Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pizza in 30 mins Garda in ????

• 16-06-2011 8:20am

Well i was woken this morning to some screaming outside. I took a look out the window to see an argument between a small guy and a big muscled guy in MMA shorts. This went back and fourth until the little guy was pushed over and then beaten. He got up but was punched to the ground again. Whilst on the ground he was getting kicked in the head. I immediately called the guards. I told them that there is a guy being beaten up. He is actually being kicked in the head. I told them were its happening . They said they will send somebody over. I was then going to go out and try to stop it , only for the other half stopped me and said let the guards deal with it, dont get involved as they are neighbors. So we waited for the guards.

An hour later still no sign, another 30 minutes still no sign , i had to go to work. Going to work an hour and 45 mins later they were still on the green lying on the grass. The argument still going on. I couldnt see how hurt the guy was.

All i could think of , what if i was in the wrong place at the wrong time. I would have to fight for my life as i cannot depend on the guards. For me i have contacted the garda 3 times in my life.

Once when they a man was breaking into a neighbor of my mothers , she was in on her own with her kids crying. I ran out and had to chase him away. She had called the garda crying saying a man was breaking in . Time was 1 hour 45 mins . They also never asked me for a description

Second time , a Girl was mugged outside my office just as i was leaving. The guys who mugged the girl made their way to pearse street . I ran into the station to say they were outside. I will point them out. They told me there was nobody there that could do it. They would have to call one of the cars. They said i could go, i asked them if they needed a description , they said "oh yes"

Third time was thismorning , unfortunately i was unable to get a time. Is it just me or is this service terrible ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Uhoh, Makikomi's on the warpath...

Seriously though, never had a problem with the response time myself. Mainly because I didn't bother calling them when I was mugged. The mugger woke up with a bad headache from the full bottle of wine I bounced on his head.

Seriously though, most altercations are over by the time the Gardai step in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

It'll only get worse, Templemore is basically empty after today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Report it to the Garda ombudsman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

Your trying to tell me the guards are not the most elite crime fighting unit in existence?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

That is a pretty atrocious state of affairs. Presumably others would have called the guards too, and not just yourself.

I have had mostly good experience with reports, and a quick appearance from them, with one exception, when they didn't turn up. It wasn't anything as serious as your report though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I can source pizza far quicker than half an hour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭JohnMarston

Its making people take matters into their own hands as a necessity to getting anything done about it.
    So either they don't want to get their hands dirty or they're simply not bothered. There's also a small chance they're off on another call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

This didn't happen OP did it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

I might be showing my age here but ... MMA shorts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

screaming outside...an argument between a small guy and a big muscled guy in MMA shorts...Going to work an hour and 45 mins later they were still on the green lying on the grass.

Sounds like a lovers tiff tbh, Gardai probably had CCTV on them and figured it was a domestic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

It's been a while since I actually had a positive view towards them. There's a spate of robberies where I live and I haven't seen the gaurds patrol it in my lifetime, yet they are happy to sit outside the local or come in and hassle us at 12:30 on a Friday because we haven't cleared out yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

mathie wrote: »
    I might be showing my age here but ... MMA shorts?

Rip Curl or Billabong boardies :)

Just sounds cooler the other way

mackg wrote: »
    Your trying to tell me the guards are not the most elite crime fighting unit in existence?

All they have to do is show up. I would be impressed with that.

We actually have video of it too.

Sounds like a lovers tiff tbh, Gardai probably had CCTV on them and figured it was a domestic
    This went back and fourth until the little guy was pushed over and then beaten. He got up but was punched to the ground again. Whilst on the ground he was getting kicked in the head. I immediately called the guards. I told them that there is a guy being beaten up. He is actually being kicked in the head.

Does domestic violence not warrant the guards attention?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

You can't blame the Gardai. They are under-resourced and have to prioritise calls. The way to get them onsite is to escalate your emergency - tell them there's a sword/shotgun/doughnuts involved.

