If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Gumshoe runs again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭village runner

What marathons have you set yourself up for ?
    Grin go makes a great point about a 10k will get you better suited to a 2.45 than another marathon but whats the point in that. Whats the fun in that.
    I laughed my nads off when I read you were gone fat. But i nearly fcukes the computer of the wall when you were 7ibs off race weight. Try fcuking 30ibs.
    Great to have you back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,095 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

Almost at the midpoint of my Grand European Tour (just like the Victorians did but with fewer manservant's)

Coach Boss tells me I have to run 5 w/3@ tempo 7:00 - 7:10/mile. So off I sets out of the door of my snug hotel room into the Kiel night (well evening). Now you may not know Kiel so let me tell you that it is bog arse cold. And when I say cold I mean winds howling direct from Santas Grotto cold. And there I was in my shorts and T shirt (although fully kitted out with Aldi's best base layer and a pair of woolly gloves!). I had been told taht a great and popular route to run was by the harbour - and it was, flat enough, wide and a fair few runners out. Locals, you know, people who live there all year round and are adapted to the weather. And were wearing (and I kid you not) bobble hats, scarves, hooded fleecy jumpers and heavy leggings. But when has a hardy buck from Donegal ever let that phase him? Sure if you are too cold you need to speed up!

So off I trotted and knocked off mile one in a warm up 7:49. And when I say warm up I mean just above freezing as the wind whipped in from the Baltic. Beep goes the Garmin. I'm not in the mood for this crap goes I but up the pace goes. Now as one of the founder members (albeit lapsed) of teh Boards pacing crew I used to pride myself on being able to run a given pace with or without a watch. 7 was the target for mile 2, 6:25 was the time. Guess I need to look for a different way of scamming free entry to Irish races cos pacing is a no go for a while... I backed off loads for mile 3 and ran 6:48 and backed off further for mile 4 and ran 6:51. And I was so hot I had to take my woollen gloves off. Easy recovery mile and off to an Irish bar to try and catch the match - except it was an Irish bar without Guinness, run by a German and with 100% German customers. Great craic was had watching Holland v Germany and talking history and politics and ****e - thankfully their English was better than my German!

Probably doing a half day tomorrow and then off to Hamburg - stranded until Friday as they don't fly daily to Dublin so a day and a bit mooching around teh City and then home, hope to cram in some running as I wander the Reeperbahn snorting coke off hookers boobs (by which I mean going to overpriced Beatles memorabilia shops and blushing if a doll in a window smiles at me)
    What marathons have you set yourself up for ?
    Grin go makes a great point about a 10k will get you better suited to a 2.45 than another marathon but whats the point in that. Whats the fun in that.
    I laughed my nads off when I read you were gone fat. But i nearly fcukes the computer of the wall when you were 7ibs off race weight. Try fcuking 30ibs.
    Great to have you back.

All Man Utd fans are 30lbs over race weight. It's mostly between the ears ;)

Race plans are up in a heap to be honest - teh 5k is in tatters as I am writing off Nov because of the travel but I am hoping for Rotterdam. Great race, good course and I know it so feel good that I could run well there. For once in my life though I am taking advice so we will see...

Sigh. Always the same, great plans undone by real life...

I did a couple of runs of various lengths and intensities but it really has barely been maintenance. At long last though I am back in Amadeus Mansions for a while and hopefully I can get down to some serious training (at least until Xmas week!). 6 miler easy yesterday - I had forgotten to recharge my Garmin so untimed but ran with the WonderHounds which is always a pleasure. 5 easy later today and a speed session on Wed (not sure when, I'm in Cork all day...)

The one bright spot on the horizon is that the little bit of training coupled with a disciplined diet while away (2/3 proper meals a day and no crap) has got my weight back down to ~70kgs (I was 69.2 after my run yesterday but I'm assuming some dehydration).

So onwards and upwards...

Well I did my 5 easy down by the river with the WonderHounds. They are digging the trail up and a particular highlight was watching JnrHound tearing along and spot a huge deep hole at the last moment. With commendable agility she hurdled it with style, grace and aplomb. Pity that the next deep hole was full of water and she ran straight into it for a dirty great dunking... I didn't laugh, honest.

