Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Women don't care what men think..

• 19-07-2011 1:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 418 ✭✭

Have to say I found this survey interesting if not very surprising. Personally as a lad I'd be prepared to wear a tutu if it meant getting more attention from the opposite sex however ladies seem to be the complete opposite. There are countless female fashion fads that are in my (and many a fellow male's) humble opinion ridiculous: orange tans, dangly earrings, those MC hammer style baggy pants ('Harem pants' i'm told they are called), dungarees with braces to name just a few. This obviously isnt just an Irish phenonomon as those four yokes on Sex in the City proved.

Is it time for women (especially single ones) to get their priorities right?? I mean you need to know your audience like!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭finisklin

Maybe your not truly representative of it as your asking the question.......:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭akamossy

In fairness, most women are not dressing to go out and impress men. They are dressing in what they like personally and what they feel comfortable in, I think that if they don't care what men think of what they are wearing then why should they?

I know I certainly don't go to my wardrobe every day asking myself would any man I might happen upon like my outfit, likewise if I'm shopping for a new outfit!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

A survey about beauty habits that's carried out by a beauty salon? Nah, not biased at all.
    I mean you need to know your audience like!
    the ironing of you saying in tLL that having just made sweeping generalisations about women's fashions is so delicious I think I might just have to eat it. With chocolate of course. Us women love chocolate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

akamossy wrote: »
    They are dressing in what they like personally and what they feel comfortable in,

That's why they wear high heels that cripple them on a night out then. Or is it because heels adjusts their leg and body position that make them more attractive to men. Otherwise they'ed all be in flats if they really didn't care and wanted to be comfortable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭akamossy

That's why they wear high heels that cripple them on a night out then. Or is it because heels adjusts their leg and body position that make them more attractive to men. Otherwise they'ed all be in flats if they really didn't care and wanted to be comfortable.

We are on about the percentage of women who do NOT care what men think about them. Read the OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭LittleBook

g'em wrote: »
    A survey about beauty habits that's carried out by a beauty salon? Nah, not biased at all.

Is there even a survey? All I can find is their press release self-promotion drivel. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

My female friends seem to dress up to impress one another rather than the opposite sex.

Its not really fair on women, I feel sorry for those who feel ugly/wont leave the house without makeup and stuff, its sad. I know a girl who looks lovely with no makeup on, but insists on lashing loads on before going outside the door, its stupid.

As for the high heels, I will never understand that. In my experience they were them to the pub or whatever, have one drink, then disappear to the jacks and return wearing flats with their heels in their gargantuan handbag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭diddlybit

This may come as a surprise to you OP, but women aren't dressing for men a lot of the time. Sometimes they just like to dress for themselves. :eek: Shocking, I know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 curlywurly26

You might be missing the point here a bit - I would wear 'crippling heels' in a girls only night club if it exisited. I wear them because think they make my legs look nice and I like to look good - it's got nothing to do with boys!

I have some clothes that I know my boyfriend isn't fussed on but if I like them, then I'll wear them! Saying that, it's nice to go out with my boyf and for him to tell me I look nice so I wouldn't say I don't care at all!

As for getting their priorities right.....a beautiful, funny, interesting girl in 'ridiculous' clothes, or an ugly, boring girl in gorgeous clothes? Maybe you should get your priorities right?!?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

Not every single woman is looking for a man, therefore I'm sure these women do 'know their audience' and their priorities are more than likely fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,208 ✭✭✭fatmammycat

OMG! It's true, I DON"T give a damn what Irish men think. Oh how shall I go on etc etc...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,057 ✭✭✭MissFlitworth

MC hammer style baggy pants ('Harem pants' i'm told they are called)

What, like these?

b_68U00CKHA_thumb.jpg

I've seen a fair few men knocking round Dublin in 'MC Hammer pants', Bros outfits, waxed moustaches, tracksuit bottoms etc. etc. & while it wouldn't be to my particular taste I'm not sure the single men of Dublin need to start communally dressing in a fashion that I find attractive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Irish women SHOULDN'T care what men think.

