Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,736 ✭✭✭Fowler87

Fair play Castlebar. Mighty stuff! Kirby has to be thrown into inter county setup next year. Powerhouse

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Syferus wrote: »
    Don't see Brigids losing this one at home unless Mitchtels' forwards show something they haven't.

The likes of Richie Feeney, Barry Moran and Danny Kirby will find the Brigids defence harder to break down than anything they've faced so far, they won't be able to draw backs out of position to give those non-forwards the channels to run down as effectively as they have in other games. Brigids are well set-up to grind a game out, but they also have the better forwards to call upon.

It should be no more than a one or two score game nonetheless. Brigids have weathered plenty of blows since March 17th but came through it all with younger players emerging and they are playing their best football of the season at the right time.

It's also a tie-breaker on the all-time roll of honour - in the twelve meetings between Roscommon and Mayo clubs in the Connacht final it's currently six apiece.

N.B. Good for Mayo that Buckley is staying on but the cost of the Horan era on top of the debt on McHale will bring about a reckoning in Mayo in time.

oopppss :D
    Well done Castlebar.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Would be shocked if its anything other than a St. Brigids vrs Dr. Crokes All-Ireland Semi-Final.

Dont buy all the talk of a Mitchels upset, especially in the Hyde

How is the shock :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,853 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Well done Castlebar.

Serious character shown there today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

oops. Well done Castlebar!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

What did ye lads think of Marty Duffy's performance?

Marty was his usual outstanding self, his grace and ability to judge a call is beyond this earth.
    I suspect he may see the inside of a few boots before the end of the year!! :D

How he ever gets a game is beyond me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

yop wrote: »
    How is the shock :)

Game was handed to Mitchells by an inept referee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

Well done Mitchels, who certainly deserved it in ET, if not in regular time.

I've run out of words trying to explain how unsuited to refereeing games Marty Duffy is. Why? Why?

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    Game was handed to Mitchells by an inept referee

So Mitchells didn't play at all?

Well done Mitchels, who certainly deserved it in ET, if not in regular time.

I've run out of words trying to explain how unsuited to refereeing games Marty Duffy is. Why? Why?

Yip, and his brother is worse. The level of reffing in the GAA is SHOCKING.

But Mitchells were deserving of their win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Yip, and his brother is worse. The level of reffing in the GAA is SHOCKING.

But Mitchells were deserving of their win.

Agreed 100%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭Rory1

Where will all-ireland semi-final be played? I know Castlebar will be playing a munster team. Neutral venue or does one side get home advantage?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

So Mitchells didn't play at all?

I think Brigids were not given at least two penalties by the referee

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    I think Brigids were not given at least two penalties by the referee

Harsh penalties if given, 1 maybe, not 2.

How pathetic it was there were no stretchers to take Curran off who was clearly crippled at that stage.

Fowler87 wrote: »
    How pathetic it was there were no stretchers to take Curran off who was clearly crippled at that stage.

The GAA are too poor to afford.

Fowler87 wrote: »

Seriously, I agree it was very pathetic. Not good enough.

Rory1 wrote: »
    Seriously, I agree it was very pathetic. Not good enough.

From the TV it looked farcical especially with Mother Duffy trying to drag him up and Curran collapsing in a heap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 669 ✭✭✭galait

Curran is an idiot The TG4 commentators were laughing out loud when he was injured , I have been at 3 of the last 4 Connacht finals and Brigids should have lost all 3 , 2 years the ago Ballina ref rode Corofin completely and the previous year a flukey late goal got them to extra time , Without Dolan & Mannion they are poor and it showed in the second period of extra time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,445 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

Kirby reminds me of Seamie O'Shea when he was a little young. Very rough around the edges but great heart. Who else do people think are worth a look at for the county? Eoghan O'Reilly was savage today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Rory1 wrote: »
    Where will all-ireland semi-final be played? I know Castlebar will be playing a munster team. Neutral venue or does one side get home advantage?

Neutral venue
    Probably Ennis or Limerick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

galait wrote: »
    Curran is an idiot The TG4 commentators were laughing out loud when he was injured , I have been at 3 of the last 4 Connacht finals and Brigids should have lost all 3 , 2 years the ago Ballina ref rode Corofin completely and the previous year a flukey late goal got them to extra time , Without Dolan & Mannion they are poor and it showed in the second period of extra time.

After Duffy's performance today people in glass houses shouldn't be complaining about Brigids riding their luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

He was awful,but as usual infuriating to both sides.Fair play to the Mitchels!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 669 ✭✭✭galait

After Duffy's performance today people in glass houses shouldn't be complaining about Brigids riding their luck.

Castlebar played the entire second half minus an inter county midfielder and brigids were not able to win, The 2 goals Brigids got were very soft and the best team won no question

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,445 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

Duffy played for the draw at the end. He really is a woeful ref. Years ago I worked with a lad who played with a senior club in Sligo. Nearly every Monday he would be in with some story or other about one of the Duffys from the weekends games.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭MaroonAndGreen

Fair play Castlebar :)

Made me eat my words :p

Happy they won though, nice to see a Mayo club win after so long!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭blowitupref

Have to say i was shocked some didn't think Castlebar had it in them to win the Connacht title any side that can win v Corofin away are a very good side. I think a draw and another day out would have been a fair result today but Mitchels got the rub of green that all top sides need to win a championship. If its Dr Crokes they play then the Kerry men will have to be at their very best to win.

The ref Marty Duffy was terrible and should never be allowed to ref another provincial final. Major mistake by those that appointed him in the first place.

Have to say i was shocked some didn't think Castlebar had it in them to win the Connacht title any side that can win v Corofin away are a very good side. I think a draw and another day out would have been a fair result today but Mitchels got the rub of green that all top sides need to win a championship. If its Dr Crokes they play then the Kerry men will have to be at their very best to win.

The ref Marty Duffy was terrible and should never be allowed to ref another match. Major mistake by those that appointed him in the first place.

I fixed that for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭blowitupref

galait wrote: »
    Castlebar played the entire second half minus an inter county midfielder and brigids were not able to win, The 2 goals Brigids got were very soft and the best team won no question

In fairness Castlebar got two goals in as many minutes to keep their noses in front after that sending off and Brigids were down an inter county player for all of extra time.