Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gary Redmond

• 04-10-2011 1:03pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 843 ✭✭✭

Irish Times

Top 50 Most Influential People in Education, Discuss.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 843 ✭✭✭maygitchell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭PomBear

Gary's a careerist and nothing but, USI are really wasting our time and money as most their protests mean nothing and re strictly photo-opps. He came out and criticised students for the Dept of Finance debacle which reeked of hypocrisy. As long as Gary and the rest of the CV boosters are there, don't expect much of a fight against fees from them

Exhibit A:
    redmond.png

PomBear wrote: »
    Gary's a careerist and nothing but, USI are really wasting our time and money as most their protests mean nothing and re strictly photo-opps. He came out and criticised students for the Dept of Finance debacle which reeked of hypocrisy. As long as Gary and the rest of the CV boosters are there, don't expect much of a fight against fees from them

Exhibit A:
    redmond.png

A FF'er? Your kidding right?

Make up your own mind I suppose, the evidence is there.

Also this photo was taken 6 months AFTER Fianna Fáil increased third level fees
    IMG_0545.jpg

Voldemort and a gimp :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭Raging_Ninja

because nothing is ever accomplished by talking with the people in government....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭the keen edge

Looks like a photo shoot for the Special Olympics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭Pandoras Twist

He's a miniature politician. Shamelessly self promoting, hypocritical and a spin master.

because nothing is ever accomplished by talking with the people in government....

Micheal Martin isn't in Government :confused:

Im shamed that man (*insert species here*) represents the views of the student body

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭Raging_Ninja

Micheal Martin isn't in Government :confused:

He was a minister at the time the picture was taken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Im shamed that man (*insert species here*) represents the views of the student body

I'm curious as to how PomBear, who also, supposedly, is in a position which represents the views of the student body, would react if there were a similar thread lambasting him..

Ficheall wrote: »
    I'm curious as to how PomBear, who also, supposedly, is in a position which represents the views of the student body, would react if there were a similar thread lambasting him..

Forgive my ignorance but im unaware of PomBears identity, or as you suggest, his/her position

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

IMG_0545.jpg

Dear lord, it's like a Portrait of Dorian Gray.

He was a minister at the time the picture was taken.

No, he wasn't.

Ficheall wrote: »

Work away....
    Also, what position would I be in that takes on such responsibility?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭Red_Wake

Work away....
    Also, what position would I be in that takes on such responsibility?

I hear you're really Emmett Connolly.:rolleyes:

Red_Wake wrote: »
    I hear you're really Emmett Connolly.:rolleyes:

Afraid not!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 460 ✭✭murraykil

IMG_0545.jpg

Third level fees! :pac: The charges for third level education in Ireland are amongst the lowest in the world. So low in fact that the are negative in many cases; those who qualify for Government grant assistance get their e2k fees paid for them as well as support checks totalling up to thousands over the school year!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 535 ✭✭✭Skopzz

Stooping to a new low by aligning himself to a corrupt party that bankrupted Ireland.

murraykil wrote: »
    Third level fees! :pac: The charges for third level education in Ireland are amongst the lowest in the world. So low in fact that the are negative in many cases; those who qualify for Government grant assistance get their e2k fees paid for them as well as support checks totalling up to thousands over the school year!

Complete bollix.

And you've spelt cheque incorrectly.

Complete bollix.

I am aware of the alternate spellings of many English words and since English is a secondary language for me, I don't feel tied to any particular version.

I am aware of the Student Grant Scheme which can pay students up to e6100 per school year, as well reimbursing up to e2000 of registration fees and also assisting with the cost of field trips.

I would appreciate a "thanks" for providing you with this piece of free supplementary education to go along with the many years of free education provided to you by the Irish tax payer via the Government.

And you spelled bollocks incorrectly! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭The___________

I am aware of the alternate spellings of many English words and since English is a secondary language for me, I don't feel tied to any particular version.

