Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Violence at festivals; A modest proposal:

• 09-07-2011 3:15pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭

I say organise an Aslan Festival elsewhere in the country on the same days, that way the scum will flock to see their heroes and everyone else would be able to enjoy their fun in peace.

Thank you for reading.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭ItsAWindUp

I propose the banning of all public gatherings, of any kind, everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

To get the knackers in, you need Aslan, The Prodigy, Beady Eye, The Pogues and UB40. What a line up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

We then raise a huge wall around the gig and remove any doors.

Kinda like The Sims.

Ally Dick wrote: »
    To get the knackers in, you need Aslan, The Prodigy, Beady Eye, The Pogues and UB40. What a line up

Hey, leave The Prodigy alone:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

This year's Oxegen lineup is basically a scumbag magnet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

What we talking about ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭Table Top Joe

Maybe throw a Bob Marley tribute in too....then bomb the place,everyones happy

Having said that i do love The Pogues but it would be worth the sacrifice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭cesc77

How the feck do you get him through the wardrobe?:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭joseph brand

RichieC wrote: »
    I say organise an Aslan Festival elsewhere in the country on the same days, that way the scum will flock to see their heroes and everyone else would be able to enjoy their fun in peace.

Thank you for reading.

U left out DJ Tiesto, Mauro Picotto and the other Euro sh1te. Along with Aslan, they'd be sure to attract every scallywag, scumbag, shammo, knacker, ned, thief and dirtbag in the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

U left out DJ Tiesto, Mauro Picotto and the other Euro sh1te. Along with Aslan, they'd be sure to attract every scallywag, scumbag, shammo, knacker, ned, thief and dirtbag in the country.

Scooter would bring a few more too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,449 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Wheres the like button on this site, im liking the sh1te outta this!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

Sure thing, going to see some middle class, sheltered kid with no life experience, whining his way through some generic claptrap so much more highbrow...

I'm sure Aslan does have a particularly high following in places like Finglas and in the inner city, but you could say the same for the Cranberries and their strong Limerick catchment fanbase. Music fans often relate to local performers with whom they can identify. The scumbag fan base is another constituency altogether, they might be a subset of the same urban constituency from which Aslan supporters are concentrated, but it obviously does not mean they are one and the same.

I grew up in Tipperary, come from a bog standard middle class background and I would go to an Aslan concert with far greater enthusiasm than that with which I would attend a performance by some middle class self obsessed pretty boys with a ridiculous amount of popped collars who don't know their ass from their elbow; I would expect the latter to be a pretty obnoxious affair based on any event like that which I've been to in the past.

later10 wrote: »
    Sure thing, going to see some middle class, sheltered kid with no life experience, whining his way through some generic claptrap so much more highbrow...

I'm sure Aslan does have a particularly high following in places like Finglas and in the inner city, but you could say the same for the Cranberries and their strong Limerick catchment fanbase. Music fans often relate to local performers with whom they can identify. The scumbag fan base is another constituency altogether, they might be a subset of the same urban constituency from which Aslan supporters are concentrated, but it obviously does not mean they are one and the same.

I grew up in Tipperary, come from a bog standard middle class background and I would go to an Aslan concert with far greater enthusiasm than that with which I would attend a performance by some middle class self obsessed pretty boys with a ridiculous amount of popped collars who don't know their ass from their elbow; I would expect the latter to be a pretty obnoxious affair based on any event like that which I've been to in the past.

YES! good man, The cranberries added to lineup :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

leaving aslan out , id go to that , ill know who to blame

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

I like your thinking OP. I think this could be a hit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

i dont know why people pay €200+ to a festival so they can get beat up, pissed apon or mugged when could get the same on night out on saturday instead..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

A friend of mine went to an Aslan gig. They played crazy world 3 times. Why would you go to this at all? let alone with enthusiasm.

If you are going to generalise all middle class people then you are including yourself I assume?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

I'd add lady GaGa to that list to. (First and last POP concert I've ever been to.)

My friends and I were started on a few times that night. I asked one Dub a question and I was told to "go away with your filthy traveller accent".