Yesterday was supposed to be my strides session (2 mile warm up 20 mins on track and 2 mile warm down) but I left the house not long after 7 to drive to Cork and wasn't home till after 8 (mammoth delays on the road for some reason) and I wasn't getting out at that stage. Today was a planned easy 4 so I did what you aren't supposed to do and doubled them up, adding the 4 easy to my warm up warm down. In my defence I had mentioned to The Big C that I might do a longer run that day as the track is a 4 mile run from my house and he seemed ok with it.

So 4 miles easy there. At least the speed was easy but it was anything but - a real "other guy" session* Wind so strong I could hardly breath and raindrops the size of golf balls that were coming down horizontally. Made it to the track as darkness fell and thankfully the rain eased and eventually stopped but the wind on the exposed bends was pretty horrific at times. 20 mins on the track running the bends easy (but not recovery) and striding the straights (5-10k pace, not sprints). Slow enough to start but really got into it in the end. Didn't think to lap the watch to track the splits but felt stronger the more strides I did. Then back in teh pitch black on an unlit trail by the river with no torch - might excite you hippy mountain runners (you know who you are!) but didn't fill me with the joys of spring. A bright moon in a now clear sky meant I missed the worst of the potholes at least for the 4 home. Ended up doing 10.75 in 1:27.

Only minor worry is a slight strain in my right leg, sort of quad but more to the side. Loads of deep heat and fingers crossed!

* I can't remember which writer mentioned "the other guy". When you hit snooze and skip that early morning run the other guy doesn't. When you blow off a run because you are tired / it's wet / you can't be bothered the other guy is out training. The other guy never cuts a session short and he always puts in 100%. He might be an Olympic champion or just the guy next door but we all have that "other guy" we want to beat. Ever since reading that my tough sessions have been "other guy" sessions - I need to tough them out because I know he will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

I like that 'other guy' metaphor and think I will adopt, thanks :)

No worries, half the time you are the "other guy"!

Missed Friday's run because of a series of major explosions in work. Not literally but they might as well have been - for the first time in almost 10 years of being self employed some code of mine didn't do what it was supposed to. Not a major issue in the grand scheme but I was the link between two other companies and my code not working caused a hitch that knocked the whole thing back. In my defence there were reasons and miscommunications but still not fun. And when the dust settled on all of that herself reminded me we had to go shopping because we had guests coming that night. I mentioned running and I got the impression I was welcome to go but the locks would be changed when I got back...

So I ran my easy 6 on Sat and shoved my 3 mile tempo into the middle of today's 10. Tough enough today, esp with the wind, and so the tempo miles weren't as quick as they could have been (6:56 / 6:57 / 6:47) but at least I had no reaction from that little muscle tweak the other night.

*Sigh* And now off to play Santa. My poor credit card is taking a woeful battering.

No worries, half the time you are the "other guy"!
    Ha, as scattered as your form may be right now, its better than mine lad'. I've orderd a secret weapon though... ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭Gringo78

I've orderd a secret weapon though... ;)

A Trionz bracelet with extra holograms?

Gringo78 wrote: »

Haven't you seen the photos of his new gaff? No way he has enough money left to buy anything too fancy!

5m easy yesterday - a client call just as I was walking out the door held me up so rather than running by the river I ran into town under the lights. Slightly hillier run than normal because of that and 5 down in just under 8 min/mile. Same again today before a progression run on Wed. Mileage is pretty light at the moment so I'm enjoying the fact that my legs are feeling fresh for the majority of the runs and I'm just wishing that the howling wind and biting sleet would hold off for long enough for me to get round in peace...

Gringo78 wrote: »
    ... and 'go faster' stickers to boot :D nah...
    No way he has enough money left to buy anything too fancy!

Yep... everyone getting socks for their secret santa's this year. On the upside I may just throw a BBQ if the weather plays ball after the GLR next summer :) The house is on the course and walkable fom the finish (even with bandy legs!)

