Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 1,889 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

It was good to see lehane find a bit of form for UCC the last two days.Today he was excellent.
    Willam Egan also was excellent.He is sum striker of the ball from distance.
    From Corks point of view a lot of the intercounty lads impressed. which is good to see.
    Harnedy while he remains a work in progress he showed a bit of steel today.Sum games he tends to fade in and out of them,they bypass him.He had a few rocky moments today , he missed a handy point but he stuck at it right to the end.The first time I saw him do that.It was an excellent goal.He deserves to be on the panel at the very least for the Waterford game.Luke O Farell was good,he always took the fight to UCC.
    It proves all the same what good coaches can do for a team.Cork still have young talent,it is a shame it is hindered by poor management at minor and U21 level.

That's a pity alright the only requirements you need to get the big jobs in Cork Gaa is cronyism and phschopantism!If the seniors land a munster title this year and the minors or u21's land an underage all ireland then that will be a good springboard to build from.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭Thinkstoomuch

H time.Down 1-9 Cork 2-4.
    From listening to the radio it sounds terrible,same old Cork.They got 2 lucky goals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭beeroclock

H time.Down 1-9 Cork 2-4.
    From listening to the radio it sounds terrible,same old Cork.They got 2 lucky goals.

Cheers for the update was googling it when you posted

• Registered Users Posts: 5,038 ✭✭✭zetecescort

winning goal from C Sheehan with last kick of the game. massive worry conceeding 1-17.

• Registered Users Posts: 482 ✭✭Treble20

Delighted Cork got the 2 points today but it must be said by the radio commentary they were lucky to win but you need luck at times and our footballers got it today when at plenty other times it deserted them. A vital 2 points won which still gives them a chance of qualifying for the semis but at the same time doesn't keep the threat of relegation away! Sometimes a lucky break like today can spur the team on to greater things so hopefully this will be the case.

Tyrone away in Omagh next Sunday is going to be a tough task against the joint table toppers,a much improved performance will be needed IMO to beat Tyrone. The hurlers away to Waterford next Sunday too,2 good games to look forward to.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

How did Cork win is beyond me. Very poor in fairness.

beeroclock wrote: »

Cheers for the update was googling it when you posted
    no bother

Amprodude wrote: »
    How did Cork win is beyond me. Very poor in fairness.
    By all accounts it was more of Down beating themselves than Cork playing good.A win is a win,the context of it in the fight to stay up vital but after 3 league games so far Cork seem still as ponderous and slow as ever.
    When none of the full forward line scored from play it tells it own story in the quailty of ball they must have been getting.

Treble20 wrote: »
    Delighted Cork got the 2 points today but it must be said by the radio commentary they were lucky to win but you need luck at times and our footballers got it today when at plenty other times it deserted them. A vital 2 points won which still gives them a chance of qualifying for the semis but at the same time doesn't keep the threat of relegation away! Sometimes a lucky break like today can spur the team on to greater things so hopefully this will be the case.

Tyrone away in Omagh next Sunday is going to be a tough task against the joint table toppers,a much improved performance will be needed IMO to beat Tyrone. The hurlers away to Waterford next Sunday too,2 good games to look forward to.
    I would fear the opposite,this shows just how much Cork are hanging by a thread.I don't think it will spur Cork on at all,it shows this team are in big decline and that it will go nowhere unless things change drastically come the Championship.Tyrone won't give Cork 2 soft goals.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

By all accounts it was more of Down beating themselves than Cork playing good.A win is a win,the context of it in the fight to stay up vital but after 3 league games so far Cork seem still as ponderous and slow as ever.
    When none of the full forward line scored from play it tells it own story in the quailty of ball they must have been getting.

