blocking visabilty of other drivers, endangering pedestrians and putting the disabled and infirm in harms way when they cant squeeze past.

I totally identify with your explanation that an outing is planned better than the strike on Bin Laden. We went to one pub once for early drinks and one woman discovered that the disabled toilet was actually up steps so had to wheel herself out the back entrance of the "wheelchair friendly" establishment, past the filthy skips, empty bottles and beer barrels, into her car, (folding the chair etc) drive home, unfold wheelchair, go into her home and pee, then do it allll over again in reverse to re-join her night out. Madness.

Did you know that Knock Airport once had the only disabled toilet, upstairs (no lift back then, installed about 10 years later) They had to get staff to carry the wheelchair up and down the stairs. How humiliating for the poor wheelchair user!

I would love to challenge those who think its no big deal to park in a space, or hog a disabled toilet to try to live in a wheelchair for 24 hrs. A bit like the Concern fast. And thats not me being smart - I would really feel that they would learn so much.