Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Randy Couture's awesome bar routine! Any thoughts?

• 16-08-2011 10:50am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SRpPHlDUC0Y

Not everyone is into Mixed Martial Arts but this guy has always had ridiculous incredible endurance and he's always used this bar routine.
    Not much weight...but you can't put it down till you're through the 7 exercises...1 min break then start again.
    Personally I do 3 rounds generally...with a 40 pound bar and I reckon it's the perfect strength, endurance daily routine... I'd recommend 3 rounds every morning... literally warm up with 50 Jump Jacks... 3 rounds of this and upper body stretches ...done in 15 mins!

Bent Over Row x 8
    Upright Rows x 8
    Military Press x 8
    Good Morning x 8
    Lunges x 8 (each leg)

Squat Push Press x 8

Deadlift x 8

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SRpPHlDUC0Y

Not everyone is into Mixed Martial Arts but this guy has always had ridiculous incredible endurance and he's always used this bar routine.
    Not much weight...but you can't put it down till you're through the 7 exercises...1 min break then start again.
    Personally I do 3 rounds generally...with a 40 pound bar and I reckon it's the perfect strength, endurance daily routine... I'd recommend 3 rounds every morning... literally warm up with 50 Jump Jacks... 3 rounds of this and upper body stretches ...done in 15 mins!

Bent Over Row x 8
    Upright Rows x 8
    Military Press x 8
    Good Morning x 8
    Lunges x 8 (each leg)

Squat Push Press x 8

Deadlift x 8

that's shockingly easy and wouldn't be a challenge to anyone with even a remotely decent level of strength and conditioning. It certainly wouldn't challenge Coture at his peak and isn't the reason he's in such sick shape. What you've done is taken a small snap shot of his training and latched onto it as if copying it will make you a similar athelte to him.

If you want to know why he's in such great shape, have a quick read of how high school wrestlers train in the US and do that for 5-10 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Parsley

Hanley wrote: »
    that's shockingly easy and wouldn't be a challenge to anyone with even a remotely decent level of strength and conditioning. It certainly wouldn't challenge Coture at his peak and isn't the reason he's in such sick shape. What you've done is taken a small snap shot of his training and latched onto it as if copying it will make you a similar athelte to him.

If you want to know why he's in such great shape, have a quick read of how high school wrestlers train in the US and do that for 5-10 years.

oohhh, snap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,467 ✭✭✭COH

Everyone knows Randy is only in shape because of the giant trampoline sprinting room he has in his facility

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,117 ✭✭✭SanoVitae

What you've done is taken a small snap shot of his training and latched onto it as if copying it will make you a similar athlete to him.

In fairness to the OP, that's pretty much how it was presented, i.e. Randy Couture's amazing workout which gets him in such incredible shape.

Of course, no-one wants to hear about the years of hard work responsible for his physique and conditioning - a 15 minute workout is much more marketable. GSP has done exactly the same with his RushFit DVD series - it doesn't look anything like his actual training regime but boy has it sold like hot cakes....

On top of the amazing base of strength and conditioning that wrestling helped Couture develop, add a couple of hundred more hours of boxing, kickboxing, Muay Thai and BJJ training.

All topped with a hefty serving of HGH ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭Be like Nutella

haha I love it lads... never ceases to amaze me the modesty on Boards.... I was just recommending a decent compact workout tis all... I am more than aware of Randy's training background...he is superhuman...and I obviously don't think that by doin only this routine I will get into the same shape as Randy but to say that this workout isn't challenging means either one of two things...
    - either you've done the 5 rounds and found it easy which means you've got incredible anaerobic muscular endurance bravo!! (and therefore no appreciation for others who are not fitness Gods as yourselves)
    - OR you havn't tried it... and are talkin out your A-Holes!!
    There is no way in hell somebody of even moderate fitness would find the 5 rounds (with 40/50/60 pound bar) with 1 min rest routine anything but hard, if not impossible. and...not that I care... like I said I was only posting it so people might try it, it is a good routine...but if you havn't then give it a lash with a 40-50 pound bar next time you're in the gym and see if you find the 5 rounds EASY as you're saying... lighten up and think before you reply... not everyone is as fit or strong as you may be (or possibly think you are) and for somebody else this could be a good thing for them. And how does Randy make money from this video? This has nothing to do with other tutorials or training DVD's you're on about (X-Fit etc).. it's just a compact strength/endurance routine...being demonstrated on some youtube clip..and it aint easy...I'm reasonably fit, can bench 110Kg, do 30 pullups, 90 pushups etc and it's a challenge to me. Kneejerk uninformed ill thought out reactions by fitness God keyboard warriors does not this a friendly forum make!