I may just throw a BBQ if the weather plays ball after the GLR next summer :) The house is on the course and walkable fom the finish (even with bandy legs!)

Result, I'm half thinking of racing the half this year so a big beery BBQ afterwards would go down very well! Just make sure you get plenty of veggie burgers/bangers in :)

Interesting as that was my intention for it too. You just became the "other guy" :D Any idea on our target?!

Ooooohhh very interesting, we should be roughly the same pace so this could be fun...

I'm hoping to run Rotterdam in April as an A race so this will be a B race off the back of recovery. Preliminary target for Rott. is sub 2:50 so I guess sub 1:25 for a half but will take all advice going. And if I am racing the "other guy" that could change! What were you thinking? Your race plans look a bit scattered at the minute, how will this fit with your other commitments? A, B or C race?

Ooooohhh very interesting, we should be roughly the same pace so this could be fun...

I'm hoping to run Rotterdam in April as an A race so this will be a B race off the back of recovery. Preliminary target for Rott. is sub 2:50 so I guess sub 1:25 for a half but will take all advice going. And if I am racing the "other guy" that could change! What were you thinking? Your race plans look a bit scattered at the minute, how will this fit with your other commitments? A, B or C race?

You are right, scattered is the apt description. I've no idea yet. GLR HM would be a C priority or B at best. I feel shame about the DNF I'd lke to nab a PB for the half to get that monkey off my back :o PB is a shade under 86 so it it be at least an assault on 84. I'll give a 10k a proper go in the spring and see what McMillan suggests. If you are in sub 2:50 shape I'd imagine 84 will be a keen stroll for you

If I am in that condition... A lot of running between now and then!

Easy 5 with the WonderHounds on Tuesday, just 5 and as always it's a bit stop start running with them but a nice run. Then the usual problems hit, sniffles and snuffles and lethargy and all of a sudden it's Saturday and I haven't run.

So I went out on Saturday morning and forced myself to do the progression run that I had missed. A couple of warm up miles that didn't exactly see me ripping up the tarmac and then into the progression element - a mile at PMP was just about managed in 6:54 but the HMP pace mile was a bit sluggish at 6:41. The wheels totally fell off during the half mile at 10k pace which saw me slow right down to 7:11. Legs just lacked zip and bounce and I dragged myself home for a total distance of 8.

So feeling peeved and frustrated I laced up again that evening and took the dogs out for a moonlight run by the river. It was all a bit Blair Witch with the dogs eyes glowing ominously outside the torchlight and strange rustlings in the undergrowth. Pace was nothing to write home about but miles are miles.

And then 10 today. Again took the hounds but realised that this meant a change of route to avoid the roads. So I ended up doing 2 miles in the mud and filth of the fields behind the Tech Park in UL. I had hoped it was cold enough for the mud to be frozen (wrong) and it was wet and bloody slippy. An added joy was the flooded stretch of 50 - 60m with water knee deep and with a heavy skin of ice on the top. With no way around it had to be through... Pace was obviously highly variable but averaged 8:22.

And so into Xmas week, who knows what mileage I'll get in but hey, any mileage is good mileage, right?!

but hey, any mileage is good mileage, right?!

Nope. No purpose is no good

Ohhhh controversial!

Multi sport training yes, aimless running is pointless. Time limited training yes, if you have a set time each week for training then it needs to have a focus and be productive.

But choosing between feet up watching TV or a recovery 6? Or deciding to run 6 miles with the dogs rather than walk 4? Or just popping out for top up mileage during a holiday week rather than stuffing your face?

I suppose it depends on if you subscribe to the idea of junk miles or not. At this stage of my training all miles are beneficial simply because I am so unfit and it's only when I have rebuilt the base and am sharpening a bit that the idea of junk miles comes into play, I reckon.

And as it turns out The Big C has other ideas for next week anyway and has laid out a tough week that doesn't have any room for a hangover at all. Boo! Hiss!

