Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How long is Fine Gael allowed to blame FF for all the countries problems?

• 20-07-2011 11:04AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,646 ✭✭✭

Bit disheartening 6 months later still hearing blame at the previous administration for every single problem. Whats the time frame before this excuse becomes unacceptable to the masses?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 ConorHughes

In

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

But why blame the current administration about something that is the previous administrations fault?

Laying blame does not mean they intend to leave the issue as is...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Downlinz wrote: »
    Bit disheartening 6 months later still hearing blame at the previous administration for every single problem. Whats the time frame before this excuse becomes unacceptable to the masses?

For me it was before the last election, when a FG TD replied to an email of queries and concerns i sent them by telling me it was all FF's fault, but they would fix it. They didn't outline how they planned to do this, despite repeated emails back and forth asking them to actually discuss with me the issues i had outlined...just the same old line repeated again and again with slight different wording.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

As long as it takes to pay back the EU/IMF loans, so isn't that about 80 odd years?

FG/FF.Labour and everyone else will always blame those that were there before them for the problems they cannot fix!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

Why wouldn't they blame them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Needler

FF might as well be in power now. FG are just implementing FF's election manifesto.

I clearly remember FG being against property tax, now they want to bring it in exactly the way FF intended to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

For as long as they can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,227 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Forever, or until the end of time, whichever's the later.

Needler wrote: »
    FF might as well be in power now.

The best quote for this I will ever make "FG are continuity FF". I read it 2 weeks ago in the Clare Champion Newspaper. And it is 100% right!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

If the previous administration is responsible for the problems then they will always be responsible for them and as long as that problem persists it's completely fair to remind people who the culprits responsible are.

However, the current administration is simply trying to divert attention from their failing to rectify the problem instead of admitting that they're failing rectify it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Needler

wolfpawnat wrote: »
    The best quote for this I will ever make "FG are continuity FF". I read it 2 weeks ago in the Clare Champion Newspaper. And it is 100% right!!!

Its brilliant because FF make a mess, they know how bad it is and have a few clues how to clean it up

Some other crowd takes over, given nothing but their clues, tries to implement them and fucks up.

FF get back in next election cause FG made a balls of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

The whole lot of them are the biggest shower of ***** ever to grace this island.

Apart from the church.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,646 ✭✭✭Downlinz

Minstrel27 wrote: »
    Why wouldn't they blame them?

Because its not constructive? Its not a suitable answer to every problem, rather than focus on the fix or something progressive they seem rooted in the past and distancing themselves from blame for the situation.
    Its not very confidence inspiring from our leaders.

Its brilliant because FF make a mess, they know how bad it is and have a few clues how to clean it up

Some other crowd takes over, given nothing but their clues, tries to implement them and fucks up.

With FF, they had a centre/left policy every so often!

There was people on boards before the election saying they would as bad if not worse, but no everyone wanted to get FF out of power, and look what happened. We are all still very much in the same boat and even worse off. At least before we could get to a hospital outside of Cork/Dublin/Galway/Limerick!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭lucylu

Taoiseach Shopra calls the shots.. he stepped in after the Biffo & Co were in denial
    FG/LAB have to now implement the changes.

Until Taoiseach Shopra retires FG/LAB can continue to rub the FFer's noses in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

actually fewer than 5 months, and considering that the last govt. was the worst in the country's history I think the blame should be good for a while longer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Seachmall wrote: »
    If the previous administration is responsible for the problems then they will always be responsible for them and as long as that problem persists it's completely fair to remind people who the culprits responsible are.

However, the current administration is simply trying to divert attention from their failing to rectify the problem instead of admitting that they're failing rectify it.

Agree 100%

FF should always be remembered as the shower that caused the problems. Even if the problem is fixed by 2020, it should not be overlooked that FF caused it.

FG, however, applied for the job of fixing them; it might be a slow process given the size of the problem, but they had better start, and stop doing so by continuing FF's policies that screw the ordinary people while letting those at the "top" off scot-free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,259 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

FG only got in because there was no other party with enough candidates to form a government. They seem to think that they got in because everybody loved them, but they only got in because there was no choice.

The only difference between FF and FG is the "G".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭COYW

Sounds about right. I reckon the upcoming budget will see the end of the holiday for the current government.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Don't hold them responsible for many of the FF antics - although they did vote with FF at times when the previous corrupt lot were in power.
    I do hold them responsible however for their actions since they have come into power - and so far its say one thing and do another, a lot!

