Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sexy Halloween costumes...zzzzzzzz.

• 01-11-2011 1:00pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

So another Halloween has passed. This is the one time of the year I like to dress up like an idiot and have fun but it seems like more and more women every year with sezro imagination who are afraid to let go simply dress up as some sexy nurses, sexy devil, sexy cat/tiger, sexy ghost, sexy vampire or whatever boring, overused idea we've all seen a million times.

Now yes, they look sexy and sexy is good because it's sexy but we have every day of the week to do the sexy thing but back in my day (fado fado), Halloween was a time to have a laugh. Not blowing my own trumpet here but I went as a very unsexy box of cornflakes. I constructed a cornflakes box out of a cardboard box, made spoons out of cardboard and tinfoil and even made a hat shaped like a bowl of cornflakes. Saturday night I went to a party filled to the brim with women dressed as sexy whatevers (I live in Spain and everyone at the party was either English, Irish or American mainly...the Spanish don't really do the Halloween thing yet although it's creeping in). The men had a laugh and dressed up in fun costumes but the women....they let me down and I ended up feeling like a bit of a numpty in spite of myself.

Does every little thing we do nowadays have to be sexy?? (yes, yes...I know what answers to expect from here..) What happened to just having fun for fun's sake? Halloween has become boring and porsaic like everything else and what was once my favourite time of year has now become a bore.

Boooo :-(

Last night I adorned my cornflakes box again to show others I will not conform, damnit! And it was actually a good night...at least I had my fun ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭Isolt

I was a sexy vampire. Well, I poured blood all over me so I looked creepy.

Still sexy though :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Dunny

Pics or GTFO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

Sexy costumes are uninspired unless it's Cosplay from comics/ video games/ sci if etc.

See comic con for details

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

I like Halloween. It's an excuse for women who normally wouldn't dress scantily, to dress scantily.

...and it's an excuse for women who normally dress scantily, to dress even scantilier

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

"Halloween is the one night of the year where a girl can dress like a complete slut and other girls cant say anything about it"- Mean Girls

Its cool when girls put in actual effort or wear something scary instead of the sexy cat (most boring Halloween costume ever) or cop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

It is a bit of a cliche i suppose. It doesnt seem to be a halloween costume unless a woman has their baps out. Dont know what the big deal is about it lately. Back in my 'day' no one bothered with it. It was for kids basically.

On the other hand i nearly crashed my car on the way into work this morning when i saw some poor fecker struggling up College Road on the way home after a hard night out dressed as Scooby Doo. Now that was some walk of shame. He looked bollixed. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,131 ✭✭✭subway

hi op, welcome to the internet, i am certain you will find someone to share your corn flake box sexy fetish if you would kindly post some pics

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Eve_Dublin wrote: »
    I went as a very unsexy box of cornflakes.

I'd rather ride a box of cornflakes than some of the "sexy" yokes I saw out the last night.
    Just don't come running to me in 9 months if you find a free gift inside the box....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

On the other hand i nearly crashed my car on the way into work this morning when i saw some poor fecker struggling up College Road on the way home after a hard night out dressed as Scooby Doo. Now that was some walk of shame. He looked bollixed. :D

See I'm laughing just thinking about that...that's what it's all about for me. The walk of shame at 7am dressed as a turnip or whatever...

krudler wrote: »
    "Halloween is the one night of the year where a girl can dress like a complete slut and other girls cant say anything about it"- Mean Girls

Its cool when girls put in actual effort or wear something scary instead of the sexy cat (most boring Halloween costume ever) or cop.

Even worse, the BOUGHT sexy cat costumes....yawn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

I like that you didn't conform to the usual french maid type outfits Eve, though I will say that the point of Halloween over all has been lost on most. This year, I was a black widow, last year I was a vampiress, and scream, and a devil woman and the likes before that. I try to stick to the idea behind it.

