Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA Discussion Thread 2011-2012

• Registered Users Posts: 646 ✭✭✭mccarthy37

Checking the weather forecast for Sunday its not to bad hopefully it will hold out and we witness two great games. I think Davy has a plan to drag Brick out of position and benefit from the chaos that would cause I'm sure we have a plan to try and curb anything Clare throws at us. Lets see how much respect he really has for us as he has been quoted as saying every tactic available will be used to try and win this game on Sunday. A lot has been said about his inside knowledge of Waterford and how he will use this to his advantage. Its a bit of a worry because if any of our team lose the head as happened in the Limerick versus Clare game it could spell disaster for us. I doubt he will man the sideline with his hands in his pockets. Clare have some very promising hurlers up and coming who have got the better of us at underage these past few years which is something I would like to see a change in this year. We believe we also have great underage talent up and coming but we will have to start winning some silverware to show for the progress and not be happy with a few wins with no medals to show. Without a doubt we are competing at a much higher level than in the past and its great to witness some great wins over counties that traditionally beat us .Here's hoping for a win on Sunday with a bit of Sunshine thrown in to put a smile on all our faces.

• Registered Users Posts: 229 ✭✭deisefolife

Black Suir wrote: »
    Saw him against Ballygunner as well and you would not know he was on the field.

i dunno what has happened to him,he was a fantastic hurler once.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,160 ✭✭✭hardybuck

I'd say the reality is that living and working in Dublin doesn't make things easy. When you're in school and then college, everything is laid on a plate for you.

When you go out into the working world, unless you are a teacher or perhaps a Garda, you're not going to be able to give as much commitment. Factor in trying to juggle your professional and working commitments isn't easy, and then a commute from Dublin makes life more difficult.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

This is great that we have 4 championship debutants this year. Coupled with the the debutants against limerick last year the avg age of the team is 26 i think.
    Im sure the Dublin press and RTE will still be saying we are an ageing team.

S O'Keeffe=21; A Kearney=27, L Lawlor=27, S Daniels=22; R Foley=25, M Walsh=29, P Mahony=21; K Moran=25, S Molumphy=29; M Shanahan=22, S Prendergast=32, E Kelly=30; J Mullane=31, S Walsh=29, G O'Brien=19.

391/15=26.06667

Good maths Calvin! :D

It's great to see Mahony and Daniels finally in there, and I have huge time for SOK. Gavin O Brien is a classy hurler and good to see him there too.

I know a lot of people are downbeat and I have to say I'd have been worried earlier in the week but I think we've picked the best available team. How often did we say that under Davy? Hopefully we go out and deliver, I'm not a big fan of John Meyler so I wouldn't mind proving himself, Vincent Hogan and Ciaran Lyng wrong, and wiping the smile off Marty's face.

hardybuck wrote: »
    I'd say the reality is that living and working in Dublin doesn't make things easy. When you're in school and then college, everything is laid on a plate for you.

When you go out into the working world, unless you are a teacher or perhaps a Garda, you're not going to be able to give as much commitment. Factor in trying to juggle your professional and working commitments isn't easy, and then a commute from Dublin makes life more difficult.

With all due respect lads, he got injured before the Limerick game last year after showing good league form, and found it tough to get back into it. This year he's been out with the hip injury since December/January I think, until April so I dunno that it's fair to write him off as much. We'll see how he goes Sunday, he's obviously done something to merit inclusion in training.

Yeah but it would also be fair to say that is form hasn't just dipped this season - he hasn't been fit to play, but dipped over the last couple of years. At 25 he should now be approaching his prime.

• Registered Users Posts: 34 deisedub

Has the intermediate team being announced ?

Yeah but it would also be fair to say that is form hasn't just dipped this season - he hasn't been fit to play, but dipped over the last couple of years. At 25 he should now be approaching his prime.

The year before last was 2010 was his best season without question in a Waterford jersey. Sure he didn't even start before that!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭Cake Man

Happy enough with the team, hopefully Mahony, Daniels, SOK and GOB get on well. With Martin O’Neill, Dean Twomey, Nagle, Tony, David O’Sullivan on the bench, there are options to change things around if necessary. With all due respect, I hope we don’t persist with the Eoin McGrath Outreach Programme at any stage (just a joke incase anyone takes offence!)

Clare will be like men possessed for the first twenty minutes, if we can keep the scores ticking over in this period, we’ll be in with a good shout. Frees will probably with Maurice or Kelly, doubt Foley will be coming upfield for them. Looking forward to it now, please God it will stay dry, think that would suit us better.

Intermediate game should be a good run out for the U21's that play, Jake Dillon, Eamonn Murphy, Mark Wyse and a few others will be involved.

