Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

HCAP range exam, how did you get on?

• 27-08-2011 5:13pm
    Site Banned Posts: 179 ✭✭

Hi Lads,

went to the exam today and PASSED 1st go, no resit!! feckin delighted, here are the pics of targets

1ad6e355.jpg

5e90a0e2.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 506 ✭✭✭moby30

Well done Jason bourne. That's some good shooting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 207 ✭✭Alan 1990

Fair play man nice shooting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭foxer3640

Passed it too. The standing shot was tricky enough with that gusting wind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭ianoo

hey lads does anyone know where you could buy some of those sika targets ???,would be deadly for a bit of practice ..

ian

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭poulo6.5

I passed mine as well but had to have a do over as I was a bit cocky on the standing shot and had one out side the line.

I took my time the second time around and borrowed a pair of shooting sticks from the lad next to me. Thanks by the way. As I didn't get your name I can't mention who it was but he knows who it is.

Oh and I made it back down to sneem here in Kerry just in time for the meal of the wedding.

Happy days. Well done every one who passed today. Now role on Thursday. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭foxer3640

I had a bit of help on my prone group..... 4 holes on the bull instead of three

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭Mauser 308

Passed first attempt also, shot a fine group in both the grouping and the deer target (all 6 deer target shots in 1") Fluke..... I was surprised how well it went as I was very nervous when I arrived. I registered and then went chatting and followed the guys down the range for a look. Quite a while after I decided to see what detail they had put me in. Then I found out I had to re register with the guy who organised the details. So ended up in the 4th ,and last detail which quite suited, as the crowed had moved off, and I had way less nerves.
    Delighted to have it over, I honestly put it on an equil to going for ur full licence driving test - u now you are quite capable but what of you make a mistake when everyone is watching. But its done now:):):):):)

poulo6.5 wrote: »
    I passed mine as well but had to have a do over as I was a bit cocky on the standing shot and had one out side the line.

I took my time the second time around and borrowed a pair of shooting sticks from the lad next to me. Thanks by the way. As I didn't get your name I can't mention who it was but he knows who it is.

Oh and I made it back down to sneem here in Kerry just in time for the meal of the wedding.

Happy days. Well done every one who passed today. Now role on Thursday. :D
    Paulo, what detail were you in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭4gun

5e90a0e2.jpg[/QUOTE]

some cheeky fecker went for between the eyes on a previous shoot.:D

• Site Banned Posts: 179 ✭✭JasonBourne

foxer3640 wrote: »
    Passed it too. The standing shot was tricky enough with that gusting wind.

+1 and congrats!
    Mauser 308 wrote: »
    Passed first attempt also, shot a fine group in both the grouping and the deer target (all 6 deer target shots in 1") Fluke..... I was surprised how well it went as I was very nervous when I arrived. I registered and then went chatting and followed the guys down the range for a look. Quite a while after I decided to see what detail they had put me in. Then I found out I had to re register with the guy who organised the details. So ended up in the 4th ,and last detail which quite suited, as the crowed had moved off, and I had way less nerves.
    Delighted to have it over, I honestly put it on an equil to going for ur full licence driving test - u now you are quite capable but what of you make a mistake when everyone is watching. But its done now:):):):):)

well said, i was in the 2nd detail. you can almost feel the eyes watching!! completely like doing the driving test. the hard part is not letting the nerves set in.
    4gun wrote: »
    some cheeky fecker went for between the eyes on a previous shoot.:D
    yeah not me thank god!! lol thats a fail AFAIK?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭steyrprohunter

Congrats mauser and Paulo!! Mauser I tried ringing you this week? Call me when you can,thanks.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,743 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Well done to all that attended. I was meant to meet one or two of ye, but never got around to it so my apologies for that.

The standard of shooting was good throughout. There were only a few repeats and those that had to nailed it second time around. Most repeats were from a single shot out of 9 shots in total being just outside the line.

The first 4 details got away lightly as the heavens opened up on the final, 5th, detail. Got soaked to the skin (role on the sympathy :D). There was a mass "evacuation" as soon as everyone shot, so i presume they were rushing down to Birr to try and catch some of the Game Fair :).

Well done again to all.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭poulo6.5

Mauser 308 wrote: »
    Paulo, what detail were you in?

I was in the second and fourth I think. I was walking around all day with a cup of coffee for you.

poulo6.5 wrote: »
    I was in the second and fourth I think. I was walking around all day with a cup of coffee for you.

I was no 8 in the 4th. Sorry we did not get to meet up, could have done with that coffee and something strong in it to help the nerves:D