It's when you get too caught up in pandering to the opposite sex that you turn into a moron OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

An IRISH man giving women fashion tips. :rolleyes: You guys are hardly known for your fashion sense, in fairness. Ben Sherman called from the early 90s, he wants his black jeans and stripey shirt back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Mee-yow Eve!

anyway, not the most reliable source. and its an embarrassing question to answer truthfully if you are dressing in the hopes of impressing the opposite sex.

Mee-yow Eve!

anyway, not the most reliable source. and its an embarrassing question to answer truthfully if you are dressing in the hopes of impressing the opposite sex.

I'm a bit of a cranky bum today. Ignore me. Looking after 25 bratty Spanish students in a Summer Camp and I'm losing it.

He hit a sore spot though. I'm sporting a (what I think) are fairly cool MC Hammer pants today. Like wearing my pjs outside. Not sexy but DAMN comfy. Lucky for me I'm not on the pull 24/7.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,404 ✭✭✭✭Pembily

Is it time for women (especially single ones) to get their priorities right?? I mean you need to know your audience like!

And what about Irish men????? Good God but a lot of them don't know how to dress!!!!

I know my audience - it's me and I am single and if a guy doesn't like how I dress then I really don't give a flying fook as I am not trying to impress him!!! I will impress the ones I wanna impress and I will dress in what I feel comfortable and no one else!!!

Pembily wrote: »
    And what about Irish men????? Good God but a lot of them don't know how to dress!!!!

Lies! :D

Oversized%2Bcoat.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭gargleblaster

Pembily wrote: »
    if a guy doesn't like how I dress then I really don't give a flying fook as I am not trying to impress him!!! I will impress the ones I wanna impress and I will dress in what I feel comfortable and no one else!!!

This.

I can't speak for anyone else, but I love pretty shoes. When I go shopping for shoes I'm not thinking, "Boy, these will make my ass and legs look great!" That's possibly a side effect, but I like the way the shoe looks, that's it. It's true that some men might like the look, but some men might not. That doesn't really play a part in my decision making process when choosing clothing though. It is all about what I think looks good, and what's comfortable for me. That's it. And yes, some shoes are cute enough that the discomfort is worth it to me - nothing to do with what a man might think of the shoes.

Society establishes the value of looking 'pretty' in girls. Some of us grow up wanting to attain and display this value and some don't. Nothing to do with men - it's to do with our personality and how we're raised.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

g'em wrote: »

the ironing of you saying in tLL that having just made sweeping generalisations about women's fashions is so delicious I think I might just have to eat it. With chocolate of course. Us women love chocolate.
    Pink chocolate! Why is there no such thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

There used to be, but the feminists ate it. :(

There is! Those little chocolate mice come in white and pink.

Nyom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

Nyom.

I was about to say that! Love those things :-) but thought someone would claim they weren't 'real' chocolate. Bloody purists, eh?

Malari wrote: »
    I was about to say that! Love those things :-) but thought someone would claim they weren't 'real' chocolate. Bloody purists, eh?

As far as i'm concerned it's chocolate.

Granted i am not allowed to eat such delicious goodness anymore but i'll defend those little mice all day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,842 ✭✭✭shinikins

Oversized%2Bcoat.jpg

^^^STAND AND DELIVER!!! YOUR MONEY OR YOUR LIFE!!!:D:D

I dress to impress one person-me. If I like what I see in the mirror, thats good enough. I've never gone out to buy the latest fads, I buy highheels because they're pretty and I can walk in them just as well as in flats. I have self confidence and intelligence and I'm pretty sure that they would have been some of the things that I have in my arsenal for attracting the opposite sex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

Oversized%2Bcoat.jpg

That's knowing how to dress?

Cinderellas sister?

Ok so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

I don't know. It's a travesty. There is however Gin and Tonic Chocolate.

I'd slag it for the female stereotype imagery it conjours but it sounds too damn tasty :o

That's knowing how to dress?

Cinderellas sister?

Ok so.