That's the polite version of what she said to me anyways...

I have a strong country accent.... I think it transpired that her boyfriend was dancing with me or some crap.

Anyways all the scum ruined the gig for us.

mackg wrote: »
    A friend of mine went to an Aslan gig.

LOLOL!! they actually played it 3 times? what the fk..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

Played the other famous song twice. I don't know the name of it, you know the one I'm talking about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Was it Brunkers fault?

Played the other famous song twice. I don't know the name of it, you know the one I'm talking about

I only know crazy world tbh, more of a music lover myself :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

How can I protect youse in this crazy world?

i dont know why people pay €200+ to a festival so they can get beat up, pissed apon or mugged when could get the same on night out on saturday instead..

I somehow doubt that's the reason they buy a ticket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭bacon?

Exactly, if you spend a little more, you could go to a festival in another European country, have a much better scum free time.

People are sheep though, so $hitty festivals will always sell out.

A friend of mine went to an Aslan gig. They played crazy world 3 times. Why would you go to this at all? let alone with enthusiasm.
    I don't know what they're like in concert, but I often listen to Aslan whilst I'm driving, for example. Based on that, I would go see them in concert, yes.
    If you are going to generalise all middle class people then you are including yourself I assume?
    I'm not generalising though, I'm pointing out the false logic in suggesting that Aslan fans have the fan base that is being implied ('scumbags') simply because Aslan and Aslan supporters tend to share a catchment area with these so-called scumbags. Both groups are simply subsets of (mainly) one parent set, i.e. that being the socially disadvantaged areas of Dublin, but they do not necessarily intersect with one another.

Am I generalising about middle class 'emerging' Dublin bands, however? Yes, certainly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,199 ✭✭✭CardBordWindow

Ha!! I saw them once and they did the same thing! Crazy World 3 times and These Are 2 times!!
    Was it by any chance the Dunbrody Fest in New Ross, years ago?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

There's always scum, somewhere, trying to ruin things for everyone. When I came back home for a visit there recently I was walking down the street and some scummer (in a car packed full with scummers) screamed out the window at me 'you should have gone to specsavers hahahahah.' Simply because I wear glasses. I mean, THAT'S what he decided to pick on. Pathetic. I actually did go to specsavers, as it happens, so fuck him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Thank you for reading.

I thought violence at festivals WAS your modest proposal...

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,988 ✭✭✭✭kippy

I say a mandatory 5 year, no chance of good behaviour etc, sentence for anyone who pulls a knife on someone else. Same for other items that can be used for harm - none of this bull**** about guys getting off multiple times and getting away with it.

Following on from that, we need to increase sentences for all serious crime and ensure that the white collar crime that has this country on its knees is fully eradicated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

Like football matches in uk,should be blacklist of banned attendees at festivals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

Ha!! I saw them once and they did the same thing! Crazy World 3 times and These Are 2 times!!
    Was it by any chance the Dunbrody Fest in New Ross, years ago?

Do you mean "This Is"?

I don't understand why people who aren't fans of certain artists go and see them. In my experience these are the ones that cause the trouble, because you can rest assured if a genuine fan pays the money to go along and see a band they love then they're most likely to be too concerned with enjoying themselves, rather than pissing and moaning and starting trouble.

Anyway I don't believe it's the music that's attracting the miscreants to festivals, it's the freedom and the temptation to cause total mayhem. You get a bunch of kids who don't know their own limits, throw in a massive amount of booze and drugs to binge on for four days and you get one of Ireland's infamous festivals. Oxegen in particular is less like a music festival these days and more like a teenage disco.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭number10a

We then raise a huge wall around the gig and remove any doors.

Kinda like The Sims.

I thought I was the only one who did that when I was playing the Sims. :pac::pac: Kinda weird the way they turn into an urn though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,751 ✭✭✭MyPeopleDrankTheSoup

bacon? wrote: »
    Exactly, if you spend a little more, you could go to a festival in another European country, have a much better scum free time.

