Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What infuriates you about your own gender?

• 26-07-2011 1:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭

Stealing idea from similar thread. What things annoy you about members of your own gender. For me:
    The fcukin obsession most lads have with sports. I enjoy some sports like boxing and golf, but theres still no need to go on for hours about how some other man did some physical activity. The male equivalent of talking about soaps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

They take all the wominz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭py2006

We don't complain about things as much as women do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭kwestfan08

The lack of boobs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭leviathon

It annoys me how, as a gender, we are all so damn perfect. It's a burden to bear being so awesome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭theillest

How some lads can not handle drink and end up fighting some lad over a lighter or something stupid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Not a damn thing us men are the perfect specimen :D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,449 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

We're carved from stone and awesome...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

You think by now evolution would've built a callus around or something else to protect the balls eh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭coco_lola

All the bitchiness. Hence why most of my friends are male.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Nah, men are grand, hence why modern feminism is all about women trying to be like men! :D

The fact that after all the headache, confusion etc we can still like the women folk!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Storminateacup

They're manipulative, bitchy,
    vindictive, two faced, sly and untrustworthy.

I hate women who cry solely to get their own way.

The way they need constant reassurance.

Its so weak and pathetic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

Choose from the following options:

No I did not see the "tits on thah" or what you described as "sum arse". You are a grown man, stop talking like you're a 15 year old boy.

I could smell the Lynx off you before you walked in the door, tone it down.

You're surrounded by flies in a beer garden because YOU USE TOO MUCH GODDAMN HAIR GEL.

How hard is to to remember one goddamn birthday!? YES thats why she looks mad! No I wont "just go and say something to her".

and finally...

THERE IS AN ENTIRE TOILET BOWL TO AIM AT. HOW DID YOU MANAGE TO GET PISS EVERYWHERE BUT THE BOWL!? YOU LITERALLY BLASTED IT WITH PISS AND THEN WALKED OFF.

They're manipulative, bitchy,
    vindictive, two faced, sly and untrustworthy.

I hate women who cry solely to get their own way.

The way they need constant reassurance.

Its so weak and pathetic

Got the wrong thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

I really need to emphasise the pissing on the toilet seat/rim. There is just no getting over it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Storminateacup

No? What infuriates you about the same sex?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Men with an obsession with sports (I love sports too but I don't mind talking about other stuff from time to time) technology (I don't give a toss what your new phone can do) and cars. Also men who live up to every stereotype going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

The insecurity of lots of men, who always feel the need to be competing with each other and prove to themselves that they're worthwhile individuals.
    Particularly when a woman's involved. I remember years ago on a work night out in a nightclub when there was literally a circle of about fifteen men round a moderately attractive female colleague trying to impress her. In fairness to her, she wasn't looking for the attention and looked bewildered.
    Related to that is the way so many men put so much stock in being seen to be attractive to the opposite sex, even to the point of refusing to accept a woman's clear lack of interest in them and keep pestering them. Or else sulk. Like the guy handing out free newspapers at a particular train station that my girlfriend used to make a tiny amount of smalltalk with. Then since the first time I joined her on the train (about a year ago) he'll never even look at her, always pretending to find something interesting to look at on the ground whenever she passes.

Obviously all of the above doesn't apply to all men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭NoviGlitzko

This constant need for other people to think your a hardy bastard. A lot of lads have issues with their ego.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭Caraville

The over-analysing of things (I can be guilty of this myself at times).

The grudge-holding.

And being too easily offended. Stop being so flippin sensitive!!

Edit: Seeing as there are men complaining about the peeing on the toilet seat thing- I must also say the same about women. It's just mind-boggling how it happens in female toilets. Sit down properly and wee into the bowl. Stop hovering!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭Mindkiller

I hate the pissing on toilets thing too. Urinals exist for a reason. If you're going to piss in a bowl and have **** aim then sit down and piss like a girl would.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭ItsNoAlias

The blank stare I get when I talk about science/books/music/math.
    Inane things they talk about (No I do not care what some overpaid tosser has been bought/sold for or if he was busted for cheating on his missus):mad:
    General laziness unless it involves the pub
    Constantly being on the pull on a night out: Can you not just come for a pint without chasing after every bit of skirt that looks at you?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

The way many men (in IT, where I work) will try something and make a balls of it, and then try to blame something/someone else.
    We all screw up, just take the blame and learn from your mistake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭St.Spodo

The way a lot of men are really interested in cars. Could never understand the fascination.

