Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Men find women with size five feet the most attractive - Research finds

• 02-07-2011 11:56am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 590 ✭✭✭SparkyTech

Well how about that. Corns on your feet are not attractive. :rolleyes: Do you agree or disagree with the findings of this ''research'' :pac:

The formula for a perfect woman's foot is a size five, wearing three inch heels and red toe nail varnish, according to the study.

A study discovered men find size five feet, such as those belonging to Loren, Victoria Beckham, Kim Kardashian and Sophia Loren, are the most alluring.
    Research by foot plaster company Compeed revealed nearly half of men will look at a woman's feet on a first date and a third will make a character judgement based on the state of them.

The poll of 2,000 adults found four out of ten women go to extreme lengths to cover their unkempt feet in the summer by hiding them in boots or shoes.
    Six out of ten women admit to trying to hide their feet from other people because they are self-conscious.

One in five recalls feelings of embarrassment following a comment about their feet being unattractive.

The top foot related worry for women is cracked heels and dry skin, with 38 per cent, chipped nail varnish, 29 per cent, and blisters and corns, 14 per cent.

However, more than half of the UK top earning women, who make more than 71,000 pounds a year, spend nothing on caring for their feet.
    Andrew Simmons, 30, an officer worker from London, said: "There's nothing worse than meeting a woman only to look down and see cracked skin or blisters.
    "I prefer smaller feet and if a woman takes care of them then you can tell she looks after herself.

"I can tell when my girlfriend hasn't trimmed her nails because she wears shoes in the summer to make sure they're covered up."
    Compeed spokesman Niamh Finan said: "While men and women are becoming more judgemental of others based on the state of their feet, we are a nation that still fails to care for our own.

"The common perception that caring and grooming of feet is an indulgence of the rich is also a fallacy, with over half of the UK's top earning women spending nothing on caring for their feet."

Beverley Ashdown, member of the Society of Chiropodists and Podiatrists, said "As a podiatrist, I come across some very neglected feet which suffer from blisters, corns and severely cracked heels.

"Moreover, at the first sign of summer, I begin to notice these painful conditions revealed in strappy sandals on people that have no idea that their feet are in desperate need of attention."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 591 ✭✭✭sidneykidney

Jaysus, some people have little to do with their time. Not you OP btw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

Foot that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

I'd be 99% certain that this "study" has nothing to do with furthering our understanding of human interaction, and is in fact nothing more than part of an advertising campaign of some sort.

"Lads watch the pair of feet on that one!"

no, this doesn't sound right at all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

First rule of research: Never come to eary conclusions. This "research" is bull****. It's from the Telegraph. That explains it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Bahahahahahaahhahahahahahaah
    Size five feet. I can categorically tell you I have no clue, zero whatsoever what size feet any women I've dated have. All I can tell you is that they did not have clown feet nor anymore more or less than ten toes.

Still though - this does well in the Michael O Leary school of free publicity from ridiculous claims - thou has fallen short on the obnoxiousness score

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Really, cause a size 5 for a woman is average well normal size in a broad sense as in the most common foot size for women. Some have the misfortune of having various different sizes, some small some big. A lot depends on height too. I have a smaller foot size but very hard to find shoes that fit me as my feet are so tiny. I'm between a size 3-4 depending on the shoe-wear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 427 ✭✭scotty_irish

when i look at a woman there's only one pair i look at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Sound like a good pick up line:

Me: "they a size 5?"
    Girl: "what?"
    Me: "your feet?"
    Girl:" I've to go over here!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,780 ✭✭✭alie

Shoe size = pelvic size

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

^
    |

Hows that possible the size of feet cannot match or measure the same size of anything else, everyone is different whether its men or women!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Jessica Alba has got the sexist feet I've ever seen, wikifeet agrees:

http://www.wikifeet.com/Jessica_Alba

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

I'm a size five!

Wonderful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

Size 5? Yay! not very worried how attractive my feet are tbh but I do take care of them and have nice peds, or so I've been told.
    Mainly because I don't squeeze them into too tight shoes or stiletoes.
    And Victoria Beckham does not have nice feet. Quite the contrary, she's had corns and bunions because she wears sky high stiletoes every day.

She might look well in them, but her feet do not.

