Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

waterfowl shooting question

• 18-07-2011 04:48PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭

Lads, new to waterfowl shooting. Just wanted to ask yous what is the story in shooting waterfowl at the lakes (good few lakes around me area). Do you need special permission, for it? Permission from who ever owns the land near the lake or what? Just want to have an idea before 1st of september comes. Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

zlezlius wrote: »
    Lads, new to waterfowl shooting. Just wanted to ask yous what is the story in shooting waterfowl at the lakes (good few lakes around me area). Do you need special permission, for it? Permission from who ever owns the land near the lake or what? Just want to have an idea before 1st of september comes. Thanks.

http://www.npws.ie/media/npws/publications/legaldocs/media,3685,en.pdf

List of State Lakes
    Lake County
    Allen Leitrim/Roscommon
    Arrow Sligo
    Belhavel Leitrim
    Bimerkey Cavan
    Boderg (Bofin) Leitrim
    Brackley Cavan
    Corrib Galway
    Currane Kerry
    Derg Donegal
    Derg Clare
    Derravaragh Westmeath
    Ennel Westmeath
    Esk Donegal
    Feeag Mayo
    Forbes Longford
    Garadice Leitrim
    Gill Sligo/Leitrim
    Gulladoo Leitrim
    Kee Roscommon
    Kinale, Gowna Longford
    Macnean Upper Leitrim
    Melvin Leitrim
    Oughter Cavan
    Owel Westmeath
    Ree Roscommon
    Rinn Leitrim
    Scannal Leitrim
    Sheelin Cavan/Westmeath
    Sillan Cavan
    Suir Leitrim
    Tacker Cavan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭zlezlius

Thanks Tack. So basicly I've to fill out and send out the form. Do they send some sort of letter or cert? How long does it take? Can the application be denied for some reason?

Allow 10 "working" days for return of form.
    I've never heard of a refusal, they just can keep tabs on who shoots what lake etc.

The lakes that listed there alright. What about other smaller lakes and ponds that not on the list. Does it mean that you don't need to apply permission for shooting there or that you cannot shoot there?:(

My understanding is, if they are not on the list, that they are classed like rivers (open to all)
    Most of the Lakes mentioned would also be tourist hotspots, so I am guessing they would like to keep tabs on how many guys with Shotties are on the water

Just apply now and forget about it!
    Don't depress us anymore talking about what to do when the Summer that has never started is over:(

My understanding is, if they are not on the list, that they are classed like rivers (open to all)
    Most of the Lakes mentioned would also be tourist hotspots, so I am guessing they would like to keep tabs on how many guys with Shotties are on the water

Just apply now and forget about it!
    Don't depress us anymore talking about what to do when the Summer that has never started is over:(
    Tell me about it:mad:...
    Thanks for the info Tack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

Zlezlius, just a bit of info, you'll still need permission from a landowner to get to and from your shooting position if your not using public access.
    @tack, are you sure rivers are 'open to all'? I wouldn like to bet my licence on it!

Dusty87 wrote: »
    Zlezlius, just a bit of info, you'll still need permission from a landowner to get to and from your shooting position if your not using public access.
    @tack, are you sure rivers are 'open to all'? I wouldn like to bet my licence on it!

Of course landowners permission goes without saying ;)

you'd be surprised how many wouldn think of it.
    Whats this rivers 'open to all'. You sure about that??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

As I understand it he's right, though more properly phrased it would be that there's no documentation required to shoot over rivers the way there is over state lakes. The legalities of shooting do of course require the right to access the bank via landowners' permissions.

Friend of mine's Father owns a large stretch of lake shore, he has No-Shooting signs up yet people still go their in spite of him.
    The leave empty shells every where and it pisses him off.

He lets me go as he knows I pick up after myself and will drop him in a duck if I get one.

Place is full of Mallard all year round.

