Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

It's a disgrace, Joe

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭twinQuins

Joe, the local and national papers, etc. I've heard it all. It came to the stage where I'd have to hold the phone's handset away from my face so they wouldn't hear my stifled laughter.

And always, always it would be after "what are you going to do about it?" "I'm afraid there's nothing more I can do" "Well that's not good enough, what are you going to do?" and "What's your name... no, your full name!".

• Registered Users Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

A few years ago we got a call in work that they where talking about the clinic I work in on his show. Que all the staff in the waiting listening to the show. The lies that where told where outrageous, and of course we could recognise the patients voices. Even the patients in the waiting acknowleged that people where lying.

Had great craic over the next few days saying to the odd client, you have a great radio voice, you should look at trying to get work in that area. To think that some of them have been attending the clinic every day for years and they thought that just because they changed their first name that we would not cop on that it was who was who.

So after listening to the outright lies being told that day, and off course we could not respond as the HSE do not allow us to speak to the media. I could never take anything said on that show seriously.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

Most people have one thing they would ring Joe about

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

Most people have one thing they would ring Joe about

I want to ring him every day and just sit on the line and butt in to correct the 99% of his callers that spew pure fiction and factual inaccuracies to bump up their stories.

The utter morons you hear on it every day is the only reason i listen. I often find myself shouting at the radio when it's on. The thread about it in the radio sub-forum here is fantastic.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭Ronin247

We should start a competition to see who can "talk to Joe" with the most ridiculous story.

....Well Joe the neighbours dog keeps humping my cat and they will not do anything to stop it..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

I want to ring him every day and just sit on the line and butt in to correct the 99% of his callers that spew pure fiction and factual inaccuracies to bump up their stories.
    Me too. Some of the stuff that those listeners come out with wouldn't last on AH - the fact that it wouldn't survive AH but it gets a broadcasting on the national airwaves for over an hour every day is mind boggling.

It's car crash radio - I just can't turn it off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

The most ridiculous topics on the show

Angry old wans rang up a few years, they were so furious I thought they were going to storm the GPO

They were unhappy with the designs An Post put on the Christmas stamps, An Post put out special sets now and again

Such whiny crying voices, I've seen it called misery porn over in Radio forum

But I stayed listening, Liveline is a guilty pleasure :o

And when did RTÉ did Dublin local radio?
    I live on Clanbrassil St, or James St or Summerhill and everyone in Ireland is supposed to know where they are.
    If they just give a street name you can assume it's Dublin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Twee. wrote: »

That's great. Play all the Awful Broadcasting 1/2/3/4/5 clips together and its like a delirium tremens nightmare

My fave is the 'oh clontarf' button. Joe mentions clontarf in every broadcast. It's like Superman references on Seinfeld.

mikemac wrote: »
    The most ridiculous topics on the show

Angry old wans rang up a few years, they were so furious I thought they were going to storm the GPO

They were unhappy with the designs An Post put on the Christmas stamps, An Post put out special sets now and again

Such whiny crying voices, I've seen it called misery porn over in Radio forum

But I stayed listening, Liveline is a guilty pleasure :o
    What the heck was on the stamps? The virgin Mary masturbating or something?

I think they were all designs like snowmen and snow covered hills and so on

No Christian designs for Christmas

Was a scandal

What a disgrace.

I do wonder sometimes what would happen if Joe got into work one day and there were no disgraces... what if he actually fixed the last disgrace in Ireland.

Poor man would be out of a job. He'd probably have to go around opening up headshops, or taking expired meat products into supermarkets so he could pretend to have found them there, becoming, himself, the ultimate disgrace.

I'm waiting for the show on the disgracefully high salaries for the "stars" of RTÉ

I think I'll be waiting a long time........

• Registered Users Posts: 11,487 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

I'm waiting for the show on the disgracefully high salaries for the "stars" of RTÉ

About 5 minutes after hell freezes over I'd imagine..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭Rubik.

later10 wrote: »
    What a disgrace.

I do wonder sometimes what would happen if Joe got into work one day and there were no disgraces... what if he actually fixed the last disgrace in Ireland.

Poor man would be out of a job. He'd probably have to go around opening up headshops, or taking expired meat products into supermarkets so he could pretend to have found them there, becoming, himself, the ultimate disgrace.