Thats disappointing. I had nothing to go on but the rte website updates. Was thinking we went up north, got the win and scored three goals in the process. Reality of how we won is different tho. We could by in for a very poor summer lads

I would fear the opposite,this shows just how much Cork are hanging by a thread.I don't think it will spur Cork on at all,it shows this team are in big decline and that it will go nowhere unless things change drastically come the Championship.Tyrone won't give Cork 2 soft goals.
    Well I suspect you could be right because personally I think the same as yourself,I'm just hoping the team will prove me wrong. Highlights of game on League Sunday show at 8 00,will be interesting to watch but by the radio Cork were poxed lucky to come out of Newry today with the 2 points. Tyrone will be a major step up in quality from Down. I still reckon Counihan should have moved on after the Donegal defeat last August and let a new manager in to change things around,the current team look stale.

Cork wont win another thing with Counihan in charge, we had a good enough team and he didnt bring the best out of them. He won some lotto there recently and he said that was more important than winning with Cork. That to me sums up his attitude towards Cork football. He really should go now.

SeaFields wrote: »

Thats disappointing. I had nothing to go on but the rte website updates. Was thinking we went up north, got the win and scored three goals in the process. Reality of how we won is different tho. We could by in for a very poor summer lads[/Quote
    yeah any day you get 3 goals is good but 2 were gifted to Cork rather than created.CC will say the usal things,Cork were brave and showed a lot of heart and there becoming more patient.After every game he says the same thing.
    Cork did show great battling qualites this team always has.That is what makes it so frustrating that we have not won more.
    We have the Forwards and some great young players and the battling qualites is something every team wants.
    The fact is Cork are outhought in every game hinders the potential.
    As far as im aware Peadar Healy is still involved in the main parts of training.That is madness.
    I was hoping Mccarthy ,O Neill and more so Brian Cuthbert would take on a more hands on approach.
    Particulary Cuthebert,I would like to be in charge of game plan,tactics etc.
    He's attention to detail is second to none.
    When he was in charge of the minors in 2010 Cork only lost by a point to an excellent tyrone team.
    Cuthbert had played 25 challenge matches that year ,and not in any of those games did he start the same team.Even in the championship he kept the same policy,kept changing things to find the best team.
    Out of all the challenge and Championship games Cork played they only lost one.
    CC has this trait to sticking with he's tried and trusted from 2010.

If there's one thing you can never question about this team it's it's heart,character and determination.Their backs were against the wall while away from home against a crowd of pissed off and frothing at the mouth nordies,two points down with time running out and they still deliver the win and a badly needed two points.Aidan Walsh was a big reason why we won.I think he suffers a bit from peoples expectations off him.He was immense today and his effort,workrate and use of the ball was top class.All we need now is a settled midfield partner for him.Noelie was very poor in the half back line,Jamie O'Sullivan as well as Eoin O'Mahony just look to be lads out of their depths at this level so the performance of Tom Clancy was very encouraging.I think himself and Damien Cahalane could add that bit of freshness and dynamism badly needed in that line.I would like to play Shieldsy at centre back but for that to happen we need new faces to nail down spots in the full back line.

There was also some signs today that the management are developing a gameplan.It's a long way from the finished article but at least it's a start.I also have no issues with the team using cynical tactics.So long as we win the all ireland then i couldn't care less haven't Cork football teams played the role of the happy loser for long enough?It has to controlled and measured cynicism like the way the animals do it.Not brainless and reckless cynicism that just does us more harm than good.I have a few negative thoughts here that i need to get off my chest.I've been patient with Fintan Gould for long enough.How many more ****ing chances does this fella need to step up to the plate?It's worrying that Donnachas poor form is continuing and it's worrying that we conceded so much against a team like Down as well as nearly losing to them.A huge improvement will be required against Tyrone Donegal Kerry and Mayo but the fellas know that.You don't know what you have until it's gone and boy have we missed Paddy Kelly ability to link the play and as well as his ability make things happen.John O'Rourke also look's to be a lad with the vision to make things happen as well and Daniel Goulding will be back soon.So please god we'll drive on now from today and finish the league strongly heading into the championship and hopefully we will continue to refine and improve the gameplan as we go along.

Cork wont win another thing with Counihan in charge, we had a good enough team and he didnt bring the best out of them. He won some lotto there recently and he said that was more important than winning with Cork. That to me sums up his attitude towards Cork football. He really should go now.