Rivers open to all I am fairly sure of, although I think the Shannon you need a foreshore as it's hard to say where lough Ree ends and the Shannon begins etc

Anyway, it's a simple form to fill out and lasts 5 years so just fill it out and forget about it, next time You need worry you'll be pushin 30 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

That's an application for a foreshore license, the fore shore is the area of the shore that is between the high and low tides can be inland or on the coast.

Shooting lakes is a different story, you'ld want to find out who owns it or has the shooting or fishing rights.

That's an application for a foreshore license, the fore shore is the area of the shore that is between the high and low tides can be inland or on the coast.

Shooting lakes is a different story, you'ld want to find out who owns it or has the shooting or fishing rights.

High water mark on the shannon callows can be 2 miles in both directions from low water mark :eek:

I spent many a happy winter boating across farmland :D
    Although one has to be careful as the outboard can come entangled in barbie wire!

I have a photo somewhere of 2 swans swimming across a flooded road down home :eek:
    Have foreshore, have permissions have no problems, except rain of course :(

A long way from one end of lough Ree in winter to the other in a downpour

Friend of mine's Father owns a large stretch of lake shore, he has No-Shooting signs up yet people still go their in spite of him.
    The leave empty shells every where and it pisses him off.

He lets me go as he knows I pick up after myself and will drop him in a duck if I get one.

Place is full of Mallard all year round.

Rivers open to all I am fairly sure of, although I think the Shannon you need a foreshore as it's hard to say where lough Ree ends and the Shannon begins etc

Anyway, it's a simple form to fill out and lasts 5 years so just fill it out and forget about it, next time You need worry you'll be pushin 30 :D

I have a foreshore a couple of year now. My question was regard rivers. Are you talking about using a boat?? My understanding is, say, you want to walk the brosna, you'll need permission from every landowner who's land runs into the river.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭blackstairsboy

For what it is worth dusty I think that you are correct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭jap gt

i was always told that a certain amount of land along a rivers bank was state owned, to allow bailifs to walk the banks, thats what i was told anyway not sure if there is truth in it or not

jap gt wrote: »
    i was always told that a certain amount of land along a rivers bank was state owned, to allow bailifs to walk the banks, thats what i was told anyway not sure if there is truth in it or not

i believed that too and brought up the question here. Cant find the thread but thought we came to the conclusion you needed landowners permission.
    Edit: search for 'Duck shooting on river'.

Dusty of couse you need permission to get to a river bank, but not the river bank it self. I said that goes without saying did I not??

OPW Clean the rivers and drains and nobody can stop them, although they are being more Careful about it these days

Dusty of couse you need permission to get to a river bank, but not the river bank it self. I said that goes without saying did I not??

tack, yes you did say that. And i replied to it. Thats not what i asked. Everyone else understands it. Now read the question again. Are you 100%sure you can walk the bank of any river without the landowners (who's land runs to the river) permission shooting duck??

You can walk the river bank, the old law was 3' of the bank, however that is not 3 metres and that was averyold law like many laws totally ignored today.

I understand Fully Dusty, I thought I made it very clear.
    Where it becomes cloudy is the interpretation of the high water mark, very hard to prove/disprove you are on the bank and not private land.

You remember from geography that the bank is part of the river, and only our rivers run free ;)
    There is not a river in the country that you could walk the entire bank so invariably you cross farmers land so HAVE permission!

You can walk the river bank, the old law was 3' of the bank, however that is not 3 metres and that was averyold law like many laws totally ignored today.

I understand Fully Dusty, I thought I made it very clear.
    Where it becomes cloudy is the interpretation of the high water mark, very hard to prove/disprove you are on the bank and not private land.

You remember from geography that the bank is part of the river, and only our rivers run free ;)
    There is not a river in the country that you could walk the entire bank so invariably you cross farmers land so HAVE permission!

no you didn answer it before then. what about fishing clubs who have the rights to river banks? Or rivers not affected by a tide. You say a 3ft rule, iv heard 5?? Its seems its not as clear as an open to all. Still i wouldn like to chance walking down a bank firing at birds because of a 3 ft rule on a bank. .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 Arthur.

