Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Heating not working upstairs

• 17-11-2011 8:47pm
    Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,260 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Tried turning the heating on for the first time this year upstairs but it doesn't appear to be working.

When the heating is turned on the boiler doesn't start up for upstairs only. Down stairs and war come on fine. It is a gas boiler serviced on Sept 11.

The pressure on the boiler is .2 bar. It is a closed system so I don't believe that it needs to be bled. I tried increasing the pressure in the radiator system by opening the feed in the hot press upstairs but nothing has changed. All the radiators are turned off upstairs.

The three channel programmer we have controlles the hot water, upstairs and downstairs heating. When the downstairs heating is turned on the pump light comes on. Not the same for the upstairs.

Anything else I should be doing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,389 ✭✭✭Carlow52

heading
    All the radiators are turned off upstairs.

There is a motorised valve or 2 somewhere in the system that is probably stuck/ not working, when the valve closes it powers the pump, in most cases.

there is a manual override lever on the MV which should allow u open the valve and close the elec circuit

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,260 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Carlow52 wrote: »
    heading

There is a motorised valve or 2 somewhere in the system that is probably stuck/ not working, when the vale closes it powers the pump, in most cases.

there is a manual override lever on the MV which should allow u open the vavle and close the elec circuit
    We have tried turning the heating on to no effect. Some have turned it off and tried increasing the pressure in the system by opening the feed.

Sorry I'm lost!

First of all should I open up all the radiators Ie turn them on upstairs?

What do you mean by your second part?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 902 ✭✭✭DoneDL

Don`t touch the rads, your problem is most likely that the two port valve (google for pic`s) is broken. You can set it to manual and see if the boiler fires and the rad`s upstairs heat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

godtabh wrote: »
    Tried turning the heating on for the first time this year upstairs but it doesn't appear to be working.
    All the radiators are turned off upstairs.

This is slightly confusing.

You mention 0.2bar which is too low. You'll need more pressure in the system. Are you sure you are using the correct filling loop?

A dodgey motorised valve does sound like reasonable diagnosis. Can you locate the valve and use the override lever?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,260 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

DoneDL wrote: »
    Don`t touch the rads, your problem is most likely that the two port valve (google for pic`s) is broken. You can set it to manual and see if the boiler fires and the rad`s upstairs heat.

The two port valve looks like what I thought was the pump. Would it have an electricity supply?

Yes but it`s still ok to move the lever also if the boiler fires it will stay on until you take the valve off the manual setting.

Would it have an electricity supply?

It'll be supplied from the thermostat. If the room temperature is below the stat setting then it will supply the valve with power which will, in turn, fire up the boiler.

Switch your hot water and downstairs stats to zero. Turn your upstairs stat to max and see if the boiler fires up. If its doesn't then you have a problem with either the upstairs stat or the two port motorized valve.

Switch is open. Heating down stairs is off. Hot water is off and still nothing. Must be the thermostat up stairs.

House is only 2 years old. I doubt we have ever touched the termostat. Are the expensive to fix?

A thermostat is cheap to replace. You'll buy a good one for a lot less than €50.

What you need to figure out is whether or not the stat is passing electricity to the motorized valve.

If you used the valve's override and still have no heat upstairs then I'd be inclined to suspect that your problem is with system pressure - the 0.2 bar which should be around 1.0 bar when the system is cold.

The system pressure hasn't changed since I've been trying to fix it.

The override has been used and I can fell heat moving above the two port valve but it doesn't reach upstairs.

How would I increase pressure?

I tried increasing the pressure in the radiator system by opening the feed in the hot press upstairs but nothing has changed.

As you tried above.

Are you sure you're opening the correct feed?

Try turning the rad`s on if the heat is moving upwards.

crosstownk wrote: »
    As you tried above.

Are you sure you're opening the correct feed?

Not 100% sure. The pipe that I opened is half the size of the other pipes in the hot press. These other pipes feed into a pump which I assume is for the showers. All the valves are numbered but of course we weren't given any numbering system.

DoneDL wrote: »
    Try turning the rad`s on if the heat is moving upwards.

Have done that but nothing happening

Is the boiler firing up with the upstairs valve overridden?

No.

Poped in to the neighbours and checked their numbering system. I was playing with the wrong feed. I have opened it so hopefully that will result in a pressure build up and might fire it then

If the boiler is not attempting to fire it might be an electrical problem

Get the standing (cold) pressure up to 1.0 bar and go again. Hopefully that will see you right.

The pressure should build within seconds but will only go as high as mains pressure. Don't let it get too high or else your blow off valve will start dumping the excess.

If the boiler is not attempting to fire it might be an electrical problem

Get the standing (cold) pressure up to 1.0 bar and go again. Hopefully that will see you right.

The pressure should build within seconds but will only go as high as mains pressure. Don't let it get too high or else your blow off valve will start dumping the excess.

Assuming I've opened the correct valve nothing has still happened.

What does the pressure gauge indicate? Has it risen?

About .3 bar with all rads upstairs open

Open the filler again. Get it up to a min of 1.0 bar.

It's fully open .... I think

Is the pressure gauge rising?

No

Then you either have

A. The wrong valve

or

B. Insufficient mains water pressure.

I suspect A.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,389 ✭✭✭Carlow52

time for a few pics as we are mixing isolation and filler valves with motororised valve and its possible that the wrong valve will get shut here

Unfortunately it's guess work on my part.

Will the rads been on upstairs now affect it?

Keep the downstairs and HW stats at zero.

Post any pics you can.

Can't seem to log onto my pc to send photos. Will do,tomorrow in work

Turnd the shoewer on this morning the pressure went up to 2 bar from .2 bar but boiler still isn't firing for the upstairs heating

photo5xo.th.jpg
    Rad Top Up

photo1zrk.th.jpg
    Boiler

photo2rk.th.jpg
    Pressure and water temp this morning

photo3ao.th.jpg
    Valves in hot press

photo6idt.th.jpg
    2 port valve

photo4ay.th.jpg
    Attic tank top up

photo5oon.th.jpg
    photo1fn.th.jpg
    photo2rw.th.jpg
    photo3nhg.th.jpg
    photo6gr.th.jpg
    photo4yp.th.jpg

Pressure and temp from your 'this morning' picture seem to indicate that the boiler is working.

Is it a combi boiler?

What is a combi boiler

With a combi boiler you have no hot water cylinder for the storage of hot water. With a combi, hot water is supplied on demand, i.e. cold water is heated by the boiler as you need it much like an electric shower.

I do have a hot water cylinder but I think the water is heated down stairs. Does that make sense?

If the water in your hot water cylinder is cold can you still get hot water instantly?

There is a switch upstairs for sink/bath. I assume that's so
    You don't have to
    Turn on the boiler

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭andy2die4

Have you tried bleeding the upstairs rad's? If the pressure dropped to nothing, .2 bar, it could have drained the upstair's system.

Lads thanks for your help.

I took the two,port valve off. Gave it a little elbow grease. Put the actuator back on and work grand now.