Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,194 ✭✭✭lukin

Been trying to book on Irish Rail for the Tipp game on the 17th but it's stalling on me. Could all the seats be booked out already? I can't even get an earlier train.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Deco99 wrote: »
    If you've a problem with my grammar report it. The rules state no text speak so mind your own glass house.

As for the paragraph that follows, why are the fans at fault for that? Surely thats players and management responsibility? Cant see what the fans could do there. But regards turning up to games most of them are useless I agree.

As regards the football, I feel mayo is our final. Win there and the dubs will have too much in the final for us. But I don't rate management, feels like they get less out of the players than they should.

Text speak? Where exactly have I used "text speak"? :D

Why should Cork people hand over €30 for a ticket and spend another €50 or €60 to get there, to watch a bunch of half-hearted players, most of whom are not fit to wear the red shirt of Cork? The way they played against Kerry was absolutely shameful, and I reckon Mayo will hockey them, so you'd be better off saving your hard-earned cash for the hurlers instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭seventh7

super indepth post as usual.
    Douglas will have a shout in the shake up they have a fine powerful side and dolan is briming with confidence. The standard this year is very good.
    Na Parsaigh were excellent against Father O Neils in CIT with Lee and Ahern driving them forward at every opportunity its hard to believe that Ahern is 15 years old. Could see him playing like his clubman O Halpin in a Cork half backline. Na parsaigh are using him in midfield due to his hurling ability and engine. A waste in my opinion. Our man Harrington another in the same mould playing in a minor side in the middle of the field for the same reason. These two have improved no end under the tutelage of the Rock this year. In fact I would go as far as saying they are the most improved players in that u16 squad.
    Blackrock have must believe they have chance with another cork U16 Deasy playing a staring role. Sars off course have oodles of talent and they too must harbour hopes. Its going to be a busy few weeks. I think this year is a lottery with a lot of younger players being used in minor panels they may well decide the outcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 Animal Bar

What brave post, no one is asking for support like yours. If you don't like it don't watch it and don't comment. Players harldy ment to be flat against kerry but these things happen get over it. Sligo was a start to getting back on track but with 1 or 2 changes we can give Mayo a game.

Animal Bar wrote: »
    What brave post, no one is asking for support like yours. If you don't like it don't watch it and don't comment. Players harldy ment to be flat against kerry but these things happen get over it. Sligo was a start to getting back on track but with 1 or 2 changes we can give Mayo a game.

You're obviously not old enough to remember the likes of Jimmy Barry Murphy, Billy Morgan, Dinny Allen, Tony Davis, or Dave Barry playing for Cork. Those guys would never have laid down and let the Kerry boggers humiliate them down the Park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,265 ✭✭✭ciarriaithuaidh

You're obviously not old enough to remember the likes of Jimmy Barry Murphy, Billy Morgan, Dinny Allen, Tony Davis, or Dave Barry playing for Cork. Those guys would never have laid down and let the Kerry boggers humiliate them down the Park.

Dinny Allen was on the Cork team that scored a grand total of 0-3 in 1981 v Kerry down the park for one, JBM, Morgan all were on Cork teams hammered by Kerry...maybe think (or do some research) before typing next time..or using childish phrases like "boggers". :rolleyes:

Dinny Allen was on the Cork team that scored a grand total of 0-3 in 1981 v Kerry down the park for one, JBM, Morgan all were on Cork teams hammered by Kerry...maybe think (or do some research) before tying next time..or using childish phrases like "boggers". :rolleyes:

So says the Kerryman :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,741 ✭✭✭The White Feather

Text speak? Where exactly have I used "text speak"? :D

Why should Cork people hand over €30 for a ticket and spend another €50 or €60 to get there, to watch a bunch of half-hearted players, most of whom are not fit to wear the red shirt of Cork? The way they played against Kerry was absolutely shameful, and I reckon Mayo will hockey them, so you'd be better off saving your hard-earned cash for the hurlers instead.
    Animal Bar wrote: »

I totally agree with your post Animal Bar.

Harry, Calling our close neighbours insulting names shows no class. They hammered us. Its over and we move on. Wish them well and who knows, we might meet again in the Championship and the result might be different.It hurts to lose but some days it happens.