He could call Brush Sheils and the rest of the lads up - "Funny Fridays" every day of the week.

Someone should call up pretending to have witnessed some criminal behaviour involving young wans tipping over wheelie bins, or some other major disgrace, and then let rip into Joe for the hypocrisy of pretending to stand up for the little people while he rakes in hundreds of thousands of euros in an elaborate, showbiz version of a social welfare racket.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

I've heard a few instances of people calling him on his salary for various reasons and he usually gets pissy and hustles them off the phone or goes to a break.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭ringadingding

Gotta hand it to the man, a single mum in my street wanted to return to college to follow her dream, a real genuine case who'd had a tough ol time, but she wasnt able to get any help at all financially, she wrote to him, within a week he popped around to her house with local TD, they contacted a few relevant people and she was helped out, she finished her course, and now has a decent job and has never forgotten how he helped.

No cronyism, no publicity, he genuinely helped her out.

Liveline is one of my guilty pleasures, and anytime I'm in a spar at nighttime I always stand by the door after I've finished to hear the end of the chat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Rubik. wrote: »
    He could call Brush Sheils and the rest of the lads up - "Funny Fridays" every day of the week.

'the horror.....the horror....'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭Rubik.

Sexy Back - Joe Duffy-style

• Registered Users Posts: 17,736 ✭✭✭✭kylith

syklops wrote: »
    Blind Boy from the Rubberbandits, defends his music to Joe. Its epic. Some quotes:

Joe:"Can you speak properly?"
    Blind Boy:"What you mean kid?"

Blind Boy:"Your looking at it from a very denoted perspective. You're looking at it literally, whats not being looked at is the subtext"

Here you go:

q4y_24liaq0
    Thanks for that. One of the best things I've heard in a long time.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭blaze1

Terrible Joe, just terrible...

• Registered Users Posts: 904 ✭✭✭MetalDog

realies wrote: »
    :p Its the common people calling the common joe,who else can they talk to :p

Joe: " Ah shur I understand, I'm just an ordinerry fella from Ballyfermot myself, only make €408,889 a year, I feel yer paiiin"

• Registered Users Posts: 811 ✭✭✭cassid

Ok I admit it I rang once.

My old dear rings me to tell me they are discussing Total Fitness pulling out of Ireland overnight and loads of people lost their money- Me included. I rang up Joe to give the phone numbers and addresses of the two feckers, I mean directors so people could hassle them, these gits just walked away with so much money.

-was kept waiting for about 10 minutes and the kids were jumping all around me at the time, so not sure how much I was heard.

Forgive me Ah'ers for I have sinned, I rang Joe:o

• Registered Users Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭123balltv

Joe, Joe is funny when your drunk try listening to him at night podcast
    this song always comes to mind

Jojo was a man who thought he was a loner
    But he knew it couldn't last
    Jojo left his home in Dublin, Ballyfermot
    For some Clontarf grass

Get back, get back.
    Get back to where you once belonged Joe

cassid wrote: »
    Ok I admit it I rang once.

My old dear rings me to tell me they are discussing Total Fitness pulling out of Ireland overnight and loads of people lost their money- Me included. I rang up Joe to give the phone numbers and addresses of the two feckers, I mean directors so people could hassle them, these gits just walked away with so much money.

-was kept waiting for about 10 minutes and the kids were jumping all around me at the time, so not sure how much I was heard.

Forgive me Ah'ers for I have sinned, I rang Joeredface.gif
    Stand back lads, we have a live one!

First of all, congratulations on admitting it, that's the most important step. I feel there may be a lot of AHers who are keeping their associations with Liveline quiet.

So tell us more, I want to know everything. What was going through your mind as you rang out the number? Did your heart skip a beat when you heard 'himself' on the end of the line? When you got talking to Joe, did you have a good old moan, or was it just a case of passing on information? Did you talk about your personal circumstances? Did Joe let out a sigh, or did he expel a long and painful silence, or maybe both? Did Joe mention Clontarf? Did you argue with any other callers, ask where your NAMA was, or scream profanities?

Again, well done on admitting this. It's always better to talk...

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

later10 wrote: »
    Stand back lads, we have a live one!

It's always better to talk...

Just not to Joe ;)