*sigh* maybe I did overdo it a bit :( 5 miles easy that was more like recovery. Legs were like lead the whole way round and had phantom aches and pains all over the place. Too depressed to even look at the average pace so I'm going to feed the MiniMonsters and have a long soak in the bath with my book (the rather excellent Dunkirk) and wallow in self pity for a while. Might even open the bottle of this that I bought recently to see if it cheers me up :)

The ever fragrant MrsA decided she wanted to have a glass as well so the wine was switched to this (special offer from Dunnes, very gulpable :)) but otherwise all went as planned last night and tucked up in bed watching Hangover 2 at a nice early hour (not a patch on the original, avoid)

Despite that my legs still felt a bit heavy today. 7 mile easy on the plan. I'm on semi-holiday so I spent a couple of hours at a client and then came home and spent the afternoon waiting for the English FA to take thier thumb out of thier backsides and declare Luis innocent while telling MrsA that I was taking a recovery day, I didn't want to compromise my speed session tomm. So I was a bit surprised to find my trainers on, especially as it was throwing rain down. "I'm just doing 5" I told her as I headed out the door.

Legs felt fine once I started running - though they were a little less peppy on the way home than on the way out - so I ended up doing the 7 anyway. Legs feel better for it, actually.

I survived a family Xmas in Donegal!

Training has been patchy over the holidays really, 42 miles logged on the Garmin but a few more that weren't on there. The good thing is that the runs in Donegal were very hilly - one 6 miler had 205m of ascent for example. I did do a good speed session on the old gravel track we used when I was at school. It was never great but it's in very poor nick now, muddy and flooded in parts and I found out later there is a state of the art new track that Letterkenny AC uses but hey ho. The speed session was a toughie - 2 miles downhill and easy to the track then 3 miles tempo (6:34 / 6:45 / 6:38) followed by a mile recovery then 6 sets of 1 min @ 5k/10k pace with just under a minute recovery. Sets were good with pace of 6:19 / 5:58 / 6:07 / 6:01 / 6:00 / 6:00. Not a lot else to report really - steady diet of 6 & 8 mile easy runs and the usual missed days at this time of year. I had hoped to do a 13 miler today but several Budvars, quite a few Erdingers, egg-nog (I didn't even think that was a real drink) and brandy (I *hate* brandy) put paid to that. At least I avoided the cigars that had been brought along...

I also collected my shiny bike at long last. Now it may not come across online but in real life I am a broadly confident person - a kind of "how hard can it be" attitude. And I have been riding bikes since I was a youngster, did over 200kms on a road bike during the M2M adventure and even have a proper grown up bike with an engine so I didn't think twice about jumping on it to ride it the 3 miles home. But holy jumping jesus that is a twitchy bike. The tyres are skinny and slick and the slightest tiny movement on the bars had the bike hopping around. The pedals have the cage thing on them so my feet were held in which I've never had before and didn't help. And of course it was wet - at one point I was spinning down a hill at a decent clip when a couple of pedestrians stepped in front of me and when I braked the rear wheel locked and decided it wanted to be the front wheel instead. Had it not been for my godlike bike control and sheer natural talent I would have been A over T half a mile after getting on the bloody thing. I said way back that I thought that a début tri would be about learning technical skills because I have the basic fitness. I was really thinking about swimming but I think I might have a lot to learn on the bike as well. Oh joy!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

I love the technical terms to describe the bike parts. :)

Any triathlons planned for 2012? I might make my debut in Joey Hannon, join me for the carnage.

I love the technical terms to describe the bike parts. :)

Any triathlons planned for 2012? I might make my debut in Joey Hannon, join me for the carnage.

Ahhh but knowing the technical name for parts like the "cage things" is a step closer to tri-poncery - next thing you know I'll be buying and wearing speedos. No plan for a race yet - I looked at Joey but it might come a fraction early for me. I can't swim at all and have a lot to do. I would prefer to start with a "try-a-tri" but someone (I think it was MCOS?) said they would slap me if I didn't do a proper one so still a bit undecided really.