Only supporting the Hurlers as they are winning says a lot. We need to get behind both teams. Obviously we can disect the team selection and management but until we are definitively out of the Championship, its outrageous to suggest to people not to bother supporting them and just follow the hurlers. People who do that are usually first in line to welcome them back with the cup and say they knew they would do it.

The players are amateur. They pull on a jersey to represent Cork so we should support them win,lose or draw. If we get beaten then just admit we were second best on the day but why be a bad loser? We should respect every team we play and not just when we win

The dream of the Double is still alive by the way!

Dinny Allen was on the Cork team that scored a grand total of 0-3 in 1981 v Kerry down the park for one, JBM, Morgan all were on Cork teams hammered by Kerry...maybe think (or do some research) before tying next time..or using childish phrases like "boggers". :rolleyes:

You're comparing apples with oranges, by the way. The 1981 Kerry team were on their way to winning four in a row. This current Kerry team is very pale by comparison. They haven't won an All Ireland since 2009 and they're without Cooper and the fashion model Galvin. Cork gave up and the true fans will never forget that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Hotfail.com

lukin wrote: »
    Been trying to book on Irish Rail for the Tipp game on the 17th but it's stalling on me. Could all the seats be booked out already? I can't even get an earlier train.

Tried last night and they were feck all seats left.

They'll have to add more I'd imagine, the train will be running through Thurles on the way up as well so every train will have to cater for supporters of both counties. I'd imagine an extra three or four will be added in the coming days.

If your stuck there's also a GoBe bus which goes from the bus station up to BusÁras, it's €30 as far as I know, non-stop and there's a toilet on board.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,265 ✭✭✭ciarriaithuaidh

You're comparing apples with oranges, by the way. The 1981 Kerry team were on their way to winning four in a row. This current Kerry team is very pale by comparison. They haven't won an All Ireland since 2009 and they're without Cooper and the fashion model Galvin. Cork gave up and the true fans will never forget that.

Yeah you're clearly one of those...

Tried last night and they were feck all seats left.
    Makes me feel a bit better that I didn't get them this morning. :)
    They'll have to add more I'd imagine, the train will be running through Thurles on the way up as well so every train will have to cater for supporters of both counties. I'd imagine an extra three or four will be added in the coming days.

If your stuck there's also a GoBe bus which goes from the bus station up to BusÁras, it's €30 as far as I know, non-stop and there's a toilet on board.
    Cheers, I will keep an eye on the news to see if they add more trains.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Hotfail.com

Makes me feel a bit better that I didn't get them this morning. :)

Cheers, I will keep an eye on the news to see if they add more trains.

It'll be on the Irishrail homepage if they do add anymore, and they'll have it up on Twitter/Facebook if you're ever on there :)

They've only added extra trains for the football QFs now, so I'd imagine you might be a while waiting for them to add ones for hurling, not too sure though tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭Gary Neville

Yeah you're clearly one of those...

That lad is only looking for a reaction. I wouldn't waste my time replying to the likes of him.

Whilst no one in Cork wanted a defeat like the Munster Final - It did serve a purpose - It forced our Management to wake up and smell the coffee.

After Dublin, Tipp and Kerry all ripping our defence to shreds, we had to tighten up our defence and Sligo were perfect opponents - we couldn't have got poorer round 4 opponents and their best known forward David Kelly wasn't 100% fit.

A competent management set-up with a decent defensive plan can achieve a lot - Armagh is the perfect example. Conversely, an inexperienced naieve crew such as Cork will usually create a shambles. Bizzarely, Kerry may have inadvertly done us a favour as our management were forced to abandon their folly.

Being realistic, Mayo are at a very advanced stage in their development, having put in the hard work on the training ground over a few seasons now - we've only been rehearsing for a couple of weeks now after 3 months going down a cul-de-sac.

But we've got a lot of winners, at every level, in our team and maybe the pedigree can bridge the prep gap.

