Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should the Vatican state's ambassador in Ireland be expelled?

• 15-07-2011 1:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭

I know there's a thread on this general issue, but it has no poll.

Given the revelations that the Vatican state instructed its bishops (employees) in Ireland to ignore Irish state legislation and report directly to the Vatican state when allegations of child abuse against Irish children were made, do you think the Vatican state's representative in Ireland, the papal nuncio, should be expelled?

Charles Flanagan, son of the infamous diehard Roman Catholic Oliver J. Flanagan, has asked that this be done. I couldn't agree more with the man. Is there any reason why that state's representative in this republic should not be expelled?

Should the Vatican state's ambassador in Ireland be expelled? 176 votes

Yes, immediately and permanently
    0%
    Yes, until the Vatican state agrees to respect Irish law
    48%
    VenomSpearBottle_of_SmokeDermoPete M.rainbow kirbyaligator_amhamsterboyRichieCsmokingmanWibbsDavei141GigiwaggaZebra3Duggy747smellslikeshoesPaparazzoviotao1s1nPogMoThoin 85 votes
    No
    51%
    hmmmsickleomahaidRed AlertPherekydesDuddy[Deleted User]DoesNotComputeDementoRRaiserkraggykirvingOtaconMickeroostrobePatricidesinkCorkfeenhatrickpatrickKnasher 91 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

Unless he's guilty of an actual crime then no.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Send the scumbag packing..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

No
    Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

No i think we should sue the Vatican for the destruction of Irish peoples lives since the foundation of our state.

About 120 Billion should cover it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,218 ✭✭✭Tazz T

and the rest of the catholic church should go with him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

No
    Unless he owns a chipper and can employ a few hundred thousand people.

Otherwise .....ciao !!

No i think we should sue the Vatican for the destruction of Irish peoples lives since the foundation of our state.

Ya kidding? They won't pay up what they already owe!

No
    Seachmall wrote: »

'He' is not the person guilty of a crime. 'He' is the representative of a country that conspiring to protect rapists and paedophiles at the expense of the safety of Irish children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,126 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I don't see what good expelling him would do. It won't change what happened, and the Vatican will just replace him with someone else. Besides, I heard on the radio yesterday that he will be leaving soon anyway. Headed for Prague I think.
    Rumors are circulating in Rome that Leanza will be reassigned to Prague in the Czech Republic, in an attempt to halt the embarrassment that would result from his expulsion.

http://mx.noticias.yahoo.com/ireland-moving-compel-church-report-sexual-abuse-183327580.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭usernamegoes

No
    I don't see what good expelling him would do. It won't change what happened, and the Vatican will just replace him with someone else. Besides, I heard on the radio yesterday that he will be leaving soon anyway. Headed for Prague I think.

http://mx.noticias.yahoo.com/ireland-moving-compel-church-report-sexual-abuse-183327580.html

I think the point is that it would be the office that would be expelled until such a time as we wish to reinstate diplomatic relations with the Vatican. Not necessarily because of his misbehaviors

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

No
    I don't see what good expelling him would do. It won't change what happened, and the Vatican will just replace him with someone else.
    I would have thought expelling the ambassador would mean your effectively expelling that office not the person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

As he's almost called the Papal Noncio, he should feck off.

I think the point is that it would be the office that would be expelled until such a time as we wish to reinstate diplomatic relations with the Vatican. Not necessarily because of his misbehaviors

Ah, well in that case then sure, the office should be expelled indefinitely. I can't see it happening though.. I can only imagine that if it was a possibility then it would have already happened, or at least the question would not need to be asked.

No
    ejmaztec wrote: »
    As he's almost called the Papal Noncio, he should feck off.

Hasn't gotten any funnier since the first time you said it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

No
    I don't see what good expelling him would do. It won't change what happened, and the Vatican will just replace him with someone else.

I voted more for the expulsion of the position from the country, not specifically the man.

Like with a diplomat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,776 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

No, it sets a dangerous precedent. Who's next? British ambassador?

I do like the Vatican paying compensation idea, although I think it should go directly to the victims.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

No
    Ikky Poo2 wrote: »

Eh? The precedent is already there. He's due to be heading to Rome soon anyway to bring the Cloyne report in person. He should be travelling on a one-way ticket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

No
    It doesn't set precedent, it's been done before for other countries.

