Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rabbits eating my crops, what kinda rifle?

• 06-08-2011 5:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭

I am having a serious problem with rabbits eating the crops on my farm and doing alot of damage and costing me lots of money , I tryed shooting them with a shot gun but soon as I shoot the first shot they all disappear .
    I have talked to a few guys around my area and they said I need a rifle with a silencer on it .
    I have went into to different gun shops and in 1 shop they say 2 get a 17 rifle with silence on it cause you can shoot from further away . Then went into the next gunshop and that guy says to get a 22 rifle it would be very difficult to shoot them with the 17 cause the bullet would go off target with the wind .
    What would be the best rifle for rabbits ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭dev110

wallycool wrote: »
    I am having a serious problem with rabbits eating the crops on my farm and doing alot of damage and costing me lots of money , I tryed shooting them with a shot gun but soon as I shoot the first shot they all disappear .
    I have talked to a few guys around my area and they said I need a rifle with a silencer on it .
    I have went into to different gun shops and in 1 shop they say 2 get a 17 rifle with silence on it cause you can shoot from further away . Then went into the next gunshop and that guy says to get a 22 rifle it would be very difficult to shoot them with the 17 cause the bullet would go off target with the wind .

Its good to see that your RFD's are telling you some facts :rolleyes:

They have their pro's and con's.

.22 will be very quite when moderated but is affected by wind and range would be limited.

.17hmr not as quite as .22 moderated but would give you a larger range. It is affected by wind also.

What would be your longest shot that would have to be taken?
    Would the field/s be affected a lot by wind or is it sheltered?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭wallycool

Maybe 100 to 200 yards I would be shooting . Would a rabbit hear a 17 at 100 yards ?
    Its a bank along a big field so it all depends on what way the wind is blowing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Ah we're gonna need a sticky for this question... If we don't already have one :confused:

Anyway...

Pros of .22lr:

Cheap shooting. Both rifle calibres will be similar money to buy, but it's the running cost afterwards that'll use up money.

Very quiet. With a silencer and using subsonic ammunition you'll only hear the "click" of the firing pin and the "thud" of the round hitting the rabbit.

Cons of the .22lr:

Ricochets. .22lr bullets tend to be basically solid little lumps of lead traveling slowly (relatively), they tend to "bounce" off things and go in unexpected directions, which can be unnerving.

"Loopy" trajectory. Basically all this means is that your bullet drops quickly (again, this is relative). Shots require more thinking than calibres which shoot flatter (drop less).

Pros of the .17HMR:

"Flat" trajectory. It's a lighter bullet that's traveling fast. Therefore it drops at a slower rate than the .22lr, out to a point. It's easier (there's that relative word again) to take quick shots as it requires less thinking regarding bullet drop.

Ballistic tipped bullets. These give significantly less ricochets than the .22lr - but they DO ricochet the very odd time.

Cons of the .17HMR.

More expensive to shoot. Each rabbit will cost you more to shoot with the HMR than the .22lr.

Noise. It's a lot noisier than the .22lr, the is also no subsonic ammunition for this calibre.

Impact noise of both. The .22lr has a louder impact noise on the rabbit than the .17HMR. This can mean you get to shoot more rabbits in the one spot with the HMR than the .22lr generally. But I'd call that more of a semi :confused: interesting note than a cold hard fact.

Wind. Meh, I'm not a long range shooter so it tends not to bother me. To get to know the wind you need to practice your shooting a lot. To shoot a lot will cost money, see where I'm going with this? :D .22lr will cost less to practice with.

Overall, I would buy a bolt action .22lr rifle with a SAK silencer (make sure to tick the silencer box on your application form). It'll most likely be a CZ make rifle.

I'd stay away from semi automatic rifles, they are not generally as accurate as bolt action (waits for the ire to rise :D ).

Edited to add:

Was typing before you put up second post. Pick your nights and get closer than 100 yards, dark with the wind in your favour. Find someone with ferrets and use them in the day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭dev110

Maybe 100 to 200 yards I would be shooting . Would a rabbit hear a 17 at 100 yards ?

The .17hmr would probably be the best option with the longer shots.
    I honestly wouldn't know because I have never fired a .17hmr but have had a .22. There are plenty of lads with .17hmr here and they will be able give you a better picture of what the .17hmr will do.