Hope springs eternal and we're off to HQ, once again, with a spring in our step.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

The Cork U21 Hurling team to play Clare in the Munster Final on Wednesday night at 7.15pm in Ennis will line out as follows:
    1. Patrick Collins (Ballinhassig)
    2. Stephen Murphy (Blackrock)
    3. Colm Barry (Castlelyons)
    4. Cian Buckley (Na Piarsaigh)
    5. Kevin Kavanagh (Carrigaline)
    6. Killian Burke (Midleton – Captain)
    7. Killian McIntyre (Carrigaline)
    8. Darragh Brosnan (Brian Dillon's)
    9. Rickard Cahalane (Ballymartle)
    10. Shane O Keeffe (Blackrock)
    11. Colm Spillane (Castlelyons) 
    12. Michael Collins (Ballinhassig)
    13. Anthony Spillane (Castlelyons)
    14. Alan Cadogan (Douglas)
    15. Rob O’Shea (Carrigaline)

Pat Kenneally and his selectors have made just one change to the team that defeated Waterford in the Munster Semi-Final, with Killian McIntyre replacing the suspended Cormac Murphy.

Subs
    16. Michael Brown (Ballyhea)
    17. Colm Coleman (Ballymartle)
    18. Paul Fitzgerald (Douglas)
    19. Mark Sugrue (Bandon)
    20. Killian O Connor (Mallow)
    21. Mark O Connor (Douglas)
    22. Cormac Walsh (Midleton)
    23. Alan Dennehy (Charleville)
    24. Eoin Smith (Blackrock)

Additional Panel Members
    Pa Herlihy (Mallow)
    Kevin O'Keeffe (Blackrock) 
    Pa White (Midleton)
    Cormac Murphy (Mallow)

Selectors: Alan Browne, John Hodgins, Damien Irwin, Pat Kenneally and Ger O’ Halloran.
    Logistics: Derek Connolly
    Physical: trainers: Richard O’ Leary and Niall McIntyre
    Medical: Dr. Paddy Burke and John O’ Meara.
    Statistics: Liam Duncliffe

My fears were realised with this management again with just one enforced change imo is a failure to read the last game at face value and realise there was serious weak aeras at times against waterford that had us in real trouble in the ist half and there is better players here not starting,two not even on the panel and lads being played out of position.

Cork will play a sweeper and thats good but unlike Waterford this Clare team know how to actually use it.I geuinely don't believe that Waterford team showed there true form,they were not as bad as that and i dont as a team bar murphy,spillanes and Cadogan and collins think was a great team display by Cork as there is so much to work on.And Collins,saved at least 4 certain goals.

As good and it was a vital win for Cork the fact we have imo some weak aeras in defence,and attack,despite being in aMunster final ,the fact it is clare unbeaten in 2 and half years and it is ennis and without the inspirational Cormac Murphy(didnt get the ban overtur.ed,they had delayed time in getting footage from tg4 i think did not help them)it is a huge ask.

Despite flaws in defence and attack imo in the team many would,think as,Cork are in the Munster final they are the second best team in Munster and could win,imo doubt Cork can overcome the contradiction.
    It is this game where Cork could really do with Kevin O Keoffe,the Outstanding and as good as Alan Cadogan Pa Callaghan.

Colm Barry was outstanding against Galway in the second half saturday at half  back yet he struggled at full against Waterford and this half back line could struggle with high ball against a potent clare half forward line.

A huge ask and test Of our management.If Cork can stay competitve and stay within 3 points of clare even in defeat i would say credit due to managemenent.He as a manager had failed to get he's teams to put two back to back displays together in the past.He must do that to convince me.

I don't doubt that if Cork picked the best 15 lads in the County we,could,at the very least push Clare all the way.

A huge game and Best of luck to Cork in it.Its live on tg4 for those that can not travel.

Reading practically every paper The Sunday World,The Sunday Times the Indepenent particuålry Dermot Crowe they all brought a touch of Realism to and said Cork.were,far from convincing and Sligo were very poor.I hoped we get realism and not get carried away in the Cork media and thankfully they did not and credit due.

Also Maguire did not dominate and,was good but he was not excellent in the game as the Briillant Astute Anayalst,Tomas O Se who will always be one of my favourite players and going to be a Real top coach had the honesty to say Corks midfield even with Goulds Cameo lost the Midfield battle to sligo on the Sunday Game.Sligo won the battle at,Midfield yet Mayo have the O sheas,moran and,Gibbions etc

I dont blame Maguire as he shouldnt of started.Our Midfield has been a shambles in the Mcgrath cup,every league game and now 3 championship games bar Cameos here and their.