Big smiley faces imply i am making a joke. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

Big smiley faces imply i am making a joke. :)

I like jokes.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I dress for myself in that I don't bother with fashion fads if I don't like them, or clothing/beauty items that make me feel uncomfortable (e.g. I cannot wear high heels - they look great but they cripple me so I wear medium heels; also, my skin will always be milk-white and a fake tan-free zone as it just looks ridiculous on me) however I still like to make myself look well on a night out - and part of that buzz is positive male attention. I don't see anything wrong with that. I wear short-ish skirts and rock the cleavage a bit (nothing too blatant) and I'm not gonna be doing that in an environment where there isn't a chance of pulling. I don't go out specifically on the pull, but it's nice when it happens, even if it's just getting chatted up/a bit of a snog. :)

I love dangly earrings though - but then again, anyone who'd write a line like the last one of the opening post... well their opinion isn't exactly worth caring about. :)

Nyom.

Does anyone else remember Pink Panther Bars? Or am I just showing my age? :o

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Scanlas The 2nd

Dudess wrote: »
    I dress for myself in that I don't bother with fashion fads if I don't like them, or clothing/beauty items that make me feel uncomfortable (e.g. I cannot wear high heels - they look great but they cripple me so I wear medium heels; also, my skin will always be milk-white and a fake tan-free zone as it just looks ridiculous on me) however I still like to make myself look well on a night out - and part of that buzz is positive male attention. I don't see anything wrong with that. I wear short-ish skirts and rock the cleavage a bit (nothing too blatant) and I'm not gonna be doing that in an environment where there isn't a chance of pulling. I don't go out specifically on the pull, but it's nice when it happens, even if it's just getting chatted up/a bit of a snog. :)

I love dangly earrings though - but then again, anyone who'd write a line like the last one of the opening post... well their opinion isn't exactly worth caring about. :)

Refreshingly realistic and honest post to hear. I think for the vast majority of people they enjoy positive attention from the the opposite sex but you'd think that was a crime the way some people go on.

Some women get burned out on such attention before they're out of their teenage years. So yes, while most probably do enjoy attention from the opposite sex, we can't expect that to be true for everyone.

LittleBook wrote: »
    Does anyone else remember Pink Panther Bars? Or am I just showing my age? :o

I'm listening!

For my age or more about the chocolate? :pac:

All is revealed!

LittleBook wrote: »
    For my age or more about the chocolate? :pac:

All is revealed!

I'm a child of the late 70s myself! But don't remember the bars. Think I need to search out some pink mice...

As for Dudess's post...I was thinking is it just my group of friends that don't always plan a certain place to go? Like we'll arrange on principle to meet for a drink, then 20 mins before decide on where to go. Dressing to please or to suit the place I'm in is usually not on the agenda. I dress to make myself feel good and if anyone else (male or female) like the look of me, then great :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,205 ✭✭✭Wompa1

I'll throw something into the mix here and probably have my thumbs broken by some angry womens for it. But I'd venture to say women dress for other women more so than men. I've never had a girlfriend ask me what I thought of something and have them take it on board but if other women say something or if it's an event or place where other women will be, they always have to shine, it would be awful to draw the ire of other women I guess?

I'm sure I'll be told I'm wrong but I've never ever been with a girl who actually was comfortable enough in themselves to wear what they thought as comfortable. It all depended on who was going to be there.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭XxMCRxBabyxX

There are countless female fashion fads that are in my (and many a fellow male's) humble opinion ridiculous: orange tans, dangly earrings, those MC hammer style baggy pants ('Harem pants' i'm told they are called), dungarees with braces to name just a few.

Many females also feel the same way about those fads.

I find every single one mentioned there to be ridiculous and always completely unflattering ion anyone who wears them

And to the above:
    Yes, women do dress for women. They are far more concerned about what other women will say about them than what men think tbh.

This is all from personal experience anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭saa

I don't care if a man doesn't find me sexually attractive, I don't feel like I have to play dress up to be sexually attractive to the kind of guy I want.

I don't feel like I have to dress up for other females, I am not competitive at all.