I am aware of the Student Grant Scheme which can pay students up to e6100 per school year, as well reimbursing up to e2000 of registration fees and also assisting with the cost of field trips.

I would appreciate a "thanks" for providing you with this piece of free supplementary education to go along with the many years of free education provided to you by the Irish tax payer via the Government.

You may well be aware that the government can 'pay' students e6100 per annum in grant subsidies but presumably you are not aware of the exceptional circumstances that must occur for a student to be illegible for such a large grant,

The vast majority of students receive no where near this level of support from the government

Fair enough, and now that you know the correct spelling in this context you wont make that mistake again. And no need to thank me, you yourself can have that bit of supplementary education for free. ;)
    So are you also aware of the number of students who qualify for this level of grant?.
    Your prior post was the typical broad sweeping statement that all students just have to turn up at some government office with their hand out when they need cash.
    Are you now retracting your previous post that all students who qualify for the grant receive cheques totaling thousands of Euros?.
    As in all your posts in this thread you are assuming an awful lot.

So, how do you know how much, if any indeed any, free education I've received, let alone many years of it?.
    Also who said I'm not a tax payer myself?. If indeed I am a student, how does that mean I never paid tax before I came one. Or what about students who work part time, can they not be a current tax payer either?.
    Enlighten me please.

I spelt it wrong out of politeness.

You may well be aware that the government can 'pay' students e6100 per annum in grant subsidies but presumably you are not aware of the exceptional circumstances that must occur for a student to be illegible for such a large grant,

The vast majority of students receive no where near this level of support from the government
    Fair enough, and now that you know the correct spelling in this context you wont make that mistake again. And no need to thank me, you yourself can have that bit of supplementary education for free. ;)

So are you also aware of the number of students who qualify for this level of grant?.
    Your prior post was the typical broad sweeping statement that all students just have to turn up at some government office with their hand out when they need cash.
    Are you now retracting your previous post that all students who qualify for the grant receive cheques totaling thousands of Euros?.

As in all your posts in this thread you are assuming an awful lot.

So, how do you know how much, if any indeed any, free education I've received, let alone many years of it?.
    Also who said I'm not a tax payer myself?. If indeed I am a student, how does that mean I never paid tax before I came one. Or what about students who work part time, can they not be a current tax payer either?.
    Enlighten me please.

I spelt it wrong out of politeness.

Apologies. How dare they charge ye e2k for a year of 3rd level education. And to add insult to injury, they won't even pay ye e6100 to go to classes.

Complete bollix.

Actually, it is the truth. The country cannot afford it anymore so we must cut these generous benefits. They are cutting all other benefits for everyone as well.

Apologies. How dare they charge ye e2k for a year of 3rd level education. And to add insult to injury, they won't even pay ye e6100 to go to classes.

Stop posting nonsensical rubbish, where in the previous posts did I or The Keen Edge suggest that the government should 'pay' students e6100?,

I have absolutely no problem with students and their families shouldering the cost of a third level education but only when the means of that family allow it, for those who are less well off why shouldn't the government help them to attend third level institutions?

Or do you advocate a return to the previous system where only the wealthy could afford to send their children to college/university without incurring large amounts of debt?

Skopzz wrote: »
    Actually, it is the truth. The country cannot afford it anymore so we must cut these generous benefits. They are cutting all other benefits for everyone as well.

They have been cut, a 4% reduction across the board last year with further cuts expected in the forthcoming budget, the student levy was also increased by e500 per head to e2000

Stop posting nonsensical rubbish, where in the previous posts did I or The Keen Edge suggest that the government should 'pay' students e6100?,

I have absolutely no problem with students and their families shouldering the cost of a third level education but only when the means of that family allow it, for those who are less well off why shouldn't the government help them to attend third level institutions?

Or do you advocate a return to the previous system where only the wealthy could afford to send their children to college/university without incurring large amounts of debt?

Both of ye either did not read or did not understand my posts correctly so I didn't think your replies deserved a sensical reply.

