Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What to do about poaching ?

• 02-11-2011 2:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭

I mentioned in another thread that local farmers are saying their are folks driving around the tracks in the hills at night and they presume they are shooting deer and wild goats as they don't see many of either anymore.
    One farmer told me the Gardai are trying to stop them.

I live not far from a dirt road that goes for about 10 miles into hilly bogland with nearby woods. I wondered what I could do with my 4x4 to stop these people decimating the local deer herds. I thought I could drive up at sunrise or sunset and take reg. nos. But would I need video evidence of people actually shooting deer. It's not illegal to drive in the hills at night, albeit suspicious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

Pain in the hole i know but these things are best left to the guards and the ranger in the area lad, sure take the reg if you can and a discription of the vehicle and pass it on but i wouldnt approach anyone accusing them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭browning 12 bore

hey there fellas sounds like a great idea alright but as i said in another thread these lads are very confrondational and things can get very nasty very quick so as kikldare said best leave them to gaurds and rangers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭homerhop

have you concidered using a trail cam?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭iwsf

We do not have a deer poaching problem when i live ( there are no deer :mad:) but we have a serious issue with idiots dumping rubbish everywhere along small dirt roads in the bogs.
    What some locals do is park their Jeep in the middle of the dirt track behind a bend and wait . They are never alone in the car just in case. Obviously they can not be there all the time but this is a start.
    You could do something similar to try and dissuade the poachers. Just an idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭browning 12 bore

bad idea i think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 392 ✭✭rabbit assassin

Have serious deer poaching problems in my area, to make it worse the cnuts aren't even using suitable rifles to do the job. 3 lads were got cutting antlers off a deer by the Gards not too long ago and they had a .22 magnum and a .223 ! I had a trail camera but it conveniently went missing off the tree I put it on Id say because it uses flash when taking a picture at night :mad: !! Lads from the gun club caught these boys a few times but with no evidence they were shooting deer even though we knew they were, they said they were just shooting foxes but at least we could run them as they were not in the gun club, their excuse was "sure we don't have to be in the gun club to shoot vermin "

They weren't even local lads they came from an area a decent bit away (maybe 45min drive) so they wouldn't be sh1tting on their own doorstep ! My advice would be to get a video camera on them if you can or photographs , trail camera went missing on me and I paid a small fortune for it :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 295 ✭✭Shoot2kill

Id say everyone with a deer population in there area has seen a decline in deer numbers and an increase in poaching!

Its going on everywhere and i genuinely think its out of control and is going to get worse and worse. The garda can not be expected to get it under control, there's too much area with fcuk all resources to back them up.

There's a young lad living near us that wanted to join the gun club this year, I quizzed him on what his intentions were and got the forms to him, but for what ever reason he never joined. Then, last week I was out in the yard when he calls in and says "are you going out shooting deer ANY NIGHT soon"?! I said excuse me?! He says, "at deer like, ill show ya the lurcher taking one of them down".

It was like a red rag to a bull, I Fcuked him from a height. I told the uneducated pr@#k that if i ever saw him out with a lurcher near the wood that id drop the dog on the spot. AND, i also informed him that he will never ever get into the gun club as long as Im in it.

That lads, is the kinda s@#t that has the deer population ruined. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

Shoot2kill wrote: »
    Id say everyone with a deer population in there area has seen a decline in deer numbers and an increase in poaching!

Its going on everywhere and i genuinely think its out of control and is going to get worse and worse. The garda can not be expected to get it under control, there's too much area with fcuk all resources to back them up.

There's a young lad living near us that wanted to join the gun club this year, I quizzed him on what his intentions were and got the forms to him, but for what ever reason he never joined. Then, last week I was out in the yard when he calls in and says "are you going out shooting deer ANY NIGHT soon"?! I said excuse me?! He says, "at deer like, ill show ya the lurcher taking one of them down".

It was like a red rag to a bull, I Fcuked him from a height. I told the uneducated pr@#k that if i ever saw him out with a lurcher near the wood that id drop the dog on the spot. AND, i also informed him that he will never ever get into the gun club as long as Im in it.

That lads, is the kinda s@#t that has the deer population ruined. :mad:

And now your next step should be the Garda station for a statement of complaint; you haven't heard someone saying so and so over there or there has done such and such, you've heard it from the horse's mouth.

