Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How long of a wait is acceptable & unacceptable to have sex whilst dating?

• 11-07-2011 12:57am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭

Was talking to a friend eariler and an interesting topic came up ... how long of a wait for sex is acceptable? and how long of a wait is unacceptable? (Unacceptable can be defined as taking the pi*s.)

Now life is situational. So lets pick one of the most common situations. Its the first date. Thats the baseline. How long is perfectly fine to wait? how long is asking to much?

Because alot of factors can be brought into it. Ie, for example, many people have had one night stands (generally, more of a number than people care to admit ;) ) So say a person who has had their "share" of one nighters, wants to make someone wait 3 months? ... etc etc.

I'll add a poll. Pick the group in which you are perfectly willing to wait. Anything higher than that group is unacceptable. Eg, if you're ok with waiting up to 6 dates - then anything from 7 dates and higher is unacceptable.

contribute :)

How long would you wait? 177 votes

1 - 2 dates
    0% 0 votes
    3 - 4 dates
    21% 38 votes
    5 - 6 dates
    43% 77 votes
    7 - 8 dates
    20% 36 votes
    9 - 10 dates
    7% 14 votes
    10 - 15 dates
    5% 9 votes
    15 - 20 dates
    1% 3 votes
    20+ dates
    0% 0 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 867 ✭✭✭Mr. Denton

I'd say about four hours wait. If I'm not getting it by midnight then it's time for my rapist wit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Needler

Sure I misread it as : How long of a wait is acceptable & unacceptable to have sex whilst driving?

I'd wait till I was a good bit away from home first

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭tdv123

Depends how slutty the girl your dating is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Teutorix

Sex first, relationship later. where is that option on your poll.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 867 ✭✭✭Mr. Denton

tdv123 wrote: »
    Depends how slutty the girl your dating is.

For the sake of argument let's just assume she's a slut.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Would depend how much I like the girl tbh.

If I really liked her and we got on super etc, I would wait it out obviously not forever, but until she felt she was ready or whatever. Sex isn't everything, would be stupid to ditch a great girl after a few dates if I didn't get the ride

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,047 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

At least wait until you've left the restaurant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭policarp

Until your'e married.
    Like the olden days
    Then you can have about
    13 or 14 children or more
    and kiss your life goodbye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭theboss80

I voted 3-4 dates. I think that;s about right if its a proper set up date scenario , rather than some girl you lobbed the gob on in a club. I wouldn't mind waiting a while but for all the goody goodies my opinion is that sex is a very important part of a relationship and if it ain't good then its a deal breaker aswell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Karona

I like to make a man wait, not over the top long just a month or so. Call me what you want, but he can be respected if he waits... and trust me it's worth waiting for ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

LighterGuy wrote: »
    Was talking to a friend eariler and an interesting topic came up ... how long of a wait for sex is acceptable? and how long of a wait is unacceptable? (Unacceptable can be defined as taking the pi*s.)

Now life is situational. So lets pick one of the most common situations. Its the first date. Thats the baseline. How long is perfectly fine to wait? how long is asking to much?

Because alot of factors can be brought into it. Ie, for example, many people have had one night stands (generally, more of a number than people care to admit ;) ) So say a person who has had their "share" of one nighters, wants to make someone wait 3 months? ... etc etc.

I'll add a poll. Pick the group in which you are perfectly willing to wait. Anything higher than that group is unacceptable. Eg, if you're ok with waiting up to 6 dates - then anything from 7 dates and higher is unacceptable.

contribute :)

You seem a tad impatient for a Lighter Guy.:D

[QUOTE=Wolfe Tone;73230573 Sex isn't everything, [/QUOTE]
    ]
    Is that why there are no more wolves in Ireland bar you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,082 ✭✭✭BadGirl

Depends on a lot of factors.... Have been out of the dating game faaaar too long but voted 3-4 dates???????

I also think that girls tend to concentrate FAR too much on the word respect. I've had one night stands and slept with girls who wanted to wait a bit longer and tbh there was no difference in the level of respect I had for them.

Karona wrote: »
    I like to make a man wait, not over the top long just a month or so. Call me what you want, but he can be respected if he waits... and trust me it's worth waiting for ;)

/votes 'August 13th' in Galway beers thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I don't think there is any acceptable and unacceptable waiting period tbh. Whenever the 2 people are both ready and willing is right, be that on the first night or 6 months down the line.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

There'd be pm's a flyin' if the poll was made public :pac:

With Wolfe Tone on this one. Depends entirely on the situation, how well you get on etc.

Abi wrote: »
    There'd be pm's a flyin' if the poll was made public :pac:

With Wolfe Tone on this one. Depends entirely on the situation, how well you get on etc.

I voted 20+ dates. After all I can eat a box of 12 dates in a few minutes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Needler wrote: »
    After all I can eat a box of 12 dates in a few minutes

Noted. Get to the jacks before you do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Whenever the f*ck you WANT to have it, maybe?

Threads like this make me facepalm HARD. Please, people, think of my poor bruised face next time you're going to ask a question like this.

People who literally have a number in their head for when they want to have sex with someone, "after the third date" "Not later than 6 dates in", etc - male or female - really confuse me. Sex is about being in a moment where you really want to be that intimate with somebody, a pre-defined number or calculation can NEVER accurately predict that so why bother using them?

I don't get why people want to "schedule" sex. If you're not doing it simply because you WANT to do it at that moment then you're in all probability not going to enjoy it very much...?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

I wait until i feel comfortable, i mean....i'm not putting a part of my body into someone unless i know a bit about them and feel comfortable i'm not gonna end up with an STD or worse.

