Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Oldskool Appreciation Party - O.A.P's thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭EarlERizer

es-cee wrote: »

That's a whopper tune Es :D nice 1, not heard it before but love that familiar intro

Goes into the 'wanted' list over on the cogs :cool:

another one I'm chasing :cool:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 400 ✭✭bluemoon2010

EarlERizer wrote: »
    any1 know this tune its fromm the ed case fireball tape right after drumtraack melodies

http://www3.zippyshare.com/v/26717090/file.html

Second half sounds like a remix of House Corporation - I Know I can do it

which was also sampled on The Shaker - Strong to Survive.

I recognise the "nah nah nah nah naaaah" sample in the first half but cant put my finger on it :o
    at first I thought it mite be a remix of the shaker strong to survive wasent to be and it also samPles Keith mac project spice of life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,614 ✭✭✭es-cee

Saw this thread and thought "if they're doing they should look no further than our resident oldskool legends

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=78447203&utm_source=notification&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=notify#post78447203

Jay,Caf,Francois if your interested in contributing to the authenticity of this project yiz can contact the guy at jamesr@Dctv.ie

Be good to hear/see your stories!

:eek: mudder o'lantern jaaaaaysus it's Techno Tuesday again!

There's 8-9 of these on the guys channel,cant be arsed copy n pasting them all.....

:cool:

:eek: mudder o'lantern jaaaaaysus it's Techno Tuesday again!

it is indeed, but that track is hardcore ;)

Thats hardcore??? Fook me,sounds like the rest of that noise they belt out over on oos every Tuesday........Nothing like the hardcore I'd be used to listening to,couldn't see that mixing well with anything on Reinforced,Suburban Base,Tone Def etc. :p

• Subscribers Posts: 8,325 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

This is quality... first out in 2008 in digital format only, just pressed to vinyl now and only 1000 for the world. Why I hear you say am I mentioning this here? "Where were you in 92"? :pac:

Zomby - Tears in the Rain

GRAB ONE QUICK!!! :eek:

http://boomkat.com/vinyl/523766-zomby-where-were-u-in-92-limited-vinyl-edition

Thats hardcore??? Fook me,sounds like the rest of that noise they belt out over on oos every Tuesday........Nothing like the hardcore I'd be used to listening to,couldn't see that mixing well with anything on Reinforced,Suburban Base,Tone Def etc. :p

hardcore is a hugely diverse genre... it's like calling something house, or drum n bass ;)

nothing like a bit of old age education :p

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hardcore_techno

This is quality... first out in 2008 in digital format only, just pressed to vinyl now and only 1000 for the world. Why I hear you say am I mentioning this here? "Where were you in 92"? :pac:

Zomby - Tears in the Rain

GRAB ONE QUICK!!! :eek:

http://boomkat.com/vinyl/523766-zomby-where-were-u-in-92-limited-vinyl-edition

i like it :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭jonnny68

Still a few E tickets (no pun intended:D) available on Skiddle, still time folks you seriously dont wanna be missing this:)

=====================

Less than two weeks away for 150 DJs/Acts to blow your mind with the very best of oldskool.

See the embedded webflyer for all the acts that will be playing to you through a state of the art Funktion-1 Sound System.

SOUL MEKANIK formerly 'Candy Flip' and 'Sure is Pure' (remixers of the huge 'Sister Sledge - We are Family') will be playing an exclusive set in the VIP and also in one of the arenas. http://www.soulmekanik.com/biography

MATRIX CLUB REMIX are a live band that play ALL the oldskool classics seamlessly mixed with their own identity added to it. A fantastic act that always take the roof off with their unique show featuring songstress Alison David (Black Science Orchestra, Red Snapper). http://www.matrixclubremix.co.uk

EXPANSIONS are also now doing a LIVE PA set of their HUGE oldskool anthem 'Move your Body'. This baby never fails to deliver on the dancefloor!!! http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sally_Ann_Marsh

CE CE ROGERS will be flying in and performing his seminal classics 'Join Hands' and 'Someday' LIVE http://retrotraxfestival.co.uk/line-up/ce-ce-rogers/