I said "can pay students up to e6100" and you made a false assumption from this.

As for the other guy, I said "those who qualify for Government grant assistance" and "checks totalling up to thousands" which he later quoted as me having said "Are you now retracting your previous post that all students who qualify for the grant receive cheques totaling thousands of Euros?"

The cost of 3rd level education in Ireland is very cheap and is being complained about too much. The amount of money that NUIG has over the last few years, and is investing in their campus is huge and it is a wonderful place for those who are lucky enough get to go there. It is worth more than e2k a year. Those who paid e2k this year should consider themselves lucky, but prepare for more appropriate costs in the future.

All the socialists on here should consider this:

The country is living beyond its means and cannot afford to keep paying for people. The grants are just one thing that will be cut - they are also cutting social welfare, child benefit and so on. Lecturers salaries should be cut too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭reap-a-rat

The country is living beyond its means and cannot afford to keep paying for people. The grants are just one thing that will be cut - they are also cutting social welfare, child benefit and so on. Lecturers salaries should be cut too.
    Homer Simpson: Good practice, kids. Now it's time for the easiest part of any coach's job. The cuts. Although I wasn't able to cut everyone I wanted to, I have cut a lot of you. Wendell is cut. Rudy is cut. Janey, you're gone. Steven, I like your hustle
    [Steven smiles]
    Homer Simpson: . That's why it was so hard to cut you
    [Steven's smile drops]
    Homer Simpson: . Congratulations, the rest of you made the team!
    [random sighs of relief]
    Homer Simpson: Except you, you and you.

We'll all be astounded when Noonan takes this approach in December :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭bildo

Please provide a historical example of a successful government imposed austerity program that didn't also involve going to war.

bildo wrote: »
    Please provide a historical example of a successful government imposed austerity program that didn't also involve going to war.

The cuts are needed to prevent Ireland going bankrupt. The country is living beyond its means and many do not appreciate this because they realize that their pay is under threat. The people who elected Brian Lenihan ultimately sealed their fate because he guaranteed all bank debts in 2008. This is person whom the book ultimately stops with. In essence, Fianna Fail bankrupted Ireland.

Now that these bank guarantees are written into Irish law, there is no other choice but to impose cutbacks. The grants are generous compared to other countries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

The grants are generous compared to other countries.

Hold your horses there. The grant doesn't even cover the cost of accomodation for the year, nor were they readily inflated half as much as child benefits or social welfare during the boom.

You keep babbling on about things being cut, what about the crazy salaries of people working in RTÉ and positions in government?

In 2008 Pat kenny was earning €950k a year, and that's one person. Yes that has dropped since, but that's still crazy.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/frontpage/2011/0610/1224298692429.html

Only two weeks ago then there was this:
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/0925/aib.html

Hold your horses there. The grant doesn't even cover the cost of accomodation for the year, nor were they readily inflated half as much as child benefits or social welfare during the boom.

You keep babbling on about things being cut, what about the crazy salaries of people working in RTÉ and positions in government?

In 2008 Pat kenny was earning €950k a year, and that's one person. Yes that has dropped since, but that's still crazy.

I am a proponent of steep pay cuts for Pat Kenny et al. In fact, that is exactly why I stopped paying my TV License because I did NOT want to subsidize Pat Kenny or Finucane not to mention the subsidized canteens RTÉ Staff get. I no longer own a TV.

The amount of rent that the grant will vary vastly between Dublin and Limerick for example. Maybe the grant amount should reflect this?

The fact that the grant may not have risen to the same degree as other state benefits during the boom may be due to the fact that it was felt that students were already being supported sufficiently, or even excessively.

The fact that many, not all I'm sure and not even the majority I would hope, of students just spend the grant money on alcohol anyway probably didn't help.

The high drop-out rates in the IT's too may also have deterred too much of a rise. This is just speculation on why the grant may not have risen at the same levels as other Governments supports as you suggest.

