Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Winter 2011/2012

• Registered Users Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭Newtown90

Snow shower reported in Kerry!

Was just on Kerry Radio there before 1! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,667 ✭✭✭WolfeIRE

Here is a map of webcams that I did up earlier this year.

Might be handy during the coming winter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭je55ie

Got to 2c here in Kerry ,just had some hailstone and there's snow on the mountains

jessie37 wrote: »
    Got to 2c here in Kerry ,just had some hailstone and there's snow on the mountains

Bad hail here now at the minute in North Kerry!

Its gone really dark!

Was ment to be knocking a chimney today :p

• Registered Users Posts: 139 ✭✭secrecy_ie

Glenviewjf wrote: »

Its gone really dark!

Is it sticking?

secrecy_ie wrote: »
    Is it sticking?

Nope... :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭je55ie

Nope... :(

Didnt last here either ,I'm in South Kerry

• Registered Users Posts: 16,702 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

blackius wrote: »

That said if the average of their solutions is to have a high meandering out west,and nao does eventually go nicely negative towards the end of december,that high could tilt to suck down cold air wanting to head south west as pressure builds over the artic/greenland.The same high out to our west being part of what drives warm air up greenland way building higher pressure up there.

s.

A high pressure to the west of us retrogressing towards Greenland later in December, doesn't seem likely if the Polar Vortex is still strong due to the cold stratosphere. We need to see it ideally split, or at least displaced.

With this in mind M.T.'s and Stuart Rampling's thinking about sustained colder weather later in the season(albeit a difference of an opinion in timing) seem to be largely predicated on the idea of a SSW event happening around the middle of December, with a lag of about two-three weeks. This may not happen, even if it does, we might miss out.

A winter without a blocking pattern doesn't mean we won't get snow, but if we want sustained cold and snowy weather, an east-west flow is what we want to see at some point this winter!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭YouTookMyName

Bastard shower of hailstones in Mayo.

More and Heavier FFS.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,068 ✭✭✭Iancar29

166908_185300404894900_176235642468043_382801_140423339_n.jpg

Carrantuohill , Image Fiona Quirke

• Registered Users Posts: 386 ✭✭mcriot29

Su Campu wrote: »
    What a chancer! Who told him that, the Tooth Fairy? And does he not check these things himself?

yeah i have sent him another email saying where did he see ao was low its at record high for the next 2 weeks god id swear he does not even know what the Ao index is

• Registered Users Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭Tom Cruises Left Nut

Its gone really dark!

Hail sticks :confused::confused::confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 352 ✭✭kkontour

mcriot29 wrote: »
    yeah i have sent him another email saying where did he see ao was low its at record high for the next 2 weeks god id swear he does not even know what the Ao index is

Starting to Dip maybe?
    183044.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭patneve2

Why don't we look at the positive side of having a positive AO? At least the polar vortex will pump up and get colder...and arctic sea ice will extend...:cool:
    It still has a lot of time to dip and go below zero like last winter... :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 626 ✭✭✭Not

mcriot29 wrote: »

Maybe he doesn't know what year it is. He seems to be following last years script.

LATEST GFS ensemble

183045.png

patneve2 wrote: »
    Why don't we look at the positive side of having a positive AO? At least the polar vortex will pump up and get colder...and arctic sea ice will extend...:cool:
    It still has a lot of time to dip and go below zero like last winter... :rolleyes:

yep thats true has anyone any idea is this AO we have going to break any records for being so high like a plus 4 or maybe a plus 5 i have not seen ao that high
    if it goes neg soon we could really get hit hard with all that cold up north :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,019 ✭✭✭ct5amr2ig1nfhp

Wasn't Piers supposed to have a further update at 12 today?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,541 ✭✭✭Speak Now

WolfeIRE wrote: »
    LATEST GFS ensemble

You off to Aberdeen Wolfe :D

• Registered Users Posts: 8,541 ✭✭✭Speak Now

Heard he got buried in a snow drift :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 164 ✭✭Caff Caff

That was just another prediction:cool:

yep and id say no one turned up he will say snow snow snow all dec and then when it does not snow he will say its late and went to the wrong country .
    He will say russia as a sunspot he did not see blasted the snow away from uk and ireland :D
    Can he not just admit he was totally wrong and give everyone back there money they spent on his forecasts there great forecasts he goes by as he seems to think the AO is low when its at a all time high

You off to Aberdeen Wolfe :D

The Derry image was a hell of a lot more depressing.

Must get my crayola out. I will draw a much nicer graph for you.

Hang on....

183050.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,019 ✭✭✭ct5amr2ig1nfhp

I'm sensing a little hostility towards Piers. ;)

The ao maybe at record highs but
    The UN weather office has said world temperatures have maintained a long-term upward trend with Arctic sea ice shrinking to record low volumes this year.

The report released at today's UN climate talks provide a bleak backdrop to negotiators seeking ways to limit pollution blamed for global warming.

Thirteen of the warmest years have been in the last 15 ye
    saying that its
    -50F in Lena River valley in Eastern Siberia currently
    also heres a link to a good website im sure some of you know it allready

http://ukweather.wordpress.com/2011/11/28/cold-snap-just-around-the-corner/

ALSO this next website was correct with last years forecast he seems to think ao will dip this year too
    http://www.landscheidt.info/?q=node/224

WolfeIRE wrote: »

The Derry image was a hell of a lot more depressing.

Must get my crayola out. I will draw a much nicer graph for you.

Hang on....

183050.jpg

ha thats where piers got this years forecast from lol

• Registered Users Posts: 11,134 ✭✭✭✭maquiladora

Gettin kinda tired of readin about Piers now.

Nobody else to talk about now that Ken Ring has retired.

anyone know why irishweatheronline closed down frist i was told mark was away and would be back now it seems he wont

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭Derfil

My sister was telling me today she heard a psychic ( mabe Piers? ha ) on the radio predict a major weather related event which will kill large numbers in Ireland and the UK towards the end of next spring. Anyone else hear any such rubbish?