SUNSCREEM will be LIVE in the House Arena performing their hits including 'Perfect Motion' and 'Love U More' http://retrotraxfestival.co.uk/line-up/sunscreem/

THE FPI PROJECT will also be live performing their classic dancefloor shakers including 'Risky' and 'Everybody all over the World' http://retrotraxfestival.co.uk/line-up/fpi-project/

MARIA NAYLER will be belting out the record she made with Sasha 'Be as One'

ULTRAVIOLET performing 'I Wish That' and 'Kites' http://retrotraxfestival.co.uk/line-up/ultraviolet/

ALISON LIMERICK singing the No.1 voted oldskool anthem of all time 'Where Love Lives' . This will be sure to send shivers down your spine. http://retrotraxfestival.co.uk/line-up/alison-limerick/

DREAM FREQUENCY 'Feel so Real' and 'Take Me' LIVE with DEBBIE SHARPE' who is flying over especially for this event. http://retrotraxfestival.co.uk/line-up/dream-frequency/

2BADMICE huge hardcore hit 'BOMBSCARE' will be pounding through the speakers LIVE http://retrotraxfestival.co.uk/line-up/2-bad-mice/

OUTLANDER fresh over from Belgium will be taking you to another level performing 'VAMP' http://retrotraxfestival.co.uk/line-up/outlander/

LAST RHYTHM a surprise late booking raising the roof of the big top with their hands in the air dreamy oldskool anthem 'Last Rhythm' followed by 'Open your Mind'. The duo are using this festival as their springboard back into the UK oldskool scene (First time in the UK since 1993) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3WDtR4UQ2io

To accompany the above PA's we have the creme de la creme of DJ's who have shaped and pioneered the house scene to what it is today.
    This is the definitive oldskool event that will never be repeated. You seriously do NOT want to miss out on this one-off spectacle.

All of the above is housed within FIVE BIG TOP structures. One of which will be showcasing the film 'HIGH on HOPE' by celebrated film-maker Piers Sanderson. This festival is the kick-start to his UK tour to raise money for the music rights to this brilliant documentary which is an insight to the 'illegal' warehouse ACID raves that took the UK by storm, and is probably one of the reasons why we are all here now feeling the love for this festival. http://www.highonhope.com/

At the festival you will have the choice of various catering facilities, a mobile festival store (http://www.mobile-festival-stores.co.uk/), and a market selling everything from jewellery, hats, henna tattooists, and hair braiders to stuffed badgers (sorry if you are a badger enthusiast... just kidding obviously)

The last of the paper tickets will be taken off our site tomorrow night (as the last posting day is Tuesday), and will be replaced by the downloadable 'E' tickets from skiddle (which will also be linked from our site).

As the numbers are dwindling, I suggest you get yours quick-sharpish.

Tickets from our site here: http://retrotraxfestival.co.uk/tickets

Skiddle link here: http://www.skiddle.com/news/all/Go-back ... val/11578/

You can still get a few tickets from our many outlets around the UK:

Global Groove, Hanley, ST1 2BA : 01782 215554
    3Beat Records, Liverpool, L1 4BW : 0151 709 3355
    SoundBase Megastore, Manchester, M4 1LE : 0161 238 8727

Get the latest news on twitter here: https://twitter.com/#!/RetroTraxFestiv

Facebook Group here : https://www.facebook.com/groups/RetroTraxFestivals/

Facebook Event here : https://www.facebook.com/events/203124333088765/
    http://retrotraxfestival.co.uk

or in other words,keeping it simple :o

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hardcore_techno

haven't clicked the link yet but there was a giveaway in the title ...... 'Techno' so technically I was right in my first assumption :p

:cool: We're both right,right!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hardcore_techno[/QUOTE]

haven't clicked the link yet but there was a giveaway in the title ...... 'Techno' so technically I was right in my first assumption :p

:cool: We're both right,right!

hardcore techno is simply hardcore G haha. the name was just shortened, and it's a hugely diverse genre of music that includes oldskool rave (breakbeat hardcore), along with gabber, industrial, breakcore etc etc etc :D

:mad: Fookin anal genre junkies!! hehehe .........like I said,we're both right! your just righter!