Regardless, the level of financial support given, even when it's the maximum charge of e2k for an academic year, to Irish third level students is very generous in comparison to pretty much every other country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭apoch632

Regardless, the level of financial support given, even when it's the maximum charge of e2k for an academic year, to Irish third level students is very generous in comparison to pretty much every other country.

France €169
    Germany €500-€1000 (with variations State to State)
    Sweden Free
    Finland Free
    Austria Free
    Denmark Free

I think he/she was comparing our fees to the USA and Britain. The fact Ireland is an English speaking country exposes our Universities to more demand from abroad (especially from EU members) seeking to bypass the USA and Britain (who charge higher than us).

Ireland pays Lecturers circa EUR100,000 per year. All that has to be paid for... I am in favor of steep pay cuts for Lecturers but even if they did impose them, we would still be in debt. That's the problem.

Brian Lenihan exposed us to unlimited liabilities to cover Bank bondholders.

Why aren't people protesting against this menace?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭whadabouchasir

I think he/she was comparing our fees to the USA and Britain.
    Then maybe they should have said this rather than suggesting that we should be glad to just have to pay 2,200 a year,when in reality only the U.K has higher fees than us in the E.U and even they have a loan system in place as well as having Universities which are higher ranked internationally than ours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Why aren't people protesting against this menace?

Probably because he's dead.

10526820.jpg

I think he/she was comparing our fees to the USA and Britain.
    Fine so Scotland who don't charge fees for EU students.

And who consistently outperform Ireland in the rankings of Universities
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-15195718

apoch632 wrote: »

If people here are only concerned about the ranking of their University, they are being short-sighted.

Going to a higher ranked University simply means you get marked harder and come out with a low degree. Going to a British University would obviously imply this and given the history between the two countries, you can expect this as an Irish student.

Scotland is a great example!

This is due to the fact that Scottish universites can no longer afford the influx of students from other EU states who cannot be charged since Scottish students are not charged. Also, "the Scottish fees system contravenes article 14 of the European Convention on Human Rights and could also be in breach of the Equality Act, implemented last year" according to Phil Shiner of Public Interest Lawyers.

The pressure is going to increase on them greatly to spread the fees around as to not to further discriminate against students from elsewhere in the UK, and well as risk losing new enrollments from these places also.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/education/2011/aug/21/scotland-university-fees-discriminate-lawyer

The cost of free education in Scotland:
    Representatives of Scotland's colleges painted a bleaker picture on the back of funding cuts. Paul Little, principal and chief executive of City of Glasgow College, said: "We will have to make savings of £4.3 million over the next three years. That's on the back of cuts we've just seen where 100 staff left the college in the last year. We'll see potentially in excess of that in the next three years going forward."

http://news.scotsman.com/news/Universities-at-sea-over-fee.6847858.jp

The rise of Scottish universites in the "rankings" will be hard to sustain if they cannot afford to keep their staffing levels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭whadabouchasir

Going to a higher ranked University simply means you get marked harder and come out with a low degree. Going to a British University would obviously imply this and given the history between the two countries, you can expect this as an Irish student.
    Hmmm didn't you bring up this exact same point in another thread,I'm beginning to think that you may have some sort of agenda;)

I'd be more interested in the agenda of the OP who started a thread on a person with what seems to be for the role purpose of thanking those who can come up with any derogatory remark they can on this individual while offering nothing to the discussion as to why he deserves this degradation.

His best contribution has been:

From the evidence of here his main crime has been to align himself to an un-popular political party, which I thought was still allowed in a democracy and his physical appearance, surely not enough to warrant the abuse which he is receiving here.

Scotland is a great example!

This is due to the fact that Scottish universites can no longer afford the influx of students from other EU states who cannot be charged since Scottish students are not charged.

