Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The word "craic"

• 11-07-2011 10:56pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 364 ✭✭

Just wondering if I'm alone in hating this word, it gets on my nerves whenever I hear, particularly in sentences such as "the craic was mighty".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭daddydick

Yeah it can be fairly annoying alright, bit of a first world problem though so I think I can deal with it. I get more annoyed when another bill comes through the door :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

+1....................ah f*ck sakes google!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

I doubt that you are alone lol?

On a personal note lol, I use it lol. Not that often, but it pops up sometimes lol?

It would usually be along the lines of: 'any craic? lol' or 'what's the craic? lol'?
    It don't really see a problem with it lol?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

Hate when people say "whats the craic?" What the hell am I supposed to say to that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

I don't mind it used to mean "fun" so much, but I hate when the word is simply used on its own as a greeting.

It's more annoying than "well?"

I'm sure sometime in my life I've heard a conversation that began:

Johnny: "Well?"
    Mick: "Craic?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Hate when people say "whats the craic?" What the hell am I supposed to say to that!

Feck all

"mighty" would be the correct answer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

Whats wrong with "how are you?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

Is "feck" only used in Ireland?

Not if you're abroad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

Ah shhhure we're Irish, we're great craic.

Hup! Hup!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭massdebater

Any other craic OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Xivilai

The skulls I craiced in my drunken rage were mighty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Just try to immediately mentally convert the phrase to a culturally neutral and inoffensive expression of jollity.

Or sew up your ears whenever you leave Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 867 ✭✭✭Mr. Denton

American-Africans of the 1980's ruined this word with their fondness for "crack cocaine".
    They have a history of ruining words. They did the same with the word "nagger". That used to be our word for making fun of them. Now it's useless!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

It's more annoying than "well?"

I'm sure sometime in my life I've heard a conversation that began:

Johnny: "Well?"

What's wrong with well? :D

Standard greeting in Tipperary, and it's a reply too

"Well?"
    "Howrya, are you well?"
    "Well"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭Daniel S

"What's the craic, kid?"

That really pisses me off.

Jesus Christ Holy Mother of Joseph...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭jaffacakesyum

mikemac wrote: »

"Well?"
    "Howrya, are you well?"
    "Well"

Oh God, that's the most annoying greeting ever. Thankfully, no Dubs do it :p

''the craic is mighty' just makes me cringe! But I don't see a problem with saying something was 'great craic' or using 'What's the craic?' as a greeting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭De Hipster

Ah the craic was ninety...in the Isle of Man:

http://youtu.be/HislZDHyTIg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Shtory kid, any craic wit ya? is the usual greeting call of a particular mate of mine. Really gets under my skin, especially when he sends it to me in a text msg.

mikemac wrote: »

"Well?"
    "Howrya, are you well?"
    "Well"

I don't know, it's just a personal little thing. I know it's just a harmless little word, and it kind of makes sense as a greeting, but I just hate the way I often hear it delivered, in a long, drawn out "weellll?" The sound of it just bugs me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,229 ✭✭✭robman60

I only dislike it if it's used in the same sentence as "mighty". Reason being whenever my brother rings someone after a night out he begins the conversation with "Well X" "How's it going" ...... "Ya, was out last night, the craic was mighty". All while rubbing the back of his head.

I approve of "craic" in most other contexts though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,439 ✭✭✭Richard

What I want to know is, why did the spelling change from "crack" to "craic" in the 70s?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

I have gotten a few raised eyebrows from both Americans and Australians over the years due to my usage and timing of the word. American women tend to think its cocaine your on about wheras the men think its crack as in ass. Australians tend to think is coke also.

Any craic lads?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 755 ✭✭✭sea_monkey

its an acronym of course

Ceol(Music)
    Rince(Dance)
    Amhrain(Songs)
    Inis Scealta(Storytelling)
    Cainte(Gossip)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,229 ✭✭✭robman60

Also, I remember when I first joined YouTube (first real Internet experience!) I posted on the page of this guy I had been talking with "What's da craic wiv ya man?" The reply was a number of question marks...

