If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Tell us about your cycle Yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,854 ✭✭✭Rogue-Trooper

P_1 wrote: »
    Took on Howth Head
    Luxman wrote: »
    I took to Howth also
    Alek wrote: »
    It must be a Howth day today!
    feeling a lot of howth jealousy
    Definitely a lot of Howth jealously going on today

aaaaaaand.......today is another Howth day! Fab as ever up there this morning. Was a lonley ascent from the village side but dispensed lots of nods on the way down to all the climbers coming up on the Sutton side!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭jon1981

Was a lonley ascent from the village side

At least you didn't have to worry about being passed out :D

(assuming everyone care about that sort of thing! )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,102 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Heading home last night it was late and dark, a van passed me when the passenger opened the window and shouted out to scare me. It didn't phase me but it could have someone else and it's just an incredibly childish/irresponsible thing to go.
    I have the website of the company, the place/time where it happened, I'm wondering should I call the company and let them know what happened.

As I say, I wasn't phased but someone else could have been.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,271 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Heading home last night it was late and dark, a van passed me when the passenger opened the window and shouted out to scare me. It didn't phase me but it could have someone else and it's just an incredibly childish/irresponsible thing to go.
    I have the website of the company, the place/time where it happened, I'm wondering should I call the company and let them know what happened.

Something similar happened to me a couple of months ago along the canal. Contacted the company and they said they would speak to the driver. If they did or not I dont know but at least they know it happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭loudymacloud

give them a call or at least an email

unfortunately there are still some gob****es out there.

happened to me a few years ago in Westport, out for a leisurely cycle after climbing Croagh Patrick with the wife, some clowns came up behind us in a car and like you yealled, startled us to be honest as we did not hear the car.

got them back as I spotted the car in the petrol station up the road, walked up behind the parked car, guy had widow rolled down listeneing to the radio. I yelled in his ear :)

he got some shock

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Definitely. I had similar a good few years ago, I wasn't on my bike but the driver was a nutter. I called the company when I got to the office, asked for a manager and the manager I spoke to seemed to have heard it all before about this guy. I said if they didn't follow it up I'll be going to the gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Alek

63km / 1277m in Wicklow before work. Super early start, but sunrise over Glencullen was well worth it!

Notes:

1. Descending in Glassamucky in darkness is funky, you are not sure whether the next turn is left or right even with decent lights. No risk no fun! :P
    2. This segment is brutal, but short and a bit surreal. Especially when you fighting to keep the front wheel down on a 25% gradient, huffing and puffing just to get to another bend, and then suddenly find yourself between a barn, house and a tractor. Our own little Mur de Huy ;)https://www.strava.com/activities/517436537/segments/12437286326
    3. Choosing not to go up Kippure to get home earlier and play with kids before going to work is sometimes the best thing you can do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭mr spuckler

after yesterday's howth jealousy i headed up for around 35km over howth from both sides and on into work. the morning started out beautiful (about 8am) but gradually clouded over a bit and cooled with it. not too many out on the bikes at that hour :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,265 ✭✭✭✭Borderfox

35km @31.1kmph average, pushing hard today with a small coffee stop at Tara. In the shorts at last!!

https://www.strava.com/activities/517746589

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,237 ✭✭✭✭dahat

Out for a short spin yesterday with getting a spacer removed en route to get a little more aero, see how it works out for me.

Short spin ended up at 73km @25km/h as it was far too nice to pass on some climbing to get some wonderful views.
    [url] https://www.strava.com/activities/517589549[/url]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

happened to me a few years ago in Westport, out for a leisurely cycle after climbing Croagh Patrick with the wife, some clowns came up behind us in a car and like you yealled, startled us to be honest as we did not hear the car.

got them back as I spotted the car in the petrol station up the road, walked up behind the parked car, guy had widow rolled down listeneing to the radio. I yelled in his ear :)

he got some shock

I had brief words with a driver about opening his door into my path some years back. When he passed me a couple of minutes later, he gave me a grand beep and a 1 finger. A couple of minutes later, I found myself coming up behind him again when he was stuck in traffic. Unusually for a newish BMW, he had the window open on a warm summer's day so I mooched up on the outside beside his window, and just as I came up level with him, I roared 'Enjoy the Traffic' at the top of my voice into his ear. I saw his whole body go into spasm as I passed, with arms and legs waving. I was about 6 cars ahead before he regained enough composure to beep at me.