FF are responsible for a hell of a lot of damage, stupidity and corruption.
    Be it 6 months or 6 decades, history will still record their antics.

In fairness, till the damage is repaired to the state and to the Irish people, FG and every other party and person should be entitled to say exactly who is responsible for the mess they currently reside in, if caused by a previous shower of lying, corrupt, two-faced schites!

Everyone should be reminded once in a while who got us into the mess we are in - 'cos there seem to be a lot of folk in this country that have short memories at times.
    ...Then there is those that would like us all to conveniently forget with time passing and brainwash us all into thinking again with time, FF were not such a bad lot!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

Blame the people who voted FF/FG. People voted austerity, people got austerity. Why so suprised?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭Ruire

wolfpawnat wrote: »
    At least before we could get to a hospital outside of Cork/Dublin/Galway/Limerick!

What, you mean a colossal waste of money? The first hour of care is the most important, and that's usually provided by paramedics regardless of where you live. We should be improving the services we have, not throwing away money on hospitals we don't need.

It seems more a case that some people would rather die in a shoddy "hospital" in Roscommon than be brought to Galway and live.

COYW wrote: »
    Sounds about right. I reckon the upcoming budget will see the end of the holiday for the current government.
    Their holiday is over already!
    Taking €65 million off the vulnerable next and meanwhile yet again, handing over another €750 Million to the banks once more!
    Like FF, it shows where their priorities lie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

If FG make a bags of it will FF get back in ? I cant see it after the mess they made. It will more than likely be Labour in the driving seat and they will bring FG back in with them.

As useless as Labour have shown themselves to be people wont be too quick to forget what FF did to the country and FG will get the blame for not fixing it. Labour will pull the old "FG had all the power there was nothing we could do" and then throw out more promises. Gain public support and have the choice of FG, FF or SF/ULA coalition. Aint no way in hell they would go into government with SF or ULA. Bringing in FF would be as good as kicking the people in the face so FG it will be.

Anyway it doesnt matter, only a proper left wing party would have the balls to make radical changes. Some people might say its not balls but stupidity but you cant argue with the fact that the only way to get away from FF/FG style politics it by going further to the left. People thought they were doing this when voting Labour but it turns out Labour had more interest in getting into government than of actually trying to change anything and discarded their left wing ideals for a cushy pension on the right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,208 ✭✭✭Fattes

They Day they where elected!

We all know where the problem came from and do not need to be reminded of it for infinity as it serves no purpose.

It is time for FF/LAB to get on with it if they dont like the quesitons they just trot out the "It was the Finna Fial that done it" line.

They have been elected to fix the problem so lets cut the bull and fix it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭jonnny68

Undoubtely FF were the root cause of the state we find ourselves in as a country, however as i predicted the FG/Labour coalition have done little or nothing to get us out of this mess,if anything it's gotten worse rather than better,parasites and crooks every one of them,Joan Burton in particular is so far detached from reality it beggars belief how she has the position she has.

You need people like the United Left Alliance / People Before Profit in Government,i will vote for them next time,the main parties simply cannot be trusted,the "cute hoor" culture is still alive and well in Leinster House.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

Ruire wrote: »
    What, you mean a colossal waste of money? The first hour of care is the most important, and that's usually provided by paramedics regardless of where you live. We should be improving the services we have, not throwing away money on hospitals we don't need.

Paramedics can only try to stabilise serious injuries, they can't treat them and for very serious injuries (e.g. bleeding into the brain) there isn't much they can do outside of a hospital.

I got my face split open by some scumbag with a bar last week, if any of the belts he gave me to the head caused serious bleeding I could be dead now because the closest hospital is over an hour away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

COYW wrote: »

Sooner I hope. I am not liking the fact that FG and Lab are due to bring back slavery to help employers.

Also, the fact that nobody has been held responsible yet for the incompetnce of the last government and their cronies for sending the economy down the drain. Sheer negligence and we are on the brink of default where the country and us the people will suffer decades of severve poverty. We will be defaulting similiar to argentina in 2001 and there is 60% on their poverty line. That is our future. Slavery and poverty. While those resonsible for ruinning the economy are rewarded. But seems as if people are happy with this situation.

Shane Ross is setting up a new politicial party. Can we get the current shower out now please? Send someone in who knows what he is doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

As long as a majority of voters are behind FG, and as long as they are in government, they can claim every right to blame someone else, I suppose.