.22 will do the job also if you could make the longest shots max around 150 yards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

i have a 17 and would shoot a load of them rabbits for ya if your not far away!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭tfox

for 200 yds I'd def go for the .17 HMR, I can take rabbits out to 300 with mine :)

As already said going out at night with a lamp would be your best bet

Where abouts are you based ? I'm sure a friendly boards member would be able to assist you in your rabbit control :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

.22lr & subs ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

.22 and subs is the classic for rabbits to my mind, but I really hate ricochets. Either is good though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

You have PM ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭4gun

if you shooting rabbits at 200yds get a 223,
    Most rabbit shooting is done at between 25 to 100 yds go get your self a Cz 22lr with a moderator.
    Best option if you happen to be within reasonable driving distance is let my self and Poulo and a few others have a go at them some day.... and it wont cost you a penny, cause by the time you get a licence for a new gun your crops should be in the shed ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭YellowSheep

Maybe have a read of this. Maybe less time consuming running around with a gun.
    http://landscaping.about.com/cs/pests/a/easter_rabbit_3.htm

Cheers Oliver

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

Cheers Oliver

"running around with a gun" PMSL :D

Cheers Oliver

Dependson the crops he is trying to protect.
    I followed that link, it is on about protecting trees from bunnies.
    It even condones shaking Cat Scat around the place:eek:

Ipersonally am responsible for controlling a population of 200 or so rabbits down to 6-8 rabbits on a farmers land.
    He informed me of this the other evening.

I over the period of a few weeks with a .223 shot all the rabbits causing problems.

We had no cat litter to hand so teh Rifle worked better
    And it is great FUN ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭4gun

Dependson the crops he is trying to protect.
    I followed that link, it is on about protecting trees from bunnies.
    It even condones shaking Cat Scat around the place:eek:

Ipersonally am responsible for controlling a population of 200 or so rabbits down to 6-8 rabbits on a farmers land.

I over the period of a few weeks with a .223 shot all the rabbits causing problems.

We had no cat litter to hand so teh Rifle worked better
    And it is great FUN ;)

I now Christen you "MIXIE" :D

4gun wrote: »
    I now Christen you "MIXIE" :D

I have been called worse! :D

It was nice because he told a few of his mates who have farms and my shooting empire has expanded further :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭lee70

Why don't you contact your local gun club i'd say they'd haply help you out

lee70 wrote: »
    Why don't you contact your local gun club i'd say they'd haply help you out

Coz Boards is quicker to find out who actively shoots a lot of bunnies ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Spunk84

If you want to save money and heart ache of getting a rifle and buying ammo, get someone with ferrets and let them go to town!!!!! A few days of ferrets and your rabbit problem will be gone- Simply;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭vampire of kilmainham

it allways depends on the wind. have you ever heard of aiming off for wind sorry army talk but look into it if ya know any army guys they will tell ya

I think what the lads are pointing out is all rounds react differently to wind depending on their ballistic coefficient.

the .17Hmr has a low B.C but a very flat traj which is very effective on small targets like rabbits.

For Bunny Bashing a flat shooting round makes shooting several bunnies in one sitting feasible as you do not have to make mental arithmatic while popping bunnies from 40-80-95-125-178 etc yards
    Point shoot Whaaaaaaaaaaathump

I personally love shooting bunnies out to moderate distances and hence use a .223 Remington as it is point and shoot out t 250 yards or so on bunnies and small calcs out to 350. It only gets tricky after 350 for me at least ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

my "anny" .17 and i enjoy picking the exact spot on bunnies heads, often "threading the needle" (through both eyes side on).. etc... extremely accurate out comfortably to 175 yds! "we" usually get the fields cleared after about 2 visits time depending!

btw where do you live? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

if you are shooting at 100-200 id go with the .17hmr. it takes alot of getting used to the .22lr at that range. 10 yards out in your estimation of range could end up with a complete miss. the .22lr is effected by wind too. if you have alot of practice with the .22 over time you will be able to get these shots but not starting off.
    if you can afford to spend money on ammo you can always go .223
    you can get cheap ammo for €12 for a box of 20. not so cheap when its just for shooting bunnies compared to the hmr at €16 for a box of 50 and the .22 €7 for a box of 50.

the .223 is over kill but it will be less effected by wind and drop at that range.

Thats grand as long as he doesn't mind a load of strangers wondering your land. With a gun club at least then you'll know you'll have insured lads on you land.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭homerhop

If the gun club has the shooting of the grounds the op should be contacting them and telling them to get the lead out (pardon the pun) that they will have no prob walking his land come phessie season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭dwighet

Like ya man said earlier....Ferrets are ya best bet for your situation...It wont cost you a cent as there are loads of lads around that will be more than happy to get the job done for you...

Its great craic aswell...

Thats grand as long as he doesn't mind a load of strangers wondering your land. With a gun club at least then you'll know you'll have insured lads on you land.

So if I go and shoot rabbits as a stranger it is not OK?
    I have been summoned by many farmers to shoot bunnies, I never asked the NARGC's permission though ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Spunk84

i have lovely .17hmr up for sale if you want it;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭Hondata92

Yet the OP is looking for advice on a rifle and not who can sort the problem for him.

Thats some expensive pest control, you seriously need a rimfire:eek:

@OP, imo a .22lr will easily suit your needs, quiet/effective and cheap to run. Since you are already shooting them with the shotty you should have no problem getting within range with a .22lr. A cz 452 bolt action is cheap and accurate for you needs

Hondata92 wrote: »
    Yet the OP is looking for advice on a rifle and not who can sort the problem for him.
    Would you like to put a wager on that?