I'm a shallow man, but it made my day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭nialljf

dahat wrote: »
    Out for a short spin yesterday with getting a spacer removed en route to get a little more aero, see how it works out for me.

I also tried getting more aero by removing a spacer last week; lower back pain ensued. Getting a bike fit in a few weeks anyway.

nialljf wrote: »
    I also tried getting more aero by removing a spacer last week; lower back pain ensued. Getting a bike fit in a few weeks anyway.

Had a second spin since removing it and no problems so far. Small increments rather than big ones was tje advice from LBS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,042 ✭✭✭irishrover99

Lunch time ride up Shankill road through Bohernabreena. First time up Shankill road on a bike and really liked it. Surface was very smooth and was one of the cleanest mountain roads i've seen lately but i'll have to have a second look at it when i'm not in the clouds from the start of the climb. Descent felt nice and safe too with not too many houses/driveways on the way down.

https://www.strava.com/activities/518418317

Went out for a good clip with a mate today over the Carrick loop from Clonmel...

Absolutely flat out for me with two, yes two punctures and packed it in at 44km with an average of 32.7km/h, rocket speed for me but enjoyed it.

Had to get the wife to get me home as i ran out of tubes!
    [url] https://www.strava.com/activities/518410506[/url]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,355 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Out this morning for a spin. Had a few pints last night and didn't get home til after 2, so decided not to push it. After 10 mins on the bike, scrapped that and decided to go up stocking lane. Was feeling a lot better than i thought I would and somehow managed to shave 1m 30 secs of my best time up there. Still a lot slower than I'd like relative to others on strava, lowest gear is not enough for the hard bits. Came back down the featherbeds road to bohernabreena, wont do that again, the road is in bits and bobbly as hell. Nice view of the valley though, it wasnt as dark as the photo makes out.

rCUPDNusS6SEMvkZtslrWjxSo67bJC8E8hqr8maj3is-2048x1536.jpg

https://www.strava.com/activities/519317529/overview

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,895 ✭✭✭Kaisr Sose

retalivity wrote: »
    Came back down the featherbeds road to bohernabreena, wont do that again, the road is in bits and bobbly as hell.

Some roads that are only good in one direction and the road you were on is one of these. Went up this morning and it was lovely, but I would never go down it. Sheep jumping out , lots of pot holes and patches of Tarmac formed into the shape of a road :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Longest spin to date, 66km taking in Howth Head, Malahide and the runway loop. Think I've earned a few beers :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭columbus_66

Did 90 km today around Ballyboughil, Naul, Four knocks, Clonalvy, Garristown, Ashbourne, and over and back to Lucan.Absolute cycling heaven around there, dry roads, little traffic, great hilly countryside, perfect for training.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭Mercian Pro

Did 90 km today around Ballyboughil, Naul, Four knocks, Clonalvy, Garristown, Ashbourne, and over and back to Lucan.Absolute cycling heaven around there, dry roads, little traffic, great hilly countryside, perfect for training.

Agreed, but don't forget to include Bellewstown next time :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭easygoing39

Went up around Skerries,Balbriggan,Naul Swords etc.Dry and sunny,but bloody hell it was cold,had my usual winter gear on and I never warmed up!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,895 ✭✭✭Kaisr Sose

Did 99km. Craugh, Glenasmole (up to Featherbeds), Glencree, Sally Gap, Manor Kilbride, Ballinascorney, Glencullen. 1700m climbing. Cold up top. Some in shorts up by Glencree! Burrr!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

I'm finally getting back to the hills after developing an issue with one of my legs last year.

I headed out this morning. Out the Tallaght Bypass, up the Embankment and on to Blessington via Manor Kilbride. After Blessington I went on towards Valleymount where I encountered my first traffic jam of the day. There was big funeral in progress at Valleymount so I had to respectfully weave my way through the traffic and then through the large crowd just outside the church. (RIP to the deceased)

From Valleymount, I climbed the Wicklow Gap. I stopped at the top and munched on a bar of Snickers then I began the very cold descent down from the gap into the easterly headwind that froze my hands and feet. As I approached Glendalough the traffic was mental - worse than Harolds Cross at 8am on a working day! I had a motorist drive about 30cm from my leg in her effort to pass me and queue behind the next car that was only 5m ahead! Anyway, I got to Laragh and stopped for well earned cup of tea and a sandwich.

