Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Son Of General Retro Discussion

• Registered Users Posts: 5,019 ✭✭✭Touch Fuzzy Get Dizzy

If anyone's around Temple Bar tomorrow:
    I'm collection money (@1/2pm) for doggies dressed as Fionna, I'll give ye a drumstick lolly for donating ♥
    The collection is from 11am to 5pm, so even if I'm not there it'd still be nice to give something :3

• Registered Users Posts: 8,848 ✭✭✭Steve X2

Sera wrote: »
    I'm collection money (@1/2pm) for doggies dressed as Fionna, I'll give ye a drumstick lolly for donating ♥
    The collection is from 11am to 5pm, so even if I'm not there it'd still be nice to give something :3

I do a lot of fostering and other stuff for A Dogs Life myself :)
    My girlfriend does the mini marathon for them.

We won't be there tomorrow though :(
    Good luck with it.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 29,094 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

If you see a bake sale called Bake Us to Galway around Temple Bar, pick something up too, trying to raise money for our feature film shoot in a few weeks!

I'll pop over and say hi as I should be around for an hour or two!

Steve SI wrote: »
    I do a lot of fostering and other stuff for A Dogs Life myself smile.gif My girlfriend does the mini marathon for them. We won't be there tomorrow though :(
    No way! That's great to know like that it's a good charity from someone I know (kinda) lol. You're girlfriend is great for doing that, I wouldn't be able t'all. Sure you do enough for them really :3 so no :(
    If you see a bake sale called Bake Us to Galway around Temple Bar, pick something up too, trying to raise money for our feature film shoot in a few weeks! I'll pop over and say hi as I should be around for an hour or two!
    Oh great, we'll have to do an exchange then :pac: I'll let the group know about the bake sale, hopefully they'll go over.
    No such thing as too much cake right? Dinorex is giving me cake as well

o1s1n wrote: »
    WTF?!

Get outta my head Pacman!!!
    get out of my head!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,056 ✭✭✭Sparks43

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    That little b@stard will be with us forever and ever now, inside our heads...
    If you do it and here the sound of any other Namco characters you should probably seek professional help!
    I keep hearing Rockford every time i wake until i sleep at night

Boulder Dash a game that is light years ahead of Namco:D

• Registered Users Posts: 8,950 ✭✭✭Doge

The doggy smiling on that website is the creepiest thing ever!

Header.jpg

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,528 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

The dog is thinking "Yeah, I live you now, but a couple of days without food and I'll chew through your neck whilst you sleep ".
    At least it'll wait a while, a cat will give you only a few hours before "turning", zombie style, from lovable pet to feral killer ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,328 ✭✭✭Pyongyang

Fair play to you Sera. I like to help out with the bow wows too. Wife and I sponsored the Dogs Aid calendar this year and help out when we can with volunteering in Ashbourne etc. Think I mentioned before we adopted our mutt from the Cayman Islands Humane Society and brought her home with us.

Head wrecker of a job getting her on the flight and took nearly 18 months of injections, rabies tests (that take 6 months alone) and encyclopedias of paperwork. Not to mention costing a bloody fortune.

Worth every penny though. Well, a copy of Nintendogs would have been cheaper but still... :pac:

Pyongyang wrote: »
    Fair play to you Sera. I like to help out with the bow wows too. Wife and I sponsored the Dogs Aid calendar this year and help out when we can with volunteering in Ashbourne etc. Think I mentioned before we adopted our mutt from the Cayman Islands Humane Society and brought her home with us.

Head wrecker of a job getting her on the.I flight and took nearly 18 months of injections, rabies tests (that take 6 months alone) and encyclopedias of paperwork. Not to mention costing a bloody fortune.

Worth every penny though. Well, a copy of Nintendogs would have been cheaper but still... :pac:
    Wow you do loads then :3
    It's nothing really just doing something I like to help something I love.
    I wanted to work in Animal Welfare when I was looking for volunteer work but Cancer Society was looking, most of the oldies have dogs anyway n_n .

No never heard that story! D: I can't believe it'd be so hard and take so long to take you dog with you. Have you still got him?

