Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 4,509 ✭✭✭passremarkable

ye need daniel goulding back badly imo

• Registered Users Posts: 9 Misunderstood

Turns out my sources were 100% correct on the Cussen fake injury. Apparently he was up in Navan on the weekend absolutely falling around the place. My sisters friend from college was working in the bar and said he was a disgrace.
    Came on to her and everything and she asked him was he not playing a match that day and he said, "**** no, I'm "injured" (fake air-commas and all)" and started laughing. I have no issues with the lads going on the tear when they have time off. But this STINKS of ungratefulness and arrogance.

For a fella who is being given a second chance with Cork he would want to cop on to himself.

An embarrassment.

• Registered Users Posts: 230 ✭✭Blue Magic

Turns out my sources were 100% correct on the Cussen fake injury. Apparently he was up in Navan on the weekend absolutely falling around the place. My sisters friend from college was working in the bar and said he was a disgrace.
    Came on to her and everything and she asked him was he not playing a match that day and he said, "**** no, I'm "injured" (fake air-commas and all)" and started laughing. I have no issues with the lads going on the tear when they have time off. But this STINKS of ungratefulness and arrogance.

For a fella who is being given a second chance with Cork he would want to cop on to himself.

An embarrassment.

He's a useless bollocks either anyway. Was never going to last around the scene until Championship!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,346 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Blue Magic wrote: »
    He's a useless bollocks either anyway. Was never going to last around the scene until Championship!

True, but I'd prefer if someone else got a spot in front of him. We need to blood as many new players as possible in the league.

ShamoBuc wrote: »

True, but I'd prefer if someone else got a spot in front of him. We need to blood as many new players as possible in the league.
    I feel jbm won't drop him as he won't want to admit he made a mistake bringing him
    Back!!! Useless doesn't even start to describe him! Do u honestly think he will be dropped from the panel before c'ship???

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,346 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

No, I wish he was, but I cannot see it coming to pass.

Oh god it's going to be painful watching him stumble around dropping balls (dropping them only if he can't manage to catch them first) all over the field for the year. Painful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭Thinkstoomuch

I would agree with all of that.
    He should not be on the panel,for one reason only,that he is not up to Inter County Level and the fact he was given enough chances in 2010 and failed to do it should be proof enough.
    He was in much better form for he's Club back then but could not carry it through to Cork.
    He has brought nothing new to he's game since then to suggest he can step it up.
    I would love to see him do it ,as Cork need a target man,and at 6 foot 7 he would be ideal,but there is a lot more needed to survive in Championship than just being tall.
    He has as far as i know failed to score in a Championship game for Cork.
    In 2010 in any big game he played he was poor.
    Against Waterford in the championship he was poor.
    Against Antrim in Croke Park he failed to score.
    He was named to start against Kilkenny in the Semi final but even Denis walsh did not have faith him that he was replaced before throw in,and a young Cian Mccarthy was thrown in the lions den and made he's debut.
    When Cussen did come on and the game was well over and the intensity had dropped, he still could not make an impact.
    He will start though for the League and Championship,I would suspect based on that JBM said that he had made a mistake last year by not including him on the panel.
    He said they were well pleased with him after the UCC Game.
    Whether Peter O Brien or Fintan O Leary have what it takes remains to be seen but they should be given a chance at the least in the League.

• Registered Users Posts: 325 ✭✭mr bungle.

ray cummins in the paper today.he is saying that cork are fooked this year in the hurling and that the footballers are not much better.seems to be doom and gloom stuff all over the place

• Registered Users Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

mr bungle. wrote: »
    ray cummins in the paper today.he is saying that cork are fooked this year in the hurling and that the footballers are not much better.seems to be doom and gloom stuff all over the place
    I'd be very worried about the hurlers but the footballers are more than capable of having a decent year, it's early days yet for them, plenty of football to be played

• Registered Users Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Yeah, it seemed to be a bit of tough love directed at the footballers. A case of ye are well able for it so get the finger out and work harder, especially directed at the forwards

• Registered Users Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

SeaFields wrote: »
    Yeah, it seemed to be a bit of tough love directed at the footballers. A case of ye are well able for it so get the finger out and work harder, especially directed at the forwards
    Bit of motivation never hurt anybody! :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 325 ✭✭mr bungle.