I left Laragh to head home and I made the slight left at Roundwood to head up by Ballinastoe. From there I went to Enniskerry. On my way through Stepaside I notice some Garda signs indicating that the road ahead was closed. This was due to some St. Patricks Day event in the village. As I got closer I saw a Garda car blocking the road. I politely asked the Garda if I could continue - he told me I could but to be careful. Once again, I had to navigate crowds of people on the road. I didn't mind - nice to see families out enjoying the day. I continued for home.

My first spin to climb over 1,000m since my leg started giving me grief.

104km, 1,123m @21.2km/h.

I'm considering sending the Strava link to my consultant who, last August, told me that 'in 3 to 6 months time, I may be able to walk 2km without an hassle'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭guym

Newcastlewest - Ballybunion - Newcastlewest, 124 kms total, pity the last 60k was a solo ride into a headwind but at least there was no rain.....lovely day for a ride :)

[IMG][/img]rachel%20ballyb_zpswnuvpbf5.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

guym wrote: »
    Newcastlewest - Ballybunion - Newcastlewest, 124 kms total, pity the last 60k was a solo ride into a headwind but at least there was no rain.....lovely day for a ride :)

[IMG][/img]rachel%20ballyb_zpswnuvpbf5.jpg

Stunning bike. Stunning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,265 ✭✭✭✭Borderfox

70km out with the club, ratoath to doreys to dunboyne back to ratoath and then home. Felt better over the second half, ordered the 52 oval ring today. Went onto big ring after using the oval small ring and it just felt wrong, partly hard to explain but feels on the power more with the oval ring. Any opinions?

https://www.strava.com/activities/519257450

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭guym

crosstownk wrote: »
    Stunning bike. Stunning.

Thanks very much :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,498 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

Hit the Blooms today and the Blooms hit back.
    Parked in Clonaslee and went up The Cut in decent time. Then spun over to Glendine. It's a dirty bitch, it kicks up viciously after the hairpin bend. Had a breather up at the top and decided to descend the far side. I made it about 200 yards and the road surface turned to gravelly shít so I decided to turn back. Unfortunately the bike had other ideas and as soon as I touched the brakes I ended up on the road. I'm not as bouncy as I was in my youth. I thought I wasn't going fast but Garmin says I was doing about 35kmh and then 0 so I got a decent Dhunt.
    My hip and ribs took the wallop and the wrist is a bit tender too. Bike hopped into the grass ditch so ended up relatively unscathed.
    I called into a mate who lives nearby and had a cuppa and a couple of painkillers and then abandoned plans to climb back up the Cut and went back to the car via Rosinallis. Painkillers worked because I made decent time on the way back but I'm a bit stiff now.

It was a timely reminder that I can end up busted in a split second. First fall at speed since I was a teenager so at least my complacency has been dealt with.

Having said all that, I just have to say that the Blooms are gorgeous and it was a pretty decent day for a spin.
    70 km, 1000m climbed, 23.3 kmh
    Feck all sympathy at home :(

https://www.strava.com/activities/521101664

Oh, there was an annoying knocking noise coming off the bike before the spill...gone now. Result.
    Ish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭Bolloxology

Got out early and went up to Sally Gap via Glencullen. Passed a black cat giving me the eyes up Glencree and a burnt out car down the ditch just before Lough Bray. Pity the occupants. Went straight through the crossroads in the Laragh direction. Solitude on that road is putting it mildly, had it all to myself. Cold wind never really abated all day and really felt it towards the end.

Headed from Laragh to Avoca via Rathdrum, place was deserted and eerily quiet. From Avoca all the way home had a wonderful headwind to contend...sorry embrace.

Cold, cloudy but dry.

Bit of climbing 1727m and managed to snare a PR that has me leading that segment for my age group on the Non Hazardous descent from Johnny Foxes junction to Devils Elbow. The little things 😊

125.7 km Ride on Strava: https://www.strava.com/activities/520943501

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 246 ✭✭Notoldorwise

Pakie Ryan 50km in Newmarket on Fergus this morning. Huge credit to the organisers, stewards and the gardai. Great flow for cyclists through roundabouts in Shannon and Ennis. Loads of refreshments and entertainment laid on afterwards. Credit and thanks to all involved.