The whole gym culture annoys me too. Meat-heads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 462 ✭✭El_Drago

St.Spodo wrote: »
    The way a lot of men are really interested in cars. Could never understand the fascination.

What "culture" is this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Mindkiller wrote: »
    I hate the pissing on toilets thing too. Urinals exist for a reason. If you're going to piss in a bowl and have **** aim then sit down and piss like a girl would.

Some men seem to have a fear that sitting on the toilet seat to piss is emasculating or something. I remember a couple of years ago I was getting the Dublin-Galway bus before the motorway was finished, so the last stretch of road was very bumpy and had lots of sharp turns. While on this stretch I went to the toilet, only to find the floor completely covered in piss. A huge pool with dirty footprints in it. It genuinely seemed like whoever had done it hadn't got any in the toilet at all. Completely disgusting. Even on the motorway, the bus still moves around quite a bit, and you need to sit down on the toilet to make sure your aim is true. I don't get why this guy couldn't have sat down for a minute. It's not like anyone would've seen him. And judging by the mess in the toilet, he must've blasted himself with piss as well as the floor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭Mindkiller

But the gym is great. Weight-lifting increases testosterone secretions and can help prevent osteoperosis, so they say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

The crying. I just don't understand it. Crying women freak me out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

Unfortunately timed wood

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭ElleEm

Bitchiness and jealousy in women is horrible.
    I also hate the "weight" issues women obsess about. I think most girls have friends who could list the calorie content in everything in your fridge. Grrrrrr!
    I hate the dramatic women too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Alopex

men can't admit when they like stuff, and pretend to hate things they don't.

things like watching soaps, listening to "girly" music

World wresting federation saw this and basically made a soap for men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭St.Spodo

El_Drago wrote: »
    What "culture" is this?

The culture of going to the gym that exists among most of my peers. I'm just inherently not arséd with the concept.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭looky loo

I hate when you tell them a guy is gonna be be bad for them, but they still go out with him anyway, and then you have to listen to them for hours on end about how he hurt them....and no I never say I told you so.

When after said occurence the 'all men are bastards' phrase comes out...no their not..just the one you went out it, even though you knew he was a *****, and you still went there.

How they go on and on about men............yawn.....zzzzzzzzzzzz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

What's the story with guys thinking Golf is a sport? Or Horse Racing?

And the obsession with <insert premier league club name>? Or gambling? Or getting hideous tattoos of your name on your arm? Are you afraid you'll forget it (probably from drink-induced blackouts)?

And guys preferring to live with their parents until they're 35? GTFO.

And computer games? What's with that? Are you 13?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Homophobia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Idjit

I hate the way other women tango themselves and then look at me like I'M the one with the issues. They seem to think that by throwing all that orange fake-tan gunk on themselves, they can pretend they are originally from the Caribbean or something. I'm one of the pale, freckly Irish and damned proud of it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    The fcukin obsession most lads have with sports. I enjoy some sports like boxing and golf, but theres still no need to go on for hours about how some other man did some physical activity.

Its not so much men talking about sports that bugs me but this "we" are playing this weekend crap. It sickens my shít that does. I understand it for your own international side because you are Irish or English or whatever. But some clown sitting in the pub telling everyone how "We" won the cup and "We" are gonna do the double. Despite the fact that he hasnt done anything in his stupid little life and more than likely never even visited the place he is fukin talkin about.

Oh it grinds my gears alright, Grinds em good :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭purity

I find what irritates me most about my own gender is the Bitcheness. I hate how women stab each other in the back for instance woman walks into room other women very nice to her but as soon as she walks out of room all the other women bitch about her.
    I also hate how competitive women are, Men are too but not as much as women. There is a lot of things about my own gender that annoy me actually:rolleyes:

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

The sheer passiveness of so many women irritates the hell out of me. The amount of girls I find myself talking to that say things like, "Oh, why hasn't he asked me out yet?" or "I'm forever dropping hints but he doesn't seem to be able to read my mind..." is just ridiculous. Girls need to get some balls. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

They took my job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Skunkle wrote: »
    Oh it grinds my gears alright, Grinds em good :mad:

but we're going to win the Bundesliga this year! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭Krieg

Spitting

Over emphasis of attractive women nearby. Nothing wrong with taking a second gawk at an attractive women but grabbing the attention of those around you and exclaiming "PHWOAARRRRR LOOK AT THE TITS ON THAT, MAN ID **** THE **** OUT OF HER!!".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

We are meant to be in control but every man is doing what he does to impress women. If women didn't influence men so much, I don't think we'd have metro-sexuality which pisses me off to no end.