See?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

OutlawPete wrote: »
    Jessica Alba has got the sexist feet I've ever seen, wikifeet agrees:

http://www.wikifeet.com/Jessica_Alba

Is it just me or is that site is rather disturbing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

I don't care as long as the're not smelly.

RMD wrote: »

Absolutely and so it should fit right in with the rest of my bookmarks.

Seriously though, her feet seem to be a YouTube sensation, there must be dozens of videos dedicated to them, I just watched 'em all :p

This one is my fav so far:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

My research concludes - women find men who are obsessed with feet a major turn-off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 590 ✭✭✭SparkyTech

From ye old Wikipedia ;)

Podophilia is the scientific term :P
    Foot fetishism has been defined as a pronounced sexual interest in the feet or footwear. It is a mainly male interest, and while usually towards women's feet, can also be toward men's feet (more likely in other men than in women)[citation needed] Freud considered foot binding as a form of fetishism.[3] For a foot fetishist, points of attraction include the shape and size of the foot and toes (e.g., long toes, short toes, painted toes, high arches, slender soles, fat toes, long toenails, short toenails, small feet, big feet, toenail color, etc.), jewelry, toe rings, ankle bracelets, treatments e.g. French pedicure, state of dress (e.g., barefoot, flip flops, high heels, ballet flats, or clad in socks or nylons), odor, and any form of sensory interaction, e.g. licking, kissing, sucking toes, tickling, person giving foot jobs, or trampling/stomping and shoeplay,[3] socks sniffing, socks licking can also be included in the list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

But if I had size five feet I'd fall over. :(

RMD wrote: »

Foot fetishism is pretty inoffensive though isn't it? kinda like the guys who buy used panties, it doesn't bother me as long as it harms no-one else.

Each to their own and all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭madmammy

size 5 in trainers, skates...size 4 in shoes and sandels

can't see too man men looking at the feet and being interested in them too muck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭joshrogan

Women with size 5 feet are generally not as fat as there size 6+ counterparts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

It's unfortunate then, that the Irish woman has evolved overly large, hairy toes and and a large foot size. Still, we should appreciate this, as our forefathers did, and not take to forigen notions of beauty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Greentopia wrote: »

Eurgh, that's a disgusting looking foot!

At least I know now where they get their moulds for the Alien costumes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

So long as the foot is not attached to a cankle, I'm happy with any size.

Larianne wrote: »
    But if I had size five feet I'd fall over.

Elle MacPherson's shoe size is 12 apparently and Beyonce 11 :eek:

They would certainly fall over though with Size 5s.

joshrogan wrote: »
    Women with size 5 feet are generally not as fat as there size 6+ counterparts.

Do feel free to cite the peer reviewed scientific research this little nugget of information is based on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

OutlawPete wrote: »
    Elle MacPherson's shoe size is 12 apparently and Beyonce 11 :eek:

They would certainly fall over though with Size 5s.

I would say that's the American sizing, no?

I've seen Elle in the flesh and she's tall, about 6 foot so it makes sense if she's got big feet. A size 12 would be a 10 in our sizing?

Jeeves says Beyoncé is size 8 in shoes http://uk.ask.com/question/what-size-shoe-is-beyonce I wouldn't imagine Beyoncé to be very tall.

Paris Hilton and Uma Thurman also have massive feet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭Means Of Escape

Size 5? Yay! not very worried how attractive my feet are tbh but I do take care of them and have nice peds, or so I've been told.
    And Victoria Beckham does not have nice feet. Quite the contrary, she's had corns and bunions because she wears sky high stiletoes every day.

See?

My God Jim they look mummified or carved out of ivory with a Ronseal stain

Nodin wrote: »
    It's unfortunate then, that the Irish woman has evolved overly large, hairy toes and and a large foot size. Still, we should appreciate this, as our forefathers did, and not take to forigen notions of beauty.

Except we don't.
    I have size 5 feet, none of my female friends have what I would call disproportionately large feet, or hairy toes for that matter.

At least most women in summer that I see in sandals look reasonably presentable. The same can't be said for many Irish men.
    I've seen some horror shows on display here where it would be easy to plant spuds on the trotters of some Irish guy's feet.
    Disgusting.
    And I'm not just talking about farmers! clean feet with clipped nails is a minimum.

Urgh, now I'm talking about feet and I hate feet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

Message to the unwashed masses: Stop wearing sandals/flip flops. I don't want to see your ugly ass feet in public. Buy a pair of shoes ffs!

