Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rise of the Fourth Reich, how Germany is using the financial crisis to conquer Europe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

[gets tinfoil hat]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭AhSureTisGrand

I don't care as long as we can hide behind Britain like last time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 fintanspark

Would gladly let the Germans take over, what difference does it make, we all get too tied up in "national" identity anyhow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Thatnastyboy

I for one welcome our new.. ah fuck it.

Get rid of the 'daily puke' link and people might be interested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

[gets tinfoil hat]

This is not a conspiracy are you not watching the news?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

So Coir etc. were right. Well which service are ye lads gonna sign up for when conscripted? I'm thinking the new-SS myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Where Hitler failed by military means to conquer Europe, modern Germans are succeeding through trade and financial discipline.

Trade and financial discipline. The horror. How dare they try to keep Europe afloat!
    And all those that foolishly voted Lisbon couldn't see this coming. :p

Wtf does Lisbon have to do with anything? I voted yes, and I'd vote yes again. And again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

c_man wrote: »
    So Coir etc. were right. Well which service are ye lads gonna sign up for when conscripted? I'm thinking the new-SS myself.

irish wing of the airforce please, already got loads of helium balloons when birthdays closed down!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

We should fall in line tbh.. They're one of the few countries that's ran properly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

Maybe they can get the buses to run more efficiently and execute the gypsies and beggars.

I for one welcome our new Aryan overlords !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

Would gladly let the Germans take over, what difference does it make, we all get too tied up in "national" identity anyhow.

Because it would be a rather big assumption that they would run the EU to everybody's mutual benefit? But, if you're fine with wearing a cloth cap to doff at passing German hill walkers on their way to their holiday holmes in Eiredisney, sure n' I be bein' grand with that too meself nach a!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

[gets tinfoil hat]
    You will need more than a tinfoil hat when these fcukers take over. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

This is not a conspiracy are you not watching the news?

I better go back and re-read the daily mail article in the OP....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Siuin

:O
    Sh!t sh!t sh!t Irish Jewwww, what to dooooo??
    *keeps away from German Erasmus students*
    :(

Sykk wrote: »
    We should fall in line tbh.. They're one of the few countries that's ran properly.

The concept of financial discipline doesn't go down well over here apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭johnnyjb

Where Hitler failed by military means to conquer Europe, modern Germans are succeeding through trade and financial discipline.

http://i51.tinypic.com/2805l06.jpg

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2026840/European-debt-summit-Germany-using-financial-crisis-conquer-Europe.html

Sorry op(and Dailymail) i got there before ya.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=65715537http://

Siuin wrote: »
    :O
    *keeps away from German Erasmus students*
    :(

Yes, "erasmus students" lol. They are the advance party of the coming invasion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Siuin

prinz wrote: »
    Yes, "erasmus students" lol. They are the advance party of the coming invasion.
    Always knew they were plotting against us :O

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭CardBordWindow

Anyone know the lyrics to 'Deutsche Uber Alles'?

Siuin wrote: »
    Always knew they were plotting against us :O

You seem them hanging around, with their Wolfskin rain jackets, fashionable glasses, and maps. Chattering away in German code. They aren't really looking for Trinity at all. They are planning where the new hauptbahnhof is going to be.

Anyone know the lyrics to 'Deutsche Uber Alles'?

Yes. Einigkeit, und Recht und Freiheit... la la la.... by the by it hasn't been Deutschland Uber Alles since the 1940's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

The whole point of the EEC/EU has been to take over the rest of Europe by financial means.

Wasn't the Euro to "benefit everyone". Now of course, which country are interest rates set to suit? and which country had the wrong interest rates during the last decade? :rolleyes: Wakey, wakey people.

Of course, any country is "free" to leave any time they want.

But their economy will be strangled as a result.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

The funny thing is - you almost can't get a job in an area you haven't studied in Germany.

Enda Kenny nor pretty much anyone that I know in our government has a degree/masters/PhD in anything relevant to running a country.. Economics/business? He's a school teacher..

