Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Randomly Drinking with Millionaires: Short Story

• 30-06-2011 2:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭

Anyone ever had the pleasure? Here's my story....

Me and a friend were on the West Coast for 2 weeks, on the way home we had a connecting flight in Chicago. Anyway our flight to DUB was delayed so we had a few hours to kill.

We sat down at the counter in a little bar playing Brazilian football on the TV. A pint of Samuel Adams was $10.50!! Typical airport prices and we were down to our last few quid (Vegas had got the better of us!). There was a guy right beside me in his 30's. We eventually got talking.

He obviously realized we were Irish and with 3 minutes was shouting at the bar woman:
    "A round a shots for my Ayrish buddies"

"Ah no man, we're grand, we'll only end up puking and we're pretty fcuked already, plus the shots are $13, thanks anyway though!"

"Are you guys kidding me?! Start living up to your Irish name you fcukers. Barkeep, two double JD's for these guys, and while your at it, freshen up their beers aswell."

"Ehhh, ok thanks man"

So anyway the shots arrive in a glass (it was a triple if your going by Irish standards). We neck the shots much to the amusement of the yank, and down half the beer.

"Rack em up again barkeep!"

We look at each other "Oh ****!" Now normally I'm never a guy to turn down free drink, but when you've been drinking constantly for two weeks and are about to board an 8 hour flight..... The second round of shots appears and of course we neck them aswell.

So he starts telling us he's on his way to Kansas on business. He tells us he is a consultant to big Multi Nationals and "has more money than he knows how to spend". He whips out the phone and shows us a few pictures of him and a few Lamborghinis blah blah blah. Now you may think he was taking the piss, but he was loaded, I fairly sure you need to be to get a Black American Express...

"Man, if I had met you guys in Vegas, fcuk, I'd have the drinks flowing and 2 girls each for you guys!"

Anyway he ends up buying us 4 rounds of double shots and beers and needless to say our back teeth are floating. Through the haze I can just about figure out that our flight will be boarding soon. Our new friend is sad to see us go and makes sure we have a pint (in a plastic cup) for our walk to the gate. We make sure to buy him a beer and a double Jameson before we leave.

We eventually find the gate, and it turns out it's still delayed. We considered going back to our new mate but decided a safer bet was to sit at the bar directly opposite our gate.

At this stage we were sh*tfaced and ordered another beer. The second we opened our mouth we hear:

"Hey, you guys are Ayrish eh? Barkeep this ones on me. Hi, I'm Marty." as a man in his 50's pulls up a stool.

"Heading to Dahblin eh?"

Turns out this guy was high up in some Pharmaceutical company and going to Dublin for business. To be honest I can't remember much of the conversation other than that he was a keen 'hurley ball' fan and bought us about 4 or 5 beers each.

Anyway the flight boards and we take our seats, not before giving Brendan Gleeson a rambunctious 'Howiya' as we talk through First Class. Sure enough there's Marty giving us the thumbs up, sitting 2 rows behind Brendan.

"Snacks, Snacks" yelled the air hostess some time later.

"Two Jack and Cokes please"

"Now, we gotta charge for alcoholic beverages Sir"

"No problem, we'll take 2 cokes please" as I reach into my bag for the 1L 50% Smirnoff I picked up in Duty Free.

Don't remember much after that, I have vague memories of standing down the back joking with all the air hostess'. Next thing I know I'm being violently shook by one of them.

"Sir, haha, I've been trying to wake you guys for ages, we're landing in 3 minutes, so put your seats in the upright position" as she hands me back about 100ml of Vodka. Apparently it's illegal to pour your own drink on a transatlantic...

Anyway we arrive in Dublin, pretty destroyed. But hey, at least the flight home felt like 20 minutes! There's nothing like a free session paid for by random rich guys, wish I had met him in Vegas..... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

Riiiight, and what had you been taking this day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

So.......it was all a dream...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭Wetai

Who the hell says "barkeep". :confused:
    I'm out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Obviously you are not familiar with the concept of "short".

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭knird evol

Did you put out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I believe you OP

As that story was so long and boring nobody would go to the effort of inventing it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭theboss80

When did this come out? is it in 3D?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

Can anyone summarize it? Way too long for my short attention span.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

Seachmall wrote: »

OP randomly met millionaire at bar, he bought OP and friend overpriced drinks. OP had a great flight back as was twisted and the 8-hour flight seemed like 20mins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

He sounds like a bit of a knob

Possibly, but would you have refused the free drinks? I wouldn't.:p;)

Something about Ruffies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Do Americans realy say barkeep?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 693 ✭✭✭Uncle Mclovin

Was anyone else waiting for something amazing to happen at the end of the story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭blaze1

I beleive you op..

I was delayed in San Franciso a few years back with the mrs.. didnt meet any millionaires but had great craic :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭Turkana

I was invited to a big function held at the residence of the Dutch ambassador to Uganda. They were celebrating queens day, the Dutch version of St. Paddy's day. Full of business people and suits and ties... I'm sure there must have been a few rich cnuts there.... that's about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

Sounds like a rough idea for a Ross O'Carroll Kelly story

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭Bazzy

Cant see this making it to the list of legendary threads !

mikemac wrote: »
    Do Americans realy say barkeep?

Never heard barkeep being used. Bartender yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

whew thats the longest short story i've ever read

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

LiamN wrote: »
    I'm out.

His name Stuart.
    Bar steward...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭sambora

Was this just a drunken fuelled dream on the plane journey home? lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭ronan45

Read some of the story.... U sure he was a "Millionaire" lol:D
    I buyz drinks too ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭paddydriver

So did the spinning top stay spinning or fall over at the end?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Was really expecting some crazy ending to that story like woke up in the nip or some Neil Prendervile kinda thing of, not got woken up by air hostess were landing end of.

Plus Americans love buying the Irish drunk for some reason you even get that in town on Paddys day over here.

ronan45 wrote: »
    Read some of the story.... U sure he was a "Millionaire" lol:DI buyz drinks too ;)

He had his photo taken at work once. Most fun time he ever had as a car salesman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

LiamN wrote: »

Millionaire pharmaceutical tycoons with a penchant for Vegas hookers it would seem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,288 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

Was his name Withnail?

OutlawPete wrote: »
    Millionaire pharmaceutical tycoons with a penchant for Vegas hookers it would seem.

Charlie Sheen? Ayoooooooooooooh. Yes I went there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭Live4Ever

Yeah, he kept saying 'Barkeep' we laughed every time he said it, it was very very funny.

Defo a millionaire as he had a Black American Express.

Apologies if it's too long, needed something to do to make work go by quicker its so boring today, plus this all happened on Sunday so it's fresh in my head, and it's definetly not a dream. Maybe be a little long for AH but it is the right size for a short story!

Live4Ever wrote: »
    Maybe be a little long for AH but it is the right size for a short story!

Here you go OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

Had lunch with a few well off lawyers who used to work for a large, multinational (and controversial) company, and a Malaysian man who owns a series of factories in Malaysia, Changi I think.

They kept calling him Billy, which wasn't his name.

2+2=?

... no wonder he picked up the tab:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 821 ✭✭✭temply

I thought that was a great story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Did you have a sore arse and a facial tattoo when you woke up ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Korvanica

Aoifey! wrote: »
    Riiiight, and what had you been taking this day?

sounds like he was taking alcohol... you should try it sometime... makes you time travel...

Korvanica wrote: »
    sounds like he was taking alcohol... you should try it sometime... makes you time travel...

Someone should have broken that news to the time travellers wife. Would have save me wasting 90 minutes of my life in the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭LumpyGravy

We can't bust heads like we used to, but we have our ways. One trick is to tell 'em stories that don't go anywhere - like the time I caught the ferry over to Shelbyville. I needed a new heel for my shoe, so, I decided to go to Morganville, which is what they called Shelbyville in those days. So I tied an onion to my belt, which was the style at the time. Now, to take the ferry cost a nickel, and in those days, nickels had pictures of bumblebees on 'em. "Give me five bees for a quarter," you'd say.

Now where were we? Oh yeah: the important thing was I had an onion on my belt, which was the style at the time. They didn't have white onions because of the war. The only thing you could get was those big yellow ones...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

Big sense of deja vu reading that, does it seem familiar to anyone else?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Op date raped by older guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Fake story or not, it beats working, I enjoyed it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

My mom's friend married a bloke who's like the CEO or a director or something of Premier Foods (parent company of Mr Kipling, Hovis, Bisto, Sharwoods... whatever.

Had a drink in a pub a few months back sat between him and a 50 year old bloke from the arse end of Kerry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭User Friendly

so does the guy who bought the drinks for him:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 271 ✭✭JimiWonderDoor 92

prinz wrote: »
    So.......it was all a dream...

I used to read Word-Up Magazine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

it happens, same thing happened to me and a few of the lads in philidelphia, some yank heard the accents and the rounds started flowing while he went on about his massive ranches.....we didnt give a ****e, free booze!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

I play a millionaire at parties....at least, I'd like to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭man.about.town

i enjoyed your story op. i love the yanks, i think there brilliant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

what a crap story. Why should we care if some rich gay guy was trying to get you into bed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

phasers wrote: »
    what a crap story. Why should we care if some rich gay guy was trying to get you into bed?

Think he was trying to get him into the jacks.....

phasers wrote: »

Considering they were all waiting for flights I don't think he was trying to get anyone into bed.

What makes you think the guy was gay? just because he fancied a bit of banter with some Irish guys? I always talk to people when I am waiting for flights. I'm not gay. It's what people do.

Weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,593 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Considering they were all waiting for flights I don't think he was trying to get anyone into bed.

What makes you think the guy was gay? just because he fancied a bit of banter with some Irish guys? I always talk to people when I am waiting for flights. I'm not gay. It's what people do.

Weird.

So do you deny sleeping with men in Rafael Núñez International Airport, Pogány International Airport, and Waterford Airport?

Do you also deny that you are the reason that Aérodrome Saint-Louis closed ?