I think I have discovered what might be the source of my fetish for feet like Jessica Alba's and my desire to suck her toes.

As with everything, I think it stems back to something I used to get up to as a child ..

Except we don't.
    I have size 5 feet, none of my female friends have what I would call disproportionately large feet, or hairy toes for that matter.

See it's this attitude of denial that causes so much suffering. First we have to acknowledge that this exists, and then learn to appreciate things as they are, and not as we would want them to be.

Ever see a woman going along, walking in some bizarre fashion, as if stepping on hot coals? Ask her whats wrong she'll say its the shoes. The truth is she's probably been to a back street toe shortener or de-hairer. These poor things hate their own bodies so much, they subject themselves to unlicensed medicine and much suffering. And we're all to blame.

Nature gave Irish women large feet and long hairy toes for a reason. We should appreciate that gift, and not look to short, hairless stunted things of other peoples as the ideal. Celebrate the native Spog, in all its glory.

Hair hair .. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,077 ✭✭✭✭bnt

I've honestly never thought about it, except when it's brought up somehow. Tarantino clearly likes Uma Thurman's feet - they have had close-ups in two of his films: Pulp Fiction and Kill Bill Part I. Me Likey:

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

You'd think Compeed were trying to come up with reasons for women to but their products or something :rolleyes:

See it's this attitude of denial that causes so much suffering. First we have to acknowledge that this exists, and then learn to appreciate things as they are, and not as we would want them to be.

Ever see a woman going along, walking in some bizarre fashion, as if stepping on hot coals? Ask her whats wrong she'll say its the shoes. The truth is she's probably been to a back street toe shortener or de-hairer. These poor things hate their own bodies so much, they subject themselves to unlicensed medicine and much suffering. And we're all to blame.

You off your meds again Nodin? :P
    Toe-shortener?? :D

Tell ya what, I'll keep looking after my feet...my short toed manicured small feet, and you can celebrate the larger more...unkempt spog if you like them so much. ;)

You off your meds again Nodin? :P
    Toe-shortener?? :D

Tell ya what, I'll keep looking after my feet...my short toed manicured small feet, and you can celebrate the larger more...unkempt spog if you like them so much. ;)

Just remember, you must love yourself before others can love you. If you hate what evolution has placed at the end of legs, others will feel the disharmony. Be well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Tarantino is a well known foot fetishist.

Just remember, you must love yourself before others can love you. If you hate what evolution has placed at the end of legs, others will feel the disharmony. Be well.

That's deep man. I shall carry that advice with me where ever I go walk in life. Namaste. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭snooleen

"will make a character judgement based on the state of them."

Hahaha.

Size 5, nice one. Always have my toenails painted red.

I agree though, we should look after our feet more, it's nasty when you let your toenails grow long. You don't want the legs scratched off ya when you're getting the ride, do you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

snooleen wrote: »
    You don't want the legs scratched off ya when you're getting the ride, do you?

I'll take that offer, thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

WindSock wrote: »
    Tarantino is a well known foot fetishist.

he looks like a ped o file to :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

I think size 5 feet are the most common among women.

Therefore it would stand to reason that if there would be a statistically better chance to find an attractive woman with size 5 feet, than a less common size.

My (size 5 ;) ) feet are grand. But most people seem to have such manky feet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,480 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

yeah remember Tarintino in From Dusk til Dawn the lucky Focker got to suck Salma Hayek's toes mmmmmm. Most guys have a shoe/foot fetish in some form, your more then likely to check out a woman walking down the road in high heels then the ones wearing ugg boots!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭The guy

yeah remember Tarintino in From Dusk til Dawn the lucky Focker got to suck Salma Hayek's toes mmmmmm. Most guys have a shoe/foot fetish in some form, your more then likely to check out a woman walking down the road in high heels then the ones wearing ugg boots!

He puts his foot fetish into every film he has ever made.

Really, cause I have never found a girl attractive because of her feet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 Hue.G rection

This is the biggest load of bull ever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,480 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

I actually think that Ryan Tubridy has a shoe/foot fetish for women's classic high heels, if you listen to him on the radio he usually brings it up, for example he was giving out about Pippa Middleton wearing wedges at Wimbledon during the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭Gigiwagga

See?

Jesus...yucky