That kind of crap isn't tolerated there. Our country is run by a bunch of people that aren't qualified to do so.

Enda Kenny nor pretty much anyone that I know in our government has a degree/masters/PhD in anything relevant to running a country.. Economics/business? He's a school teacher..

In fairness to our current crop they are more qualified than those that went before them, with a doctor in health, lawyer in justice, noonan did economics as part of his undergraduate...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭Tayla

Well she is Hitler's daughter after all.

In all seriousness this is scary stuff, we can't let the constitution be changed in this way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

pfft we had the third reich here,everyone kept voting in FF whilst they lied with their henchmen bankers telling us the country was in good shape,anyone challenge the taoiseach in popularity got their night of the long knifes by been sent to europe parliament all sudden,then when the IMF/Recession army started to invade the useless shower of cnunts decided to retired all a sudden to save their pensions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Tell us to not be complete idiots, how dare they!?
    Tayla wrote: »
    Well she is Hitler's daughter after all.

In all seriousness this is scary stuff, we can't let the constitution be changed in this way.
    It shouldn't need stating that we won't be retards but it seems we do need saving from ourselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Thatnastyboy

Its scary alright,

To say it hasnt been seen coming is a lie,

However I dont think that it is the agenda of an elite few to control the worlds wealth, I honestly think it is for the benefit of europe, not just to prop up germany.

If im wrong, Call me :

Colonel Hans Landen or by my nickname "The Jewhunter" :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,762 ✭✭✭smokingman

c_man wrote: »
    So Coir etc. were right.

Coir are never right, they'd rape all the kids in the country if they had a chance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

If it's in the Daily Mail, it must be true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Aodan83

That's how it starts though. They make you think they're all sensible and reasonable. They draw you in with sound financial policies and so on. Then they start bringing in slightly dodgy policies, twins and the disabled seem to be getting a bit rarer on the streets these days. But you put up with it because they've been right this far! Next thing you know you've invaded Poland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭Opelfruit

The funny thing is - you almost can't get a job in an area you haven't studied in Germany.

That kind of crap isn't tolerated there. Our country is run by a bunch of people that aren't qualified to do so.
    :rolleyes: Except Angela Merkel was a scientist before entering politics. What exactly has chemistry got to do with running a country?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,532 ✭✭✭WolfForager

From a cultural point of view a united europe would never work, so something like the US of Europe/Germany would never happen, however a solid european wide financial plan might be just what we need.

amacachi wrote: »

It shouldn't need stating that we won't be retards but it seems we do need saving from ourselves.

Without a doubt we do.

People buy in to this crap thinking it will save us, Europe can't let us fail as it is, they will have to give us money regardless if they want to keep the euro going. Why not implement changes without changing our constitution? It's disgusting, people are blind to what is going on.

Its scary alright,

To say it hasnt been seen coming is a lie,

I could see it coming but didn't think it would be so soon. I felt sick when I heard it, I heard it on the news yesterday and it wasn't even the main news story, WTF? It's a major story. Worldwide it should be a major story, the consequences something like this could have are massive.

Without a doubt we do.

People buy in to this crap thinking it will save us, Europe can't let us fail as it is, they will have to give us money regardless if they want to keep the euro going. Why not implement changes without changing our constitution? It's disgusting, people are blind to what is going on.

Eh, you've noticed the reactions to the "cuts" we've made so far I assume? Can you imagine a government getting in who promised to make proper cuts and balance the books quickly? We need something in our constitution to compel the state to not run a 40+% deficit because we've shown we can't do it when there's a choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

I beg to differ. At least some of those who voted yes are Federalists and we knew exactly what we were doing. :P

We need something in our constitution to compel the state to not run a 40+% deficit because we've shown we can't do it when there's a choice.

We don't actually. The government have already ensured that when our books are finally balancing that every last cent will be going to pay back the bailout because they would rather pander to Europe than stick up for the citizens of Ireland. Why would they give them more power? I'd rather let my 5 year old run the economy to be perfectly honest.