Wazdakka wrote: »
    I voted more for the expulsion of the position from the country, not specifically the man.

Like with a diplomat.

Yeah, I misunderstood the question. Expulsion of the office makes far more sense than expulsion of just the individual currently filling the role.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Seloth

Although I wouldnt support it...

I'd rather first see every priest expelled from Ireland than the vatican ambassador.He is a foreign representative and be he a priest or not he is still a ambassador.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,776 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

ScumLord wrote: »
    It doesn't set precedent, it's been done before for other countries.

My point is, how many other ambassadors could we kick out over historical reasons?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

...I do like the Vatican paying compensation idea, although I think it should go directly to the victims.
    So far they won't pay up what they already owe the state and as for what they have paid up, some have the hard neck to do the following: http://www.secularnewsdaily.com/2010/03/03/catholic-church-asks-parishioners-to-cover-costs-of-sex-abuse-lawsuits/

No

The precedent is well established in international public law for the expulsion of ambassadors. If the British State was involved in the same criminal acts and cover ups that the Vatican is then I would hope the same might be done, taking all other matters into consideration.

Seloth wrote: »
    Although I wouldnt support it...

I'd rather first see every priest expelled from Ireland than the vatican ambassador.He is a foreign representative and be he a priest or not he is still a ambassador.

An ambassador for the 'country' who refused to acknowledge that anything bad was happening and who gave orders for Irish law to be ignored.

No
    My point is, how many other ambassadors could we kick out over historical reasons?

It wouldn't be over historical reasons, it would be over the actions of his direct predecessor in the office of Papal Nuncio. He's welcome back when some serious action is taken.

We have expelled embassy staff over other issues.

Not kicking them out just for that - but because they won't obey the laws of the land?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

prinz wrote: »
    Hasn't gotten any funnier since the first time you said it :D

:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Seloth

An ambassador for the 'country' who refused to acknowledge that anything bad was happening and who gave orders for Irish law to be ignored.

I'd ask that he be changed but would certainly not cut off diplomatic relations with them,even if they are such a small nation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

ahh the slippery slope... a scoundrels debate crutch.

Seloth wrote: »
    I'd ask that he be changed but would certainly not cut off diplomatic relations with them,even if they are such a small nation.

Do we really have any proper diplomatic ties with them, though? Other than ones based on religiosity? Something which our political/legal systems should be completely separate from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

No

A great idea, however, the state itself was complicit and turned a blind eye to the abuses committed by the church for decades.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,291 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Do we really have any proper diplomatic ties with them, though? Other than ones based on religiosity?
    This. I'd kick them out and withdraw our rep in the Vatican as a protest and a message that for too long this nation has been under the yoke of these primitives that openly harbour evil little "men" in their midst. Harsh? Maybe. Not too far from the truth though IMHO.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

throw the animal out now

'He' is not the person guilty of a crime. 'He' is the representative of a country that conspiring to protect rapists and paedophiles at the expense of the safety of Irish children.

And as long as we recognize the Vatican as a state that we need to interact with we need him.

Thats like saying as long as we recognise Zimbabwe, we need to interact with Mugabe too!

We can just ignore the fools in either case - and/or make them pay for the screw-ups!

No

Why would you need to interact with a country whose only 'export' is religion ?

Why would you need to interact with a country who deliberately protected their paedophile and rapist employees at the expense of the safety of the children of your country ?

This is also a country who has had far too much influence in the day to day lives of the people of Ireland. This country has influenced and interfered with the laws of Ireland and has blatantly disregarded others.

Why would you need to interact with a country whose only 'export' is religion ?

Why would you need to interact with a country who deliberately protected their paedophile and rapist employees at the expense of the safety of the children of your country ?

This is also a country who has had far too much influence in the day to day lives of the people of Ireland. This country has influenced and interfered with the laws of Ireland and has blatantly disregarded others.

So the point being made is to stop recognizing the Vatican? I've no problem with that, but until that happens we need to interact with them (they owe us a lot of money).

