Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is mass emigration affecting ireland?

• 26-09-2011 6:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭

I Read that our emigration has risen by 45% - 111 People leave ireland every every 24 hours.

Since emigration has become a hit again since... in my opinion around early/middle 2009, Is this affecting local community's and sport teams?

Is this affecting ireland in a big way? and will you be emigrating?

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/1500-flee-country-per-week-in-brain-drain-167687.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Affecting maybe, not effecting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

RobitTV wrote: »
    I Read that our emigration has risen by 45% - 111 People leave ireland every every 24 hours.

Since emigration has become a hit again since... in my opinion around early/middle 2009, Is this affecting local community's and sport teams?

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/1500-flee-country-per-week-in-brain-drain-167687.html

That is a lot of people, did not think the figure was this high.
    It will have some impact on sports, I know some people who delayed going for these reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,231 ✭✭✭Hercule Poirot

A lot of people I know were more worried about earning a living than playing, sad but true...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,435 ✭✭✭mandrake04

Sure didnt Ronnie Drew once say that Irelands biggest export was people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Give it a few years. The brain drain is already well under way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

The lack of fighter jets is a greater concern.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Hasmunch

Is mass emigration affecting ireland?

If i was leaving Ireland, it wouldnt be to go to mass!

Is emigration affecting Ireland?

Do bears **** in the woods?

Are Fianna Fail a bunch of corrupt crooks that bankrupt the country?

For the answers to these and other questions to which the answer is "yes", tune in to boards.ie!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 569 ✭✭✭CoolHat

Op, while that article does use hard-line numbers it uses way more percentages. I can a spin tactic on that one.
    Sure, more and more people are immigrating. No one can say people are not... But feels like a spin story to me. One of these news stories to 'shock you' (akin to what tv3 like to do to with their usual monday night 9pm shock documentaries.. people know whats going on already but at the same time blow it out)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭fat__tony

Its having a huge affect particularly in rural areas.

Bleak. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

how many are those that have fcuked back off to where they came from and how many were born here to irish parents

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

Saila wrote: »
    how many are those that have fcuked back off to where they came from and how many were born here to irish parents

many born to irish mammies would have left for grander jobs over seas i would imagine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

many born to irish mammies would have left for grander jobs over seas i would imagine.

was watching the frontline earlier the figure 45,000 was mentioned, dont know if that was for this year or since the boom ended? much better than the 300,000 polish people that have supposedly left to go back home!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭markesmith

110 Irish people are leaving every day, apparently:

Now what percentage of those are skilled, intelligent workers, and what percentage are going to Australia, I don't know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

I'm confused. Recent graduates were going to Austrailia to piss about after their degrees all through the boom years. For some reason there is the perception that this dosnt happen anymore and the best are leaving.

From what I can see is the best get jobs and those that were going to piss off to Austrailia to work as grape pickers were going to go anyway.

This country needs a bitof depopulation and IMO an arts graduate isn't skilled or smart labour and we pump out a few thousand of them a year.

Smart economy my cock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭YeatsCounty

....well that was uncalled for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭astonaidan

Going heading to Australia for a couple of years, If its still like it is now when I come back, Ill either stay out there or go to New Zealand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭previous user

Dya think they'll increase some the dole payment for us If the rest leave their
    dole payments behind. (licks lips greedily).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,199 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

its certainly giving the media plenty more to chat/write about, that's for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

markesmith wrote: »
    Now what percentage of those are skilled, intelligent workers, and what percentage are going to Australia, I don't know.

I lolled.

I'm not going to Australia. Getting my skilled and intelligent ass into the US.

Shame about all the unskilled, dumb feckers going to Oz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭padrepio

Riamfada wrote: »
    I'm confused. Recent graduates were going to Austrailia to piss about after their degrees all through the boom years. For some reason there is the perception that this dosnt happen anymore and the best are leaving.

From what I can see is the best get jobs and those that were going to piss off to Austrailia to work as grape pickers were going to go anyway.

This country needs a bitof depopulation and IMO an arts graduate isn't skilled or smart labour and we pump out a few thousand of them a year.

Smart economy my cock.

Brian Lenihan Sr had the same view and Mary Coughlan. You wouldnt be a FF supporter by any chance

The backpacking days are over for Irish people here, it is all about getting a visa to stay in the country now. That is the reality for the vast majority of Irish people here. The days of getting loans from the banks, parents etc to piss about in Aus for a year to head back to a crap job in the IFSC are over. That is what has me thinking that the numbers quoted are far too low and dont take into account a lot of people who headed over to Aus for a year or two in the midst of the pyramid scheme in Ireland collapsing and havent been back since.

Companies can only sponsor those with skills that match the skilled occupation list. That is why those with little experience in most occupations (engineering aside) will find it difficult to get a company to sponsor them. So much for the dumb unskilled feckers in Aus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

Smart economy my cock.

An island of approximately four million needs depopulation!?

markesmith wrote: »
    110 Irish people are leaving every day, apparently:

Loads probably going on holiday.

FACT only total 3700 Irish people emigrated to Australia last fiscal year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭fat__tony

Smart economy my cock.

I've never read such utter garbage in all my life.

Think before you engage your brain.

MadsL wrote: »
    I lolled.
    I'm not going to Australia. Getting my skilled and intelligent ass into the US.

LOL. That what I love about the threads in AH... very entertaining. :D:D

MadsL wrote: »
    Shame about all the unskilled, dumb feckers going to Oz.
    They go but unless they are skilled unlikely can stay.
    Aus Holidays, wages & lifestyle trump USA imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,348 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

I would say mass emigration and mass immigration is effecting Ireland.

mandrake04 wrote: »
    They go but unless they are skilled unlikely can stay.
    Aus Holidays, wages & lifestyle trump USA imo

Australia is going down the pisshole. When the property bubble bursts there it will be like Ireland circa 2007/08.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Lovely.

Polyester jerseys, daddys money and bubble jobs in Oz won't last forever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭Lurching

Polyester jerseys, daddys money and bubble jobs in Oz won't last forever.

It doesn't matter if it wont last forever, but theres money to be made there right now, so why begrudge those who go to a slightly less depressing country for a while and earn their keep?

I have lived in Sydney for 18 months now and am currently home for a holiday. Its amazing how bleak Ireland is now and how depressed much of the population is. There is none of this in Sydney.

Lurching wrote: »
    It doesn't matter if it wont last forever, but theres money to be made there right now, so why begrudge those who go to a slightly less depressing country for a while and earn their keep?

I am not begrudging anybody. Some people have the assumption that Australia=good times forever, they are in for a shock.. You lived there, the good times are coming to an end, the bubble is about to pop. Sorry, but that's the way it is. The days of the Australian holiday camp are coming to an end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

OneArt wrote: »

There are at least five million on the island. But your point stands, we're one of the most sparsely populated countries in Europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

A lot of people I know were more worried about earning a living than playing, sad but true...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

London for Sam Maguire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Here's the answer, get gallons of coffee down your necks.

Coffee linked with lower depression

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2011/0927/breaking13.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,658 ✭✭✭Patricide

Most people my age are either in Australia or Canada, however there are a few in America and England.

I myself was living in Germany for a while and it was great, heading off to Austria (EUROPE) in November and I cant wait.

The best thing is that there are no Irish - not saying anything bad about the Irish, but from my experiences in Australia the majority huddle together and don't assimilate into society. They drink too much and they can be closed minded. Of course this cant be said about everyone, but its one of the main reasons I didn't stay down under.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭Lurching

the bubble is about to pop. Sorry, but that's the way it is. The days of the Australian holiday camp are coming to an end.

Are you basing this on fact or a crystal ball?

The Australian economy is largely stimulated by their resources. Unless there is a massive worldwide crash which also takes out China, the selling of natural resources is safe, even taking into account the slowdown in sales of nuclear resources.

Im not foolish enough to believe that it will be sunshine and lollipops over there forever, but a large part of the success of any economy is the mindset of its population. If people start to fear a crash, then there is more chance that one will occur, as people will stop spending. This is not the mindset of Australians, and I hope the economy will continue as is for a number of years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭denhaagenite

I'm just sick of hearing about all the poor babas who "have" to emigrate to far away Aus an Canada. All the poor Mammies and Daddies waving goodbye at the airport my a**e. Too lazy to maybe have to cope with another language in nearby Europe more like. Loads of white and blue colour jobs all over the continent, and to be fair English is the first language in the bigger cities like Den Haag, Brussels, Dusseldorf etc.

Loads of people left before the recession but we're not seen the same way as the poor craythurs who may aswell be sailing the Jeanie Johnston to Amerikay the way people are carrying on.

/rant over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,658 ✭✭✭Patricide

I'm just sick of hearing about all the poor babas who "have" to emigrate to far away Aus an Canada. All the poor Mammies and Daddies waving goodbye at the airport my a**e. Too lazy to maybe have to cope with another language in nearby Europe more like. Loads of white and blue colour jobs all over the continent, and to be fair English is the first language in the bigger cities like Den Haag, Brussels, Dusseldorf etc.

Loads of people left before the recession but we're not seen the same way as the poor craythurs who may aswell be sailing the Jeanie Johnston to Amerikay the way people are carrying on.

/rant over
    English is NOT the first language in Dusseldorf. I don't know where your getting that idea.... Most people will speak english but you cant expect them to work with just english surely?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Six and a half Million actually but yes what a pathetic bog comment about depopulation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 Google Gold

Depopulation and then repopulation or simply population replacement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Patricide wrote: »
    heading off to Austria (EUROPE) in November and I cant wait.

Thanks for clarifying that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

There are at least five million on the island. But your point stands, we're one of the most sparsely populated countries in Europe.

I wasn't 100 percent sure if it was four or five. Still though one of the reasons I left was because most areas in Ireland are considerably bleak and there just isn't much going on.

English is NOT the first language in Dusseldorf. I don't know where your getting that idea.... Most people will speak english but you cant expect them to work with just english surely?

Right, well I don't know how my husband has been managing at his office in Dusseldorf for the last three years. You'd think they'd get him a translator or something :pac:

Most people my age are either in Australia or Canada, however there are a few in America and England.

I have to laugh at all this bull about tens of thousands of young Irish people emigrating to Australia, they are not emigrating they are only on a holiday.

Sure if someone said they are emigrating to Santa Ponsa for two weeks in July people would just laugh at them. Who are they trying to kid?

Like in my earlier post at most 3700 Irish people emigrated to Australia last year.

Good point that, let's wait until their two years are up and see what they do then. NZ, integration or abhaile arís?

Or risk deportation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭dipper.meath16

If some of you had family members out there, you would rant about it beoing a holiday camp.. My brother is in melbourne, Hes a qualified sparks, and is sitting the exam is aus now to be alowed work as a sparks there.. hes been labouring for a company for the last 6months and is awaiting to hear on his 5 year sponsorship.. Hes been there 2 years already working his bo**ox of, and is HAPPY. He wants to come home at some stage but what the hell is the point?? what is there here for the thousands of qualified trades people? He was redundant for a year before he made the decision to pack up and go.. it was tough on the family, heck we miss him to bits(thank god for skype)

i live in a rural area, and 3 lads have went from my local hurling club, and you would miss them around the place. one of the lads a qualified, self employed bricklayer, was doing small jobs, for the sake of doing them, was making nothing for himself, so he went and is earning a fortune! Why stay in this hell hole? i certainly dont know if i will be here next year.. I dont like blaming people for the state of the country but surly some1 has to be put to the sword for what went on??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,863 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

Right, well I don't know how my husband has been managing at his office in Dusseldorf for the last three years. You'd think they'd get him a translator or something :pac:

At work i manage perfectly well speaking my own language.
    However if i go out for shopping and will only speak my own language in the shops here, i will be very hungry.

For English speakers it is somewhat easier, lots of people will speak English on the continent but that shouldn't stop anyone learning the language if they stay in a foreign country for a number of years.

It is rather ignorant if you dont in my opinion.