Oh and here's a load of people that say otherwise...

http://www.topfatlosstrainer.com/2009/11/17/randy-couture-workout-get-ripped-like-a-ufc-fighter/

http://buildingbodies.ca/randy-couture-workout-for-mma-conditioning/

http://www.maddogworkouts.com/2011/05/randy-couture-mma-conditioning-workout.html

http://www.notyouraveragefitnesstips.com/best-workout-routines/circuit-training-exercises-circuit-weight-training-workout-routines

https://primalbodybuilding.wordpress.com/2010/05/18/the-randy-couture-barbell-complex-ball-buster/

There are many barbell complexes...this is just one...and it works for general fitness, fat loss and anaerobic endurance...and I reckon if you did it 3 times a week plus 3 cardio sessions you'd be on the right track.

haha I love it lads... never ceases to amaze me the modesty on Boards.... I was just recommending a decent compact workout tis all... I am more than aware of Randy's training background...he is superhuman...and I obviously don't think that by doin only this routine I will get into the same shape as Randy but to say that this workout isn't challenging means either one of two things...
    - either you've done the 5 rounds and found it easy which means you've got incredible anaerobic muscular endurance bravo!! (and therefore no appreciation for others who are not fitness Gods as yourselves)
    - OR you havn't tried it... and are talkin out your A-Holes!!
    There is no way in hell somebody of even moderate fitness would find the 5 rounds (with 40/50/60 pound bar) with 1 min rest routine anything but hard, if not impossible. and...not that I care... like I said I was only posting it so people might try it, it is a good routine...but if you havn't then give it a lash with a 40-50 pound bar next time you're in the gym and see if you find the 5 rounds EASY as you're saying... lighten up and think before you reply... not everyone is as fit or strong as you may be (or possibly think you are) and for somebody else this could be a good thing for them. And how does Randy make money from this video?

I'm very tempted to grab a 45lb bar tonight before training and get someone to video it just to show how easy it is.

I never said it was "easy" for everyone. Maybe our definitions are where we differ. But the fact you started posting about MMA and fighters lead me to assume that you were talking about fitness in that context, and anyone of average weight with fitness levels even close to approaching that of an MMA guy wouldn't find it too hard.

EDIT: In fairness, my S&C would be ahead of most of the people posting on here, but my point remains that one single barbell circuit isn't going to make anyone into a fitness god, which is what you were suggesting in your original post. Now if you're saying it's a good supplement on top of strength work and aerobic work, I'd definitely be agreeing with you.
    This has nothing to do with other tutorials or training DVD's you're on about (X-Fit etc).. it's just a compact strength/endurance routine...being demonstrated on some youtube clip..and it aint easy...I'm reasonably fit, can bench 110Kg, do 30 pullups, 90 pushups etc and it's a challenge to me. Kneejerk uninformed ill thought out reactions by fitness God keyboard warriors does not this a friendly forum make!

I'm a fitness god on and off line, don't stress :D

Can you summarise what they're saying?
    There are many barbell complexes...this is just one...and it works for general fitness, fat loss and anaerobic endurance...and I reckon if you did it 3 times a week plus 3 cardio sessions you'd be on the right track.

You originally said "I reckon it's the perfect strength, endurance daily routine... I'd recommend 3 rounds every morning..." - now you've completely changed your recommendation. That's not very credible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

Kneejerk uninformed ill thought out reactions by fitness God keyboard warriors does not this a friendly forum make!

It might be kneejerk, I'm not sure how much time Hanley put into it.
    Its not illinformed and I'm pretty sure it was thought out.

If everyone just agreed with you, it would be a significantly worse fitness forum.

I'm not too worried about what I said or how I said it... this isn't a feckin school debate man... I was just posting a decent workout...which it is...and I know a few fit strong dudes who have trained in competitive MMA for years who would find this workout difficult...which it is.