Well...FF brought the misery, FG still punish the wrong ones, no one is perfect, but both of them should be given out to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

They blame FF because its their fault. Whats the big deal and what did you think was going to happen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭Opelfruit

Ruire wrote: »
    It seems more a case that some people would rather die in a shoddy "hospital" in Roscommon than be brought to Galway and live.
    Do you even understand any of the issues involved in the Roscommon hospital issue. It looks like you swallowed the Government propaganda hook, line and sinker.

Don't comment on important issues you don't even understand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

I really hope people dont forget that it was FF that got us into this mess and how easily it could have been avoided had they not been so criminally negligent. I'm no fan of FG politics but their hands really are tied on a number of issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭unitedrover

Until FG merge with FF.....then they wont be a word said about it

I'm looking at Enda Kenny on RTE news now talking back to Michael Martin coming out with the same old tired mantra "your the ones who got us into this mess" :rolleyes: everyone knows that you idiot Kenny your just making a twat of yourself coming out with the same crap all the time,real action is needed,how many jobs have been lost since this FG/Labour coalition have been at the helm,a lot more than have been created that's for sure, this Inernships nonsense will only serve to benefit greedy employers who will get a full time emloyee for €50 a week and the Government as they try to desperately to paper over the cracks.

So when are we going to see the last crowd held responsible and punished accordingly for what they have done?

Until FG merge with FF.....then they wont be a word said about it

That will not happen but it it ever did to be brutally honest would be the death of this country for good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

ilovesleep wrote: »
    So when are we going to see the last crowd held responsible and punished accordingly for what they have done?

HAHAHHAHAHHAHAHHAHAHHAHAHHAHAHHAHAHHAHAHHAHAHHAHAHHAHAHHAHAH

Seriously,this is ireland,not america/uk..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭DoesNotCompute

10,000 years. We will never forget.

Held responsible :D sure hasn't Bertie Ahern and Brian Cowen and their lackeys retired now and are living a grand life while people struggle to make ends meet and emigrate in their droves,if i had my way they would all be in jail for the mess they have got us into.

HAHAHHAHAHHAHAHHAHAHHAHAHHAHAHHAHAHHAHAHHAHAHHAHAHHAHAHHAHAH

Seriously,this is ireland,not america/uk..
    B
    L
    A
    C
    K

E
    C
    O
    N
    O
    M
    Y

It is so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭Opelfruit

What? Sure they're hanging a portrait of the self styled "Iar-Taoiseach" and News Corp puppet, Patrick Bartholomew Ahern, in Leinster House as we type!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Min

2007 General election FG had big spending plans and talked of an average growth rate upto the 2012 election of over 4% per annum.
    Same with Labour.

None of them saw it coming, the current government like to appear wise in hindsight.

FF might get office in the next election,how they even got seats in the recent election baffles me.

jonnny68 wrote: »
    Held responsible :D sure hasn't Bertie Ahern and Brian Cowen and their lackeys retired now and are living a grand life while people struggle to make ends meet and emigrate in their droves,if i had my way they would all be in jail for the mess they have got us into.

This is something else that grinds my gears. They have retired in peace. What did their party do? Feed the NPRF to.the banks. What does that mean for us? Work until the day we die.

Why isn't the nation getting out protesting/striking to hold these people responsible? At the end of the day the ball is in our hands and if the nation came together and get off their asses and protest/strike we'd do it.

Opelfruit wrote: »
    What? Sure they're hanging a portrait of the self styled "Iar-Taoiseach" and News Corp puppet, Patrick Bartholomew Ahern, in Leinster House as we type!

For fcuk sake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,076 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

The biggest problem facing Ireland atm is repaying private debt that was ciminally moved onto the taxpayer by FF/Greens.

Sadly people in this country are too thick to realise that FG supported this move. :rolleyes:

So therefore FG have no right to have a go at FF.

And neither have those who voted FF in 2007 or those who voted FG in 2011.

This is something else that grinds my gears. They have retired in peace. What did their party do? Feed the NPRF to.the banks. What does that mean for us? Work until the day we die.

Why isn't the nation getting out protesting/striking to hold these people responsible? At the end of the day the ball is in our hands and if the nation came together and get off their asses and protest/strike we'd do it.

totally agree with you here mate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Opelfruit wrote: »
    What? Sure they're hanging a portrait of Patrick Bartholomew Ahern, in Leinster House as we type!

Damn.....wishful thinking got the better of me and I skipped those 3 words in the middle.

FF might get office in the next election, how they even got seats in the recent election baffles me.
    People - convenient short memories again... stupidity... convenient blindness... brainwashed sheep...

...Take your pick!

All should be in jail,with the bankers,look at what they said back in the good times-