That said - and funnily enough given the main thread on the MdS - I spent NYE drinking with my mate who has done adventure stage races all over the world. He and his wife spent a fair chunk of the night trying to persuade me to do one of them sooner rather than later. They were trying to convince me that I could realistically target a top 10 finish in most of the races (MdS apart simply because of it's size) based on my background and performances. They aren't the kind to blow smoke for the sake of it and I take him seriously when he talks about that sort of thing (I've seen the photos and heard the horror stories). I've always said I'd go long and do adventure races after I start to slow down but it would be nice to place respectably in a tough event. I know I'm capable of going top 10% in any given race field (Amsterdam I was 322 out of 7880, which is top 5%) so in theory targeting a finish in the top 20 in something like the Gobi March isn't beyond me. And we'd be going together to whatever event it was so I'd have the benefit of someone with experience rather than going in green. A lot to think about.

Meanwhile back in the real world I did a lazy 7 with the dogs today - as always running with them is stop / start but I averaged 8 mins/mile when I was actually un-interupted running and legs felt a lot more pop and fizz, cold is clearing and hopefully the training can kick on now.

Yes it was me, and yes I will slap you! There is a sprint event at Joey, trust me you will get through it. If you need any faith just call around mine some eveningfor tea and Caz can dig out her Joey sprint war story :) She was last out of the pool at Nenagh by 2 whole minutes and got the biggest clap of the day too. That was her mountain and it was all smiles and 'see how many I can catch' after that. She put some blushes on a bunch of me on the run section...

I used to collect Salvador Dali posters as a teen and the hung on my wall. Whenever I read you posts the Metamophosis of Narcissis springs to mind ;)

I'd need to back stroke the whole bloody thing though, I'm not sure they'd keep the pool open that long...

No idea what you mean by that Narcissus comment by the way - arrogant people only think they are amazing. I *know* how amazing I am :D

Actually today was one of the days when my ego had a right proper bitchslapping from reality. I've spent teh last couple of days feeling hungry but just assumed it was just the after-effects of stuffing myself silly over the holidays (I gained 1.5 kgs :) ). Today was a horrible day to run - really strong winds and freezing cold. I left the dogs behind for my promised 7 and the wind was howling; white horses running across the river, a leaden sky heavy with the promise of rain or worse and my rain jacket acting like a sail. No records set over the first mile or so. Then just shy of the 3 mile mark as I headed towards the UL boathouse I started to feel a tiny bit weak. Legs were disconnected and head was a little light with a huge void where my belly used to be. It's happened a couple of times on long runs and a gel or simply slowing down always causes it to pass and so I put my head down and toughed it out - not easy when you're feeling cruddy and running in the opposite direction to your house! Made it to the turn around point and thats when all of that promised rain arrived - heavy great sheets of it cascading down, huge drops that felt like stones as they hit you. Of course the wind picked up as well - strong enough to literally take your breath away. Past the fishermens cottages where the little wooden windchime had stopped sounding like the soundtrack to a horror movie and was at a 90 degree angle to the ground. I was glad when I'd fought my way back to the boathouse for the limited amount of cover the denuded treeline could offer. Thankfully things calmed down a little after that but were still on the rough side of unpleasant. Slow run but I was glad to get the miles in the legs.

And I have a speed session tomorrow. Whooppee!!

Can anyone remind me why we do this to ourselves?

Plan yesterday was 2 mile easy, 6*1 mile tempo (10k pace) w 3 min recovery, 2 mile easy. I was kinda looking forward to it - I enjoy faster running when I get into it and 3 min recovery sounded good. Programmed the Garmin in anticipation at the weekend and was all set.

Apart from the apocalyptic weather. I can honestly say that I have never run in weather like that before. Come to that I doubt I've even been outside in weather like that; pelting rain and gale force winds. So it was with a certain amount of trepidation that I set off. 2 miles easy weren't all that easy but averaged 8 min/miles as I made my way down to the loop I was planning on using. It's pretty close to 2 miles on either side of a canal linked by bridges at either end and I was close when the beep went for the first fast mile. And almost immediately beeped to tell me to start my recovery. Thinking I may have got the sequence wrong I did the instructed 3 min recovery and waited for the beep for the fast part. When it came up I checked the watch and realized what I had done... I had edited an old workout rather than starting from scratch and I had set the watch for 1 min fast 3 min recovery rather than 1 mile fast. D'oh!