Thats some expensive pest control, you seriously need a rimfire:eek:
    I had a rimfire for years, no interest in getting another unless a .22 Pistol and a .17Hmr

@OP, imo a .22lr will easily suit your needs, quiet/effective and cheap to run. Since you are already shooting them with the shotty you should have no problem getting within range with a .22lr. A cz 452 bolt action is cheap and accurate for you needs

A CZ Hmr is Cheap accurate for all the OP's needs
    Less missed bunnies and more kills too, especially for a first time rifle shooter ;)

A CZ Hmr is Cheap accurate for all the OP's needs
    Less missed bunnies and more kills too, especially for a first time rifle shooter ;)

Nice use of multi-quote and avoiding the cost of using a .223 compared to a .22lr or a .17:rolleyes:

The op says he is looking for advice on a rifle so i think i win that wager by default:P

If you have no interest in a RF rifle then you either have more money than sence or no real apprecitation for a RF as a great bunny basher

.22 ammo is cheaper than .17 ammo and also quiter

i started shooting with a .22 and still have one as its (imo) the best for rabbit shooting

Hondata92 wrote: »
    Nice use of multi-quote and avoiding the cost of using a .223 compared to a .22lr or a .17:rolleyes:

The op says he is looking for advice on a rifle so i think i win that wager by default:P

If you have no interest in a RF rifle then you either have more money than sence or no real apprecitation for a RF as a great bunny basher

.22 ammo is cheaper than .17 ammo and also quiter

i started shooting with a .22 and still have one as its (imo) the best for rabbit shooting

Without posting PM's I know I have already won :p

I don't ever make bets that I am not sure of winning :pac:

The OP said his rabbits were from 100-200 yards.
    That is not the effective range of a .22lr.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭FISMA

A mod would be nice, but you could always shoot subsonics out of a 22LR.

If you decide on a bolt action, CZ makes some fine firearms. I am not crazy about their wood, but at that price, they are great.

If you go the route of auto's a Ruger 10/22 would be the choice.

You'll have to decide whether you want a bit more at the muzzle or faster follow up shots.

In either way, I would go with a 22LR.

Ask the shop how much the ammo is and factor that in as a consideration.

Slan.

Without posting PM's I know I have already won :p

Just because you are looking to gain permissions more than the average shooter who has ~1000 acres (just speaking from experience)
    I don't ever make bets that I am not sure of winning :pac:

For you own sake stay away from the bookies :o
    The OP said his rabbits were from 100-200 yards.
    That is not the effective range of a .22lr.
    I tryed shooting them with a shot gun but soon as I shoot the first shot they all disappear .

But the op can get within shotgun range of the rabbits so for arguement sakes lets say 30yards, a .22lr can easily kill rabbits at 3X's that range and even further for those who are competant and confident with the .22lr

I don't need any more permissions.
    I lost count of acreage after 3000 :D

Reverting back to the OP.
    if I was in your Shoes, Sako Quad .17hmr or Anschutz .17hmr

I don't need any more permissions.
    I lost count of acreage after 3000 :D

Reverting back to the OP.
    if I was in your Shoes, Sako Quad .17hmr or Anschutz .17hmr

Is that one of your own videos bit of a doggy shot there @1.24

No lee

As well you know I do not have a .17hmr
    I just picked a video where a lot of bunnies were shot together with a .17hmr

here is a guy comparing .22lr with .17hmr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭jellybaby21

Hi what part of he country are you in? If you want some one with ferrets to help you out I can do that for you and I'll bring some hawks too.

P3230354.jpg

P3230255.jpg

I'm always looking for rabbits to hunt with her.

ATB Wayne

That's a stunning bird. Great photos. :)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

I'll second that. Beautiful bird. What breed exactly? I'd say its some craic to hunt with a "live bullet". :)
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

Fairly sure it's a Harris hawk, but open to correction.

i wouldn't have a clue myself. There is a thread on the bird but i'm too lazy to look. Must be some feeling though hunting with a hawk. I've seen documentaries on them and they are savage.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭jellybaby21

Your spot on,she is a female harris hawk and there is nothing like the feeling when she leaves the fist after a bolted rabbit or when she connects with a flushed pheasant or duck.

She is a credit to you.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,808 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Thats what I call a day out:cool: - Its certainly pushing my mind towards a .17HMR for my new toy;):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

Birdnuts wrote: »
    Thats what I call a day out:cool: - Its certainly pushing my mind towards a .17HMR for my new toy;):)
    mines for sale lad if ya want to come over for a look gis a shout

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,729 ✭✭✭lefthooker

Definitely recommend the .17 HMR if you're lookin to buy a rabbit gun. 200 yds+ is possible with a bit of practice. Since i bought my Sako the .22 rarely gets brought to the field, it's been relegated to plinking and shed work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 omuireadhaigh

i use a marlin .22magnum its good for long range shots, foxes and rabbits! cheap enough and almost too powerfull if you wanna keep the rabbits to eat! me and the lads will go down and clear out the rabbits for ya for the crack!