Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CAGE CONTENDER XII : DUBLIN : 25 FEB 2012

• Registered Users Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭John Ferguson

Not strictly Cage Contender but many of you have met Brian Magee at our events and weigh ins etc right from CC1. Everyone one at the promotion wishes Brian all the best tonight when he defends his WBA Interim Super Middleweight World Title -v- Rudy Markussen in Denmark.

UPDATE: Magee win by KO Round 5

• Registered Users Posts: 5,440 ✭✭✭califano

Surprised to hear cage contender fighters have to pay for their own pre fight medical. Is this true?.

No, not true. I think you might be getting your facts messed up, fighters pay for their own blood tests that are valid for 12 months.

Ah thats grand i heard wrong so, just seemed a bit much if that was the case. Sorry for muddying the waters.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,003 ✭✭✭mirwillbeback

I have 3 standing tickets for sale for this if anyone interested.

36 for 3, bought through Groupon and some lads dropped out.

Drop me a PM if interested, thanks.

Ah thats grand i heard wrong so, just seemed a bit much if that was the case. Sorry for muddying the waters.

No worries. Where did you hear it?

From my brother in law whos brother has fought in cage contender before. Doesnt effect his brother so much personally because he has an in house doctor in his workplace so hes covered on doctors fees etc. Maybe there was misunderstanding on that seeing as you say that isnt the case.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Niall0

FEATHERWEGHT
    Tony Keane (Waterford MMA) v James "Sexual" Heelan (SBGi)
    This Should be a good one, its James first fight at FW is it? Tough introduction to the division. Kind of classic striker vs grappler match i guess. Who do you guys think has the edge in this fight?

Niall0 wrote: »
    This Should be a good one, its James first fight at FW is it? Tough introduction to the division. Kind of classic striker vs grappler match i guess. Who do you guys think has the edge in this fight?

There have been a few changes over the last few days and unfortunately this is one of them. We will get an updated card posted tomorrow.

• Registered Users Posts: 19 trev77

any chance of a finalised card?

trev77 wrote: »
    any chance of a finalised card?

Will get final card up tomorrow. In the mean time our website has the current pro card if you want to check it.

Final Fight Card: Running from bottom to top!!

WELTERWEIGHT
    Gunnar Nelson (Mjölnir/SBG) -v- Alexander Butenko

MIDDLEWEIGHT
    John Michael Shiel (SBGi) -v- Ross Pointon (Gladiator Gym)

FEATHERWEIGHT GRAND PRIX
    Brian "The Pikeman" Moore (SBGi) -v- Conor "Done Deal" Dillon (BTT)

BANTAMWEIGHT
    Neil McGuigan (EFR) -v- Richie Edgeworth (Team Ryano)

LIGHTWEIGHT
    Bogusz Pochylski (Husaria) -v- Mick Brennan (KTP)

LIGHTWEIGHT
    Peter "The Show Stopper" Queally (Waterford MMA) -v- Kieran O'Donnell (Tuatha De Danann)

PRELIM CARD

FEATHERWEIGHT
    Sean Keogan (Kokoro) -v- Scobie "Blaze" Burke (Coolmine BJJ)

LIGHTWEIGHT
    Dave Hanney (Primal MMA) -v- Islam Bisayev (MMA Lucan)

FEATHERWEIGHT
    James Heelan (SBGi) -v- Alan Kavanagh (Husaria)

WELTERWEIGHT
    Chris O Donaghue (Waterford MMA) -v- Anzor Atsaev (MMA Lucan)

What about arni vs gorey? Gone? Not a mention of it being cancelled

Yep gone.

One of only 37 changes to the card over the matchmaking period! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭pablohoney87

That was the fight i was most lookin forward too. Reckon Moore Dillon will be the one i make sure I'm not on a bathroom break for now.

Yep gone.

One of only 37 changes to the card over the matchmaking period! :rolleyes:

And when was that cancelled

• Registered Users Posts: 2,454 ✭✭✭RoboRat

FEATHERWEIGHT
    James Heelan (SBGi) -v- Alan Kavanagh (Husaria)

That's a very hard fight for Alan against a bigger and more experienced fighter.... fair play to him for taking it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 599 ✭✭✭Ian Whelan

I'm unable to make this show. Where will it be televised? Watching a replay next week would really suit me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 irishmmafan

RoboRat wrote: »
    That's a very hard fight for Alan against a bigger and more experienced fighter.... fair play to him for taking it.

heelan is coming down from light weight, alan up from bantam, heelan is more experienced, better in all areas and bigger, cant see anywhere alan can win this, no disrespect to the guy as hes a good fighter but this is a major step up for him. surprised they took this fight.

• Registered Users Posts: 138 ✭✭liverbear

The Showstopper will have a tough debut, O Donnell was impressive in destroying Kearns with hammer fists

Did everyone make weight?

• Registered Users Posts: 435 ✭✭SevereMMA

Here is the weigh in highlight video

• Registered Users Posts: 19,148 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Couldn't make the weigh ins for this today but massively looking forward to the show tomorrow!!

(Am I right in thinking it's doors at 6, fights at 7?)

• Registered Users Posts: 826 ✭✭✭nino1

booked ticket last night to collect at venue.
    do they have to be collected before 7pm or can you still collect them after 7?

cards looks great, can't wait!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 seamusmurph

Where can I watch the fights?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭pablohoney87

At the national basketball arena in tallaght ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 20 ethanhawk

Can you get tickets outside the venue?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 seamusmurph

U mean it's not being streamed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭fightireland

U mean it's not being streamed?
    It's not - there's an mma event on in Japan you can stream later or you can see a live event just off the M50 featuring one of the best fighters in Europe .... Your call mate...