You elected the govt which has cut policing. There will be no more new Gardai for at least two years, and during this time many will leave the force.

You wanted cuts in Public Service spending. This is one of the results.

OP, get on to your local TD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Does domestic violence not warrant the guards attention?

Officially yes, unofficially no. Often the guy gets arrested on assault charges which are later dropped by the complainant. 'scuse my blatant sexism there but most times thats how domestics pan out. I was told that by a retired Garda sergeant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Rabies wrote: »

I reckon he meant Mixed Martial Arts shorts i.e, the guy was trained.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Tell them you think the guy's been murdered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭u140acro3xs7dm

Its just crazy, there are so many break ins and if caught they are not afraid to use violence. Its got to the stage where i have armed myself as i cant rely on the Police to bother showing up. Funny thing is if i smash one of them over the head with something i will get charged.

Wasn't this law changed/ a change proposed recently?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

Nope, that would be The Fantastic Four.

You can't blame the Gardai. They are under-resourced and have to prioritise calls.

So is everybody else. Also i dont think there is a decline on them giving tickets. There seems to be enough of them on traffic.

Isn't Traffic a separate dept? That others are under-resourced doesn't change the fact that the Gardai are, so I don't get your point. If it takes 50 Gardai to police a district and they only have 35 isn't altered by the local school being short two teachers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

Rabies wrote: »

Can the OP prove they were hi-his shorts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

OP - Next time you call the Gardai, tell them that a pizza is on the way. I guarantee they'll probably arrive at your door 10-15 minutes before the pizza gets there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭willow tree

yeah ive had my respect for how force is run diminish... they hassle the crap of people who are going 10 k over speed limit,parked badly and a serious crime is going on and they cant get there? of course policing the roads is so important but peoples safety is number 1.
    my friend and i were attacked by a man ( i dont want to go into it) but guards told us (when they finally arrived) that he was trying to take our bags (no he wasnt, our bags were lying on the ground):mad:before they headed off. if it wasnt for 3 girls who helped us i dont want to think what would have happened.
    my brother and his girlfriend were being attacked by scumbags , luckily my brothers big and just punched his way out so they ran and rang guards to come help. they were told the guards were too busy in the next town:(
    ive moved from dublin to the country, people where i live have guns to protect themselves. they will use them before they sit waiting for the guards to come help them, this is the way its headed.so wrong

Isn't Traffic a separate dept? That others are under-resourced doesn't change the fact that the Gardai are, so I don't get your point. If it takes 50 Gardai to police a district and they only have 35 isn't altered by the local school being short two teachers.

So what you are saying the traffic department is not under resourced ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

I used to have a lot of respect for the Gardai until about two years ago when I was rudely made aware, first hand witness to someone elses problems, of actually how apathetic, incompetent and uncaring quite a few of them are towards the troubles of the citizens they're supposed to uphold the law of the land for.

Can't blame them my arse. I can and I do.

Officially yes, unofficially no. Often the guy gets arrested on assault charges which are later dropped by the complainant. 'scuse my blatant sexism there but most times thats how domestics pan out. I was told that by a retired Garda sergeant.

Charges or not if someone is getting beaten in the street they should put a stop to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭cosanostra

stovelid wrote: »
    I can source Heroin far quicker than half an hour.

FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

Outsource policing to Dominos, problem solved!

Plus, *free garlic bread with every crime reported.

Birneybau wrote: »
    I reckon he meant Mixed Martial Arts shorts i.e, the guy was trained.

I know

So what you are saying the traffic department is not under resourced ?

Is that really what you think my point was? Really?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

phasers wrote: »

They'll figure he's not gonna get any deader so they can finish this episode of Glen Roe and cup of tae.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Forest Master

Confab wrote: »
    Uhoh, Makikomi's on the warpath...

Couldn't have been him - there was no mention of a bulldog by his side or the smaller guy being Jewish or gay.

