Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Could this happen in Ireland?

• 27-10-2011 2:21pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 349 ✭✭

Just came across this video of the civil unrest in the U.S. and wondered if the same thing could happen here, what do you think?

apparently the guy who got shot was a U.S. soldier and is now in a coma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

Disgraceful behaviour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

talkinyite wrote: »

apparently the guy who got shot was a U.S. soldier and is now in a coma.

Soldiers should not demonstrate or be part of a particular political party,it is against the law and dishonorable to the highest degree.

Deserves to be in a coma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Morlar wrote: »

shankill bombings.
    Both sides are as bad as the other.

pmcmahon wrote: »
    shankill bombings.
    Both sides are as bad as the other.

That clip shows the british state via the RUC firing baton rounds into crowds of unarmed Irish people.

To answer the OP - yes this can and has happened in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

Im blind I didnt see anyone get SHOT :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭fulhamfanincork

it would never happen here as I doubt the Guards have flash grenades...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 349 ✭✭talkinyite

Soldiers should not demonstrate or be part of a particular political party,it is against the law and dishonorable to the highest degree.

Sorry he's a veteran, not active.

Shankill butchers were loyalists who butchered random catholics.

That clip shows the british state via the RUC firing baton rounds into crowds of unarmed Irish people.

IRA
    621 civilian casulties and 6 Irish armed forces and Gardaí

am i right in saying that the IRA classes themselves as the official army of the Irish state?,seems a bit like for like to me.

anyway,game over,another thread another day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Brendog

Ah we're too broke to like that.

I apply my universal prinicpal to this...

"Whats th point? Its nearly Friday anyway"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Aren't you lovely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

wow..

krudler wrote: »
    wow..

He's a charmer that scott Tenorman is . .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭Gee Bag

Top notch post there, o great king of the fearless interner warriors

This one was shown on TV the day it happened, the footage doesn't appear to be avialable on youtube now though

Photo A)
    http://belfastexposed.org/uploadimages/SeanDownes2.jpg

Photo B)
    http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/multimedia/archive/00025/Alan_Lewis_Sean_Dow__25327s.jpg

Yes the guy died. Yes the RUC man was found not guilty. I think if incidents like that were happening regularly in the republic then there would be a very different attitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Do not use this thread again.

biko wrote: »
    Do not use this thread again.

ok.

Mod note:deserved to be banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭IcedOut

The Gards don't have guns
    And i'd be suprised if they knew what a flashbang was
    So i doubt it would happen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭Johnny D. Mudd

Astoundingly harsh post there from pmcmahon but let's not dwell on that.

These days I can't see the Irish public engaging in such unadulterated violence as we appear to have become neutered and reluctant to act. There have been grumblings from the masses I know but there hasn't been any firm action. Which is a shame as it has resulted in a Political Party being more willing and unafraid to exploit our naivety from which we are now paying the price. But then we've always kinda been a pacifist-type people. Apart from times when we needed to engage in violence obviously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

The Gardai do have flash bangs (stun grenades). They are only used by the ERU and they don't go throwing them into crowds of fairly peaceful protestors like that gobshyte cop in the video.

The guy who was hit seems to have been struck by a baton round (I looked up a few online news reports). They are still used in the north, but to a far lesser extent than they were years ago.

I'm pretty sure the guards have never used baton rounds or tear gas, they certainly weren't used during the DUblin riots in 2006 or 1981 (Don't know if they even have them in reserve). They seem to prefer the old fashioned 'roll up the schleeves and get schtuck in' approach to crowd control.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Interesting as the cops spent the whole day saying they didn't use any flashbangs.

What day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

are you retarded ?? of course a serving soldier can part of ANY political party if they so wish - why not ?

as for your other comment - only one person deserves that for such a comment and that is you - ignorant post from a ignorant gob****e

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

If the US stratifies any more it will end up with serious levels of countrywide unrest imho.
    Photo B)
    http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/multimedia/archive/00025/Alan_Lewis_Sean_Dow__25327s.jpg

Yes the guy died. Yes the RUC man was found not guilty.

Probably has a good pension and all the murdering bastard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

Land of the free home of the brave.....if it happened in a brown country the yanks would be calling for interventions...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭HavingCrack

dj jarvis wrote: »
    are you retarded ?? of course a serving soldier can part of ANY political party if they so wish - why not ?

Well actually they can't. In some states it's obligatory to renounce membership of any politcal party if you become a solider. Basically the idea is that the armed forces should be neutral in any civil unrest rather than biased towarda a particular political grouping. There's actually soudn enough reasons for it, have a look at the Spanish Civil War to see what political inflitration of the army can lead to. I'm not sure on the law on Ireland but I think members of the IDF are not allowed be part of any political party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭The Scientician

Oakland is a particularly violent city with a dodgy police force. The stuff happening there is a lot less likely across most of the US.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭4leto

What was he shot with a bullet or a bean bag??

With a bullet there was lethal intent, with a bean bag its designed to hurt but can kill if hit in the head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

QUICK lets call the Americans and NATO to invade and stop this government harming its citizens !!

ow wait... ****

• Closed Accounts Posts: 146 ✭✭alphanine

RichieC wrote: »
    Land of the free home of the brave.....if it happened in a brown country the yanks would be calling for interventions...