Wow you do loads then :3
    It's nothing really just doing something I like to help something I love.
    I wanted to work in Animal Welfare when I was looking for volunteer work but Cancer Society was looking, most of the oldies have dogs anyway n_n .

No never heard that story! D: I can't believe it'd be so hard and take so long to take you dog with you. Have you still got him?

Ah we don't do that much in fairness. If I had the time and capacity we'd be fostering dogs and helping out much more. :o

Double whammy with the Cancer Society and dogs then. Fair play. :)

We do indeed still have our dog. She'll be 4 next month. As far as stuff like this goes, getting our dog on to a plane to bring her home was one of the hardest, most complicated feats of endurance and emotion I think we've ever faced. I guess if folk want to scoff, then they just don't know until they have kids or bring an animal etc to their homestead.

We got the dog on a flight from Cayman to Heathrow via The Bahamas. During the flight I was working in Dubai. Flew home two days before she landed in London. Got to bed around midnight only to have to leave the gaf at 5am and drive to Dun Lay O Guh Hair to get the ferry and drive non-stop to Heathrow. Kipped overnight and collected the mutt the next day. Then had to drive straight back to Holyhead to get the ferry at some stupid time like 3am to get back to Dun Lay O Guh Hair.

Was excruciating. You literally sit on a couch in some conservatory tagged on to the side of the customs building. Everythings blacked out so you can't see inside or knock the door for service, they come out to you when they want so you just sit there like a dope wondering what to do. Took 4 feckin hours for her to be released as there was a typo on the paperwork or something.

During that time you can do nothing. You can't even knock on the door to ask what's happening. If they decide not to release your animal, the rule is that you either pay them £7000 cash on the hip for the quarantine time as a whole or a) they send the dog back (at your expense and to who??) if not b) they put your animal to sleep there and then if you can't pay. It's horrific.

I'd never go through that again. Ever. Glad it's all sorted now though. Worth every cent and all the agony. :)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 15,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭Atavan-Halen

I remember the hassle when my dad was moving to Greece and taking the cat with him. They kept refusing to take the cat as the carrier wasn't to the right size. We had about 3 carriers made because they kept changing the size requirements. Was a total nightmare. It was even front page news in the independent with a picture if me and the cat :P do there you go, I have been on the front page of the paper for other reasons than drunk and disorderly and indecent exposure :P

• Registered Users Posts: 2,041 ✭✭✭pdbhp

Well I lost my job yesterday :( so I'm officially unmployed for the first time ever :(.

Now there's slim to no chance of getting a Vita:(

Gonna drink loads of beer tonight to make up for it so that should take the sting off it.

They kept refusing to take the cat as the carrier wasn't to the right size. We had about 3 carriers made because they kept changing the size requirements. Was a total nightmare.

I hope your aul fella isn't still in Greece or he'll be having a hard time bringing the cat home! :pac:

I forgot about the pet carrier thing. It's true indeed, you have to buy carriers that are the EXACT size for your pet. Not some random carrier and hope for the best. We got ours measured up about a month before the flight as there's no stock in the shops in Cayman so if we needed another, even an inch smaller say, it would have to be shipped in from Miami which takes at least a week or two.

Absolute nightmare. The rules are so strict it's unreal.

@pdbhp: Sorry to hear that. If it helps, I'm off to a wedding this afternoon so I'll have several Johnny Herberts down my gregory in your honour. :)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 15,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭Atavan-Halen

Nah he moved to England maybe 6 years ago and the cat is long gone!

Aww really sorry to hear that Pdbhp! Unemployment sucks but hopefully something will come up. I'll get locked tonight, just for you!

Fostering a dog who would otherwise be put down and finding it a good home is one of the most rewarding things I've ever done.
    It can be hard to let them go though. I managed to get my mum to adopt out last foster dog so at least I get to see it ever so often :)

Quite a bit of 8bit goodness in the latest Retro Gamer mag(issue 99).
    Had a read of it last night and its definitely worth picking up I think.

@pdbhp: Sorry to hear that. If it helps, I'm off to a wedding this afternoon so I'll have several Johnny Herberts down my gregory in your honour. :)
    Aww really sorry to hear that Pdbhp! Unemployment sucks but hopefully something will come up. I'll get locked tonight, just for you!

