Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you think Dublin it too 'up itself'

• 04-09-2011 3:02am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭

I've got my fireproof clothing donned for this ''Ireland-dissing,Dublin-dissing thread'' so know what's coming abuse wise!

But, the point I'm trying to make here is, if (in my experience anyway ) you go around places like Central London, Madrid, Brussels, Manchester which are all infinitely more sophisticated and cosmopolitan than Dublin , and a host of other cities you can think of.

....you don't experience the random, mindless sort of hostility that you experience in Dublin, eg; randomly being called a ''prick'', ''knacker'', ''****'', ''fag'' the list goes on.

what makes me laugh about Dublin / Ireland is that it thinks it's the ''mutts nutts'', a cold light of day analysis reveals a bigoted, bankrupt, backward society riven with pseudo middle class faux sophistication. Don't get me wrong for a second, I love people that I class as the ''old'' Irish, ie; friendly, earthy, socialist in outlook but I loathe the ''nouveaux Irish'', ie; the type of people who might have to emigrate to London but turn their noses up at mixing with the ''paddies'' who went there before them.

Expect a bit of flak for this thread, but am mindful that there'll be hostile posters who might see things differently if were explained in person.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭chucken1

Ah dont expect too much flak...it wont last long ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

Gawd yeah.
    The other day I caught Dublin checking itself out in the windows on Grafton Street.

(I should probably start actually reading the thread first.....)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

*sets up popcorn stall*

• Registered Users Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

~Everything you said is so retarded that it is hard to know where to start... or whether to bother.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Wertz wrote: »
    *sets up popcorn stall*
    Large please!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Definitely, it's totally to it itself. It thought it was fine but then it was it itself. It was so it, ye know? Way too it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭lima

It's true. Left Dublin in 2004 and never miss the place. Those heroin junkies all over the place.. what a dive..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I think all cities are more or less the same when it comes to these things. I've lived in Dublin, London & Madrid and after a while, when the novelty wears off, you realise that there's shit & bigotted people everywhere. It's not just an Irish thing.

And then when you go back and live in a village or town, you realise that it's not just a city thing either. There's just more of everything in cities.

*sets up popcorn stall*

Id actually like cake now :o Have you cake?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Which it? That's what I wanna know.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

chucken1 wrote: »

I'm making a chocolate cake atm.
    Want some?

I have actually read the op now.
    Most of Dublin is a kip.
    Except south Dublin of course.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Same old thread

Though it still stands that whilst other city centres keep them clean and lout free for tourists Dublin fails to do so. It's a good city, a 5 minute walk south and you are safe as houses but the city centre can be ****ty and that's a alck of garda resources and a specific project to clean it up

I have a sister moving to a house beside mountjoy square which is city centre, D1, and I'm scared for her safety and it's a fact that she can't walk aroud alone at night. And I can't walk there in the dark after work without getting harrassed 20 times. Fact is that that's just not right for a city centre. This should have been addressed when there were funds to do so, wont be such funds for quite a while now unfortunately

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

The thing is. Dublin is not London,Manchester etc.
    I know where your coming from though.
    I have great friends and family in dublin but personally I can't stand the place meself.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭The Scientician

I'm not sure the populace of the principle city of any of the other countries cited gets as much grief from provincials/boggers etc. than Dubliners do. The **** I've got from people down the country 'cos I'm from Dublin is sickening. It's tantamount to racism. The worst thing is half of the Dublin denigrators actually make their living from the city.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,233 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Most of what you say rings bells, but I don't think they're exactly the main problems in this city or country. I've never once been randomly called a prick by anyone on the streets of Dublin and I've walked them an awful lot in the last 23 years. Maybe you start random fights with hobos of a morning?

The issue with Dublin is the physical appearance of the place - we have rubbish flying all over the gaff after the nightclubs close (all at the same time, pure genius naturally). The laneways and even main streets turn to rivers of puke and piss because aport from 2 portaloos on Camden St there are zero public toilets. Junkies purchase hard drugs and then use them openly in front of kids in broad daylight. And to top it all some of the most travelled and main streets in the city such as D'Olier Street are in terrible need of resurfacing. The little public parking we have that is outrageously expensive, too.

Is Dublin up itself? At an administrative level yes, the city is run like a wastepaper basket for the politicians. As a social level, no - it's like any other city, with the possible exception of any issues raised above.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

I did not care for it,
    it insists upon itself...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭Kadongy

I'm from Dublin. I don't know what you are on about with the random abuse stuff. Maybe you get that because you go around laughing at everything for being so pathetic.

I do find that people are generally more polite in other parts of the country than in Dublin though, including other cities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

chucken1 wrote: »

Sorry popcorn only... €2 a bucket...or €4 if you're from the southside.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

At least it's not Cork.

Sorry popcorn only... €2 a bucket...or €4 if you're from the southside.

Thanks to a diety Im not from aside..at all..

Now can I have cake? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭bayern282

Just to re-iterate the point I was making, I'm not Dublin-phobic, but I do tend to sense a general misanthropy in the place that I don't detect in other cities.

Even within Ireland, folk from places like Kerry, Cork, Limerick seem to have a more rugged and good humoured attitude that seems to be absent in the average Dub.

You can get abuse anywhere.

I was in Claremorris the other day & I heard someone shouting "you gay fucker" at someone. When I turned around to see who was shouting, I realised that he was shouting at me.

I've no idea why.

Some people are just idiots.

• Registered Users Posts: 366 ✭✭sh__93

Dublin is overall a great city with mostly great people.
    it just annoys me how many scumbags there are!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭saywhatyousee

You can get abuse anywhere.

I was in Claremorris the other day & I heard someone shouting "you gay fucker" at someone. When I turned around to see who was shouting, I realised that he was shouting at me.

I've no idea why.

Some people are just idiots.

Not surprised Mayo people are "odd" to say the least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Are you drunk OP?

You sound like one of those inebriated guys who says things like

'I love you you hateful bastard'

and stuff like that.

You know that cities are just collections of buildings with people in them?

You know countries and counties are just geographic administrative regions?

Perhaps not.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

sh__93 wrote: »
    Dublin is overall a great city with mostly great people.
    it just annoys me how many scumbags there are!
    I think Dublin is a good city too and most dealings I've had with your average Dub have been good. But I agree that theres a serious amount of scum about the place.

Not surprised Mayo people are "odd" to say the least.

That's very true, but they also have a huge amount of either not caring for - or knowing about - most rules that normally govern "polite society" that I am often baffled by and more often in adimiration for than I care to acknowldge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Their all only west Brits anyways.

/ troll

• Registered Users Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

..I was in Claremorris the other day..

Claremorris?

• Registered Users Posts: 497 ✭✭Mr Keek

no, I think Ireland is up itself. we are not as cool, trendy, important as we think we are. Look at the way we think Americans love us. they couldn't care less.

I love Dublin and it people, some of the funniest whittiest people I've ever met. Of course, every city and county in Ireland has it fair share of a$$ holes too