So I manually created a simple workout - not easy on a wet bezel with fingers that are going blue from the cold. I could accurately measure the 1 mile fast but I'd have to estimate the recovery. The watch acted up a couple more times with the wet but I was able to get the tempo miles timed. First was into the teeth of the wind and it was horrific. I pushed hard enough and recorded a 6:18. Roughly right for pace but the effort was way out of kilter. I ran my recovery and the staggered nature meant that I had a mix of wind for and against for the rest of the sessions and that was the only one with the wind against me almost the whole way and I could feel it in my legs. The next 3 I backed off and ran at 10k effort rather than 10k pace and they were 6:35 / 6:35 / 6:37. By then I was really suffering and the watch was refusing to work properly so I was having to trust autolap rather than a proper measured workout, so it had a quieter alarm. I actually thought I'd missed the alarm and began to slow so it was 6:53. Badly wiped the last mile came within a hairsbreadth of getting binned but I dug in and ran it "fast" in 7:24. By now my trainers were utterly soaked and weighed a ton and the three layers I had on were sodden. A miserable 2 home in 9:27 / 8:52. 5 fast, 1 middling, 4 easy plus another 2 - 3 recovery between the fast miles for roughly 12 in total. I didn't see a single other runner all night compared to the number I normally see by the river!

An hour or so after the run and I had ITB ache in both knees, worse on the right. Not totally painful but clearly from over exertion. Warm bath last night and feet up this afternoon and 2 hours wrapped in Physicool (joys of self employment!) and a recovery 5. Watch battery died close to the end but pace was easy / recovery rather than anything else. Knees were uncomfortable at the start but eased and fine now. I have a very tough progression 14 miler on Sat so I'm going to see how they react to a 7 easy tomm. Any discomfort and I'll back off the 14 to a standard LSR. They aren't anywhere near bad enough to jeopardize training volume but to much intensity and they could flair up, which I can't afford.

Ran conservatively on my dodgy niggly knee with slow and easy 7's on Fri and Sat (although when I checked the plan one of them should have been a 6, ah well) The original plan had been to run a progression 14 on Saturday but I swapped Sat & Sun and even at that I thought I should be careful so substituted 14 easy instead of the progression. First couple were 7:50s but averaged 8's after that up to about 11 when time slowed to 8:15. Decided to give the last mile a bit of a lash and it ended up being a 6:33. I started too fast though and was hanging on by the end - which just proves that I wouldn't have been able for a full on progression run in any case! Knee was at me intermittently through the run but never enough to affect my gait or leave me in anything other than mild discomfort. Been a tiny bit stiff today though. Recovery 4 later on so that'll be easy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

Can anyone remind me why we do this to ourselves?
    Because its fun :).

shels4ever wrote: »
    Because its fun :).

Getting soaked while wearing tight and bizarre looking outfits and enduring physical pain might be fun for the british aristocracy but not for the likes of me!

Recovery 4 yesterday at 9 min mile+ pace so nothing to dramatic. Easy 8 today and 1st mile was surprisingly slow at 8:24 - JnrHound was on the lead and normally we go quicker. I let her off by the river and was shocked that mile 2 was 9:12. I was dawdling, not putting any effort in, my legs were just moving of thier own accord. I gave myself a stern talking too and picked it up - not enough to be trying hard but enough to know I was actually moving. Breathing stayed conversational but got deeper and more even and I could feel my legs working. 7:45 and then the turnaround involving a brief pause to convince the dogs that no, in fact I didn't really want to extend the run for a couple of miles through muddy fields in teh dark despite their convincing arguments (8:10) then 7:53 / 7:41 before a halt to reattach leads (8:39 ) and a trot home in 8:09.

Felt really strong, loads left in the legs and probably the first time in over a year that I actually felt like a sub 3 runner again, felt that my targets were actually viable.

I am convinced that the coach sets Wed sessions more to test my Garmin programming skills than for thier running benefits...