• Registered Users Posts: 125 ✭✭zol 2

Intermediate team for sunday

ritchie roche
    michael kearney
    stephen o keeffe
    mark wise
    seamus hannon
    eoin madigan
    william henley
    john prendergast
    lawlor
    jake dillon
    brian o halloran
    paudie nevin
    gavin crotty
    eamonn murphy
    finan murray

zol 2 wrote: »
    Intermediate team for sunday

ritchie roche
    michael kearney
    stephen o keeffe
    mark wise
    seamus hannon
    eoin madigan
    william henley
    john prendergast
    seamus lawlor
    jake dillon
    brian o halloran
    paudie nevin
    gavin crotty
    eamonn murphy
    finan murray

FYP, thanks for the team.

• Registered Users Posts: 125 ✭✭zol 2

FYP, thanks for the team.

Sorry guys i couldn't for the life of me think of Seamus Lawlor's christian name!

Sorry Seamus no offence meant:)

Some strange selections but it will be interesting to see how they fair out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 695 ✭✭✭deisebhoy17

ballykev wrote: »
    Whats the verdict on the new lads?

Waterford (SH v Clare): S O'Keeffe; A Kearney, L Lawlor, S Daniels; R Foley, M Walsh, P Mahony; K Moran, S Molumphy; M Shanahan, S Prendergast, E Kelly; J Mullane, S Walsh, G O'Brien.

Were a bit lightweight and inexperienced looking in defence, but I suppose we have to start building for the future at some stage and the likes of Mahony and Daniels now have the chance to step up to the plate.
    I like to look of us from number 8 up, thats exactly how I would have played them bar if Paudie Mahony is fit. Credit to management for sticking seamus prendergast at centre forward. Hes a big game player and a very effective player in what is otherwise a problem position for us.

Looking forward to it a bit more now having seen that team

• Registered Users Posts: 154 ✭✭Deise Doodler

Were a bit lightweight and inexperienced looking in defence, but I suppose we have to start building for the future at some stage and the likes of Mahony and Daniels now have the chance to step up to the plate.
    I like to look of us from number 8 up, thats exactly how I would have played them bar if Paudie Mahony is fit. Credit to management for sticking seamus prendergast at centre forward. Hes a big game player and a very effective player in what is otherwise a problem position for us.

Looking forward to it a bit more now having seen that team

Think our defence looks good, considering the injurys, while Daniels and Mahoney are little inexperienced at this level both have played big games with their clubs /schools etc, and thay have to be given a chance at some stage, Definitly not lightweight though Foley, Mahony and Daniels all big enough men, Agree about our forward line up, looks as good as it has done in a long time

Roll on Sunday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Black Suir

Goalkeeper Patrick Kelly will be the only player named in the starting 15, making his Championship debut for Clare against Waterford on Sunday. James McInerney resumes his position at centre back, having missed the League Semi-Final against Kilkenny with a broken hand.Sean Collins is named but is reported to be a serious doubt, while Darach Honan, Brian O Connell, and Padraig Collins, take their place on the panel for the first... time this year.

The team is:- 1. Patrick Kelly; 2. Domhnall O’Donnovan, 3. Cian Dillon, 4. Conor Cooney; 5. Brendan Bugler, 6. James McInerney, 7. Patrick O Connor; 8. Nicky O Connell, 9. Patrick Donnellan (C); 10. Enda Barrett, 11. Sean Collins, 12. Jonathan Clancy; 13. Colin Ryan, 14. John Conlon, 15. Conor McGrath; 16. Donal Touhy, 17. Seadna Morey, 18. Liam Markham, 19. Brian O Connell, 20. Fergal Lynch, 21. Aaron Cunningham, 22. Padraig Collins, 23. Colm Galvin, 24. Darach Honan, 25. Eamon Glynn, 26. Camin Morey.

• Registered Users Posts: 646 ✭✭✭mccarthy37

As the game gets closer I think I will have to take an Imodium to settle down a bit or I will be on the throne for the day. Scaninng today's papers strangers to these shores would have to ask who are Clare playing. I was down in Waterford last night and got quiet a shock to hear the amount of die hard fans that are not traveling on Sunday mainly due to a lack of funds. There is a lot of anger out there at the price of tickets for Sunday cant see a big Waterford support for this one, hope I'm wrong. I know compared to other sports being played prices are not over the moon but Soccor and Rugby are professional games which as you would imagine cost a lot more to run. The GAA will have to cop on and realize there is a very serious recession out there. I'm in the terrace for this one the crac is always mighty and the mix should be interesting. When Waterford got hammered by Clare in the replay in '98' who will ever forget the downpour that day to add to the misery for the Deise. A kind Clare supporter with a big brolly gave me shelter as I went unprepared for the weather thinking it was summer. Forecast for tomorrow is not to bad I'm still going to bring an umbrella though.