No
    So the point being made is to stop recognizing the Vatican? I've no problem with that, but until that happens we need to interact with them (they owe us a lot of money).

The idea is that they are expelled until they are able to follow Irish (and International) law.

As for keeping them around for 'money', how much does the church own in Ireland ? Imagine what could be done by freezing all of their assets within the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

Yes. But we must go even further. We must declare war on the Vatican State.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

I'm wondering what a country has to do before Ireland will actually retaliate with a measure such as this. Agents of the Vatican rape our children, ursurp our laws and we do nothing.

Ireland needs to send a message to the Vatican that this is serious.

No
    Perhaps even trying to get support from other states on a UN motion to remove recognition of the Vatican's sovereign entity status to stop them using diplomatic privileges to hide evidence and to protect criminals from extraditions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭Knight who says Meh

No

He's the official representative of a foreign state which has ignored our state law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

No

The Vatican state instructing its bishops in 2001 to report allegations to it and not to report it to the Irish state unless the Vatican state authorised it is not exactly what most people would understand by the word "historical".

Similarly, the Cloyne Report investigated how the bishop in that diocese dealt with allegations of abuse until the year 2009 and it found that this employee of the Vatican state was also not reporting allegations to the Irish state. In fact, one of the principal findings of the Cloyne Report is that between the years 1996 and 2009, two-thirds of all allegations of child abuse were not passed on to An Garda Síochána. Indefensible, utterly indefensible.

The crimes which we are talking about are not exactly "historical" in the commonly accepted understanding of the word. Viking raids - they were "historical" and in fairness I don't think anybody any time soon is going to be inspired by the expulsion of the Vatican ambassador to call for the expulsion of the Danish and Norwegian ambassadors in 2011 because of Viking raids a millennium ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Just to throw in that the Eucharistic Congress is in Dublin in 2012, goes to different cities all over the world
    Events will be held in the RDS in Dublin and the closing ceremony in Croke Park.

It's a huge event and while it was a different Ireland decades ago, the 1932 Eucharistic Congress was one of the largest events in post independence Ireland
    According to a story in this week’s Catholic weekly, The Tablet, the attendance of Pope Benedict at the 50th International Eucharistic Congress in Dublin next year is looking increasingly likely

I don't realy have a point to make, just this is a very large event for Ireland and well, you're posting about expelling representatives. Summer 2012 there will be many more here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

No
    The expulsion of the Vatican representative is not the expulsion of said person.

When countries are at loggerheads over something, they expel ambassadors. The ambassador has not, in most cases, done anything wrong. It is an expression of grievance with the country that he/she represents. That is widely accepted and nobody in diplomatic circles would consider it to be a personal affront to the individual in question.

The Vatican's representative should be treated the same. That is, expelled due to the incredible wrong doing of the organisation to which he belongs.

When will we say "enough is enough"? We should be doing much more than expelling representatives.

It's time for the CAB, fines, taxes, taking away power in the guise of our educational system and more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

No
    RichieC wrote: »
    ahh the slippery slope... a scoundrels debate crutch.

First they came for the paedophiles but I did not speak up, for I was not a paedophile......or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

No
    I am googling ('googling' is not yet a word on this Google Chrome spellchecker!) for precedents in the EU where one EU state has expelled a diplomat from another EU state. I know the Vatican state is not in the EU but....

There are plenty of examples of EU states expelling ambassadors from non-EU states - most recently Libya - but does anybody have a precedent of one EU, or even one European, state expelling the ambassador from another EU, or even European, state?

I can't even find that the Irish state expelled the British ambassador in February 1972, even though the British embassy in Dublin was burned to the ground on 2 February 1972 (3 days after Bloody Sunday).

Any European precedents, anybody?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭joseph brand

Biggins wrote: »
    So far they won't pay up what they already owe the state and as for what they have paid up, some have the hard neck to do the following: http://www.secularnewsdaily.com/2010/03/03/catholic-church-asks-parishioners-to-cover-costs-of-sex-abuse-lawsuits/

That's an interesting read, that link. Unbelievable, Oh wait, it's the Catholic church, I CAN believe it. ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

No
    Yes, if any other members club in this country decided it wasn't going to follow Irish law their leaders would be in jail.