We don't actually. The government have already ensured that when our books are finally balancing that every last cent will be going to pay back the bailout. I'd rather let my 5 year old run the economy to be perfectly honest.

Eventually maybe. I'm still not buying that we're going to pay back what we've been loaned but even if we do we still shouldn't have put ourselves in the hole that we did and if it takes a constitutional amendment to do such a thing then I'm more than fine with that.

Oh I don't believe for a second that we're going to pay back all or even most of what we've been loaned, however I do believe that when we do pay back some of it the country will be stuck in a massive period of stagnation and it's going to be horrendous.

Why would you push for a constitutional amendment when it can be done without amending it? The government are already puppets for Europe so I say don't give them any more real power over us, maybe one day Ireland might actually have government who cares about us, don't sign us up for something that won't benefit us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,280 ✭✭✭regi

Opelfruit wrote: »
    :rolleyes: Except Angela Merkel was a scientist before entering politics. What exactly has chemistry got to do with running a country?

All the best women political leaders have a background in chemistry :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭R P McMurphy

Aodan83 wrote: »
    That's how it starts though. They make you think they're all sensible and reasonable. They draw you in with sound financial policies and so on. Then they start bringing in slightly dodgy policies, twins and the disabled seem to be getting a bit rarer on the streets these days. But you put up with it because they've been right this far! Next thing you know you've invaded Poland.

The stagnation has been caused by ourselves. What do you mean it can be done without amendment exactly?

Yes but when they manage to put through all the cuts and we begin paying Europe back then none of the growth will benefit the country as all excess tax revenue will be going to Europe causing further stagnation.

We don't need to amend our constitution to implement any financial changes, Merkel and Sarkozy don't give a s**t about us, they just want control over what we spend our money on.

Why not implement changes without changing our constitution? It's disgusting, people are blind to what is going on.

Maybe to prevent the likely situation of another Irish government down the line repeating the same mistakes the last few have made? Why have constitutional limits on anything?

That didn't cross your mind know?

Yes but when they manage to put through all the cuts and we begin paying Europe back then none of the growth will benefit the country as all excess tax revenue will be going to Europe causing further stagnation.

We don't need to amend our constitution to implement any financial changes, Merkel and Sarkozy don't give a s**t about us, they just want control over what we spend our money on.

The stagnation has to happen to prevent a collapse. The alternative was crash, cut spending and then grow, something which it seems just about no-one in this country wanted.

We don't actually. The government have already ensured that when our books are finally balancing that every last cent will be going to pay back the bailout because they would rather pander to Europe than stick up for the citizens of Ireland. Why would they give them more power? I'd rather let my 5 year old run the economy to be perfectly honest.
    No, I think you'll find that even at the end of the cuts, and assuming there's some manner of recovery in the economy (which looks less likely now) we'll still be running a 3 or 4% deficit in 2015.

The stagnation has to happen to prevent a collapse. The alternative was crash, cut spending and then grow, something which it seems just about no-one in this country wanted.

I frequently raised the choice of Argentina-style default and crash, or 20 years of death by a thousand cuts. Nobody seemed to favour the former, and everyone just wanted to wave their arms around and blame everyone for the crash aside from the the Fianna Failure voters who gave those corrupt idiots the power to ruin us.

Too many still about who want nothing more than to return to living the good life on somebody else's tab. Head in sand syndrome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Aodan83

^That video
    Clicked play and moved to another tab. It (kind of) made sense until I looked back and actually saw the video. It's just....sooo.....weird!

Too many still about who want nothing more than to return to living the good life on somebody else's tab. Head in sand syndrome.

People also don't seem to realise that during the "boom" the money that balanced the state's books and kept inflating our economy wasn't ours. Everything was done on credit but it just didn't seem like that. Though try explaining that to someone complaining about having to eat into their savings to go on holidays while others lecture you about how hard they work and how everyone did actually earn everything that was around 5/6 years ago. :pac: