Off Topic **This Thread Now Closed For Business**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,492 ✭✭✭EdK

May be in the minority here but I found Sid's commentary non-sensical and irritating,That said though i know a lot of people loved it and cancer is a terrible illness so may he rest in peace

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,469 ✭✭✭✭GTR63

Ok Galway made the All Ireland final today but one man overshadowed it.
    The question is does he support Galway or Cork?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

GTR63 wrote: »
    Ok Galway made the All Ireland final today but one man overshadowed it.
    The question is does he support Galway or Cork?

It's like Brother Love & JR's lovechild

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭Tinie

Darts will never be the same again :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Take that Cork fans. What that is you ask? Well a defeat ye all knew was coming against a team we all pray to christ doesn't embarrass against KK/Tipp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,643 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Sad to see the Olympic games come to a close. Really enjoyed it. Probably my favourite one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,167 ✭✭✭Stereomaniac

The closing ceremony was great, in particular when Baba O'Riley kicked in and The Who arrived.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,331 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

The closing ceremony was great, in particular when Baba O'Riley kicked in and The Who arrived.

Jessie J ruined it for me, so bad.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭Hashtag_HEEL

Rjd2 wrote: »

She Was Great! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

- So Olympic closing ceremony: we are going to have a celebration of the best of British music!

- Great so were gonna have The Rolling Stones, Fleetwood Mac, The sex pistols, Def Leppard, Rod Stewart, Iron Maiden, Radiohead, Led Zeppelin, Black Sabbath, Tom Jones, and Elton John, yeah?

- No! But we will have One Direction....eh....Russell Brand and ....um.... Jessie J is going to get her arse out!!

- Brilliant!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Monty Python's Eric Idle and The Who were the best part of a really sh*te closing imo

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 16,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭Furious-Red

Rjd2 wrote: »

Sings a song a about "its not about the money" yet arrives on a back of a rolls royce convertible?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,888 ✭✭✭Charisteas

Did Queen perform with a Freddie Mercury hologram? Heard something about it but can't find it on youtube.

Charisteas wrote: »
    Did Queen perform with a Freddie Mercury hologram? Heard something about it but can't find it on youtube.

Jessie J performed with Queen (she ruined We Will Rock You :() and I think Freddie was shown on a large screen at one part

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,600 ✭✭✭✭CMpunked

I thought Jessie j made we will rock you her own. Not being a massive fan of queen i can accept it was her style of the track. People saying she should kill herself because she butchered the song are dingbats.
    What do they want, the olympic council to exhume Mercury?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,469 ✭✭✭✭GTR63

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Jessie J performed with Queen, she ruined We Will Rock You

Even worse than the Rock I heard, Ouch!
    Could of used with having Intense GAA fan.

CMpunked wrote: »
    I thought Jessie j made we will rock you her own. Not being a massive fan of queen i can accept it was her style of the track. People saying she should kill herself because she butchered the song are dingbats.
    What do they want, the olympic council to exhume Mercury?

Having Freddie perform it on the large screen was fine by me as they did with John Lennon's Imagine

Jessie J was on three times, first on her own, then with Taio Cruz and Tinie Tempah and then with Queen so she must be the most important British musician of all time :rolleyes:

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Having Freddie perform it on the large screen was fine by me as they did with John Lennon's Imagine

Jessie J was on three times, first on her own, then with Taio Cruz and Tinie Tempah and then with Queen so she must be the most important British musician of all time :rolleyes:

Well what other singer would you have put up there instead? Or even limit it to a female? Madonna? Aw hell no!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,331 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

Well what other singer would you have put up there instead? Or even limit it to a female? Madonna? Aw hell no!

Madonna despite been old has made better music than Jessie ****ing J, seriously. Florence would have been better but she was probably to "edgy" for the organisers.:pac:

Even Susan Boyle would have been better than her :p Adele or Florence Welch also would be good choices

The theme was suppose to be the best of British music yet some very dodgy choice artists performing imo

Emeli Sande was another who performed three times

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 24,164 Mod ✭✭✭✭Angron

Jessie J did a crap version of "We Will Rock You". That weird echo effect didn't exactly help it either.

Also, no mention of bands like Iron Maiden, Black Sabbath or Motorhead annoyed me.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,996 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Boo to all the people giving out about my Jessie J. How dare you talk bad of her :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,888 ✭✭✭Charisteas

One good thing about the end of the Olympics is the awesome episode of Fresh Prince of Bel-Air that was on earlier.

Boo to all the people giving out about my Jessie J. How dare you talk bad of her :P

Finally someone who shares my views! :D

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 16,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭Furious-Red

Finally someone who shares my views! :D

Personally id prefer to listen to Jessie then Florence and the banshee

Honestly, I fell for her after the Trinity Ball fiasco a while back. Plus she's got some mad catchy songs. :D

Honestly, I fell for her after the Trinity Ball fiasco a while back.

What happened?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭Tinie

What happened?
    Something about the TCD students drinking way too much and it being dangerous or something!

Shes got some arse and legs on her though :D

The face isn't the best though!

Tinie wrote: »
    The face isn't the best though!

She kind of looks like a toned down Katy Perry! :D

What happened?

Long story short, she preformed at the Trinity Grad ball, people got mad drunk and she got annoyed about it. She doesn't drink at all (due to a medical condition iirc) and was upset by how people were just getting sloshed...

From RTE...
    Following her performance on Friday night, the singer, whose real name is Jessica Ellen Cornish, took to Twitter to speak about the drunken crowd.

She wrote: "Just came off stage at trinity ball. Probably one of the hardest gigs to date.

"To see so many people so drunk they couldn't even stand. Girls unconscious and (students were) literally trampling on each other. It wasn't easy."

The singer, who has risen to fame over the past year, later posted: "I'm not upset they weren't all listening. It upset me to see so many young people so not with it. I'm not used to it.

"It's hard to sing when I just wanted to go into the crowd and help all the crying girls who were being squashed."

The comments caused a stir online among students who attended the inaugural party, with one commentator remarking: "Are you being serious? Just be thankful you were performing on stage to your fans."

The singer later posted: "Can I just clear up that last night was a university ball and it was students.

"I was just shocked at how intoxicated they were and I was genuinely worried for them. I'm not used to it. That's all.

"And it's not just in Ireland, its everywhere. As a non drinker, I just want to spread the message that binge drinking is dangerous. I just care."

The Blizzards frontman Niall Breslin, who wasn't at the ball, then commented on Jessie J's statement, dryly remarking: "Welcome to Ireland."