It's more fancy-dress than Halloween anymore, unfortunately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Saucer of milk for the OP.

mikom wrote: »
    I'd rather ride a box of cornflakes than some of the "sexy" yokes I saw out the last night.
    Just don't come running to me in 9 months if you find a free gift inside the box....

The beauty of it was, I was completely unrideable...it was like some kind of chastity belt with a force field. Men couldn't come near me....although they still tried...cornflakes obviously does it for some men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Bitter OP= Ugly OP

You should have dressed as a lemon.

I welcome naked ladies at all occasions /celebrations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Bitter OP= Ugly OP

Is that a can of worms I hear being opened?

Abi wrote: »
    I like that you didn't conform to the usual french maid type outfits Eve, though I will say that the point of Halloween over all has been lost on most. This year, I was a black widow, last year I was a vampiress, scream, and a devil woman and the likes before that. I try to stick to the idea behind it.

It's more fancy-dress than Halloween anymore, unfortunately.

I like those kinds of costumes...the scary ones that people put a bit of effort into. It's the over the top/I'm trying way to hard to be sexy costumes that I've seen a million times that bore me. Maybe I'm over thinking this...I've a terrible hangover.:(

I was originally going to go as a "Seriel/Cereal Killer" but just because I've a stupid sense of humour, thought it'd be funnier just to go as a box of cornflakes. That's how I roll.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭Miss Olenska

I just don't see the point in dressing up for Halloween in general. It's "fun" for about 10 seconds, then you have to deal with a cumbersome costume for the rest of the night, and the novelty wears off FAST.

Wacky costumes = not as fun as they seem, so not worth the effort to make.

If I HAVE to do the costume thing, I always go as a cat as it takes zero effort. Sorry Eve! :)
    Dont know what the big deal is about it lately. Back in my 'day' no one bothered with it. It was for kids basically.

Yes, thank you!!! WTF is there such a big deal made of Halloween these days?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,903 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Saucer pint of milk for the OP.

FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

I saw a class costume of a girl dressed as Lois Lane with a baby doll wearing a Superman cape exploding out her stomach, now thats funny, creative and creepy, everything halloween should be

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

In my defence, I very rarely dress in a way that some people would call 'sexy' (tiny dresses, high heels, cleavage and arse all over the place), but last night I was the sexiest cat you've ever seen (but still tasteful), and it worked!

Bitter OP= Ugly OP

You should have dressed as a lemon.

Ah the response I was expecting from AH! No thread relating to women goes by without someone who doesn't know me calling me fat and/or ugly! Yes, I'm a horrible, haggard old thing. You're absolutely right.

Saucer of milk for the OP.

What....to pour on the cornflakes?

Ah the response I was expecting from AH! No thread relating to women goes by without someone who doesn't know me calling me fat and/or ugly! Yes, I'm a horrible, haggard old thing. You're absolutely right.

Ah here now- no need to be cruel. I'm sure you have a "cracking personality" and great inventive skills. I mean, a box of Cornflakes. Bravo.

You seem a lovely person with no attitute at all.

All the sexy girls dress sexy.

The FIENDS!!!

How dare they lower, what is essentially a commercialised experience to flog sweets to kids.

Sexy womins are sweets for men! Fact.

Err, I think that poster was joking, seemed tongue-in-cheek to me.
    What....to pour on the cornflakes?

Have you misplaced your sense of humour?

Yeah?
    Have you misplaced your sense of humour?

I was joking^^^ too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

The beauty of it was, I was completely unrideable...it was like some kind of chastity belt with a force field. Men couldn't come near me....although they still tried...cornflakes obviously does it for some men.

I'd rather me oats in the morning ;)

Ah here now- no need to be cruel. I'm sure you have a "cracking personality" and great inventive skills. I mean, a box of Cornflakes. Bravo.

You seem a lovely person with no attitute at all.

All the sexy girls dress sexy.

The FIENDS!!!

How dare they lower, what is essentially a commercialised experience to flog sweets to kids.