I dont know if Id fancy shooting on rivers. Ive got permission from the farmer himself to fish/shoot on his 40 acre stretch. But I know for a fact he wouldnt be well impressed when the fishing club start getting on to him that Im out shooting ducks in the river 30 yards up from some lad flyfishing. Even though youd be shooting in the opposite direction from them.

If someone got annoyed imagine the hassle they could kickup with the gards (and you know what the gards are like when something happens and youve got a gun- the shooter IS ALWAYS in the wrong), theyd be giving out about shooting in public, no respect for safety of others and thats before you even get to the ethics of shooting over water. I think you'd be better skipping that river shooting to be honest.

no you didn answer it before then. what about fishing clubs who have the rights to river banks? Or rivers not affected by a tide. You say a 3ft rule, iv heard 5?? Its seems its not as clear as an open to all. Still i wouldn like to chance walking down a bank firing at birds because of a 3 ft rule on a bank. .

Dusty
    All Rivers have a high water mark, it's the winter high or tide high.

I never said it was clear, no law that is hundreds of years old is......
    Especially laws pre-dating the state. (3 foot,5 foot we are in metric now anyway!)

To keep things simple have permission on land, and state permission on foreshore.....

Arthur. wrote: »
    I dont know if Id fancy shooting on rivers. Ive got permission from the farmer himself to fish/shoot on his 40 acre stretch. But I know for a fact he wouldnt be well impressed when the fishing club start getting on to him that Im out shooting ducks in the river 30 yards up from some lad flyfishing. Even though youd be shooting in the opposite direction from them.

If someone got annoyed imagine the hassle they could kickup with the gards (and you know what the gards are like when something happens and youve got a gun- the shooter IS ALWAYS in the wrong), theyd be giving out about shooting in public, no respect for safety of others and thats before you even get to the ethics of shooting over water. I think you'd be better skipping that river shooting to be honest.

Shot on rivers drains and lakes all my life.....
    We have equal rights

To keep things simple have permission on land, and state permission on foreshore.....

which i do, and wouldn chance a 3ft or whatever rule unless i could see it written in law, which noone has shown. Even then i would seek permission. It sounded in your first post it was ok as its 'open to all'. I know permission goes without saying but others may not have thought that by the post.

Fair enough, I should not have made the assumption that everyone would know to ask for permission to gain access to rivers, point taken

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭dCorbus

Just to throw a spanner in the works: Aren't the "sporting rights" to some stretches of river owned by certain people (like the fishing rights might be) and it's their permission you might need to obtain too?

Or is this something I've just heard which is not true?

There's a whole bunch of legislation and law dealing with rivers, lakes, ditches, canals, drains, etc. (Arterial Drainage Acts, Arterial Maintenance Acts, and that doesn't include any specific land law relating to waterways) - I'd say there is a definite answer to the question the OP asks, but its probably "It depends" - You should really find out the exact situation regarding the specific piece of land you wish to shoot from, the specific lands you need to cross to get to that stand, and the specific river you wish to shoot over - and don't forget the landowner the other side of the river who's land you may be shooting into. Assuming a general catch-all may not be correct.

Although, this is not an area I have any experience of, so if anyone has the definitive answer, fire away.

Just some food for thought.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Spunk84

why not get a rubber dingy and float down where you wanna shoot LOL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭landkeeper

i'd safely say that if you havn't got express permission to be where you are with a gun ,no matter wether it's on the bank of a river or a lake and you are shooting or shooting at something ,you are putting yourself in a potentialy nasty situation

afaik anywhere you shoot ,you have to have permission to do so otherwise you are tecnically in breach of your firearms licence and risk losing it if a landowner or sporting rights owner(not allways the same ) makes a complaint to the ptb