I kid you not , this guy owns a bulldog !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Forest Master

I kid you not , this guy owns a bulldog !!
    Did he have a swastika tattoo on his chest? Could have been him then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,112 ✭✭✭flyton5

They need more people like Jerry Lynch to dish out justice...On The Streets...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 689 ✭✭✭stylie

phasers wrote: »

They'd be there quicker if you said you think his tax disk is out of date

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

The few times I've had to deal with the Gardai they're great but then my house is way out in the country and I reckon the lads fall over themselves to respond to any old bit of prospective action. They've probably got alarm bells and slidey bat poles installed.

As a cop mate of mine said, "walk to a fight, run to a fire"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭markesmith

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

A lad was stabbed in Thomastown a few years back. It took the gardai 1 hour to make the 200ft journey from the station to the street it happened, they arrived after the ambulance traveled like 25km from the city.

Then again, sometimes they have arrived within 5 minutes of stuff happening around my area (which is 10km from the station). I'm really unsure as what to expect of them most of the time. My confidence is unsure in them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Bosco boy

I guess I've lost respect for most occupations in this country during the Celtic tiger years, but I'm intelligent enough to know that there are good and bad in every job. You can be lucky or unlucky as to who may respond and how they deal with the problem, some times resources dictate this, put away the large brush and your prejudices, Garda bashing seems to be a full time occupation of some posters here, get a life and move on, if the mirror was held up to some of ye I'd be pretty confident ye wouldn't like what ye see!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Should've called The Citizen instead OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 heisenburger

i once heard my neighbours front door trying to be kicked in at about 4 in the morning...presumably for the keys to the nice bmw outside. I rang the guards, told them what was happening and they said they'd send someone out. i opened my front door to see the gang running up the road unsuccesful, i shouted at them and one of them ran towards me. i pussied out and slammed the door shut:rolleyes:
    So yeah, over an hour later 2 guards turn up for bout 45seconds and they're off again. lazy b@stards!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,786 ✭✭✭funnyname

You should have gotten Gerald Kean to call it in.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

A lot of gripes about how long it takes for a Garda to arrive. If you are delayed in a hospital, do you blame the Nurses or Doctors that are there for taking too long to get to you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭DeepSleeper

johngalway wrote: »
    I used to have a lot of respect for the Gardai until about two years ago when I was rudely made aware, first hand witness to someone elses problems, of actually how apathetic, incompetent and uncaring quite a few of them are towards the troubles of the citizens they're supposed to uphold the law of the land for.

Can't blame them my arse. I can and I do.

Totally agree - A few years ago I was living in Cork City and one morning I found someone had crashed into my car while it was parked outside my house overnight - I called the Gardaí and they came, looked, and took away the wing mirror of the other car which had been left behind after the crash. There was a few thousand euros worth of damage to my car and so I was driving a borrowed car for a few weeks while mine was being fixed.

A couple of days later, I was on the other side of the city and noticed a car parked on the street - wing mirror missing, extensive damage along the side, same distinctive green paint that had been left on my car. I called the Gardaí - they came, looked, took the Reg. No. and said they would get back to me - I heard nothing more, called them a week or so later and was told that the owner no longer lived at the address at which the car was registered and so there was nothing they could do - I'd have to claim against my own insurance as they couldn't find the owner of the car that had crashed into mine!

I went back to the street where I'd seen the other car and it was still there - sat in my car for 15 minutes until someone came out of a particular house, got into the car and drove away. I wrote down the address and dropped it into the Garda station so they could trace the owner - never heard another word about it and so had to claim on my own insurance instead of claiming against the insurance of the driver who crashed into my car. The result? I paid every penny back to the insurance company over the years through increased premiums since I couldn't switch insurance companies for years as I had an expensive claim on my record. The Gardaí couldn't care less that someone had crashed into my car, that they had left the scene of the accident and that they didn't have the car registered at their current address.

Would I act differently today? You can be sure I would - make an official complaint in writing, it is the only way anyone will take any notice.