Conor has his faults as a manager but i always saw Conor Couniahn as a man that is passionate about Cork football.Why would he take the job for another two years if his heart wasn't in it?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,374 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

lala88 wrote: »
    Is it the county boards fault as well that the footballers aren't going well?

Just go away bai!

Is it the county boards fault as well that the footballers aren't going well?
    Anything to say on your current county team?

Saturday March 16th sees a double header of national league games under lights in Pairc Ui Rinn with Cork V Donegal in the football at 5 00pm followed by Cork v Clare in the hurling at 7 00pm,a great opportunity for Cork fans to see both codes on the 1 night and what promises to be 2 interesting games.

Great way to spend a saturday night. Looking forward to it since it was announced

Saturday March 16th sees a double header of national league games under lights in Pairc Ui Rinn with Cork V Donegal in the football at 5 00pm followed by Cork v Clare in the hurling at 7 00pm,a great opportunity for Cork fans to see both codes on the 1 night and what promises to be 2 interesting games.[/Quote
    thats brillant.Hopefully the weather will do the night justice.
    Last year in March there was a double header too on the sunday,Cork played Galway and then Kerry in the football.We lost both games though.
    On a side note Paudie Sul scored the goal for Munster in the interpros against (Connaught,in name only,it is really a Galway team).
    Those goals in the Cork Football team,two of them were soft.It seemed Gould was not even crossing the ball ,like a poor shot that went wrong and Sheehan pounced.
    RTE calling him Conor sheehan.Their coverage is poor at times.
    What was noticeable was how Dublin really got the best of their forwards from long balls out of defence.
    Kilkenny proved this point when he gathered the ball deep in he's own half,and even with 2 men free beside him,he decided to kick long instead of make the handpass,result was a goal.
    Even Armagh were kicking long ball against Longford.Their forwards would not Compare to Cork,but they still scored as they isolated the forwards in one and one's with their markers.
    If only cork would do the same.Bar the Donegal game last year ,Cork have always won most of the midfield battles.Under CC Cork have won 2/3rds of possesion in all games but still the forwards return is woeful.

At least CC only made one change to the team that he announced Thursday at throw in today.Some one had a word in he's ear I would say.
    One change is tolerable.Hopefully that is the end of the dummy team selection process that has been a mainstay in the previous team selections under him.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

lala88, please stop trying to wind up other posters.
    To others, please remember that personal abuse of any posters isn't on.

• Registered Users Posts: 230 ✭✭Blue Magic

Sweet. Look forward to that one!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭lala88

Anything to say on your current county team?

Things arent going well at the moment but we have a new manager and a lot of new players and they both need time. Unlike in Cork we dont see the need to run off on strike and blame everyone else when things so bad ye should tryy it sometime

lala88, please stop trying to wind up other posters.
    To others, please remember that personal abuse of any posters isn't on.

Its a simple question. Seeing how every bad manger in Cork is the county boards fault i wanted to know if this was the same

• Registered Users Posts: 3,967 ✭✭✭lukin

Hadn't heard about that. Have you a link to that quote?
    I don't agree with you at all that he is not committed to the Cork team; he was training them on New Year's Day this year and he's travelled the length and breadth of the county looking at players.

Unlike in Cork we dont see the need to run off on strike and blame everyone else when things so bad ye should tryy it sometime

Christ.......:rolleyes:

Is it not true? Anytime Cork so bad in football or hurling who is the first one to get the blame?

• Registered Users Posts: 36 Randy Watson

He is part of an 8 man horse racing syndicate that had a win recently. Is this what you are referring to?

Didn't hear anying about a lotto win.

As for him saying that it's 'more important then winning with Cork' have you a link for these quotes made by Counihan?

I would be very surprised if he did say that! I mean he did say it right?

At least CC only made one change to the team that he announced Thursday at throw in today.Some one had a word in he's ear I would say.
    One change is tolerable.Hopefully that is the end of the dummy team selection process that has been a mainstay in the previous team selections under him.
    It was getting a bit farcical alright. Youd hear the chuckles in the crowd before throw in when the usual 'there are the following changes to the cork team...'came over the loud speaker.