Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

Well if they lose to Dublin (2 form teams) then it won't be anything mentally that was wrong. Dublin are a class team.

But people will still say Mayo choke in finals.

People are still saying it about 2012, even though Mayo played their best and didn't lose by any huge margin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭tacofries

still getting shivers of excitement of the thought of whats to come...... not getting ahead of ourselves but the team looks as good as I have ever saw them. Happy out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Inspector Coptoor

Syferus wrote: »
    Ros-Mayo AI final, Mayo-Dublin senior final?

Ballagh will be a smouldering wreck by the end of September.

Here's hoping, 2 of the best minor set ups in the country for the last 8 years.its an awful pity Roscommon can't bring a decent number of the minors on to senior level.all being lost to immigration etc

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Warriors. Absolute fúcking warriors.

That is all.

Who are warriors?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭eddie73

Congrats to all the Mayo supporters, fair play to ye for turning up again in big numbers in croke park. It is a strange feeling being in a situation like this, not hugely surprising though.

I think that Mayo will not need to lift that performance, rather just to reproduce the form. Consistency now is the name of the game. Why cant they do it? there is no reason why not this year, there was no falling over the line with the ball on sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,367 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

MfMan wrote: »
    Another advantage of yesterday's win was that it was at the quarter-final stage. Best thing that could happen Mayo now is to scrape past Tyrone in the semi' in a dogfight of a game and bring everyone, fans in particular, down to earth. So often in the past Mayo have given fine performances at the semi' stage and been unable to replicate it in the next game.

This is BS
    eddie73 wrote: »
    Congrats to all the Mayo supporters, fair play to ye for turning up again in big numbers in croke park. It is a strange feeling being in a situation like this, not hugely surprising though.

I think that Mayo will not need to lift that performance, rather just to reproduce the form. Consistency now is the name of the game. Why cant they do it? there is no reason why not this year, there was no falling over the line with the ball on sunday.

This is correct

Mayo do not need a tough close game to somehow get them primed for a possible final. They need to continue to do what they are doing, regardless of the opposition, and regardless of what fans and media think.

They know themselves where they are at, and where they need to be to beat Tyrone and Dublin/Kerry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,281 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

Very impressed with mayo now what a performance vs Donegal!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 413 ✭✭Seans_Username

yop wrote: »
    Who are warriors?

Mayo... Who else would be warriors?!

Donegal looked like they couldn't care less about the game after 20 minutes. Mayo kept battling on, throwing themselves to the floor to make sure they kept possession, breaking at tremendous speed. I was amazed at the performance. Definitely my favourite game after Cork in 2011

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

Here's hoping, 2 of the best minor set ups in the country for the last 8 years.its an awful pity Roscommon can't bring a decent number of the minors on to senior level.all being lost to immigration etc

Eh? Very few county players lost to emigration, thankfully. In terms of players remotely near to starting for the seniors only Stephen Ormsby (a 2006 minor) has left the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,413 ✭✭✭naughto

if you watch back the all ireland final last yr and sundays game the difference one yr can make is unreal.
    donegal knew the game was up when we were 6 points up to no score,now the same happen us in the final but we battled on and only ended up loosing by a few points.
    we eat donegal alive(with out salt that sh1te bad for you) and it was over at half time i feel we can put tyrone away in the same fashion.
    i also think kerry will beat dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭Cosmo Kramer

And as for Armstrong and hes 'Mayo have not had a test', as I keep saying it's not as if they have come from no where to be where they are, the same dogs on the street know that they are a credible All Ireland contender and no amount of hammering lower teams in Connaught can change that

Armstrong clearly doesn't rate his own team too highly then despite the OTT positive spin that's been coming out of the Galway camp since they lost to a Cork side at its lowest ebb in almost a decade.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Defiler Of The Coffin

Adrian Logan - "The new Joe Brolly in Mayo" :D

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Adrian Logan - "The new Joe Brolly in Mayo" :D

Must have been a very intelligent lad who labelled him that :cool: :D

As a former midfield (useless.com) this give me goosebumps!!!!
    MASSIVE.
    Thats what football is about.

BQ-syC-CcAEYo9J.jpg:large

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Defiler Of The Coffin

yop wrote: »
    Must have been a very intelligent lad who labelled him that :cool: :D

Twas your good self?! Sent that one around the office as well and it got a good laugh. I'd never heard of the man before but he used do the GAA analysis on UTV, he'd be well known around the North, one of the lads here was saying that he was one of the few on Northern TV that knew his stuff about the GAA. You'd love to know which pub the Nordies pull these bar-stoolers out of!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

1003503_343833802415440_1073744415_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,853 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Quit the bitching about Legend Logie!!

I took a piss beside him in the old Hogan upper deck pissers before the '96 semi final, he said Mayo would lose then too.

I consider the man a lucky mascot at this stage.

Logie for President!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭murrayp4

Does anyone have a link to Sunday's game??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,460 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

murrayp4 wrote: »
    Does anyone have a link to Sunday's game??

tv3 website is a joke. Would be long up on the rte player by now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭Kalyke

Its on Setanta tomorrow at 1030, Sky 423

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Fowler87 wrote: »
    Its unreal some of the biased tripe that comes out of some of the northern pundits (not inc Brolly and McConville) especially this fella. He wasn't impressed with Mayo in the league. Thats fair enough but then to say hes been impressed with Donegal this year was laughable when they were obvious a shadow of what they were last year. Of course he finished his 'analysis' with a gem in that Mayo cant cope in Croker... Good lad Logie

I used to really enjoy Adrian Logan's GAA analysis on UTV in years gone by but this was a really lazy,biased analysis with very little in the way of a well founded basis.Ulster boys sticking together at all costs seemed to be the theme.
    I reckon James Horan could definitely use this little clip as a powerful motivational tool for the game against Logie's home county.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Now that Cavan are out my attention is firmly turned to Mayo.

Know plenty of Mayo people from my time living in Sligo and really hope ye finally go all the way. Ye deserve it lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

Uppp Maaaa.. no, sorry, still can't do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Room on the bandwagon for one more...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,413 ✭✭✭naughto

a come on syferus your more of a mayo man than half the peope on this thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,664 ✭✭✭Blackjack

naughto wrote: »
    a come on syferus your more of a mayo man than half the peope on this thread

More of a true Mayo fan I'd agree, not sure Syferus would fully appreciate being called a Mayoman, although it is a compliment.

tv3 website is a joke. Would be long up on the rte player by now.

Kieran McSweeney tweeted last night that their rights don't allow them to show it online because Setanta have the replay rights so unless someone puts it on YouTube we're out of luck I'm afraid.

Anyone fancy recording the replay showing on Setanta and putting it online - we're three days from the game now so it shouldn't matter too much to the broadcasters at this stage?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭MaroonAndGreen

Highlights are on Youtube just search ''Mayo v Donegal 2013'' and scroll down its 5th or 6th on the list a 9min video :)

Yes and they're also on the GAA play app with some additional footage. A lot of people would like to see the full game again though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,490 ✭✭✭✭km79

Looks like Hennelly to remain between the sticks for remaining game/games. He is a good shot stopper but he does not seem to inspire as much confidence in the defenders around him as Clarke does. He looked nervous on a few kick outs on Sunday too which was understandable I suppose. Anyway he is likely to be in now so hopefully those things will improve . He was Horans 1st choice in his first year . Once he waits away from the 45s he will be grand :p