The Management are Primarly to  blame we are now entering a game against a top class midfield witbout a settled,effective partnership.We have,zero evidence that this management team with one player gone of the panel in the last week,a few unhappy in the camo as said also by  Darragh o Se, is a competent set up or learned lessons  from the Kerry Game. As,Sligo is hardly the Road to Redemption just.The best judge at  that is,around 6pm this Sunday.

To say the Kerry game could serve a purpose of any kind to us and we could take good things from the defeat I would not agree.How our worst Munstet Final defeat since 1962 to an ageging Kerry without the Gooch can be even dreamed as kind of you learn more in defeat than victory,this is one defeat that certainly doesnt follow that script.

And have they learned,when Midfield is a huge worry and they played a half back corner back against Sligo.
    Imo the last game don't show they havd learned much.They did credit due change the system.

They should never have had,Andrew Sullivan imo recalled as 2008 and 2010 proved what he,could and,could not do yet in around 8 of 9 games under cuthbhert he,started despite a fit Deane,And Laoire.

He then realised He was not what was required,terrificly brave and committed but lacking the ball winning and kickpassing needed at this level.
    So from Regular starter to being compeltely left out in the Cold it would be natural if Andrew felt frustrated.

I judge Andrew as aSenior Cork players soley and that is Only why i repeatedly said he should not be playing him as like other lads  he was  being asked to do roles they under previous managers,failed,to do.

In Andrews Case i feel ,sorry,for him .The situation is not a good one imo as Management built him up game after game and as he was a starter all year despite not convincing.

Looking at,Andrews not starting I wonder How laoire must feel.He never got a chance yet Andrew who was a Firm favourite is not anymore.

Sean Dinneen they had to persude to give it a go ,he did with farming and he committed to Cork.Outstanding in the camp in UL,A V B games and challenges he still gets no game bar a late late sub against Sligo.

So this view Cuthbhert picks on what he sees in training is a not a justifable reason to cover themselves but a,common trait many poor mangers use when there shown up for wrong selections time and again imo.We picked on what we saw in training is their answer.

Many are flying in training yet being overlooked.The problem is Cuthbherts Perception and like he,'s selectors are not great to judge players as shown  by there poor record so far.

Deane couldnt make the original panel despite being superb for tralee IT in the,Mcgrath Cup against kerry and had fine u21 form and,club team of the year last year.

He eventually got recalled to the panel yet after outshining Andrew Sullivan in the Match Stats in the Westmeath game i think yet he still could not start the next day.

Management then last throw of the dice imo throws in a,Rookie in Maguire,expects the lad to dominate and then takes him off.Im a huge fan and have been since last year with Maguire and if developed will be a great midfielder in the future but he's time is not against Mayo imo and to start him could destroy he's confidence if he has a bad game.
    The game for Maguire was the Tipp game.It would be a huge gamble to start the lad.

It is likey Gould will start but in the 7 years with Cork and not all he's own fault as he has been swapped from pillar to post he has failed to put 3 top level displays against top teams back to back.Management clearly do not fully believe he is the answer at midfield as they drop him yet bring him on again.

The Midfield is a classic example of all thats wrong with there management ,they picked players that were picked to do jobs they couldnt do it,had a unjustifed loyalty to  certain players yet lost faith in them and panicked then it throwing rookies in.It was not a bold brave move to start Maguire imo, more sheer what do we next style of ,complete panic with no real direction.

Yet they have a real poor view of,Deane when fit,Dinnen and Laoire and as based on the games Deane,laoire and dinneen faces cleary do not fit with this management.

The Management made many mistakes for Kerry and the Tippereary games.If they turn a,corner then i will give,credit due but only when we have,Real evidence and,an Unconvincing stuttering display at times when a Poor poor Sligo  had a lot of possesion does not provide that imo.

As proven time and,again in any sport all the,talent in the,world is not much good unless you have a management that can harvest their raw potential in to a Golden Crop.The team they pick with subs will tell us have we a realistic chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭Gary Neville

I don't think we have a chance, irrespective of what players are picked TTM1. Mayo have been convincing at this stage for the last few years and have disappointed in Finals.