In my nice little simple world of G .....

Hardcore is the stuff I like from 91-94 incorporating Breakbeat,Jungle,DnB
    Rave is the stuff they were all dancing to mashed on yokes in the UK from 88-91
    Techno is the stuff that goes BANG BANG BANG BANG BANG BANG and makes me reach for the solpadeine!
    Trance is the stuff that I danced to in the Asylum
    House is where I live (not mine,my parents) and the vocal stuff you warned me about.
    Hard House is the other stuff I liked to dance to in the mid to late 90's .....and the thing I'm having trouble getting hold off for myself these days (hence been here at my parents lol)

I'll leave all that defining sub-genre labelling to the rest of yiz!

............got any Hardcore vocal house? or Hardcore Dubstep? :P

You not over on oos tonight Es?

• Subscribers Posts: 8,325 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

Nice selection, love that Sabres remix of K Klass, quality break - Temple of Sound.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056613810

lads - i should be taking part in this documentary, there's talk about doing a tour of the old clubs in Dublin for this documentary maybe this Saturday weather permitting, if it's going ahead anyone else up for it should be a laugh anyway:)

jonnny68 wrote: »
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056613810

lads - i should be taking part in this documentary, there's talk about doing a tour of the old clubs in Dublin for this documentary maybe this Saturday weather permitting, if it's going ahead anyone else up for it should be a laugh anyway:)

I posted it a few pages back Jonnny, the guy is looking for peeps to contact him,I think yourself,Caf,Jay Carey n Francois could give a great account of the early days! his contact mail is in the thread.

yeah he has already been in touch ages ago mate;)

I think your good self should be in on this as well given you were there for the glory days:)

jonnny68 wrote: »
    yeah he has already been in touch ages ago mate;)

I think your good self should be in on this as well given you were there for the glory days:)

lol Jonnny I rely on these threads to refresh my memory! would be a buzz alright reliving the good times, "Is Mise" would be another suitable attendee, alas fast forward almost 20 years and kids n life put a stop to such simple pleasures! .....is i had my way I'd be heading to that knee's up you keep teasing us with :mad: hehehe

Your in for a cracking weekend!!

lol Jonnny I rely on these threads to refresh my memory! would be a buzz alright reliving the good times, "Is Mise" would be another suitable attendee, alas fast forward almost 20 years and kids n life put a stop to such simple pleasures! .....is i had my way I'd be heading to that knee's up you keep teasing us with :mad: hehehe

Your in for a cracking weekend!!

ah sure i know myself mate with kids and all that but nothing would stop me from attending Retro Trax :)
    Take a few hours out mate and we;ll all do a tour of the old clubs :)

You not over on oos tonight Es?

yeah, was there till about half ten or so, then went down me mates, only home now. popped into chat just there, looks like an early night tonight, not a sinner in the place.

Must've just missed ya! dropped in towards the end of Sparky's set (nice oldskool techno ala Carl Cox 91/92 - the kind of techno I'd remember lol)

Then hung around for DJ B's maiden set :eek: Bang bang bang bang bang but he tore it up! had them all rocking in the place,then I did one (could feel a headache coming on lol)

Just seen this on the top 30 sellers list this month on the cogs :eek: nearly 400 notes!! mad money but not a bad remix!

Must've just missed ya! dropped in towards the end of Sparky's set (nice oldskool techno ala Carl Cox 91/92 - the kind of techno I'd remember lol)

Then hung around for DJ B's maiden set :eek: Bang bang bang bang bang but he tore it up! had them all rocking in the place,then I did one (could feel a headache coming on lol)

Just seen this on the top 30 sellers list this month on the cogs :eek: nearly 400 notes!! mad money but not a bad remix!

yeah i caught the start of sparky's set, then me mate rang me, so i went down to his gaff for a few hours. silly money for a vinyl tho, wouldn't pay that even if i was loaded tbh. would feel like i was wasting money, as i know what it's like to be broke lol.

posted a similar pic a while ago :D

524423_10150758648408796_536773795_9378880_2081403615_n.jpg