Probably enjoying his social life a little too much for an intercounty hurler also...can't see Tony being out on the town in the weeks leading up to championship.

couldnt agree more... how dare he try and have some bit of a social life. He should be cooked up in his room and shutting himself out from society in the weeks leading up to a championship.:rolleyes:

Every hurler has his own ways of passing the time and his is to head into town to socialise with his mates. Shock horror. Anyone who knows him knows he looks after himself well anyway so stop trying to start unsavoury rumours

• Registered Users Posts: 866 ✭✭✭skaface

If the Gaa took a reality check and reduced the tickets for tomorrow for a
    stand ticket from 30 euro to 15 euros, and 10 euros for a terrace ticket,
    we would have 35,000 in Thurles tomorrow instead of the 15,000 that is
    predicted to turn up... People with families just can,t afford to travel at
    those prices anymore.. Sorry RANT OVER, just had to get that off my chest :mad::mad:

Best of luck to the DEISE tomorrow in Thurles

couldnt agree more... how dare he try and have some bit of a social life. He should be cooked up in his room and shutting himself out from society in the weeks leading up to a championship.:rolleyes:

Every hurler has his own ways of passing the time and his is to head into town to socialise with his mates. Shock horror. Anyone who knows him knows he looks after himself well anyway so stop trying to start unsavoury rumours

Unsavoury rumours!? I was with him!

I never suggested that he should be shuttering himself away from society and not having a social life. However, if preparing for a Munster Championship game which is a couple of weeks away, late nights and several pints of beer aren't the best approach.

skaface wrote: »
    those prices anymore.. Sorry RANT OVER, just had to get that off my chest :mad::mad:

Perhaps they should look at selling tickets and transport together. By doing a deal with a bus company or with trains they could offer people a more affordable option than the car.

I never suggested that he should be shuttering himself away from society and not having a social life. However, if preparing for a Munster Championship game which is a couple of weeks away, late nights and several pints of beer aren't the best approach.

well maybe you should have a word in your buddys ear and tell him to go home!!! instead of publicly announcing it here ur not doing him any favours....

Firstly, announcing it here to about 20 people who might read the thread pales into insignificance compared to the couple of thousand people who'd be in a venue and seen him.

Secondly, by criticising me you have dragged the issue up again and brought more attention to it.

Thirdly, my comment was in response to someone who was wondering why he hasn't progressed as much as perhaps he should in the last year or two. This is part of my theory as to why this may be.

Hope he does well tomorrow, but I'd have picked Browne ahead of him if he was 100%.

Firstly, announcing it here to about 20 people who might read the thread pales into insignificance compared to the couple of thousand people who'd be in a venue and seen him.

Secondly, by criticising me you have dragged the issue up again and brought more attention to it.

Thirdly, my comment was in response to someone who was wondering why he hasn't progressed as much as perhaps he should in the last year or two. This is part of my theory as to why this may be.

Hope he does well tomorrow, but I'd have picked Browne ahead of him if he was 100%.

a couple of thousand people in a venue are normally busy enjoying themselves rather than keeping an eye out for how much beer a county player is drinking, or to even consider if their drinking at all. obviously this player should be more worried about sources a little closer to home.

Ah here, you're right dude, fair play to you. Good luck.

• Registered Users Posts: 893 ✭✭✭hurler on de ditch

WILL YE ALL GET OVER YOURSELVES about tony browne ,legend that he is ,the facts are that 3 people sat down and agreed that there is a fella namely richie foley who in their judgement is hurling better and who they think will do a better job than tony ,SIMPLE ,i for one totally agree with them ,richie is a better hurler than tony is now ,richie might not have been years ago ,but he his now ,best of luck to richie and all the waterford lads tomorrow ,

• Registered Users Posts: 282 ✭✭Hslaw

Perhaps they should look at selling tickets and transport together. By doing a deal with a bus company or with trains they could offer people a more affordable option than the car.

Very good point,

They would benefit fromit just as much as us the supporters

Having done the Maths, they'd actually make more money that way.

I guess they don't believe they would draw that crowd if they did do it, otherwise they'd be all over it I'm sure.

Their attitude at this stage seems to be that they don't expect over a certain number, but they do expect a certain number to travel regardless so they'll charge them as much as they can to try and get as much as they can.

• Registered Users Posts: 426 ✭✭lovelypoint

Having done the Maths, they'd actually make more money that way.

I guess they don't believe they would draw that crowd if they did do it, otherwise they'd be all over it I'm sure.

Their attitude at this stage seems to be that they don't expect over a certain number, but they do expect a certain number to travel regardless so they'll charge them as much as they can to try and get as much as they can.

Yes, the Munster Council has gone with the 'bury your head in the sand' approach, unfortunately. One things for sure, attendances are not going to get any better without any intervention on their part. Lets face it, empty stadiums look terrible, and make the game look like it is a dying one.

Lots of stuff within their control, from ticket prices to the larger commercial might of the GAA to ease the burden on travelling fans. At this stage, doing nothing notable about it, is either giving fans the two fingers or simply a continued display of ineptitude by those who can do anything about it. As a fan, neither are good signs.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 16 newyork4sam

I read that 8-10 thousand are expected to travel from clare and they are not expectin over 2 thousand from waterford

Attendance looks like it will be comically low, but it's hard to estimate the breakdown because a lot of fans (myself included) will probably buy tickets in Thurles as they will be in great supply.