Thanks gents, pretty shítty situation but I'll motor on as always!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,950 ✭✭✭Doge

pdbhp wrote: »
    Thanks gents, pretty shítty situation but I'll motor on as always!

On the plus side we might be seeing more of you on here. :)

Nothing like a gaming fix to cheer up the loss of a job.

I learned something new today about batteries while contemplating spare a23 batteries for my remote controled mains socket thingy...

Higher voltage alkaline batteries are often made up of smaller batteries!

Reminds me of this classic pic: :D

2618014599_811b038cbc_m.jpg

I previously thought they were solely made up of unsealed "flat cells".

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,528 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

pdbhp wrote: »
    Well I lost my job yesterday :( so I'm officially unmployed for the first time ever :(.

Now there's slim to no chance of getting a Vita:(

Gonna drink loads of beer tonight to make up for it so that should take the sting off it.

Sorry to hear it man...
    On a brighter note there's a slim to no chance of you getting a Vita, so not all bad then!
    Just means you'll get one later, cheaper and with a better range of games! ;)

But seriously sorry to hear it, I'm sure something will come along soon.

Sucks big time alright but hopefully I get something soon cos I don't really want to sit around getting lazier.

waveform wrote: »
    Reminds me of this classic pic: :D

2618014599_811b038cbc_m.jpg

That looks like battery porn. :pac:

I'm not saying the black capacitors big, but the blue one slipped in without touching the sides!

• Registered Users Posts: 34,432 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    but the blue one slipped in without touching the sides!

I'm sure there's a dirty Smurf related joke in there somewhere :P

Help required

Any help welcome

New Pokémon game announced for release in Japan in June! Excitement levels are through the roof even if it is only a rehash of the current ones.

v_thumb.php?type=news&articleid=18449&image=1

http://bulbapedia.bulbagarden.net/wiki/Pok%C3%A9mon_Black_and_White_Versions_2

A bit odd also that it's not on the 3DS but will feature certain enhancements if used on a 3DS.

We do indeed still have our dog. She'll be 4 next month. As far as stuff like this goes, getting our dog on to a plane to bring her home was one of the hardest, most complicated feats of endurance and emotion I think we've ever faced.

Took 4 feckin hours for her to be released as there was a typo on the paperwork or something. If they decide not to release your animal, the rule is that you either pay them £7000 cash on the hip for the quarantine time as a whole or a) they send the dog back (at your expense and to who??) if not b) they put your animal to sleep there and then if you can't pay. It's horrific.

I'd never go through that again. Ever. Glad it's all sorted now though. Worth every cent and all the agony. :)
    That's absolutely horrible, at least there was a happy ending. Did you end up having to pay the £7000? I can't understand why it costs so much and was so much trouble
    I remember the hassle when my dad was moving to Greece and taking the cat with him. They kept refusing to take the cat as the carrier wasn't to the right size. We had about 3 carriers made because they kept changing the size requirements. Was a total nightmare. It was even front page news in the independent with a picture if me and the cat tongue.gif do there you go, I have been on the front page of the paper for other reasons than drunk and disorderly and indecent exposure tongue.gif
    No way! Did ye get sorted in the end yeah? I thought they liked cats in Greece

• Registered Users Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

New Pokémon game announced for release in Japan in June! Excitement levels are through the roof even if it is only a rehash of the current ones.
    http://bulbapedia.bulbagarden.net/wiki/Pok%C3%A9mon_Black_and_White_Versions_2

A bit odd also that it's not on the 3DS but will feature certain enhancements if used on a 3DS.

Sounds like Pokemon yellow. Regular gameboy game but enhancements for the GBC

Did you end up having to pay the £7000? I can't understand why it costs so much and was so much trouble

Thankfully no. The seven grand is the cost of quarantine at Heathrow which is paid up front and in full. It's why it's a logistical nightmare getting your animal prepared for import.

You literally need to check every last detail. If one t isn't crossed or an I not dotted, you're fecked. One simple typo cost us a four hour wait for them to confirm a detail on the microchip.

She's grand now though. Alls well that ends well. Instead of playing with coconuts and listening to Bob Marley, she watches Ros na Run with us instead. :D