Now that we've adopted a workable game plan - we're more solid in defence but it will take time to iron out the creases. We wasted that time from the League Semi to the Munster Final while management adopted a trial and error policy.

Cuthbert should be accepting the blame for the mistakes but he's not :- When it comes to games, you've a set-up going into it and sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't. You've to take each team on its merits. - "Our confidence and our character and everything else about us was questioned. This doesn't erase all that, certainly not, because our performance was so poor the last day. But we'd like to think we came with a bit more desire and intensity."

However, the players are getting on with it and just hoping that now we've got a plan then maybe we can prepare properly next season. A few players must be unhappy that they've been scape goated and no one could condone the way Butcher was treated v Tipp - I wonder how Ciaran O Sullivan feels about it - My fear is that we'll really struggle for possession at MF and then concede a big score - that would set us back big time for next season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 Animal Bar

Is the team being named tonight? Team id like to see is:
    Ken
    Galvin Cadogan Shields

Collins O'Rourke

Loughrey Cahalane O' Driscoll

Walsh Gould

Kerrigan Kelly

O'Neill Hurley

Just becasue we beat sligo doesn't mean changes shouldn't be made. Mayo are experience and an intelligent team.
    I dont think Clancy is up to this level and maybe cahalane would have the determination to stick to Aidan O' Shea as he struggles with pace on the wing but would have the aggression to keep tackling O' Shea as he plays a mountain of ball. He can kick pass also which Clancy doesnt.

O' Rourke is great on the breaks and this will be vital on Sunday as I doubt we will out field Mayo.

I fear Cuthbert will thing he has solved the problems on the back of Sligo and be happy to name the same team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭Smith614

The Cork U21 Hurling team to play Clare in the Munster Final on Wednesday night at 7.15pm in Ennis will line out as follows:
    1. Patrick Collins (Ballinhassig)
    2. Stephen Murphy (Blackrock)
    3. Colm Barry (Castlelyons)
    4. Cian Buckley (Na Piarsaigh)
    5. Kevin Kavanagh (Carrigaline)
    6. Killian Burke (Midleton – Captain)
    7. Killian McIntyre (Carrigaline)
    8. Darragh Brosnan (Brian Dillon's)
    9. Rickard Cahalane (Ballymartle)
    10. Shane O Keeffe (Blackrock)
    11. Colm Spillane (Castlelyons)
    12. Michael Collins (Ballinhassig)
    13. Anthony Spillane (Castlelyons)
    14. Alan Cadogan (Douglas)
    15. Rob O’Shea (Carrigaline)

Pat Kenneally and his selectors have made just one change to the team that defeated Waterford in the Munster Semi-Final, with Killian McIntyre replacing the suspended Cormac Murphy.

Subs
    16. Michael Brown (Ballyhea)
    17. Colm Coleman (Ballymartle)
    18. Paul Fitzgerald (Douglas)
    19. Mark Sugrue (Bandon)
    20. Killian O Connor (Mallow)
    21. Mark O Connor (Douglas)
    22. Cormac Walsh (Midleton)
    23. Alan Dennehy (Charleville)
    24. Eoin Smith (Blackrock)

Additional Panel Members
    Pa Herlihy (Mallow)
    Kevin O'Keeffe (Blackrock)
    Pa White (Midleton)
    Cormac Murphy (Mallow)

Selectors: Alan Browne, John Hodgins, Damien Irwin, Pat Kenneally and Ger O’ Halloran.
    Logistics: Derek Connolly
    Physical: trainers: Richard O’ Leary and Niall McIntyre
    Medical: Dr. Paddy Burke and John O’ Meara.
    Statistics: Liam Duncliffe

My fears were realised with this management again with just one enforced change imo is a failure to read the last game at face value and realise there was serious weak aeras at times against waterford that had us in real trouble in the ist half and there is better players here not starting,two not even on the panel and lads being played out of position.

Cork will play a sweeper and thats good but unlike Waterford this Clare team know how to actually use it.I geuinely don't believe that Waterford team showed there true form,they were not as bad as that and i dont as a team bar murphy,spillanes and Cadogan and collins think was a great team display by Cork as there is so much to work on.And Collins,saved at least 4 certain goals.