People are sheep though, so $hitty festivals will always sell out.

oxegen sold very little this year and word is it's very empty.

most of these scumbags sneak into the campsite where security is lax. organisers seem to give up on the campsite and just secure the music area. at last EP i heard some skanger boasting how he snuck in (snuck, is that a word?) with nothing and robbed a tent, sleeping bag, cigarettes and beer for the weekend.

I'm not generalising though, I'm pointing out the false logic in suggesting that Aslan fans have the fan base that is being implied ('scumbags') simply because Aslan and Aslan supporters tend to share a catchment area with these so-called scumbags.

Ever seen an Aslan crowd? it's like night of the living junkie... Aslan attract a bad crowd, it's not generalising, it's a fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

Am I the only 1 who initially read it as an Asian festival?

I was about to go all PC on the OP's ass, then I realised it was Aslan, well played OP, you nearly got me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭deathrider

There is no other song. Their albums consist on Crazy World 12 times on each CD :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Parsley

JaxxYChicK wrote: »
    I don't understand why people who aren't fans of certain artists go and see them. In my experience these are the ones that cause the trouble, because you can rest assured if a genuine fan pays the money to go along and see a band they love then they're most likely to be too concerned with enjoying themselves, rather than pissing and moaning and starting trouble.

funny story. I went to see neil young a few years back, got to the gig, got in the pit up front, and the frames were supporting. Didn't know they were supporting till i done seen em on stage. anyway, i was trying to call my friend who likes the frames so she could hear, and i remember trying to tell i didn't really like the frames. with the noise, she couldn't hear me, so i had to shout down the phone: "I DON'T REALLY LIKE THE FRAAAMMES!" just as the band dropped out for a quiet middle eight or something. the whole pit turns around staring at me, filthy confused looks, the frames turn and look at me with pure hatred like i'm some prick heckler.. half expected to get jumped.

anyway i just said "f*ck you people i'm here for neil young" and went back to my conversation.

I can't stand that Aslan lead singer Chhhrissstttyy because of those bloody hand gestures he does when he is singing. Is he doing yoga ??? Looks very arrogant to me

Ever seen an Aslan crowd? it's like night of the living junkie... Aslan attract a bad crowd, it's not generalising, it's a fact.

A fact?
    Really?

Every single time Aslan play, there's trouble, a "bad crowd"?

I've been at a few Aslan gigs, not a major fan, but I haven't seen anything that you wouldnt see anywhere else.

The cretins that cause the kind of trouble witnessed last night were there looking for trouble, honest, good people don't go around carrying knives.

deathrider wrote: »
    There is no other song. Their albums consist on Crazy World 12 times on each CD :p

They're a two hit wonder with "This Is" and "Crazy World".... a bit like Johnny Logan...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭deathrider

JaxxYChicK wrote: »

I pretty much agree with this. The amount of scum at AC/DC in Punchestown a few years ago was stunning. Feckers only knew about three songs because they are played by every covers band in the country. There was one eejit a few heads away from me who'd go mental at the start of each song screaming "Highway To Hell! C'mon!!" then relax a bit when he copped that it wasn't that song.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Exactly. And the Aslan band members are scumbags, that's why they attract scumbags. "Chrrrrriiiissssttyyy is wan of us"

Paparazzo wrote: »
    Exactly. And the Aslan band members are scumbags, that's why they attract scumbags. "Chrrrrriiiissssttyyy is wan of us"

......That's a very narrow view of the world - very narrow indeed...

Anto and Wacker from Finglas are typical fans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,070 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

kippy wrote: »
    ......That's a very narrow view of the world - very narrow indeed...

Well it is a crazy world.

The example using AC/DC above completely contradicts the assertion that scumbags attract scumbags, or whatever narrow view a few of you are taking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

phasers wrote: »
    This year's Oxegen lineup is basically a scumbag magnet

Just got home from abroad last night, and I was wondering why Dublin city seemed so chilled for a friday.

Eh, what's a scumbag in your book, a celebrity with a former addiction problem?

Or more likely, a celebrity with a former addiction problem who comes from Finglas?