By all means grab a cam and video yourself doing the 5 rounds with I assume a 70 pound bar, without cuts, and if it even seems easy on camera I'll shamefully retract all Ive said so that people can stop laughing at the two of us.

Bent Over Row x 8
    Upright Rows x 8
    Military Press x 8
    Good Morning x 8
    Lunges x 8 (each leg)

Squat Push Press x 8

Deadlift x 8

tbh that's just f*ckacting around with an empty oly bar as a half assed warmup...

I'm not too worried about what I said or how I said it... this isn't a feckin school debate man... I was just posting a decent workout...which it is...and I know a few fit strong dudes who have trained in competitive MMA for years who would find this workout difficult...which it is.

No, you see you've recommended 2 completely different training approaches, so it's not even how you said it, it's WHAT you said.
    By all means grab a cam and video yourself doing the 5 rounds with I assume a 70 pound bar, without cuts, and if it even seems easy on camera I'll shamefully retract all Ive said so that people can stop laughing at the two of us.

Eh so you've pretty much just doubled the weight there?! 40lb to 70lb? The more weight you add, the harder it'll get obviously!

hang on... in your first post you said a 40lb bar for 3 rounds!

Parsley wrote: »
    hang on... in your first post you said a 40lb bar for 3 rounds!

I'm guessing what was meant was 40lb + the bar, which comes to 95lb/45kg. Even at that, I still think it's doable, albeit slightly more difficult.

In fact I'm pretty much 90% I've done similar workouts during the summer of 2009 and 2010 but I'm not inclined to go trawl thru my log looking for it.

I'm guessing what was meant was 40lb + the bar, which comes to 95lb/45kg. Even at that, I still think it's doable, albeit slightly more difficult.

well when someone says a 40lb bar... you'd assume a bar that weighs 40lb. :P though with the way words are being changed and twisted here ya never know!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 548 ✭✭✭Nwm2

I think people are being overly harsh on the OP.

This isn't anything new from Randy - I was doing this exact 'grapplers workout' several years ago - it was on his Century video DVDs (the ones with Nate Quarry) IIRC, along with a lot of other stuff (BIG emphasis on olympic lifting).

I never found it 'shockingly easy', but that's because I had the common sense to pick the correct weight for me, (Note that IIRC Randy says don't go for the heaviest possible weight, you need to maintain good form), and I did enough rounds (typically 6-8) and did it as just a portion of the workout, not the whole thing unless I was time constrained.

So yeah it's just another barbell complex, but it is based on a subset of exercises Randy genuinely gets his guys to do, so it's of interest if nothing else. And it is a good barbell complex if you're into that.

fairnuf fairnuf fairnuf lost interest tbh
    think I'll do me workout now rather than wax lyrical about stuff I'm obviously waaaaay under qualified to speak about

ahhh the fitness forum clique wins again. they tried to shut us down but we're back :pac:

For the sake of fairness, replace the upright rows with hang cleans and add a bit of weight......Its a decent complex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Edwardius

d'Oracle wrote: »
    For the sake of fairness, replace the upright rows with hang cleans and add a bit of weight......Its a decent complex.

But you'll die if you do more than three. Your quadruple extension will explode.

Dead Ed wrote: »
    But you'll die if you do more than three. Your quadruple extension will explode.

It'd be some trick for my Arboreal Locomotion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭King of Kings

this is a pretty old routine randy was showing on youtube years ago.

I decided to be like randy and do it....did 20 sets before. years ago with less fitness than my regal ass has now.

It's a tough one if you're not used to that type of training but a few goes and it's not too tough.

3 sets is for wusses.

ahhh the fitness forum clique wins again. they tried to shut us down but we're back :pac:

Awesome Brothers FTW!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,232 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

If you can bench 110kg, I don't know how you find that routine (3 rounds with 40 lbs) tough. Some is not right there.
    I also can't see how the competetive MMA guys found it tough.

Obviously more rounds and weight make it tougher.

I did something very similar before, about a year ago. I basically heard it via Randy, and wanted to try a complex.
    Was something like
    Military press, squat, bent-over rows, stiff leg dead lifts,
    8 reps each,
    3 rounds, no rest between rounds (except 5 seconds to knock off 2 11lb plates)
    Weight at 88/66/44 lbs for the 3 rounds.

