Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

200 mins, 200 texts 1gb data - €15

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

Do they carry over minutes and texts if u don't use up your full amount?hardly me thinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭Kanedmick

crazygeryy wrote: »
    Do they carry over minutes and texts if u don't use up your full amount?hardly me thinks.

Nope sorry! Don't know anyone who does actually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

I pay 20.33 a month - does anybody know if I can switch to this?

EDIT: Yes, for anyone else wondering it's easy enough just give them a call

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,535 ✭✭✭Zonda999

How long does it take them to call you back? I signed up for this on Sunday (switching from Meteor PAYG) and still haven't heard anything from them..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

Zonda999 wrote: »
    How long does it take them to call you back? I signed up for this on Sunday (switching from Meteor PAYG) and still haven't heard anything from them..

Email them... stuff@meteor.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,535 ✭✭✭Zonda999

Its grand, they never rang but got a text in the afternoon confirming the switch. because I was already a PAYG customer, they just transferred my sim over to bill pay(Which is totally contrary to what they said would happen when i asked in a meteor shop, they told me I'd be getting a new sim card..). Everything looks to be in order as regards data and minutes so fingers crossed al will be okay when the first bill comes!

Oh and by the way, it now says on the website that the offer is expiring on the 30th of March so it might be worth getting a move on if you're considering the deal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cjpm

I am in the process of switching from Vodafone to Meteor. Ordered sim on feb 28. Still have not used it as I am waiting for my girlfriend to switch. However I have recieved a bill today for €24.10!!! Now i understand that the billing was due to commence as soon as the sim was sent, but I am pissed off at being charged extra!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,000 ✭✭✭Johnny Storm

Zonda999 wrote: »
    ..., it now says on the website that the offer is expiring on the 30th of March so it might be worth getting a move on if you're considering the deal

I noticed that. I seem to remember that they extended it several times before. Please predict the future ;): Should I get this offer now or wait and hope that they replace it with a better offer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,783 ✭✭✭savemejebus

it's a month to month contract. If something better comes along you can easily sign up for it can't ya?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,683 ✭✭✭Zynks

I just received the sim card, eleven days after ordering. Not impressed if I have to start paying from date of order. But what is really annoying me is that I am on my first call to customer service to activate the card and port my O2 number, and I am on hold for 10 minutes (and counting) while there is REALLY loud music playing while I am waiting. I have turn the volume down as much as it goes before going into mute, and it is still ridiculous.

If that is Meteor's way of welcoming me, I starting to have doubts about this....

Edit: It gets better: while waiting for 15 minutes, I decided to check 'My account' online, and the price shows as €30 per month. I am on hold while they are trying to sort it out. I am not porting if this is not sorted with right amount showing on the account page. This is not looking so good anymore...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭achiman

Zynks wrote: »
    I just received the sim card, eleven days after ordering. Not impressed if I have to start paying from date of order. But what is really annoying me is that I am on my first call to customer service to activate the card and port my O2 number, and I am on hold for 10 minutes (and counting) while there is REALLY loud music playing while I am waiting. I have turn the volume down as much as it goes before going into mute, and it is still ridiculous.

If that is Meteor's way of welcoming me, I starting to have doubts about this....

Edit: It gets better: while waiting for 15 minutes, I decided to check 'My account' online, and the price shows as €30 per month. I am on hold while they are trying to sort it out. I am not porting if this is not sorted with right amount showing on the account page. This is not looking so good anymore...

I had the exact same experience, they informed that Bill Pay Smart Lite EUR30 - 1 Month was just the package i was on and not what i would be paying ...its all a bit of a mess really, ordered my sim on 13th, recieved it on the 21st and have to have what call time, texts and data that was left used by 24th load of bollix really....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,683 ✭✭✭Zynks

achiman wrote: »
    I had the exact same experience, they informed that Bill Pay Smart Lite EUR30 - 1 Month was just the package i was on and not what i would be paying ...its all a bit of a mess really, ordered my sim on 13th, recieved it on the 21st and have to have what call time, texts and data that was left used by 24th load of bollix really....

I eventually had to spend another 15 minutes listening to the loud music after another almost hilarious sequence:

- I will now send a text message to your old number and I need you to read it back to me
    - But the phone has the Meteor sim card in
    - Well, that will make it impossible to port you over
    - OK, here is what I propose: you send the text, wait five minutes and then YOU call me, I have no intention of waiting another 15 minutes listening to that lovely music
    - OK, I will call you

Switch phone off/change sim/restart...you have a new text message. Open:

"we tried calling you but there was no answer, please call us back if you want to proceed with the porting"
    :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

After 15 minutes I got a person that sounded far more efficient, but there was more interesting news: my first bill is coming out in two days, and I will be charged for 13 days instead of two.

