Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Local chipper has a "No shirt, No Service" sign up.. wtf

• 05-06-2011 8:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,348 ✭✭✭

I doubt the sort that walks around without a shirt on can read the sign anyway.. What's the point?. A picture of a shirtless knacker with a big red X superimposed over him would be more appropriate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭brimal

I'm guessing they don't want topless people in their chipper for hygiene reasons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Being from Tallaght and liking to wear no tee-shirt so everyone can see my celtic and tribal tats i find this disgraceful. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

they must be havign problems with irelands nomadic people , or the rake of scumbags that use a lick of sunlight as an excuse to show of their pasty frail bodies by removing tracksuit tops

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭celj

That makes sense to me.
    In Spain where the weather allows for people walking around half naked its frowned on for people to enter shops unless they are properly dressed.

I for one don't want to look at half dressed scumbags flaunting their man tits when I go into a shop!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

My local Super Valu has a picture of a girl in pyjamas with a big X across it :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭Sids Not

I doubt the sort that walks around without a shirt on can read the sign anyway.. What's the point?. A picture of a shirtless knacker with a big red X superimposed over him would be more appropriate.

Jesus...do you live near a halting site.......:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

phasers wrote: »
    My local Super Valu has a picture of a girl in pyjamas with a big X across it :pac:

those signs should appear on public streets too, f*cking sick of this sh*te

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭Sids Not

those signs should appear on public streets too, f*cking sick of this sh*te

Think that might just be the new Playtex ad...................:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭DrHLecter

thats a fckin savage tattoo ...here jacinta ....je see yer mans tattoo ...a fckin huge red x.
    im gettin that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭EGAR

Pasty white skin, moobs wherever I looked those past few days. Ewww.

Equally ewww to the girls who think they need to show off their tramp stamps with muffin tops with stretchmarks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,348 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

Sids Not wrote: »
    Jesus...do you live near a halting site.......:confused:

No but the chipper I frequent on occasion is situated near to where some challenged members of society live. I would go elsewhere but their Garlic chip with cheese is just divine.

Lots of establishments have scumbag problems, putting a sign up won't help the situation.. They can barely speak English, never mind read it. A picture would be better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭xoxyx

There must be a reason. I remember a gym that I was in putting a big sign outside the (unisex, right beside the swimming pool) steam room saying "strictly no shaving in the steam room". I doubt they did that just for the craic. There be odd people out there!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Aishae

people in the chippy tend to lean on the counters etc. if theyve no top on you'll leave behind all the more skin cells and even sweat - anyone for a bag o sweaty chips?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Irish people are so pale that if they went into a chipper topless, there's a good chance they'd get battered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

No but the chipper I frequent on occasion is situated near to where some challenged members of society live. I would go elsewhere but their Garlic chip with cheese is just divine.

Lots of establishments have scumbag problems, putting a sign up won't help the situation.. They can barely speak English, never mind read it. A picture would be better.

I agree with their policy and I gather you do too, but what's the issue? Is it that they use text instead of a pic?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

Aishae wrote: »
    - anyone for a bag o sweaty chips?
    salt and vinegar?

no. im fine, thanks

Aishae wrote: »
    people in the chippy tend to lean on the counters etc. if theyve no top on you'll leave behind all the more skin cells and even sweat - anyone for a bag o sweaty chips?

That and the sight of half naked 20 stone midgit called 'pods' would ruin anyone's appetite.

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    I agree with their policy and I gather you do too, but what's the issue? Is it that they use text instead of a pic?

A big picture, yes. They can't read the sign.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Aishae

That and the sight of half naked 20 stone midgit called 'pods' would ruin anyone's appetite.

yeah - not the best advertisement. ill argue when they start asking patrons to dress black tie though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 413 ✭✭The Left Hand Of God

Well considering on Friday when the Sun came out half the male population of Tallaght took their tops of so we could see their fuggly bellies, I'm not surprised someone who owns a chipper put that sign up.

Dear God it was a brutal drive I had that day.

Well considering on Friday when the Sun came out half the male population of Tallaght took their tops of so we could see their fuggly bellies, I'm not surprised someone who owns a chipper put that sign up.

Dear God it was a brutal drive I had that day.

Some people have no sense of shame... I actually saw one that made a kind of turban out of his T-shirt.. Proud as punch, swaggering down the road looking like a scumbag Osama Bin Laden.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭Yillan

I'd just like to see them try to enforce it.

Anyone seen Do the Right Thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 502 ✭✭✭sarah88

Some people have no sense of shame... I actually saw one that made a kind of turban out of his T-shirt.. Proud as punch, swaggering down the road looking like a scumbag Osama Bin Laden.

if I could thank this twice I would, made me LOL :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Forest Master

Nice little anecdote - pity it's not true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

I assume due to warm weather some people have gone topless, and they have put up the sign due to that.

Makes perfect sense due to hygiene reasons.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Cool, the next time some female appears in them and takes them off at the door, just to get in, give me a ring!
    I'll bring my camera! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭policarp

Are you still living in the forest?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Trevor451

Thank god I live in D4. I don't have to put up with any of this bullshi*t:D

OutlawPete wrote: »
    Irish people are so pale that if they went into a chipper topless, there's a good chance they'd get battered.
    Jeasus, that pun was so bad, you have got to be codding me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭policarp

Trevor451 wrote: »
    Thank god I live in D4. I don't have to put up with any of this bullshi*t:D

You sure?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭deathrider

Does this sign apply to girls too? I'd be sick to think that there just may be a bunch of chicks who would otherwise have strolled in topless if it wasn't for this sign.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Trevor451

policarp wrote: »
    You sure?

No not really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭face1990

Biggins wrote: »

Sounds like you've a chip on your shoulder

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Miss Lockhart

It's ok phasers - obviously Forest Master and his smug attitude have never frequented the Super Valu on the Neilstown Road.

The no pyjamas sign most certainly exists!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

No wish to serve any big Coli.

Clearly you've never been to my Super Valu then, pics will be delivered later.

I give up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Biggins wrote: »

Are you fishing for thanks???

I give up.

Would it have been so hard to actually get a photo of the sign in the window? You're just showing the sign on it's own - it could be from anywhere - not my fault you can't take a wider photo.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 390 ✭✭ananas

It is the height of bad manners when fat, sweating knackers come in with their rotten stomachs on display to get food. I used to work in a take away and it's just disgusting how many people think that "Sun out, tops off" is an acceptable way to live. Ugh. Memories.

Would it have been so hard to actually get a photo of the sign in the window? You're just showing the sign on it's own - it could be from anywhere - not my fault you can't take a wider photo.
    When I tried to take a wider photo, I got this, I didn't have a proper camera with me.

There's a security guard sitting behind the sign, I didn't want to look like I was taking photos of him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

Monasterevin?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

Why in gods name would phasers make it up,its in the shop they took a photo of it,why is it so hard for you to believe its there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭dannyboymed

I can also vouch for the existence of the no pyjamas sign in the rowlagh supervalu, though I'm sure at this point forest master is either trolling or one of those people hardwired to believe nothing :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

looking like a scumbag Osama Bin Laden.

Not to be confused with the fine upstanding member of society that was the late Mr Bin Laden ??????

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    Not to be confused with the fine upstanding member of society that was the late Mr Bin Laden ??????

Mr Bin Laden, to the best of my knowledge, never swaggered up the street topless or made a nuisance of himself in the local chipper.

efb wrote: »
    Are you fishing for thanks???
    Are you saying I'm a hook-er? :D