As good and it was a vital win for Cork the fact we have imo some weak aeras in defence,and attack,despite being in aMunster final ,the fact it is clare unbeaten in 2 and half years and it is ennis and without the inspirational Cormac Murphy(didnt get the ban overtur.ed,they had delayed time in getting footage from tg4 i think did not help them)it is a huge ask.

Despite flaws in defence and attack imo in the team many would,think as,Cork are in the Munster final they are the second best team in Munster and could win,imo doubt Cork can overcome the contradiction.
    It is this game where Cork could really do with Kevin O Keoffe,the Outstanding and as good as Alan Cadogan Pa Callaghan.

Colm Barry was outstanding against Galway in the second half saturday at half back yet he struggled at full against Waterford and this half back line could struggle with high ball against a potent clare half forward line.

A huge ask and test Of our management.If Cork can stay competitve and stay within 3 points of clare even in defeat i would say credit due to managemenent.He as a manager had failed to get he's teams to put two back to back displays together in the past.He must do that to convince me.

I don't doubt that if Cork picked the best 15 lads in the County we,could,at the very least push Clare all the way.

A huge game and Best of luck to Cork in it.Its live on tg4 for those that can not travel.

Alan Cadogan is miles ahead of any other u21 forward in Cork. You keep talking about A player who hasn't the ambition or drive to play for Cork. Not Keneallys fault, Any player who refuses to join a Cork senior training panel under JBM is lacking something IMO. aside from this I fear Cork could get a right roasting in this game. Hope Im wrong but I fear the worst.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭Figsy32

Smith614 wrote: »
    You keep talking about A player who hasn't the ambition or drive to play for Cork. Not Keneallys fault, Any player who refuses to join a Cork senior training panel under JBM is lacking something IMO. aside from this I fear Cork could get a right roasting in this game. Hope Im wrong but I fear the worst.

Or it could be that a 19 year old that has played an insane amount of hurling for his age wants to take a year out to avoid being burned out. Completely unfair to criticise a lad if you don't know anything about his circumstances. There could be any number of reasons as to why he didn't play this year.

TTM, Kevin O'Keeffe hasn't played in the forwards for Blackrock for the best part of a year. Last time he would have played there was the 21 County final last year. He's doing well operating at midfield recently.

http://dontfoul.wordpress.com/2014/07/28/cork-v-sligo-2014-championship/
    If,you had,a,correct 15  picked,with a right system and the players,bought in to it i would give,Cork a huge chance of being competive.The,system should be correct but who knows what team is going to be picked.The midfield or Andrew,Sullivan scenario shouldnt be suprise,as in every game,from day one i could see we had huge midfield issues.I feel for Andrew.
    A situation that could have been avoided totally.

A good and intersting read in those,stats  particulary we lost 12/20 of their kockouts when they went over the 45.we are fine when we can control out short kickouts but when Mayo push up and force us to go long or when they do we have problems.And,Sligo are,hardly a fortress in ball winning.

Cuthbhert,said it was Andrew sullivans call to walk away from the panel.Its far from a happy camp imo if a player he was,so loyal to game after game after game yet is now gone.Its not that Andrew is gone it is the timing and why thats the Concern.

Mark collins,had,a,supetb game and simply must start v mayo with kelly everything you want in a player he has it.A tough playet,great,engine.

A huge,game for the Minors v dublin Monday.If cork pick there best 15 they could win it.However will the best team be picked its a,concern when the best half forward in Cork minor and imo in the top 5 in the County at u21 chizende obegene is just on the extended,panel and the,Brillant Micheal Desmond apparently superb for,Kil martya in the,Intermdiate the weekend Again he  can't get a game til kerry then he,gets,taken off then Mike Lordan cant get a game despite holding an intercounty player in kavanagh very well in Croke park i would wonder will we pick our best 15.

The outstanding kevin flahive who played,senior for douglas,and captain and held Spillane well couldnt handle obegene at times in douglas v nemo at u21 earlier this year.Obegene just won a county u 21.

Cian kiely should be half forward and not half back.A terrific player.Daniel meaney is a,wonderful hurler but i said he wasnt the best centre back in cork football.
    Due to injury o donovan started,there and was,superb v kerry.
    I said,after waterford cork had to start,certain players or,we,could loose,and,we,did not.

Kerry i felt the,score board did not show there true,dominance.We must start certain lads,to beat Dublin or be,competitve as they got nine goals in their last two games.

Padraig Gould was,excellent for Na pirasaigh again the weekend.Only for injury would have pushed hard on the Cork panel.
    I would like to see him get leage games next year to strengthen our panel.A tough hard player with pace and lovely wrists,a wristy type of hurler.
    I cant understand why joyce again is played at midfield,for Club.
    He is half back is hes best position.

Animal Id go with that team bar,Clancy over cahalane but that just is my choice id,take that team though but i wouldnt have Gould id have. dinneen but as,dinneen got no games he has to go with gould now.

As for Cadogan yes he is a,superb player a certain all star and likely young player of the year but Pa callaghan.is just as good and has been on beaten cork teams in.the past.
    To say he lacks something and its a sign of more him lacking than put the focus on management i suggest with respect you find out why he wont play.He declined the senior set up as he had a back injury ,nothing remotely to do with drive or ambition.

He could play u21 even if he wanted a break and i would think imo if another manager was in charge he would likely play.
    I dont blame Pa at all.

As for Kevin O Keoffe im almost certain he played in the forwards for blackrock just weeks ago at in a game niall cashman i believe played also.

No excuse why he is not on the panel.
    I suppose the reason i go on about Pa is simply were playing the best team in ireland and i would like to see the best 15 play for Cork.The guy has always performed in cork teams.Jbm rated him as much as cadogan as he called him up to senior but he,declined as with an injury senior is much more commitment than u21.
    Pa drive and commitment on poor managed minor teams was alway a hundred and ten per cent

If Cork are blown away by clare it wont be for a lack of talent.The minors were competive against the best or second best team in ireland in limerick without two men and had no real game as kerry wasnt a test.
    We had a competent manager.
    There is simply no exuse if cork as tipp were not competive wednesday.

Clare blew limerick away and i said that would happen in the limerick thread in january as any team with Tom Ryan involved are hardly great.That game and tipp showed if you have poor management you could be beaten heavily but you have like tipp a good set up you can be competive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭Figsy32

No O'Keeffe is playing midfield at U21 and Senior. Reads the game brilliantly and uses the ball wonderfully. Blackrock could do with his scores in the corner though.

I can see Cork being competitive against Clare but not getting over the line. Murphy will be a massive loss. There'll be a number of lads able to make the step up to senior from this team though, which is what it's all about.

Agree about Gould. He's been doing well for a few years now and could be a panel member next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭Smith614

In Fairness to Thinkstoomuch1 he has some knowledge of the GAA player scene. Interesting to read his informed posts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,656 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Think we are better staying at home this weekend.

Mayo to win by 8+ points.

I seriously mean that, sadly.

If my mother tongue is shaking the foundations of your state, it probably means you built your state on my land.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

It looking that way alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭munsterlegend

i think we'll be beaten but I reckon we'll make a game of it but fall away in the last 20 minutes. I think Mayo have reached their peak and were very unconvincing against Roscommon. Part of me doesn't want us playing kerry in a semi final as we'll be beaten before the ball is thrown in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

i think we'll be beaten but I reckon we'll make a game of it but fall away in the last 20 minutes. I think Mayo have reached their peak and were very unconvincing against Roscommon. Part of me doesn't want us playing kerry in a semi final as we'll be beaten before the ball is thrown in.

Me too. Hopefully we give a good account of ourselves but I don't fancy playing Kerry at all as they will kick us off the field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,642 ✭✭✭Deco99

Amprodude wrote: »
    Me too. Hopefully we give a good account of ourselves but I don't fancy playing Kerry at all as they will kick us off the field.

Kerry will struggle against Galway, was goin to have a bet on them as I fancied a shock, thought they would be around 5 or 6s. Bookies must feel likewise as galway are 3s, 4s is the magic number for a team they reckon has no chance. Cork are 2s to beat Mayo which says not fancied but not written off.

Amprodude wrote: »

Who do the winners of Cork/Mayo play in the semi?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,939 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Who do the winners of Cork/Mayo play in the semi?

Kerry