The sad thing is I wasn't even trying to confuse him. It was a valuable lesson in multi-culturalism!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭Jess16

I have mixed emotions about this word. I find it's use here in Ireland a little ubiquitous and grating but the minute I hear it abroad, I suddenly find myself with a silly, patriotic fondess for it :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

Are a isn't that why we have the young wans roaming the streets terrorising? Jaysus Paddy we never had it so bad in our day. H'ho you'd be right so you would.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

The OP is no craic at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 364 ✭✭dilbert2

sea_monkey wrote: »
    its an acronym of course

Ceol(Music)
    Rince(Dance)
    Amhrain(Songs)
    Inis Scealta(Storytelling)
    Cainte(Gossip)

I have no problem with Irish speakers using it, as it obviously makes sense to use it as a word in an Irish language expression, where I’m sure it sounds appropriate as well. I just think it sounds so stupid when it is used in an English sentence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Not as bad as the Northies.

I worked in Armagh for 3 months years ago and every morning all the lads would say "what about ya hai?", to which I invariably replied with "f**k all".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Needler

dilbert2 wrote: »
    Just wondering if I'm alone in hating this word, it gets on my nerves whenever I hear, particularly in sentences such as "the craic was mighty".

NO

Craic is a great word.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Needler

I have no problem with Irish speakers using it, as it obviously makes sense to use it as a word in an Irish language expression, where I’m sure it sounds appropriate as well. I just think it sounds so stupid when it is used in an English sentence.

I suppose the Queen's English needs to be kept pure while slowly wiping out all the other languages excluding chinese maybe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭Griffen262

Ahh OP ya Jackeen!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭Solair

The one thing to remember is that when you are on your way back from Mexico into the United States, you should NEVER tell a border guard that you were "down in Mexico for the craic".

A college friend of mine made this mistake!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

I don't know, it's just a personal little thing. I know it's just a harmless little word, and it kind of makes sense as a greeting, but I just hate the way I often hear it delivered, in a long, drawn out "weellll?" The sound of it just bugs me!

HAH! you don't want to go down to Waterford much then:

"Welllll boi, how's it gooooooin'?"

"Wellll girl, how're ya? whas the craic?" "Goin' to T &H Doolin's for a pint. ya comin?"

"Ah wudga go waaaay boi, I'm schtarvin, I'm havin' a crisp blaah"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Greentopia wrote: »
    HAH! you don't want to go down to Waterford much then:

"Welllll boi, how's it gooooooin'?"

"Wellll girl, how're ya? whas the craic?" "Goin' to T &H Doolin's for a pint. ya comin?"

"Ah wudga go waaaay boi, I'm schtarvin, I'm havin' a crisp blaah"

I know I should be more accepting of other counties' slang, but there's just something about "wellll" that just gets to me!

I'm sure some nice Galway shlang like:

"Howya feen, any craic? I'm after seen a film there that was pure class like, jaknowwatamean like?" (half of this is probably used everywhere in the country,but it's so rare to here some proper pure class Galwegian these days I've forgotten half of it :()

sounds equally strange/annoying to some ears :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

I know I should be more accepting of other counties' slang, but there's just something about "wellll" that just gets to me!

I'm sure some nice Galway shlang like:

"Howya feen, any craic? I'm after seen a film there that was pure class like, jaknowwatamean like?" (half of this is probably used everywhere in the country,but it's so rare to here some proper pure class Galwegian these days I've forgotten half of it :()

sounds equally strange/annoying to some ears :)

The 'howya feen' is a new one on me. I forget half the Waterford ones too until I go back down there.
    "Get it in te ya Cynthia" is another one I remember-meaning get the drink down your neck.
    We're a classy people :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,575 ✭✭✭NTMK

ah craic isnt as bad as using banter in every second sentence, every time i hear someone use that word i want to knock them out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Terry wrote: »
    I doubt that you are alone lol?

On a personal note lol, I use it lol. Not that often, but it pops up sometimes lol?

It would usually be along the lines of: 'any craic? lol' or 'what's the craic? lol'?
    It don't really see a problem with it lol?

Is there something funny we should know about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

You're minus craic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Hasmunch

Craic is fine, don't mind it at all.

Using the word, "random" however, i detest!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭tdv123

Charlie Sheen loves a bit of the oul crack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 peaders yard

tdv123 wrote: »
    Charlie Sheen loves a bit of the oul crack.

I hear Senator Norris enjoys a bit of crack as well. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Luxie

In this partcular instance I hate the word 'mighty' more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,566 ✭✭✭Funglegunk

Stay away from Dundalk then...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭dee.

It bothers me so much. My friends hated it too and we used to joke around and say "well any craic with ya lad/Beour" every time we seen each other but even taking the p1ss, it was still very annoying to hear that word!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭markesmith

Triffic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭h57xiucj2z946q

What's the craic?

Is a forced division between two masses.