If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The word "craic"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,653 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Not as bad as the Northies.

I worked in Armagh for 3 months years ago and every morning all the lads would say "what about ya hai?", to which I invariably replied with "f**k all".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Needler

dilbert2 wrote: »
    Just wondering if I'm alone in hating this word, it gets on my nerves whenever I hear, particularly in sentences such as "the craic was mighty".

NO

Craic is a great word.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Needler

I have no problem with Irish speakers using it, as it obviously makes sense to use it as a word in an Irish language expression, where I’m sure it sounds appropriate as well. I just think it sounds so stupid when it is used in an English sentence.

I suppose the Queen's English needs to be kept pure while slowly wiping out all the other languages excluding chinese maybe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭Griffen262

Ahh OP ya Jackeen!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,227 ✭✭✭Solair

The one thing to remember is that when you are on your way back from Mexico into the United States, you should NEVER tell a border guard that you were "down in Mexico for the craic".

A college friend of mine made this mistake!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

I don't know, it's just a personal little thing. I know it's just a harmless little word, and it kind of makes sense as a greeting, but I just hate the way I often hear it delivered, in a long, drawn out "weellll?" The sound of it just bugs me!

HAH! you don't want to go down to Waterford much then:

"Welllll boi, how's it gooooooin'?"

"Wellll girl, how're ya? whas the craic?" "Goin' to T &H Doolin's for a pint. ya comin?"

"Ah wudga go waaaay boi, I'm schtarvin, I'm havin' a crisp blaah"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Greentopia wrote: »
    HAH! you don't want to go down to Waterford much then:

"Welllll boi, how's it gooooooin'?"

"Wellll girl, how're ya? whas the craic?" "Goin' to T &H Doolin's for a pint. ya comin?"

"Ah wudga go waaaay boi, I'm schtarvin, I'm havin' a crisp blaah"

I know I should be more accepting of other counties' slang, but there's just something about "wellll" that just gets to me!

I'm sure some nice Galway shlang like:

"Howya feen, any craic? I'm after seen a film there that was pure class like, jaknowwatamean like?" (half of this is probably used everywhere in the country,but it's so rare to here some proper pure class Galwegian these days I've forgotten half of it :()

sounds equally strange/annoying to some ears :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

I know I should be more accepting of other counties' slang, but there's just something about "wellll" that just gets to me!

I'm sure some nice Galway shlang like:

"Howya feen, any craic? I'm after seen a film there that was pure class like, jaknowwatamean like?" (half of this is probably used everywhere in the country,but it's so rare to here some proper pure class Galwegian these days I've forgotten half of it :()

sounds equally strange/annoying to some ears :)

The 'howya feen' is a new one on me. I forget half the Waterford ones too until I go back down there.
    "Get it in te ya Cynthia" is another one I remember-meaning get the drink down your neck.
    We're a classy people :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,575 ✭✭✭NTMK

ah craic isnt as bad as using banter in every second sentence, every time i hear someone use that word i want to knock them out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Terry wrote: »
    I doubt that you are alone lol?

On a personal note lol, I use it lol. Not that often, but it pops up sometimes lol?

It would usually be along the lines of: 'any craic? lol' or 'what's the craic? lol'?
    It don't really see a problem with it lol?

Is there something funny we should know about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

Just wondering if I'm alone in hating this word, it gets on my nerves whenever I hear, particularly in sentences such as "the craic was mighty".
    You're minus craic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭Hasmunch

Craic is fine, don't mind it at all.

Using the word, "random" however, i detest!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭tdv123

Charlie Sheen loves a bit of the oul crack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 peaders yard

tdv123 wrote: »
    Charlie Sheen loves a bit of the oul crack.

I hear Senator Norris enjoys a bit of crack as well. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Luxie

In this partcular instance I hate the word 'mighty' more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,566 ✭✭✭Funglegunk

I don't know, it's just a personal little thing. I know it's just a harmless little word, and it kind of makes sense as a greeting, but I just hate the way I often hear it delivered, in a long, drawn out "weellll?" The sound of it just bugs me!

Stay away from Dundalk then...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭dee.

It bothers me so much. My friends hated it too and we used to joke around and say "well any craic with ya lad/Beour" every time we seen each other but even taking the p1ss, it was still very annoying to hear that word!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭markesmith

Triffic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭h57xiucj2z946q

What's the craic?

Is a forced division between two masses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,712 ✭✭✭YFlyer

markesmith wrote: »
    Triffic.

Arry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,826 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Ah ya can bate the wife but ya cant bate the craic!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

I dont think theres any words that annoy me. Except maybe 'modern day druid'

also craic originated in england if anyone was interested. probably not.

I use it all the time as a greeting and when describing "fun" etc. Brilliant word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Some craic......an elephants fanny :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Richard wrote: »
    What I want to know is, why did the spelling change from "crack" to "craic" in the 70s?

its a originally a word from the scots dialect. "craic" is liek a gaelicisation of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

The craic is frigged in this thread. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 Look whos talking

generally the use of words don't annoy me as much as getting up on a Monday morning ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

SQUAW!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭Opelfruit

I have no problem with Irish speakers using it, as it obviously makes sense to use it as a word in an Irish language expression, where I’m sure it sounds appropriate as well. I just think it sounds so stupid when it is used in an English sentence.
    It's an English word, the roots of which are firmly in the English language such as "cracking a joke". It's various forms went out of usage in other English speaking countries but due to a process known as colonial lag it continued to be used in Ireland. As there is no "K" in the Irish language its spelling had to be changed for use in that medium, hence "crack" becoming "craic" in that language. Usage of the word, in the Irish context, is becoming popular again in Britain.