Oakland is pretty much a "brown" city. Wouldn't see this carryon in more affluent areas.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

should have listened to the polices orders and not pr1cked about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

should have listened to the polices orders and not pr1cked about.

Yes because that always leads to a fair and peaceful society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

Are you for fcucking real.............what planet do you live on.

Well actually they can't. In some states it's obligatory to renounce membership of any politcal party if you become a solider. Basically the idea is that the armed forces should be neutral in any civil unrest rather than biased towarda a particular political grouping. There's actually soudn enough reasons for it, have a look at the Spanish Civil War to see what political inflitration of the army can lead to. I'm not sure on the law on Ireland but I think members of the IDF are not allowed be part of any political party.

fed law surpasses state law - soldiers in the us ( and Europe ) can be a member of any political party they wish , once its not a prescribed illigal org

and in fairness it would be pointless having a army that is politically neutral - it just would never happen
    that is why lots of country's have compulsory service for 18+ - so they get a broad political spectrum ( that is why Germany up until recently did not have a " professional " army as to not make the mistakes of the past - less likely for a army to turn of the people if its made up from the people )

the irish army can vote as they like and as far as i know always have been

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

Not quite. They can vote here; but cannot campaign or be a member of any political party. Guy/gal up above was right.
    In similar vein the GAURDS and army arnt allowed to go onstrike. Blue flu-ers ; did anything ever happen to them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,342 ✭✭✭Bobby Baccala

4leto wrote: »
    What was he shot with a bullet or a bean bag??

With a bullet there was lethal intent, with a bean bag its designed to hurt but can kill if hit in the head.

he was shot with a tear gas can.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭HavingCrack

fed law surpasses state law - soldiers in the us ( and Europe ) can be a member of any political party they wish , once its not a prescribed illigal org

Simply incorrect. Federal vs state law has nothing to do with it. Campaigning on behalf on or membership of political parties is banned in every military force I can think of.
    and in fairness it would be pointless having a army that is politically neutral - it just would never happen
    that is why lots of country's have compulsory service for 18+ - so they get a broad political spectrum ( that is why Germany up until recently did not have a " professional " army as to not make the mistakes of the past - less likely for a army to turn of the people if its made up from the people )

Actually having a politically neutral army or at least aiming for one is an excellent idea. Countries do not have compulsory service aka conscription for the purposes of having a broad politcal spectrum, that's simply wrong.

Actually, if you're referring to the Imperial German Army and latterly the Wehrmacht and SS they were all conscript armies.

the irish army can vote as they like and as far as i know always have been

They can vote, I never suggested otherwise. However they cannot campaign on behalf of any candidate or political party or be a member of a political party. The Guards have similar criteria for membership. Your beliefs

Not quite. They can vote here; but cannot campaign or be a member of any political party. Guy/gal up above was right.
    In similar vein the GAURDS and army arnt allowed to go onstrike. Blue flu-ers ; did anything ever happen to them?

sorry i misunderstood what he was saying

i took it as he was saying they could not vote or have political opinion

as for blue flu nothing ever happened, as with the formation of PDFORRA the army brass went mental when it started as far as i can remember,
    its a proxy union for the army/naval service and air corp , no real powers but do represent the conditions none the less

the government is not stupid - dont piss off the forces that ensure the power of your government :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭seanin4711

bloody cops

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,950 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Simply incorrect. Federal vs state law has nothing to do with it. Campaigning on behalf on or membership of political parties is banned in every military force I can think of.

Actually having a politically neutral army or at least aiming for one is an excellent idea. Countries do not have compulsory service aka conscription for the purposes of having a broad politcal spectrum, that's simply wrong.

Actually, if you're referring to the Imperial German Army and latterly the Wehrmacht and SS they were all conscript armies.

They can vote, I never suggested otherwise. However they cannot campaign on behalf of any candidate or political party or be a member of a political party. The Guards have similar criteria for membership. Your beliefs

I think he is talking about the bundeswehr.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 902 ✭✭✭DoneDL

It does make me appreciate the guards a bit more.

im presuming you missed my post where i said i misunderstood your post havingthecrack so calm down

you are wrong about the German army , post war they made sure that all joe soap's were in the army to stop a army having the power that the nazis had,
    did not want a majority professional army that could be used like they were during the Nazi years

the German army was professional during the nazi era - the ss and sa were NEVER part of the German army

the logic was up till 2010 if they had German citizens as a non professional army then there was less chance of it being led into a situation like the Nazis
    ( they did have a percentage of pros , but just to run the infrastructure )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭stone roses

there is no shame in what these people are doing! if your are not ready to stand up for what you believe in then take a back seat follow the sheep and shut up! its easy to look at these protesters and put them down but the fact is these protesters did not run a country into the wall in the name of greed , power and money, they are everyday people trying to make a future for them selfs, all they want is fair play and to live a good life but the big guns dont care!!! so what else can they do if no one gives a dame about there future?

its a bit like the school bully, he keeps kicking, kicking and kicking until he kicks no more and you knock him out yourself! simple :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭vampire of kilmainham

yea it might happen here bring it on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

Your a class act you know that.:rolleyes: