Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GTA V Pre-release Discussion - ***DO NOT POST SPOILERS*** (Mod warning in first post)

SaulGoode9 wrote: »
    Take-Two's fiscal year runs from 1st April-31st March

Correct, and they don't predict a V release in this year, so the game would be post-March, I do believe?

The whole 'don't ask for a source' thing kinda shoots this in the foot, but it could be genuine. From GTAForums:

http://www.gtaforums.com/index.php?showtopic=534256&st=0
    Multiplayer.it answered to some questions about GTA V via twitter today while they were showing in live streaming NFS MW (I announced it today).

Hopefully I won't forget anything, here all the info they gave:

First of all, next week they will release an interview with Dan Houser, they teased that he will reply to lot of questions, such as "Why there never been female protagonists?" and "Why all GTAs are set in America and there aren't GTAs in other countries?"

- There is no a lead platform, they are developing the game at the same time in both PS3 and XBOX360
    - Who saw the demo thinks that there won't be a Wii U version because rockstar is not experienced with this new console, but he is also confident that there will be a PC version after a few months.
    - Who saw the demo said the graphics is amazing, and you can see the maniacal attention to all the details. Amazing graphics and attention to details combine together and give a credibility to the game world.
    - Speaking of graphics, the demo had a lot of alias (Which is going to be fixed before release, of course) but the frame rate wasn't bad (but not perfect). Curiosity: They did the same presentation for GTA IV 5 years ago, and in this case the graphics was great but the frame rate was really bad.
    - At the moment you can't switch between characters if you are in free roam and you are wanted, but they are still working on that so it may change (Maybe we'll be able to switch characters and then make a huge escape from police with all the characters together... Damn, this should be in the wish list lol)
    - There will be multiple endings (Maybe we already know that, I can't remember)

As for the lenght of the game, Rockstar said that the main story alone lasts about as the red dead redemption one. So about 25-30 hours. But there will be a HUGE amount of secondary things to do.
    Btw, It will last less than the one in GTA IV with Nico because they know that a lot of people didn't finish the story because it was too long.

End.

PS. don't ask for sources, it was a live streaming video and it was in italian...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭MaxSteele

http://www.inentertainment.co.uk/20121118/gta-v-ending-and-game-length-explained/
    The latest comments from Dan Houser on the length of the game mentions that this version will not be as long as the last, as many gamers found the Grand Theft Auto IV story far too long with many admitting they never finished it. Going by the time compared to RDR it seems that GTA 5 will be around 25-30 hours

I've been salvating at the news we've been receiving so far, but this is very disappointing if true. GTA IV took over 30 hours to complete focusing on just missions alone. Now R* are thinking of scaling back on the storyline because a few gamers thought it was too long ?

A game of GTA V's size and scope with three playable characters will need a lot more than 30 hours in mission time if it's to live up to the hype it's received. Story is what makes the series so great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭EdenHazard

That would be so dumb. Obviously the fun of GTA is the open world element and we don't know what the side missions will include but like you said 3 characters requires more story to develop the characters. Although I think trevor and franklin will very much be side characters in Michael's story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,600 ✭✭✭✭CMpunked

EdenHazard wrote: »
    That would be so dumb. Obviously the fun of GTA is the open world element and we don't know what the side missions will include but like you said 3 characters requires more story to develop the characters. Although I think trevor and franklin will very much be side characters in Michael's story.

Yeah I agree. Michael is certainly being pushed as the 'main' character in a sense and the other 2 as secondary playable characters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭JohnMarston

MaxSteele wrote: »
    http://www.inentertainment.co.uk/20121118/gta-v-ending-and-game-length-explained/

I've been salvating at the news we've been receiving so far, but this is very disappointing if true. GTA IV took over 30 hours to complete focusing on just missions alone. Now R* are thinking of scaling back on the storyline because a few gamers thought it was too long ?

I think that with all the additional features that GTA V will have, the replay value when compared to IV will be significanty improved.

If its anyway as long as RDR, or slightly shorter i'll be happy.Quality over quantity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Btw, It will last less than the one in GTA IV with Nico because they know that a lot of people didn't finish the story because it was too long.

This makes me sad tbh.

If we're going to wait another 5 years for VI (which I wouldn't have an issue with BTW), I'd like the longest story possible.

TBH, I think it's a false assumption to say people didn't finish IV because the story was too long. As far as I can tell, the majority of people who didn't finish IV didn't finish it because they thought the story was boring.

If I get the story finished in under 30 hours on my first playthrough then I'll consider this game a failure. :P

(took me 120 hours for my first full playthrough of IV :P)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Few gamers thought GTA 4 was boring so didnt finish it.

I didnt think 4 was that long didnt notice at the time.

RDR was decent but i was distracted constantly by stuff :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    This makes me sad tbh.

If we're going to wait another 5 years for VI (which I wouldn't have an issue with BTW), I'd like the longest story possible.

TBH, I think it's a false assumption to say people didn't finish IV because the story was too long. As far as I can tell, the majority of people who didn't finish IV didn't finish it because they thought the story was boring.

If I get the story finished in under 30 hours on my first playthrough then I'll consider this game a failure. :P

(took me 120 hours for my first full playthrough of IV :P)

I didnt finish it the first time. But when I re-did it I thought the story was great. I didnt pay that much attention the first time but that tends to always happen with GTA games. I miss chunks of the story because I skip cut scenes etc just to get back to the actual game play. It always takes two plays for me to get the full story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭intellectual dosser

Veering away from the current discussion but can we assume there wont be a Los Santos subway/metro given that it didnt appear in the trailers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭face1990

Veering away from the current discussion but can we assume there wont be a Los Santos subway/metro given that it didnt appear in the trailers?

Yeah I don't expect there will be, apart from the couple of train tunnels of course.
    The subway in GTA IV was never as fun as I expected it to be!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭EdenHazard

Boring wasn't it. not really sure what they could've done to spice it up except for having rafael, donatello and the lads just strolling around down there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Hogzy

Los Angeles does have a metro system so there is still a chance it is in the game. However I would much prefer a rail network where we can actually control the trains.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,680 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

With one town how much of a rail system can there be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,600 ✭✭✭✭CMpunked

Quazzie wrote: »

There is one giant City the size of LC from IV, and numerous towns and as we have seen from the trailer there is clearly a developed rail network that stretches to rural areas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭✭Wonda-Boy

Santy gonna bring me a new the new slim PS3 for this game, and I am gonna neglect the world for the whole game....kids, wife, job the LOT!

GTA for Life BRAh!

face1990 wrote: »
    Yeah I don't expect there will be, apart from the couple of train tunnels of course.
    The subway in GTA IV was never as fun as I expected it to be!

Urgh, with no metro the roads are going to be clogged with buses and cars. We wont be able to get anywhere fast while smog is going to be a problem in the future.

Rockstar will have a lot to answer for in terms of the city's planning.

:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

I'm buying a PS3 just to get GTA3 (and FarCry 3), it's cheaper than upgrading my PC.

An underground rail system would not need to be fun. Undergound tube systems are not interesting in comparison to stealing a car/bike etc and driving to said location.

A rail system would serve a purpose in terms of fast travel. For instance you need to reach location x but dont feel like weaving through traffic. Go to the nearest rail station, pick the station nearest to x, and away you go

An underground rail system would not need to be fun. Undergound tube systems are not interesting in comparison to stealing a car/bike etc and driving to said location.

A rail system would serve a purpose in terms of fast travel. For instance you need to reach location x but dont feel like weaving through traffic. Go to the nearest rail station, pick the station nearest to x, and away you go

GTA IV could have done this instead of using taxi's (or both). Instead you have to select your station and buy your ticket. It then fast travels to that station (doesnt show a cut scene for every station)

Or...

1. Steal car.
    2. Go to nearest rail station.
    3. Drive car onto tracks.
    4. Drive really fast to station nearest x, weaving in between trains.
    5. Win.

:P

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    Or...

1. Steal car.
    2. Go to nearest rail station.
    3. Drive car onto tracks.
    4. Drive really fast to station nearest x, weaving in between trains.
    5. Win.

:P

A motorbike would be easier to maneuver on rail tracks.

Or you could be Mr.Boring and take a taxi

A motorbike would be easier to maneuver on rail tracks.

Or you could be Mr.Boring and take a taxi

As you've mentioned Taxi's, one thing I hope they do is get rid of the annoying taxi driver voices.

There's only so many times you can hear "Sorry, I just blasted some gas in here." before you feel like getting out mid-journey and beating the driver to death.

(I know you can skip the taxi ride, but even then you hear at least two of those "witty" lines)

I don't think it needs to be practical - but something that you could have a bit of fun with. The subway in GTAIV was handy for surviving 6 stars!

It was the only way to survive/beat 6 stars, The other being, getting a helicopter (hard to do if you have 6 stars unless you are right next to one), flying to the maximum height and parachuting out.

Hogzy wrote: »
    It was the only way to survive/beat 6 stars, The other being, getting a helicopter (hard to do if you have 6 stars unless you are right next to one), flying to the maximum height and parachuting out.

Happiness Island yo'. :cool:

I survived 6 stars by getting it, then hiding in my newly acquired penthouse that playboy x used to own.

By survive 6 stars do ye mean just taking on that many cops or actually escaping, Im talking about escaping the 6 stars.

Oh sorry, I meant surviving long enough to get the "One Man Army" Achievement/Trophy. :o