It's PanDENmonium! [Off Topic Chat]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,590 ✭✭✭Pigwidgeon

I don't know if I'm too late but ALWAYS always always wear pretty formal clothes to an interview, you come off much better being over dressed as opposed to under dressed. I would never ever wear tracksuit or jeans to an interview. You can get slacks for around a tenner in penneys or dunnes, I would say at the very least wear slacks and a shirt. You're trying to sell yourself, dress formally for it, it doesn't matter if you're interviewing for a supervalu job, a binman, or a managerial role, first impressions last a lifetime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,761 ✭✭✭Lawliet

They always say you should dress for the interview how you would dress at the job, so if its an office job wear a suit, if its retail or waiting trousers and shirt, and if the dress code is casual don't over dress. But even if they're very casual don't wear a track suit, it will just look like you do't give a fuck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Jhcx

Just watched two documentaries and now deciding to go to bed first was worms under the skin yuck! Second was wolf spider. Dafuq ? Why do I watch this sh t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭Junco Partner

Walking home from work at 5am this morning passing the ticketmaster agents.
    bout 50 people camped outside it queuing for One Direction. According to one of the lads in work they were queuing when he started work at 5pm.
    Madness.
    I can't understand that level of devotion to any group.
    If Strummer rose from the dead and The Clash reformed for a one off gig then maybe I might grab my chair and a blanket but to Queue for 16 hours in the cold for a few tickets is nuts.
    I'm just laughing at the thought of the tickets running out. Imagine queuing for that length of time and then finally get to the door and there's no tickets left. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭Jamie Starr

Pigwidgeon wrote: »
    I don't know if I'm too late but ALWAYS always always wear pretty formal clothes to an interview, you come off much better being over dressed as opposed to under dressed. I would never ever wear tracksuit or jeans to an interview.

This is very good advice. I really don't like wearing suits or dressing up formally, but for an interview it's very important. It means that from the very first time you and your potential employer meet, they know you are prepared to make an effort - it distinguishes you (along with how you prep for an interview) as a husk of a human, rent from its life-force, summoned by the Harvester of Sorrow as his scythe chimes through the chaff of your dreams . The marrow of his fingers: purling, worming things through which spill gilded whispers of joy and opulence, bewitching you - while he suckles and gnaws at the barren, masticated teat of your dignity.

Not a bad song. So today is Sanday :pac: heres a song to share.

Milky Chance - Down by the River Hosted Via SoundCloud

^^^
    Wow.

went to the shop earlier to get ingredients to make a sweet and sour chicken. got home got hit with a wave of apathy.

beans on toast it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,891 ✭✭✭iamanengine

This is very good advice. I really don't like wearing suits or dressing up formally, but for an interview it's very important. It means that from the very first time you and your potential employer meet, they know you are prepared to make an effort - it distinguishes you (along with how you prep for an interview) as a husk of a human, rent from its life-force, summoned by the Harvester of Sorrow as his scythe chimes through the chaff of your dreams . The marrow of his fingers: purling, worming things through which spill gilded whispers of joy and opulence, bewitching you - while he suckles and gnaws at the barren, masticated teat of your dignity.

That escalated...strangely. :pac:

Is anyone heading to electric picnic or any of the summer festivals.?
    big C and h tent circle would be epic.

My dreams are getting weirder every night

I have a ticket to E.P. Dunno if I'm goin yet though as mate I was meant to be going with still hasn't got his ticket and it's looking like he may not at all :(

C&H tent circle would be epic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭Hairycopper

Im going to EP!

talking to my cousin on fb. he's talking about his summer plans going on about his college gf. theyll be long distance for the summer. it's hard to not be honest and depress him.

My Adblock Plus just broke... :( so i've had to install AdBlock

A few people seem to be stalking my Facebook.... i wonder should i be worried or is it because im so sexy. :pac: like after all its all been girls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭Palytoxin

Jhcx wrote: »
    My Adblock Plus just broke... :( so i've had to install AdBlock

A few people seem to be stalking my Facebook.... i wonder should i be worried or is it because im so sexy. :pac: like after all its all been girls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭HandsomeDivil

I'm a sucker for girls who can sing.

*Sigh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

I'm a sucker for girls who can sing.

*Sigh

There is something about them isn't there... :o

Fix You by Coldplay the only song that will have tears streaming down you're face from the first few seconds it begins.

Jhcx wrote: »
    Fix You by Coldplay the only song that will have tears streaming down you're face from the first few seconds it begins.

Poets of the Fall - Beautiful Ones has the same affect on me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

Jaysus they can't be that funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭Jacks Smirking Revenge

I know Coldplay are bad but crying when you hear them's a bit extreme.

I never really understand the hate that Coldplay get.

wnolan1992 wrote: »

They are bad and you should feel bad for not realising that they are not bad.....bad :P

Ah no, I don't actually know, I personally don't like them but to each their own.

Went back home to tipp for a night on friday. went to carrick was going on a session with the lads i used work with.

I missed this by a few hours
    Anyone remember chris doran.? from eurovision to being arrested by the armed response unit. haha. only in carrick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭Acciaccatura

A heart-warming story about a goldfish:

My uncle got a goldfish about 10 years ago for his 40th birthday, it was named Deckie after himself. The other day my uncle arrives home and Deckie's floating on top of the water with his head lolling. Anybody else would have just sent him to the Sewer Beyond, the fish was ancient, but my uncle tried to save him by changing the water in the bowl. He then proceeded to lift Deckie out by the tail and give it the fishy-equivalent of chest compressions by flicking him repeatedly. Deckie came back to life and has been swimming happily in his bowl ever since :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭MauraTheThird

A heart-warming story about a goldfish:

My uncle got a goldfish about 10 years ago for his 40th birthday, it was named Deckie after himself. The other day my uncle arrives home and Deckie's floating on top of the water with his head lolling. Anybody else would have just sent him to the Sewer Beyond, the fish was ancient, but my uncle tried to save him by changing the water in the bowl. He then proceeded to lift Deckie out by the tail and give it the fishy-equivalent of chest compressions by flicking him repeatedly. Deckie came back to life and has been swimming happily in his bowl ever since :D

I'm not gunna lie, this has made my day :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭Acciaccatura

I'm not gunna lie, this has made my day :D

Only my family would try and resuscitate a 10 year old goldfish :pac:

Also, today the family went to Tayto Park to give me some peace to study. Somehow somebody (I can only assume my brother) took a photo of 2 rabbits engaged in...leporine recreation, the way I'll put it. It's been a strange week for us as far as animals are concerned :P

I can't believe how gorgeous out it is. It's unbelievable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭Jamie Starr

wnolan1992 wrote: »

On a serious note, the first two albums were properly good. But that song Paradise is the apogee of saccharine hideousness.

B-EA-UTIFUL doesnt even begin to describe today

This was it was like at midday at Portmarnock(AKA - Riot Beach)

8948969048_e34beb9513.jpg