Sexy womins are sweets for men! Fact.

Was this tongue-in-cheek as well?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

One of my friends dressed as a bucket of Hillbillies chicken.
    And got free chicken out of it :pac:

I was joking^^^ too.

Seemed like defensiveness to me!
    Mega Chin wrote: »
    One of my friends dressed as a bucket of Hillbillies chicken.
    And got free chicken out of it

OK, if I am reminded next Halloween that I can get free fried chicken out my Halloween costume, I might just make the effort! :pac:

Was this tongue-in-cheek as well?

Back in your (cornflakes) box.

Hang on Sexy Eve- I'll be your Adam and get my pitchfork.

DOWN WITH SEXY WOMINS AT HALLOWEEN............BOO.

Burkas for all!

Asking if the milk was for the cornflakes was defensive? Seems like you're picking up whatever tone you want from text.

Back in your (cornflakes) box.

DOWN WITH SEXY WOMINS AT HALLOWEEN............BOO.

Burkas for all!

Because that's what I said. :rolleyes:

Asking if the milk was for the cornflakes was defensive? Seems like you're picking up whatever tone you want from text.

OK, fine, moving on.

There are two types of Halloween costume: wacky and sexy. Both are meh in my eyes. If anything, wacky ones I find more irritating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Bitter OP= Ugly OP
    "Bitter" - a word that's regularly used incorrectly on Boards. How... do you know she's ugly and that you're able to throw out an insult btw?
    Hmmm... funny that. I could have sworn you were the dude bitching and moaning about the UCC lapdancing night that time. ;)

I presume Eve is referring to that "Heeheehee, I'm kinda naughty yet cute!!!" stuff.

The burka argument is a strawman btw... Nowhere did she say women should cover up for moral reasons.

That said, I like that Hammer House of Horror gear, which is sexy, but at least more suited to the occasion.
    Nope, it wasn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

So another Halloween has passed. This is the one time of the year I like to dress up like an idiot and have fun but it seems like more and more women every year with sezro imagination who are afraid to let go simply dress up as some sexy nurses, sexy devil, sexy cat/tiger, sexy ghost, sexy vampire or whatever boring, overused idea we've all seen a million times.

Now yes, they look sexy and sexy is good because it's sexy but we have every day of the week to do the sexy thing but back in my day (fado fado), Halloween was a time to have a laugh. Not blowing my own trumpet here but I went as a very unsexy box of cornflakes. I constructed a cornflakes box out of a cardboard box, made spoons out of cardboard and tinfoil and even made a hat shaped like a bowl of cornflakes. Saturday night I went to a party filled to the brim with women dressed as sexy whatevers (I live in Spain and everyone at the party was either English, Irish or American mainly...the Spanish don't really do the Halloween thing yet although it's creeping in). The men had a laugh and dressed up in fun costumes but the women....they let me down and I ended up feeling like a bit of a numpty in spite of myself.

Does every little thing we do nowadays have to be sexy?? (yes, yes...I know what answers to expect from here..) What happened to just having fun for fun's sake? Halloween has become boring and porsaic like everything else and what was once my favourite time of year has now become a bore.

Boooo :-(

Last night I adorned my cornflakes box again to show others I will not conform, damnit! And it was actually a good night...at least I had my fun ;)

son of a motherless goat... its not boards fault that some people dress like franch maids while pulling fish like faces or maybe ther pose's in front of cameras with these idiotic looking women ...

ah well

thank fully roofies is quite cheep :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Change it to a spoon.
    Better for stirring shit.

Dudess wrote: »
    Nope, it wasn't.

I'm sorry but how can you so definitively say that?

And what has a box of cornflakes got to do with Halloween? Know whar I mean?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

I wore a moustache.