I was offered a €10 gift for all the hassle, which was very nice and unexpected, but I decided to take the sim card off and wait for the bill to see what it will show. That sim card may be going back with a letter copied to Comreg if there is any overcharge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Slunk

If you get someone like that hang up and call back. Some of them haven't a breeze. I ported four people over and was done in about five minutes. One of the times was clearly onto some idiot who had to constantly ask someone else. Was nearing half an hour so just told her to forget it. Rand back an hour later and another girl had it done in five minutes. Girlfriend had to call o2 an all cause some idiot didn't know how to port the number. Its a lucky dip who you get

And expect your first bill to be wrong. All five including my Gfs was wrong. Online chat will sort that no bother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭liamcu

Zynks wrote: »

Edit: It gets better: while waiting for 15 minutes, I decided to check 'My account' online, and the price shows as €30 per month. I am on hold while they are trying to sort it out. I am not porting if this is not sorted with right amount showing on the account page. This is not looking so good anymore...[/

Contact Meteor for a credit to cover the period from the date you signed up to the date you received the SIM. You cannot be charged for a service if you were not able to avail of the service because you had not received the SIM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭achiman

they will have the billing outsourced this would be a reason for all contracts end on 24th day of the month .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭indiewindy

got billed €53 for my first bill, decided to wait on second bill to see if they are going to correct their error

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭Zab

indiewindy wrote: »
    got billed €53 for my first bill, decided to wait on second bill to see if they are going to correct their error

Don't. Email them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

My latest bill is wrong... again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭bryaner

Took me 2 months to get my bill sorted but well worth it, it's a great deal and I cant see Meteor putting it up after a year (well hope not)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭ErinGoBrath

Signed up Sunday, sim dispatched today. Will be interesting to see if they have the bill sorted by the time I port over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,733 ✭✭✭SnowDrifts

I've detailed some of the issues I have had with meteor on this thread a few weeks ago. To sum it up- the customer support and service is a disgrace. However, after a month or so of daily hassle trying to set this up- its now finally working. This deal really is a good one... it's just a shame you have to deal with customer service.

SnowDrifts wrote: »
    I've detailed some of the issues I have had with meteor on this thread a few weeks ago. To sum it up- the customer support and service is a disgrace. However, after a month or so of daily hassle trying to set this up- its now finally working. This deal really is a good one... it's just a shame you have to deal with customer service.

I must say I didn't find their customer service any better or worse than the rest of the carriers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,733 ✭✭✭SnowDrifts

Well I had only ever been with O2 before and their service is what customer service should be. I made 5 logs to speak with a manager with meteor... not one call back did I get. Conflicting advice, support staff who constantly said "the last person should not have done that, I will rectify it for you", calling up every day for a month just to port my number over.

All that said, everything is working fine now. The coverage and 3g is perfect. At €15 a month, this is €300 a year cheaper than my previous O2 package with more or less the same minutes/data etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,397 ✭✭✭✭kippy

I've dealt with O2, Vodafone, Meteor and Three at this stage, through work and private, and can honestly say, not one of them would stand out from the others as having poor or indeed good customer service. They are all just "grand".

kippy wrote: »
    I've dealt with O2, Vodafone, Meteor and Three at this stage, through work and private, and can honestly say, not one of them would stand out from the others as having poor or indeed good customer service. They are all just "grand".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭Kanedmick

Ok, I've figured out why I've been getting wrong bills - I didn't say the magic words:

Bill Pay Smart Lite EUR30

That's the plan required and then they do some crazy discounts on the bill but basically they charge you 30€ but then give you back €15 credit so you come out with €15.

It does sounds a little devious tbh and I wonder if three times a charm with my next bill.

Also to note - Stuff@meteor doesn't seem to work so ending up calling them on 1905 which was a little circuitous as to get to an agent.

Thankfully agent I spoke to was clued in and gave me back my overcharges so I'm only going to be paying what I actually owe when the DD goes through next week.

Does anyone know how long this "month" contract system is going to go on for? I have a nasty feeling that it will finish without any notification...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭Zab

I haven't tried them lately but judging by this thread stuff@ became useless overnight a few weeks ago. I can only imagine that things will get worse over the next while due to redundancies and other "efficiencies" they impose because of their insolvency.

It said that the offer would apply for a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

bryaner wrote: »
    Took me 2 months to get my bill sorted but well worth it, it's a great deal and I cant see Meteor putting it up after a year (well hope not)

Same here.. once they get it sorted it is a great deal.

But u have to watch them like a hawk until they get it sorted.

Amazing they are still doing this deal though. Fair play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,000 ✭✭✭Johnny Storm

I notice they have now dropped the "Offer expires on 30th March" bit from the website.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭looder

Same here. I stood up for Meteor in a thread previously but since then I had two poor enough experiences with their Customer Service.

Vodafone weren't the worst in the world but nothing exceptional either. I'd a bad experience with Three which means I'd never switch to them.

I don't like how 48 conduct themselves online so wouldn't go near them no matter how good their offer is.

I was with o2 for internet for a good while and never had any problems.

Still with Meteor as a lot of my friends are with them but if I was to switch it would probably be back to Vodafone or over to o2.