I mean really!...the tendency these days to jump into sex, no connection, no emotions, instant gratification...heathens!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

call me old fashioned, but a girl who'd be down for the ride within the first week just wouldnt cut it for me relationship wise. youd really have to wonder if half the country had been in her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

policarp wrote: »
    Until your'e married.
    Like the olden days
    Then you can have about
    13 or 14 children or more
    and kiss your life goodbye.

Yeah, but think of the amount of childrens allowance you would be pulling in...

Kojak wrote: »

Or in your case a lollipop.

And sleepless nights.
    Where do you pull out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Or in your case a lollipop.

I didn't know the dole office/post office gave out lollipops instead of Children's Allowance.

Scuse et moi I am confussed who loves ya baby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

I'm incapable of thinking in dates! I think just long enough till you know them well enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Karona

Do f*ckbuddies apply to this aswell???:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

Do f*ckbuddies apply to this aswell???:P

No! Duh :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,427 ✭✭✭Morag

Helix wrote: »
    call me old fashioned, but a girl who'd be down for the ride within the first week just wouldnt cut it for me relationship wise. youd really have to wonder if half the country had been in her

The same can be said of a bloke, who know's what you'd catch.

It depends on a couple of factors, I mean you could get to date 4/5 and be on the rag.
    It also depends on what you are both after and if you knew each other beforehand.

If ye knew each other beforehand then seeing if there is real chemistry there and if ye 'fit' together is the last few bits of the puzzle, but thats a big difference from dating a complete stranger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

You're just high maintenance :P...

A month or so i think what she means is 7 to 8 :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 681 ✭✭✭Elle Collins

theboss80 wrote: »
    I also think that girls tend to concentrate FAR too much on the word respect. I've had one night stands and slept with girls who wanted to wait a bit longer and tbh there was no difference in the level of respect I had for them.

Some men concentrate far too little on it. Where was your respect for the women you slept with although they "wanted to wait a bit longer"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Waited 20+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++ for the right one, and yes it was most definitely worth it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I would say a two weeks maximum. Or in date terms maybe about 3 dates maximum. Unless there is something genuinely wrong, anything longer than that would have me worrying.

Also couldn't care less if it happens before or during the first date. All the better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

As long as it takes me to figure out how to whip off her bra..

about 2-3 weeks in general depending on the bra clasp mechanism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭getz

As long as it takes me to figure out how to whip off her bra..

about 2-3 weeks in general depending on the bra clasp mechanism.
    if i am paying for it, ASAP

Some men concentrate far too little on it. Where was your respect for the women you slept with although they "wanted to wait a bit longer"?

What are you on about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

Generally, sex is an entrance exam for a relationship, so you don't want to wait around too long just to find out the person is **** in the sack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,483 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

3 - 4 is good if it feels right and not forced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

It depends, if I don't want to sleep with a man on the first date I never will. I have had plenty of boyfriends that I shagged in the first hour of meeting them nevermind the first date so I think its a rather pointless debate. I have also waited a few weeks, slept with the guy and wanted to run five minutes later. I think once you get into your late twenties/early thirties all that stuff just doesn't matter anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

Whenever the moment is right and both people want to. Deciding a specific time that you're going to do it kinda kills the sponteneity of it, in my opinion. If a certain time suddenly feels right, then go with it. Personally, I would wait until that time instead of deciding in my head 'OK, I'm gonna do it on the third date'. It's never going to feel right if you do it like that, there's no fun in that, for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Sex is just abit of fun. Enjoy it folks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,031 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Before the chloroform wears off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭cocokay

off topic but a friend of mine recently shocked me by saying she really liked the guy she was seeing but hes too heavy for her and she has told him she won't be sleeping with him until he loses weight!!! if a guy said something like that to me, jesus...shes polish and VERY blunt and outspoken. the guy agreed with her saying he wanted to lose some weight - i've seen him from afar and didn't think he was that big, hes quite tall so would expect him to be a bit heavier. anyways looks like they're gonna be waiting a long time unless he starts starving himself! dunno if hes so insecure and unconfident that he doesn't have the balls to tell her to f*ck off or whether he really wants to do this for himself/her

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

about 30 seconds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭Downlinz

Women who do this are really insecure. Its like having customers in a restaurant giving them some bread and water then making them wait for hours until they're absolutely famished until you finally feed them. You could be serving them micro chips at this point and it'd taste good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭Yahew

Jesus third dates must be nervous affairs.

I thought that Irish people hooked up in pubs, possibly knowing each other before, went home for a drunken fumble, and then got it together the next morning with 5 minutes of wham bam thank you mam. Then its a full Irish and a stroll down stephen's green.

Dont americanise too much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭Yahew

cocokay wrote: »
    off topic but a friend of mine recently shocked me by saying she really liked the guy she was seeing but hes too heavy for her and she has told him she won't be sleeping with him until he loses weight!!! if a guy said something like that to me, jesus...shes polish and VERY blunt and outspoken. the guy agreed with her saying he wanted to lose some weight - i've seen him from afar and didn't think he was that big, hes quite tall so would expect him to be a bit heavier. anyways looks like they're gonna be waiting a long time unless he starts starving himself! dunno if hes so insecure and unconfident that he doesn't have the balls to tell her to f*ck off or whether he really wants to do this for himself/her

There are skinny tall people. I think that's ok. If he wants to lose weight and she would prefer it whats the issue. Polish girls are blunt all right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

Yahew wrote: »
    Jesus third dates must be nervous affairs.

I thought that Irish people hooked up in pubs, possibly knowing each other before, went home for a drunken fumble, and then got it together the next morning with 5 minutes of wham bam thank you mam. Then its a full Irish and a stroll down stephen's green.

Dont americanise too much.

This sounds more like the planet I'm from.