Actually its to prevent an influx from the rest of the UK not the EU and allow Scottish University places for Scottish students

I'd be more interested in the agenda of the OP who started a thread on a person with what seems to be for the role purpose of thanking those who can come up with any derogatory remark they can on this individual while offering nothing to the discussion as to why he deserves this degradation.

His best contribution has been:

From the evidence of here his main crime has been to align himself to an un-popular political party, which I thought was still allowed in a democracy and his physical appearance, surely not enough to warrant the abuse which he is receiving here.

Not really, the USI have been wasting our time for a number of years now with Redmond at the helm. Saying they're fighting fees while just going and taking uncontroversial photo opps, all the while boosting their CV and looking for a career or job in politics through it.

Actually its to prevent an influx from the rest of the UK not the EU and allow Scottish University places for Scottish students

Actually, I think I'll take the word of the Scottish Education Secretary over yours.
    EU students flock to Scottish universities
    13/01/2011

A record number of EU students have enrolled at Scotland's universities, up 17 per cent last year new statistics revealed today as Education Secretary Michael Russell highlighted their cost to the taxpayer has risen almost fourfold since the start of the decade.

Figures from the Higher Education Statistics Agency (HESA) show that between 2008-09 and 2009-10:

The number of Scots starting full-time courses in 2009-10 increased by three per cent - from 38,740 to 40,045 year-on-year
    The number of EU students increased by 17 per cent, from 13,585 to 15,930. This is an increase of 94 per cent on 2000-01 when 8,195 EU students came to Scotland
    In contrast the number of EU students attending English institutions increased by only six per cent between 2008-09 and 2009-10
    Enrolments from full fee-paying non-EU students increased by five per cent - from 23,960 to 25,075
    The number of enrolments from the UK increased by one per cent to 179,905, with an overall increase of six per cent since 2005-06
    In total, there were 220,910 enrolments at Scottish HEIs, up three per cent - almost two-thirds of the increase was due to enrolments from overseas students
    European law means that the Scottish Government is obliged to pay the fees of students living in non-UK EU countries - at a cost of more than £75 million a year in 2009-10 compared to £20 million in 2000-01 when 8,195 EU students came to Scotland.

As part of the ongoing debate over the future of higher education, Mr Russell is seeking to end an anomaly that sees students from across Europe receive free education.

The Education Secretary said:

"Scottish universities have always been cosmopolitan institutions - that is part of their attraction - but we cannot allow them to become a cheap option for students who have to pay to go to university in their home countries. That's why I have made clear our intention to tackle the anomalous situation that forces the Scottish Government to pay on behalf of students from the rest of the EU who choose to study here.

"Having already written to EU Commissioner Androulla Vassiliou, I intend to seek a meeting with her to discuss the issue when I visit Brussels next month. The number of EU students has almost doubled in recent years and the total cost has risen almost fourfold. The Scottish taxpayer is now facing a bill of £75 million a year. That is simply not tenable.

"These figures are all for the year before it became clear that England would triple the fees students are forced to pay. Building a Smarter Future - our green paper for a sustainable future for higher education in Scotland - makes clear, faced with fees in England increasing up to £9,000, our intention to raise fees for students from the rest of the UK. The need to take this action is underlined by today's figures that show an increase of 12 per cent in the number of entrants from England - three years before the higher fees are introduced there.

"That said, I am pleased to see that not only has the number of Scots starting full-time courses increased, overall university enrolments are up three per cent year-on-year. These figures demonstrate once again the high international standing of Scottish higher education.

"However, it is crucial that we ensure our universities retain their international competitiveness and continue to attract students on the basis of their academic ability, not because they are perceived as being a cheap option."

http://www.scotland.gov.uk/News/Releases/2011/01/13105353

Not really, the USI have been wasting our time for a number of years now with Redmond at the helm. Saying they're fighting fees while just going and taking uncontroversial photo opps, all the while boosting their CV and looking for a career or job in politics through it.

Thanks for the input of valid criticism rather than inane personal remarks over his appearance! Fanboy Gitchell is happy with it too!