But... I do feel a pressure to present myself as the most attractive person I can, not to get laid or attention but to be a good person, I feel this pressure in more of a professional sense.. more about self actualisation. Which is somewhat silly I have to go through so much to show that I'm intelligent enough, good looking enough, funny enough not for others but for myself coming from some kind of insecurity that many of us hold that we are not good enough, and being good enough for me is not someone wanting to have sex with me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

I'm not irish so the sweeping generalisation in the title doesn't apply to me anyway but I do agree with some of the sentiments here.

Dressed up or dressed down, male attention is not a consideration - I have no reason to dress up to attract males; I've done some of my best pulling in jeans and t-shirt and make-up free!

I don't think I dress for other women, I'm not competitive with my friends or women I don't know; as the first married out of our group of friends, I was the first to get out the whole "dating and mating" game - and I love watching and helping my friends chat up blokes without having to deal with attentions myself. In fact, the fewer attentions the better in most cases.

I think I just dress for me, I dress up because it makes me feel good to look my best and it adds a sense of fun and costume to the night. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

As for Dudess's post...I was thinking is it just my group of friends that don't always plan a certain place to go? Like we'll arrange on principle to meet for a drink, then 20 mins before decide on where to go. Dressing to please or to suit the place I'm in is usually not on the agenda.
    Me neither - wondering why you mentioned my post. I avoid pubs with a "dress code" anyway and I tend not to do nightclubs. But if I'm going out for drinks, as opposed to e.g. the supermarket, the post office, I'll dress up, even if only a little bit - and only in what I personally like wearing, not based on what anyone else considers nice or sexy or fashionable or stylish, etc. And certainly not for other women.
    It's enjoyable I think to get a bit of male attention, but I don't get ready on a night out thinking "Oh I'll wear such and such item of clothing as men find that really sexy" - I'll just wear what I think makes me look well, yet feel comfortable, and if that draws a bit of flattering attention, great; if it doesn't, I ain't gonna change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭Lavezzi

Women's urge to look physically attractive originates from a time in which they were dependent on men. Women had to compete against other women for the men's interest, the opposite of how it is today.

Since then, men have built up the civilization we live in today. Where women are valuable in the workplace and are no longer dependent on men. Yet, the women of previous generations have passed down this urge to look attractive to future generations of females. So you see, women's urge to look attractive is mostly not a conscious decision they make, but more so subconscious conditioning from their environment.

Lavezzi wrote: »
    Women's urge to look physically attractive originates from a time in which they were dependent on men. Women had to compete against other women for the men's interest, the opposite of how it is today.

Since then, men have built up the civilization we live in today. Where women are valuable in the workplace and are no longer dependent on men. Yet, the women of previous generations have passed down this urge to look attractive to future generations of females. So you see, women's urge to look attractive is mostly not a conscious decision they make, but more so subconscious conditioning from their environment.

I agree with this. Looking attractive is now a cultural value, and you either decide for yourself to do it or not - so it's rarely got anything to do with trying to please one group or another.

As for dressing according to the place you're going, I do take that into consideration, most definitely. It seems only sensible IMO. Nothing to do with women being there, just wanting to wear the appropriate attire for whatever situation (banquet, office, park, class, shopping, etc.)

Oh and Wompa1, I would think the reason women ask for fashion advice from other women isn't because they're dressing for women, but because they trust their opinions on fashion. If they knew a man who had a keen eye for fashion I'm sure they would ask him as well.

edited to add: I'm not Irish, but due to the utter ridiculousness of the OP, I disregarded the title and its restriction as to nationality. Please do feel free to disregard my responses. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭metrovelvet

Im not Irish but by blood so this doesnt apply to me either really, but I stopped caring a long time ago what anyone thought, but I think its time to start caring again. With all the lawnmowing and the diy and choo choos that I live with I sometimes dont know what I am anymore. I never really 'dressed up' as such for really anything, unless it was black tie or a coctail dress type of thing, but I come from a culture where looking like you try too hard looks worse than looking like a bum, so.... we tend to be very casual, casual smart is as far as it goes.