It was basically my warm-up, wasn't all that difficult.
    It was a bit tiring, because it was almost 100 reps. I really think you are mis posting the weight you are using.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭dave80

I've done this wit 60 kg for 3 rounds of 6 reps each

Deadlift
    Row
    Hang clean
    Push press
    Front squat
    Back squat

Gets the heart pumping not sure how it transfers to mma n tat

Here's a slightly tougher barbell complex recommended by Martin Rooney, author of MMA Conditioning books such as Ultimate Warrior Workouts.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rL1QMd5i93s&feature=player_embedded#at=10

In this clip, he has UFC fighter Jim Miller perform one round of the complex, with the aim to complete 100 reps in 100 seconds.

Try that for a couple of rounds! ;)

looks tough I will

fairnuf fairnuf fairnuf lost interest tbh
    think I'll do me workout now rather than wax lyrical about stuff I'm obviously waaaaay under qualified to speak about

well if you didn't want our opinions, you shouldn't have put 'any thoughts?' in the thread title!

There's no way 5 rounds of Randy's bar complex with 1 min rest is shockingly easy for anyone up to/incl moderately conditioned guys. For your fitness forum clique who are, granted, probably very strong, conditioned guys I would expect it to be much less difficult obviously but this forum and my post was not aimed at extremely fit and strong athletes it was simply a compact, difficult and useful routine I found online which is making me fitter and stronger and would do the same for anyone up to/incl moderate strength and fitness. The arguments about pedantics and so forth are sad... it's like kids arguing in all fairness... I may have stated or structured my posts incorrectly in some small respects, who gives a fck either way you all understood completely what I was saying. It's sad enough that you obviously enjoy arguing your fitness knowledge for the sake of it rather than attempt to be constructive ...it's worse that you're still going on...as I am here. Pure egotism. I shall endeavour to put more weight on the bar... I think... is the entire message to be taken out of all this crap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 295 ✭✭john t

Its a decent routine/ workout.. And yep this forum is a clique of fanatics who praise each other...AND knock outsiders.. as was posted earlier by a clique member...

What did you win????

we're not arguing fitness knowledge. my comments have been purely from my training experience. i'm not "extremely fit" - i haven't done cardio in about 2 years and i smoke my face in when i drink. I'm not "extremely strong" either. just' sayin, that the workout you claimed to be the bee's knees ain't all that. not trying to act smug or superior, and you did ask for opinions on it!

but as you say, enough of pedantic arguments, just add some weight and reps to the bar and it's not a bad outline.

john t wrote: »
    What did you win????

that was some self-deprecating humour.

this is a pretty old routine randy was showing on youtube years ago.

I decided to be like randy and do it....did 20 sets before. years ago with less fitness than my regal ass has now.

It's a tough one if you're not used to that type of training but a few goes and it's not too tough.

3 sets is for wusses.

wo wo wo fck that...just saw this there...hahahaha now that is some funny ass sht right there.....no way in fckin jaysus hell can you or anyone even close to this forum do 20 sets of Randy's bar routine with the 1 min rests...not in a feckin month of complete bullsht sundays... Donkey Balls is all I can say to that!!!

Takes Randy 2 min 30 secs to complete 1 round plus 1 minute rest by 20 = equivalent to Randy continuing for 69 minutes without slowing doing 1280 Reps of a 40/50 pound bar... aww lordy

I may indeed be considerably less fit and strong than your regal self but I have some semblance of a grasp on reality... a grasp which I'm sorry to say you wont be improving lifting a barbell 1280 times on camera and posting here on this friendly helpful forum of fitness gods.