Male Bravado also makes guys unable to admit faults and flaws, impossible to talk about their own feelings and leads to a lot of suicides.

Mainly though that we need to start being more ourselves. We don't have to do everything to impress women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭RedXIV

Gotta be the sport one. Dunno how many times I've been left lost at a group conversation about soccer and end up throwing in a title of a thread I've seen on boards, usually to the confusion or disgust of the other participants in the conversation.

The dismay on nights out of seeing a bunch of skanger lads and realising they are of the same species.

Men who've decided to get in touch with their feminine side. You've feelings, great, don't share them with me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

El_Drago wrote: »
    What "culture" is this?

The culture of going to the gym that exists among most of my peers. I'm just inherently not arséd with the concept.

There is a reason for that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

Oneup-Man-Ship – an aptly named predominantly male trait.
    Every anecdote that get’s recounted at work – “yeah? Well that reminds me of the time that I did something vaguely similar that was way more interesting”
    For a start it wasn’t more interesting, quite the opposite.
    Secondly, we’ve pretty much all come to the conclusion that all your stories are made up anyway.
    Please shut the fcuk up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

The bitchiness.... and the jealousy...

I grew up in a male dominated environment and I can't or don't think I will ever understand the stuff women do out of bitchiness and jealousy.

Most of my friends are male.......

I've had so much crap from women over the years but no man has ever gone behind my back and said something awful about me that wasn't true.

The last time this happened was last year. I was going out with a lad who had a big group of female friends... it got back to me from mutual male friends that they were complaining that I was rude and aloof to a friend of theirs that I hadn't even met, she was also an ex of the guy I was going out with.

She's a good friend of my boyfriend now. I met her out one night and asked her why did she and the others say that about me. She informed me that they'd made stuff up about her too thats actually damaged her reputation a bit and they were no longer friends of hers.

She explained to me that they thought they were "lad's girls" and stung any new girl that they thought to be ruining their setup. Dangerous out.

I also had art work stolen from school.... and a woman come up to my Mum in the supermarket to tell her I only had achieved something as I was the teachers pet.... I got to do something with a lot of public exposure.... where a local well known artist called me a genius so I doubt I got to do it because I was a teachers pet.

Women who play the victim....... GTFO....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Women who place huge importance on material crap like expensive designer brands, shoes, handbags etc.

You can buy stuff just as nice without having to bankrupt yourselves in he process.

Also Bridezillas. The aim of your wedding day is supposedly to be marrying the man you want to spend the rest of your lives with, not treating your bridesmaids/groom to be like slaves and putting yourselves in huge amounts of debt because of a shiny diamond ring, big white dress, pair of Jimmy Chos, exotic honeymoon, expensive hen weekend and a cake the size of the Empire State Building.
    That sort of money would be so much better spent on both of your futures instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭curlzy

LOL, Just noticed that the women on this thread all say they mostly hang out with men. What does it mean?????? Have to admit though that most of my friends are male. Is it something to do with an average female, or an average boardsie?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭Buddinplant

The look of sheer shock when I say i have one maybe two dresses in the wardrobe. ( if i went out more in more glamourous places I'd have more, but the local nightclub/cattle mart is not the place for a 200 euro dress, that i've spent a year saving for)

And no I dont use fake tan, cause I hardly use make up so why would i even attempt some form of weird chemistry hours before heading out with stuff that needs to boiled off or leaves streaks like rashers on your legs.

and what is with the hotpants with tights look... its passable on mid teens...and dont even start me on the ones that complain of the cold (where something that covers more then 4 inches of yourself) or the pain in your feet ( you chose to wear the 4 inch heels, which coincidently covers the most of your body)