D'Agger wrote: »
    Bit of motivation never hurt anybody! :pac:
    you would imagine the incentive of having a chance of winning an all Ireland and representing their county would be enough motivation for them!!its like ah we won an all Ireland that will do.

mr bungle. wrote: »
    you would imagine the incentive of having a chance of winning an all Ireland and representing their county would be enough motivation for them!!its like ah we won an all Ireland that will do.
    I would be more concerned about Counihan's inability to devise a new game plan and tactics and new ideas to beat teams that operate blanket defences in the modern game,and would also be worried that he is more likely to revert back to he's tried and trusted group of players than implement youth and actually gave them time to prove themselves rather than just the odd game here and there.

I'm not concerned about that at all. He is what he is and I'm not really expecting him to change.
    A more open minded and tactically astute manager would love to get their hands on this Cork team - and I would love for them to do just that.

Unfortunately, we are stuck with him and I am not expecting anything much from Cork this year - we will probably lose in the semis, that's the very best we can hope for with Counihan in charge.

I'm not concerned about that at all. He is what he is and I'm not really expecting him to change.
    A more open minded and tactically astute manager would love to get their hands on this Cork team - and I would love for them to do just that.

Unfortunately, we are stuck with him and I am not expecting anything much from Cork this year - we will probably lose in the semis, that's the very best we can hope for with Counihan in charge.
    He has a two year term,so unless he embraces change and learns from last year not only will cork not win all irelands but they will fall further behind other counties,the next two years.
    2015 is a hell of a long time to wait to win an All ireland.He should let the selectors take a pivotal role in terms of developing new tactics.Whether there up it remains to be seen but it is certain that tactics is not a strength of CC.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,770 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Very much agree that Counihan as a tactician has been a major weakness for Cork in the last couple of years. The game against Donegal last year was an awful indictment in that regard. Starting with seven forwards against a team whose entire modus operandi is to suck you forward so they can hit you on the counterattack was baffling.

On another note, we've got a piece on the Cork squad since JBM took over here if anyone wants to take a look:

http://www.livegaelic.com/features/cork-hurling-the-jbm-era-so-far/

Interesting reading IMO.

keane2097 wrote: »
    Very much agree that Counihan as a tactician has been a major weakness for Cork in the last couple of years. The game against Donegal last year was an awful indictment in that regard. Starting with seven forwards against a team whose entire modus operandi is to suck you forward so they can hit you on the counterattack was baffling.

On another note, we've got a piece on the Cork squad since JBM took over here if anyone wants to take a look:

http://www.livegaelic.com/features/cork-hurling-the-jbm-era-so-far/

Interesting reading IMO.
    You nailed that on the head.It was madness to play those tactics considering the fact that the forwards were starved of fast direct ball for long periods of the game.
    Even if they had 12 forwards in their, it would have made no difference as Corks approach play was and still is too slow and predictable.199 times Cork hand passed the ball in that game,100 in the first half,99 times in the second half.
    The most worrying aspect is Cork's style of play has been the same in the 3 games that were lost this year to Tippereary,Dublin and Kildare.
    Cork have the most potent Full forward line we have ever add,all they need is a good supply.
    Donnacha O Connor,and Daniel Goulding are second and third to Colin Corkery as Corks top points scorers ever.There ahead of even Larry Tompkins.
    When you add Colm O Neill to that line ,U21 player of the year a few years ago and now an All Star,that Full Forward Line together is the best we ever had and probably will ever have again.
    And we have half forwards the calibre of Sheehan,Kerrigan,as well.
    If Cork were to give them a good supply of ball,they would be more than a match for anyone in the Country.
    Cork need half backs that can move the ball quickly,not extra forwards or Target men in at Full Forward,which CC as manager seems to think is the best way to beat teams like Donegal and Dublin.

In regards the link you posted about the hurling,it is a great piece and the sad thing is it shows just what a bad place Cork Hurling is in at the moment.
    I hope im wrong but it could come down to a play off between Cork and Waterford to stay up this year.
    Kilkenny and Galway away from home would be big ask for any team,but for such a young team it will be very diffcult.
    A win Saturday night is vital,but it will be a tough game.