It's about time that sort of character and those like him are dealt with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Ah for the good old days when you could simply hang them on the nearest gibbett in chains and deport their family to the Carolinas or Van Diemans land!!:D:D

I live not far from a dirt road that goes for about 10 miles into hilly bogland with nearby woods. I wondered what I could do with my 4x4 to stop these people decimating the local deer herds. I thought I could drive up at sunrise or sunset and take reg. nos. But would I need video evidence of people actually shooting deer. It's not illegal to drive in the hills at night, albeit suspicious.

Yup,you will need that alright and also be willing to testify in a court that you took the pictures, observed them in the act, and instructed the Gardai about this.
    If you can live with the possible consequences of them getting possibly nasty after the court somtime :(...Well and good.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭Builderfromhell

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    Ah for the good old days when you could simply hang them on the nearest gibbett in chains and deport their family to the Carolinas or Van Diemans land!!:D:D

Yup,you will need that alright and also be willing to testify in a court that you took the pictures, observed them in the act, and instructed the Gardai about this.
    If you can live with the possible consequences of them getting possibly nasty after the court somtime :(...Well and good.

Appreciate advice on my own safety but as I have said on other forum I strongly believe people need to stand up to people like this and not fear the consequences. I have been to court before as a witness to fly tipping. The scoby made it clear that he was not happy with me testifying against him. But nothing happened.
    I apprehended an armed robbery once when others let him go. Long story.

The point is if everyone is too fearful to take actions to discourage poaching, littering, robbery etc. then society falls apart. These people quickly learn that they can do anything and no one will stop them.

I am not fearful of meeting poachers up the hills. the purpose of my post was to get feedback on what best to do if I should see or meet anyone. I appreciate the suggestions and have decided on a simple plan of action.

Tomorrow evening I'll head for the hills with a 50mm calibre on my Hilux, Taliban style. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭tinofapples

We often have Deer in our front and rear gardens. Jeeps,vans, cars pass by like kerbcrawlers and I have no doubt they would take a shot at something in my garden if they thought they weren't be watched. I thought people needed a special licence for culling Deer.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

We often have Deer in our front and rear gardens. Jeeps,vans, cars pass by like kerbcrawlers and I have no doubt they would take a shot at something in my garden if they thought they weren't be watched.

Fire into your house? If it ever did happen, God forbid, the muppet doing it needs jailing.
    I thought people needed a special licence for culling Deer.

A deer license. However as the thread is called poaching, its about people without this license.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭dwighet

Grizzly 45 wrote: »

Hang on a seconda minute Grizz....Theres enough Irish in my home country (Australia) as it is.... Send em to the UK...thats a sh!t hole..:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Appreciate advice on my own safety but as I have said on other forum I strongly believe people need to stand up to people like this and not fear the consequences. I have been to court before as a witness to fly tipping. The scoby made it clear that he was not happy with me testifying against him. But nothing happened.
    I apprehended an armed robbery once when others let him go. Long story.

So you have been in the "Been there,seen it done it,bought the Tshirt!" category then?;) Done this myself on a professional basis,and had the usual intimidation and threats ..:rolleyes:Nothing in 99% of this ever happens as most are all "mouth"..I'ts the 1% "mad and bad"you have to watch out for.
    The point is if everyone is too fearful to take actions to discourage poaching, littering, robbery etc. then society falls apart. These people quickly learn that they can do anything and no one will stop them.

And that is the current problem with Irish society ,as many of our high profile crime cases have demonstrated.Trouble is;these scumbags will bide their time or come after the more vunerable of your family.Ask the Collins family in Limerick about testifying against such delightful people.:(

If alot of people did testify we wouldnt have so much crime,but not everyone is as confident as us,and still have to live in the same area of the scobe family,who will do anything to make life miserable for you and yours,post court case.Some people just dont want the problems,and who could blame them either??

Not saying that you will meet such violent types up there,but it is always wise to consider the consequences ,as you dont know who or what you are dealing with.

I am not fearful of meeting poachers up the hills. the purpose of my post was to get feedback on what best to do if I should see or meet anyone. I appreciate the suggestions and have decided on a simple plan of action.
    Tomorrow evening I'll head for the hills with a 50mm calibre on my Hilux, Taliban style. :D

A 2in cannon???:eek::eek: Did you drop down to Libya recently and aquired a triple A anti aircraft gun with the pickup???:D:D
    Well,then I dont think you have anything to fear,the poachers will,at two miles distance!!!:D

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "