Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Topman makes a Top cock-up!

• 15-09-2011 11:11pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭

Well, would you have worn it?

http://www.guardian.co.uk/fashion/2011/sep/14/sexist-topman-tshirts-off-shelves

Topman has withdrawn two T-shirts from sale amid claims that they are sexist and that one made fun of domestic violence.
    One of the T-shirts features a list of excuses for doing something wrong, which many posters on Facebook and Twitter perceived to be hitting a woman. Its slogan reads: "I'm so sorry, but … You provoked me; I was drunk; I was having a bad day; I hate you; I didn't mean it; I couldn't help it."
    On Topman's Facebook page Marie Horner, who set up the STopman group on the site in protest, posted: "Promoting the excuses that men use to get away with abusing women is clearly wrong, whether it's on a T-shirt or not."
    Another Facebook user, Mel Parkin, added: "Many woman and children flee for their lives every year from domestic violence. It's very poor taste to promote it."
    The slogan on the other T-shirt reads: "Nice new girlfriend – what breed is she?"
    Bella Mackie, who works for the Guardian, tweeted: "Seriously, comparing women to dogs? Classy."
    Topman, which is part of the billionaire Sir Philip Green's retail empire, has withdrawn the T-shirts from sale and apologised for any offence caused by the designs.
    "We have received some negative feedback regarding two of our printed T-shirts. Whilst we would like to stress that these T-shirts were meant to be light-hearted and carried no serious meaning, we have made the decision to remove these from store and online as soon as possible."We would like to apologise to those who may have been offended by these designs."
    Both T-shirts are now listed as "out of stock" on Topman's online store.
    But the statement provoked further criticism online, with a Facebook user, Helen Highwater, stating on Topman's page: "There's nothing 'funny' or 'light-hearted' about casual misogyny or domestic abuse."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

They were probably ridiculously over-priced too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

What fooking planet were the designers living in...

there is thousands of educated people unemployed, yet a lot of idiots seem to have jobs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

there is thousands of educated people unemployed, yet a lot of idiots seem to have jobs

I know, how many people must have essentially signed off on it?

Top heads will roll...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

The fact that this was withdrawn under sexism complaints is a disgrace.

Don't get me wrong, the clothes were absolutely disgusting. But in yet another modern example of "equality", these can still be sold anywhere without issues:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/mindcircus/139278592/

I'm actually getting so sick of the number of aspects of life where people think it's ok to hold double standards. One set of rules for absolutely everyone I say. If it's not ok for the goose it's not ok for the gander, etc.

By all means ban the Topman stuff but for God's sake why is it ok for young boys to have to put up with taunts like that on girl's clothes and not the other way around?! :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Aishae

ive seen similar for women - but saying similar things to men. ive never like t shirts like that though. they seem dull if nothing else. just not funny

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Was it really intended as a domestic abuse joke? Could read just as excuses for anything. Surely they can't be that stupid.

Aishae wrote: »
    ive seen similar for women - but saying similar things to men. ive never like t shirts like that though. they seem dull if nothing else. just not funny

A bit like 'If found return to pub' and 'touch here' :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

wow that is bad, one thing for a garage company to do it but a high street brand :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

From that same line as above:
    "Boys lie, poke 'em in the eye" can be sold on girls' t shirts and it has a pic of a guy with his eye gouched out:
    http://cn1.kaboodle.com/hi/img/2/0/0/d5/6/AAAAAmwXmV8AAAAAANVoCw.jpg?v=1203921157000

I double dare anyone here to draw a picture of a bruised girl and write "but she's a liar" under it and try not to wind up in court. And well you should land up in court, it's disgusting, but so should whoever made the original t shirt as well.

strobe wrote: »
    Was it really intended as a domestic abuse joke? Could read just as excuses for anything. Surely they can't be that stupid.

The slogan on the other T-shirt reads: "Nice new girlfriend – what breed is she?"

So, yeah, God only knows what they were implying...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

Bella Mackie, who works for the Guardian, tweeted: "Seriously, comparing women to dogs? Classy."

She sounds like a right bitch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Aishae

ah no - the fell off me barstool shirts are amusing. they take the piss out of the drink, not the sex.
    its only a t shirt. but it is very much a double standard situation if its ok for girls to walk around in sexist joke shirts when lads would be slapped for doing the same. just let us both do it - or neither.

She sounds like a right bitch.

:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

Bit ridiculous that the first tee shirt was automatically perceived to have been references to domestic violence against women.

No offence Topman, but many of your customers aren't even that way inclined.

I'm with hatrickpatrick on this; if you want blanket gender political correctness (and that would be an awful thing) then it has to go both ways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭k.p.h

I double dare anyone here to draw a picture of a bruised girl and write "but she's a liar" under it and try not to wind up in court

That sounds awesome where would I get one of those ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

I think they are implying that people who buy t-shirts in Topman enjoy intercourse with canines.

Jesus Christ, isn't something like 95% of their clothing women's wear? Idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,323 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Now wait a minute, this is more double standards! Because I have seen the same thing written on a WOMAN'S t-shirt. There's loads of stupid bitchy t-shirts like that around like "While you're reading this your boyfriend is checking me out" and whatever.

Why wasn't it offensive to compare women to dogs when it was a woman making the statement? Why did this only come up when it was a man?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

At least they know who their market are... :pac:

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Now wait a minute, this is more double standards! Because I have seen the same thing written on a WOMAN'S t-shirt. There's loads of stupid bitchy t-shirts like that around like "While you're reading this your boyfriend is checking me out" and whatever.

Why wasn't it offensive to compare women to dogs when it was a woman making the statement? Why did this only come up when it was a man?

I don't know!!!!!! I only posted it.

I suppose because the 'your bf is checking me out' is not 'advocating' domestic violence, which is what people were saying about the Topman t-shirt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭Eroticfishcake

No reason to get upset, more controversial the slogans the more these t-shirts sell. Just don't wear them, they are marketed for knackers.

I don't know!!!!!! I only posted it.

I suppose because the 'your bf is checking me out' is not 'advocating' domestic violence, which is what people were saying about the Topman t-shirt.

No I wasnt asking you, I was just asking in general.

and I was talking about the same statement about breeds of dog. I saw a woman wearing the t-shirt saying "Nice new girlfriend. What breed is she?"

No reason to get upset, more controversial the slogans the more these t-shirts sell. Just don't wear them, they are marketed for knackers.

Not this time. They are not selling them anymore!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

T-shirts bearing slogans are for cúnts.

Bodhisopha wrote: »
    'T-shirts bearing slogans are for cúnts'.

I'm totally getting that printed on a t-shirt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

strobe wrote: »
    I'm totally getting that printed on a t-shirt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

Pffffttt, TopMan are amateurs. Now THIS is a good insulting T-Shirt..... and maybe THIS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭AnneElizabeth

I don't see the problem at all with that t-shirt, why would anyone assume it was over domestic abuse in the first place? I think some people just love complaining.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Don't get me wrong, the clothes were absolutely disgusting. But in yet another modern example of "equality", these can still be sold anywhere without issues:

I'm actually getting so sick of the number of aspects of life where people think it's ok to hold double standards. One set of rules for absolutely everyone I say. If it's not ok for the goose it's not ok for the gander, etc.

By all means ban the Topman stuff but for God's sake why is it ok for young boys to have to put up with taunts like that on girl's clothes and not the other way around?! :confused:
    Domestic violence against men isn't serious, everyone knows that. Remember The Sun and The Mirror took the piss out of Steve McFadden because he was hit by a girl.
    Story
    And just so you know karma works, that's the same Rebekah Wade (now Brooks) thats up to her neck in shít over the phone hacking scandal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

Paparazzo wrote: »
    Domestic violence against men isn't serious, everyone knows that. Remember The Sun and The Mirror took the piss out of Steve McFadden because he was hit by a girl.

To be fair, as you've pointed out, in one of these stories, the perpetrator wasn't just any girl. She was an influential figure in Murdoch's creepy spider's nest, and it was in the interest of the red tops to try and shame the victims and diminish her crime in the eyes of the public.

It's also worth noting that both The Sun and The Mirror are appalling sh*te rags written by arseholes for idiots. So while it's only fair and right to be frustrated with their impenetrably cynical douchebaggery, you have to bear in mind that these are the same papers that paid cops to help hack the phones of murder victims, and the same readers who tried to protect children by beating up a pediatrician.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

That's fairly ambiguous t-shirt. If it was a girls t-shirt then people would probably think it's a list of excuses for a argument/tantrum. The fact that people assume it's a reference to domestic violence says more about their prejudices than anything else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭Intensive Care Bear

A shop down the road from me had a t shirt with the slogan "A blow job is better than no job" the girl behind the counter was not amused when i asked her did they have it in a kids size.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 Kasycas

Men don't get rocks thrown at them...

Kasycas wrote: »
    Men don't get rocks thrown at them...

Try telling that to this guy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

By all means ban the Topman stuff...
    Ban them? Bit much, don't you think?
    I double dare anyone here to draw a picture of a bruised girl and write "but she's a liar" under it and try not to wind up in court. And well you should land up in court, it's disgusting, but so should whoever made the original t shirt as well.
    And on what grounds exactly would someone be bringing me to court for drawing that picture?

That's the kind of T-shirt you'd see in Penneys for €3. Guaranteed that TopMan was charging €20 and that some ****wit actually bought it!

Also I really don't see how that T-shirt was referring to violence against women. It could have been referring to anything!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,804 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

Because us men have more class than to wear clothes with idiotic slogans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

You can bate the wimmin but, you can't bate the craic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

What a load of b0llox. Marie Horner needs to stfu and mind her own business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭py2006

This really annoys me. Double standards. Extremist feminists hoping on the bandwagon.

That t-shirt could refer to:
    • Leaving the toilet seat up
    • Late home from the pub
    • Not cutting the grass
    • Not putting the bins out
    • Forgetting her birthday
    • Forgetting her anniversary
    • <insert other male roles>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

This is insane!! Why did everyone presume the first top reffered to domestic violence?? I mean slogan t-shirts have had their day and are a bit naff now, but I don't really see anything wrong here.

I remember buying a top in penneys yeeears back that said "Coffee, Chocolate, Men...some things are better when they're rich" (or words to that effect), and there were loads of similar slogans around. Did men freak out and launch an online tirade? NO!! They took it with good grace and a sense of humour.

Shítstorms like this set the feminist movement back 20 years.

py2006 wrote: »
    This really annoys me. Double standards. Extremist feminists hoping on the bandwagon.

That t-shirt could refer to:
    • Leaving the toilet seat up
    • Late home from the pub
    • Not cutting the grass
    • Not putting the bins out
    • Forgetting her birthday
    • Forgetting her anniversary
    • <insert other male roles>

It could even refer to the purcgasing of the t-shirt itself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

So what category should it have been withdrawn under, or do you think it shouldn't be, considering the t-shirt messages are quite obviously sexist in nature and seen as so by many, hence the protests?

I agree there should be no such double standards as it is harmful to the cause of gender equality for both sexes and I personally would no more approve of misandrist slogans like that than I would misogynistic ones.

We should be furthering mutual understanding and respect in both sexes.
    And actually the majority of mainstream feminists would agree with that sentiment I think because after all real feminism is about working for greater equality for both women and men.

Greentopia wrote: »
    We should be furthering mutual understanding and respect in both sexes.

Or you could get a sense of humour! And encourage other to do the same!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

So what category should it have been withdrawn under, or do you think it shouldn't be, considering the t-shirt messages are quite obviously sexist in nature and seen as so by many, hence the protests?

Explain to me how the t-shirt is sexist? The message is so incredibly vague I don't see how you can make that comment

smash wrote: »
    Or you could get a sense of humour! And encourage other to do the same!

My sense of humour is just fine thank you ;)

Obviously not. There is no reason this should have been withdrawn, it could mean anything ffs.

If you really want to see an offensive t-shirt so look at tshirthell.com

--Kaiser-- wrote: »
    Explain to me how the t-shirt is sexist? The message is so incredibly vague I don't see how you can make that comment

Because at least in the case of the one with the tick boxes that state-"I'm so sorry, but … You provoked me; I was drunk; I was having a bad day; I hate you; I didn't mean it; I couldn't help it" the common link is that they are all classic excuses said by men to try to excuse or justify domestic violence against women.
    Or is that just a remarkable coincidence in your view?

smash wrote: »
    If you really want to see an offensive t-shirt so look at tshirthell.com

I don't think they're funny regardless of whether they're offensive or not.
    And no thank's, I'm well past the age to go buying offensive t-shirts so I have no need to check out that site.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I don't see abuse mentioned anywhere on it. It could be talking about anything. It looks crap though.

If anyone still wants the t-shirt they could buy a plain one and write on it with permanent marker. It couldn't look much worse than the original one.