I've always dressed for comfort and I've always dressed for myself. I'd have a certain style that's been fairly consistant since my mid teens when I wore massive purple jean flares and a sheep skin coat and I had my blonde hair cut like Justin Frischmen from Elastica back in the day. I got laughed at a lot for wearing that kind of thing by boys in my town (I'm from a small town) and I hated but it was what I liked and I continued to wear it. I look at photos of myself back then and I think, "Jaysus Eve, you'd some balls!". I suppose I could've succumbed to what other girls were wearing but it's what I liked. I still think I looked very cool.

I still continue to dress with that in mind. I want to look a bit different. I like lots of colour and I like cool dresses with some boots. I can't walk in heels but wedges are popular here in Spain and anyone can walk in them. I never wear something that I don't feel comfy in. Saying that, I don't dress like a frump. I'd pick dresses that show my figure and I suppose subconciously, that's the side of me looking for male attention. I'd also emphasis the boobs when I go out, not have them hanging out but just so they're a little more obvious. Make up...I only wear mascara and recently, some lipstick. I used to be a bit of a purist about it but now I've loosened up a bit...I still can't apply it but mascara and lipstick I can do and sometimes some eyeliner.

How I dress attracts the kind of guy I'm into. I like alternativey kind of fellas...musicians, arty guys, readers. That's my type and I've never gone outside that. I tend to attract those kinds of guys by how I look and none of them have ever asked me to slap on the very high-heels and short short dress. I genuinely don't want the attention of all men, just the men I like. I generally don't have a problem with that as I suppose I like comfortable in my own skin because that's how I feel.

I agree with this. Looking attractive is now a cultural value, and you either decide for yourself to do it or not - so it's rarely got anything to do with trying to please one group or another.

As for dressing according to the place you're going, I do take that into consideration, most definitely. It seems only sensible IMO. Nothing to do with women being there, just wanting to wear the appropriate attire for whatever situation (banquet, office, park, class, shopping, etc.)

Oh and Wompa1, I would think the reason women ask for fashion advice from other women isn't because they're dressing for women, but because they trust their opinions on fashion. If they knew a man who had a keen eye for fashion I'm sure they would ask him as well.

edited to add: I'm not Irish, but due to the utter ridiculousness of the OP, I disregarded the title and its restriction as to nationality. Please do feel free to disregard my responses. :)

Oooh you're not Irish? Where are you from? Bleedin' foreigners coming on here taking over our forums :mad::)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭IrishEyes19

Have to say I found this survey interesting if not very surprising. Personally as a lad I'd be prepared to wear a tutu if it meant getting more attention from the opposite sex however ladies seem to be the complete opposite. There are countless female fashion fads that are in my (and many a fellow male's) humble opinion ridiculous: orange tans, dangly earrings, those MC hammer style baggy pants ('Harem pants' i'm told they are called), dungarees with braces to name just a few. This obviously isnt just an Irish phenonomon as those four yokes on Sex in the City proved.

Speaking as a woman, I had no idea I was performing to an audience or that our dress style had to match a certain criteria to please...........pretty sure theres a certain ancient profession that caters to that :rolleyes:

I wear what I like, what I think I look good in and its not my intention to please anyone in regards to my style. looking good and knowing what suits you, and therefore looking good to the opposite sex, is based on individual taste anyway.

Eve_Dublin wrote: »
    Oooh you're not Irish? Where are you from? Bleedin' foreigners coming on here taking over our forums :mad::)

American here. :o

I know I talk an awful lot but I swear I wasn't trying to take over! :(;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Speaking as an Irishman, I have spoken to many women (mostly Irish) and have yet to have a conversation with their dress / shoes / hairstyle.
    Nobody of the opposite sex has yet asked my shirt or my shoes out on a date but I'm sure they'll oblige. I also wear trousers but we'll leave them out. Jeans have no imagination.

American here. :o

I know I talk an awful lot but I swear I wasn't trying to take over! :(;)

Thank goodness for the chatty yankydoodles keeping things moving in here. You're most welcome and great to get a different perspective on discussions.