My costume was therefore sexy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,380 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

perhaps i don't have discerning taste, but one of the best costumes I saw this weekend was a guy dressed as wally, with a sign saying "Occupy Sesame Street."
    another good costume was a girl dressed as she-ra

the best non costume on display, was an absolutely stunning girl wearing a blue dress. She had long blond hair too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Meh, I get what you're saying but a few years back you couldn't convince people to dress up, nevermind dress down. How people enjoy themselves is very much influenced by how they belive they're supposed to enjoy themselves. I always love Halloween because I think costumes can be a great creative outlet and a cool talking point for strangers. It's amazing some of the stuff people come up with; my flatmate went as Inspector Gadget and had a helicopter blade on his hat that actually rotated! Pretty cool. But you can't tell people how to enjoy their night out and I have to say the party I went to had very few women dressed in a "sexy" way.

Oh jeez, defending herself from someone who has never seen her calling her ugly - whatever next?!

Seriously, you'll learn in AH that there is a small number of men who will put down women on physical traits for even the most imagined slight - and don't think you're exempt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

tbh, halloween is about dressing up the way you wouldnt usually on a day to day basis, if you usually dress sexy then better to dress scary or funny, and vice versa. if you usually cover up any assets you have (a lot of girls do this, i never understand it but thats imho) then dress sexy/slutty or something like that. for me it was a customised french maids outfit, fecked up fishnets and zombie makeup (trying to do the whole magenta from rocky horror thing) :). its about being a different type person than you usually are imho :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

Jesus wept.

Some girl dresses up "sexy" & some girl bitches. This shit never gets tired. :rolleyes:

All we need now to tcomplete the set is some poor sap whining that all women at bitches because one girl turned him down last night.

Oh jeez, defending herself from someone who has never seen her calling her ugly - whatever next?!

Seriously, you'll learn in AH that there is a small number of men who will put down women on physical traits for even the most imagined slight - and don't think you're exempt.

But sure, if someone does call me a munter, I'd just shrug because of course they have no clue what I look like. I would think the worst reaction is to get wound up, TBH. Comments like that are designed to get the rise, and well, it works evidently!
    candy-gal1 wrote: »
    tbh, halloween is about dressing up the way you wouldnt usually on a day to day basis, if you usually dress sexy then better to dress scary or funny, and vice versa. if you usually cover up any assets you have (a lot of girls do this, i never understand it but thats imho) then dress sexy/slutty or something like that. its about being a different type person than you usually are imho

Exactly. Most Halloween costumes have feck all to do with Halloween. Why pick on the sexy ones?

I'm specifically talking about the girl who dress up in those crappy shop-bought sexy costumes that have nothing to do with halloween. They dust it off for every occasion. How come some people got that and some people thought I was some bitter, frigid ugly woman who doesn't like sexy or dressing up sexy ever?

By the way, just because someone dresses "sexy", doesn't mean they pull it off...even an ugly fat swamp monkey like myself could dress sexy...but of course I'd continue to look like an ugly fat swamp monkey. Such is life! :(

Zulu wrote: »
    Jesus wept.

Some girl dresses up "sexy" & some girl bitches. This shit never gets tired. :rolleyes:
    Some guy leaps at the opportunity to point out bitchiness that isn't there without bothering to read the context. You're right - this shit doesn't get tired. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭spider guardian

Facebook is making it worse. Some people had their 'wacky' pics up no sooner than a few minutes after getting home. Pagans the whole lot of em.

I had always pictured the OP as a box of Honey Nut Loops for some reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

I'm specifically talking about the girl who dress up in those crappy shop-bought sexy costumes that have nothing to do with halloween. They dust it off for every occasion...
    Some guy leaps at the opportunity to point out bitchiness that isn't there without bothering to read the context...
    Read the context; got the bitchiness. Your knickers are twisted why exactly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

...but of course I'd continue to look like an ugly fat swamp monkey. Such is life! :(

That sounds like an ideal Halloween costume.

I'm specifically talking about the girl who dress up in those crappy shop-bought sexy costumes that have nothing to do with halloween.

Eve, again, what has a box of cornflakes got to do with Halloween?