I call if dumb ass chat.... but try similar too o/p`s workout with watever weight you like over 3 sets then talk constructive..

anyway there ya go..as they say...think this crappy thread is finito

that 100 reps thing looks good though actually...gona try that tomoro with my wussy 40 pound bar

Weight on bar means nothing over multiple exercise set its how you contract and extend/stretch each rep and set...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,232 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Everytime you post that I honestly think that you are mixing up pounds and kgs. Or not counting the weight properly.
    And empty bar with no weight is c.45 pounds. Are you using a normal oly bar with nothing on it?

just a crappy thin bar at home...prob weighs 2 pounds empty
    2 crappy plastic 4.5 kg discs each side = 40 lb

I'm not confusing anything - it's 40 lb end of.... Randy says to use bout that...or little heavier depending on how big/strong you are...therefore I assume if you're massively strong you'd prob put 70 pounds on it etc..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

wo wo wo fck that...just saw this there...hahahaha now that is some funny ass sht right there.....no way in fckin jaysus hell can you or anyone even close to this forum do 20 sets of Randy's bar routine with the 1 min rests...not in a feckin month of complete bullsht sundays... Donkey Balls is all I can say to that!!!

Why in the actual bejesus would you want to do what is essentially a bar warm up 20 times.

I mean.

I don't want to stab myself in the head with a spoon 20 times, but i'm sure i could do it if i really wanted.

There is simply nothing confusing about the basic premise here ha ha to repeat ...again...

I have a 40 lb barbell - I do Randy Couture's barbell complex which he has used for years which increases strength and muscular endurance.

It is difficult...especially if you put more than 40 pounds on the bar...but even if you just use a 40 pound barbell... to consider it shockingly easy and unbeneficial for conditioning is dillusional.

Nobody posting here or anywhere could do the 5 rounds at their appropriate weight i.e. somewhere between 40 and 70 pounds and find it shockingly easy or unbenefical....and certainly nobody could do 10/15 or 20 rounds with 1 min rests...

It takes less than 15 minutes, it covers many muscle groups....who even gives a sh1t anymore...that 100 reps in 100 secs sounds good I'm gona try that....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭gymfreak

There is simply nothing confusing about the basic premise here ha ha to repeat ...again...

I have a 40 lb barbell - I do Randy Couture's barbell complex which he has used for years which increases strength and muscular endurance.

It is difficult...especially if you put more than 40 pounds on the bar...but even if you just use a 40 pound barbell... to consider it shockingly easy and unbeneficial for conditioning is dillusional.

Nobody posting here or anywhere could do the 5 rounds at their appropriate weight i.e. somewhere between 40 and 70 pounds and find it shockingly easy or unbenefical....and certainly nobody could do 10/15 or 20 rounds with 1 min rests...

It takes less than 15 minutes, it covers many muscle groups....who even gives a sh1t anymore...that 100 reps in 100 secs sounds good I'm gona try that....

OP I really can't understand why you are gettng so defensive. You posted a workout calling it 'awesome' and asked for thoughts on it..one would assume from this that you wanted critical thoughts on the workout..it is a discussion forum afterall.

I think had to you clarified details from the start, the reception of your thread would have been different. Had you posted that this is a good routine for beginners to get started..then okay. Sharing information that you found helpful and that could help others is always appreciated. But posting it up as an 'awesome' workout..of course your going to get critisised. Hell, I'm a 50something kilo girl and I read the workout and thought 40lb bar..3 rounds AND your giving me a 1minute rest...that's the warmup sure?

That's fine if it works for you, but if you ask for 'thoughts' on it..expect to receive either positive or negative feedback. If you don't want feedback..then dont post it in a discussion forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

gymfreak wrote: »
    Sit the fuck down

How i lol'd.

Ok ok you win.... I'm doing it this morning.

with a 2lb bar and 2x 4.5kg weights??

I reckon gymfreak should do it and video it.
    And post the results in this thread.

I reckon gymfreak should do it and video it.
    And post the results in this thread.

Don't worry, we've a plan :D

Excellent.
    I won't be doing it....Obesity and all that.

Excellent.
    I won't be doing it....Obesity and all that.

Maybe you should?! Just to prove a fat dude can find it easy as well?

did anyone watch the video in the OP? he's not doing military presses.. he's doing half-ROM OH presses. dunno what he's doing calling those things good mornings either. and the lunges..? oh well... at least the deadlift form he uses will suit gymfreak :pac:

Significant LOL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,395 ✭✭✭AntiVirus

can bench 110Kg, do 30 pullups, 90 pushups etc and it's a challenge to me.

I'm impressed with the 30 pull ups, are these dead hang pullups or those kipping pull ups?