The Cork Senior Hurling team to play Tippereary on Saturday night will line out as follows:

1.Anthony Nash  Kanturk
    2. Shane o Neill Bishopstown
    3.Stephen Mcdonnell Glen Rovers
    4. Conor O'Sullivan Sarsfields
     5.Stephen White Ballygarvan
    6. Christopher Joyce Na Piarsaigh
    7. Willam Egan Kilbrin
    8. Daniel Kearney Sarsfields
    9. Lorchan Mcloughlin Kanturk
    10. Paudie O Sullivan Cloyne
    11. Cian Mcarthy Sarsfields
    12. Conor Lehane Midleton
    13. Stephen Moylan Douglas
    14. Luke O Farell Midleton
    15. Pat Horgan Glen Rovers

Subs.
    Darren McCarthy Ballymartyle
    Mark Ellis Milstreet
    Michael Walsh Kildorrery
    Tom Kenny Grenagh
    Peter O Brien Kildorrey
    Adrian Mannix Kilworth
    Brian Hartnett Midleton
    Rob O Shea Carrigaline

• Registered Users Posts: 5,033 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Pretty much our strongest team IMO, except maybe Brian Murphy and Tom Kenny. Interesting to see Paudie at wing forward.

No sign of Cussen thankfully.

Pretty much our strongest team IMO, except maybe Brian Murphy and Tom Kenny. Interesting to see Paudie at wing forward.

Hope that becomes a recurring theme this year!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Cussen is injured afaik.

Brian Murphy is on the subs along with Killian Murphy (Eirn's Own) and Seamus Harnedy (St Ita's).
    Sorry, my mistake,i left them out of the subs.
    No player starting has a Senior,U21 or minor all ireland medal which is a big worry.
    Only Nash,Mcloughlin,O Farell and Moylan would have won an all ireland at intermediate level.Their is a huge lack of underage success in this team and while the talent is their,it is lacking all ireland medal winners to help ease the tranistion that the team is undergoing and the self belief that comes from success.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,687 ✭✭✭Grats

No success at colleges, club, minor, U21, senior for Cork in many years was ignored while all the energy was wasted on in fighting. A new era is dawning in Cork with most of the old fighters gone. JBM can only do so much with the current crop - lacking in success and confidence. The most pressing issue now is for Cork to start winning at underage etc and then perhaps in about 5/6 years time they will be serious contenders at senior level. What a pity so much was wasted in the noughties.

• Registered Users Posts: 46 jambon29

I hear that Newtown are the shock favourites for relegation in the Senior hurling championship after the refusal of some top players to play. Anyone else hear something?

• Registered Users Posts: 17,770 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

We've got a great, in depth preview of the match tomorrow here if anyone wants to take a look. Worth checking out IMO:

http://www.livegaelic.com/news/national-hurling-league-cork-vs-tipperary-preview/

keane2097 wrote: »
    We've got a great, in depth preview of the match tomorrow here if anyone wants to take a look. Worth checking out IMO:

http://www.livegaelic.com/news/national-hurling-league-cork-vs-tipperary-preview/

As always, an enjoyable an insightful read.

• Registered Users Posts: 482 ✭✭Treble20

jambon29 wrote: »
    I hear that Newtown are the shock favourites for relegation in the Senior hurling championship after the refusal of some top players to play. Anyone else hear something?
    Widespread rumours of unrest in the camp with as you say some top players refusing to line out because of the appointment of ex Clare hurling manager The Sparrow to the team.

• Registered Users Posts: 46 jambon29

Treble20 wrote: »
    Widespread rumours of unrest in the camp with as you say some top players refusing to line out because of the appointment of ex Clare hurling manager The Sparrow to the team.
    Some carry on, whatever about not playing for your county, not playing for your club is criminal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 H.A.M

Treble20 wrote: »

I did hear a rumor last week that a few of the big players such as ben and jerry have opted to play junior this year rather than senior. Not sure what truth is in it but thats what I heard