Plan was 2 mile warm up, 2km @ 10mile pace, 3 min recovery and 10*400m @ 10k pace w 45 sec recovery followed by 2 mile cooldown.

I managed to get it all coded in but pushed the wrong button leaving teh house so my 2 mile warm up is lost to eternity. The planned pace for the 2 kms was 6:30-6:45 and I ran 6:32 so that was ok. My intention was to make it to the UL track for the 400s but the beeper went a little early so the first one and a bit were through the college grounds (a car park, over some gravel, down some steps. I bet Paula Radcliff doesn't have to deal with that sort of thing). Rest were on the track but I was sharing it with a Juvenile training session; they were doing 150m sprint drills with full recoveries and it is very discouraging to be passed by a 12 year old girl on the track!

Pace for the 400m laps were 6:23 / 5:59 / 5:47 / 6:02 / 6:01 / 6:05 / 6:05 / 6:07 / 6:03 / 5:58 against a target of 6:00 - 6:15.

Easy home, just under 4 miles (the distance from the track but I went the short way) and at a very casual pace. Until the very end... MrsA had gone to collect JnrMsA from one of her many after school activities and drove past me in the estate shouting out "I'll race you home!". Well when I was 2-300m from home I saw that she was busy gossiping so I put the foot down and beat her back; over priced german sports car 0 Top Donegal Totty on legs 1, I believe :)

So a fraction under 11 miles today and a good chunk of it at a decent pace. Still not as fast as I would like bearing in mind the targets but it is coming...

This is lifted from the email I sent to the Coach...

Thursday: 6 miles planned, 6 done, avg pace 8:01. No real issues but niggle was back.

Friday: Another "getting in the miles" run, 7 easy planned, 7 done, avg pace 8:06 link

Sat: Plan was 3 E, 4 tempo, 3 easy. Knee had been giving grief so I was in 2 minds about this. I finally decided to do it on a slightly hillier than normal route and do the 4 middle miles "faster" rather than "fast". 8:0x for the first 3 then 7:03 / 7:03 / 7:02 / 6:46. 3 easy home were 7:49 / 7:52 / 8:14. Knee cycled between hardly there to uncomfortable to outright painful with no really obvious pattern (although strangely it seems to hurt less as I run faster)

Sun. Plan was 16 easy. I really wasn't sure about this. My knee hasn't improved and my worry is that I am doing more harm than good running on it. But I am the worlds laziest and most uncommitted runner so any excuse sees me hitting the duvet rather than the road and since I can walk on it with no pain and move it around with no issue I wasn't sure if I was making more of it than there is. So I planned a route that would let me cut the run short if I hurt too much. Planned to just run very gently and was on grass for quite a few miles. By 2 miles in I was in discomfort and my turn off for the short cut home was at roughly 4.5. Discomfort came and went, got worse and better but a short steep downhill by the turn had me wincing and worse again I could feel secondary discomfort in my quads from compensation. So I cut the run short and just did 9.

I am partly furious - knee didn't get any worse on the way home and I know I could have toughed it out and finished the run. And I'm sitting here now in no discomfort at all. Part of my thinks a big bag of HTFU would have got me through the run and a couple of easy days at the start of next week would have me right again. In my head though I am pretty sure I did the right thing. The pain has moved and is now along the base of my patella and is clearly and unambiguously an over use injury. In the past I have rarely run 7 days a week and pretty much never for a couple of weeks in a row so I had inbuilt recovery, the lack of training over the last year and the transition to 7 days a week seems to have caught up with me.

===

Coach is advocating the smart thing; couple of days off, get it seen to and see how we stand. Advice I would be giving to anyone else in this position. BUT! I have had this before and a day or two and I'm fine. If I go to a physio they will be cautious and I could be looking at a couple of weeks out - time I don't have. I have argued with him and got him to agree to 45 mins or so on the bike on Monday and Tuesday and 4 on Wednesday. On one hand I'm narked at ending a good running streak but realistically a day or two with no running and cross training is no issue. And I will be running after Wed and I will be doing at least 18 on Sunday....

[edit] Narked at myself and the injury, not the coach, obviously!