Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you ever worry that you're running out of time??

• 05-06-2011 11:09am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭

Hey ladies,

Just a bit of background. I started on my 3rd round the world trip 2 years ago when i was 23 - left behind my fiancé and broke free. Now im in New Zealand, foresee about 4 more years travelling (due to having to save back up the money that NZ drained from me, do South America, Central America and the year in Canada) so I will be about 30 once i get home.

This petrifies me!!! One thing I've noticed from my travels is that i haven't really met any men of different nationalities that i have clicked with . . . i do think my heart belongs to an Irish man.

But landing back in the Emerald Isle at 30, starting up my life again, finding a guy, building a foundation - etc . . . it scares me that i've left it too long to do the whole THING?

Do any of you gals worry that you're leaving/have left it too long? Do you think there is a timelimit? Obviously putting pressure on finding ''The One'' will result in zero results, and im not even looking for a man now.. i just worry that when i do, well, there'll be none there!!

What you think??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Who says you have to do "the thing"? is it something you want or something you're expected to? I know plenty of people who wish they did what you're doing now before they settled down to a life of babies and marriage, you must have seen some amazing sights on your travels so far and have a few more years of it left. So enjoy it and dont be worrying about whats down the road. As for no men being here, we're not going extinct ya know :pac:

and you'll be 30, not 90! I'm 30 in September, single, and dont worry about it at all (I'm a guy so the biological clock thing doesnt come into play as much as it would for a woman but still) if you have a timeline and plan for these things they usually dont work out the way you want or you could wind up settling, and for the love of god dont settle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭supermouse

Hahah too true - the image of walking the empty streets of Ireland alone, no men, just me and my suntan at 30 did just make me giggle out loud!

You're dead right - im so very lucky and I'm so grateful for everything I've done and seen. I suppose the next adventure of my life is the whole family/kids thing. Im an only child and would adore at least 3 children (should have started about 5 years ago eh!) but when i was younger i always presumed i'd be half way on that path by now. Weird how you have different expectations as you grow!

The reason i left Ireland and my ex was because i could feel myself settling . . . something that i 100% do not want.

Like you say i suppose what every will be will be.

Clearly having a very sentimental evening - maybe the 2nd bottle of wine wasnt necessary!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

I get that it worrys ya, but lordie don't!!!!

I travelled sporadically, lived all over Ireland. I didn't meet my now husband until I was 29, and I didn't even marry an Irish man.

Being 30 or even 40 is not a death sentence to any family foundations you might make. Besides you're no idea who you're going to meet between now and 30, you could well meet the love of your live in (for example) in a tiny village in south america and happily live out the rest of your days with 8 children running around your ankles.

I guess the point is, is that you have NO idea what's around the corner, so enjoy every bit of your travels and as the old saying goes "what's meant for ya won't pass ya by"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,645 ✭✭✭✭The Princess Bride

Hey people,
    thought you might be interested in the lyrics of this song-I always liked it,but as I get older,it becomes more symbolic.

Nick of Time.(Bonnie Raitt)

"A friend of mine she cries at night&she calls me on the phone,
    sees babies everywhere she goes and she wants one of her own.
    She's waited long enough she says & still she can't decide.
    Pretty soon she'll have to choose & it tears her up inside
    She's scared....scared to run out of time.

I see my folks,they're getting old,I watch their bodies change....
    I know they see the same in me & it makes us both feel strange.
    No matter how you tell yourself,it's what we all go through.
    those lines are pretty hard to take when they're staring back at you.
    Scared you'll run out of time.

When did the choices get so hard,with so much more at stake.
    Life gets mighty precious when there's less of it to waste."

We can only live one life,it would be interesting if we could jump into a 'Sliding Doors' scenario, and live parallel lives

All I can say is enjoy today, you might not get tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 470 ✭✭Mc Kenzie

everything happens for a reason they say :),

and like he said, you must of had a wonderfull time seeing all those places.
    something i really want to do..

It will happen when its ment to be dont stress yourself. and 30 isnt old these days yano. ofcorse there will be plenty of men left for you, lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭I am a friend

Another view...

If you already think you have left it for too long then why are you going travelling for another 4 years??? You gave been travelling for how long now already? Has this been to follow a career path or just to see the world?

I travelled for 2 years until age 31 and found it very hard to settle back for a number of years.

Not being a prophet of doom (well trying not up be) I also found it very hard to meet someone for a long time when I got back and also toyed for the following 4/5 years about leaving again.

Long term travelling can be very unsettling. It's a fantastic experience and on one level I envy you and absolutely hope you get the life you dream of but just want to advise that arriving bank to Ireland at 30+, setting yourself up in a career and finding 'the man' is no easy task...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭Nesie

I'm 27 and single. It is seriously difficult to meet nice men to be honest. I don't think age matters. So being 30 and single in a city you haven't been in in years shouldn't make too much of a difference I reckon.

But it has crossed my mind that by the time I do meet someone nice it might be too late. But there are worse things that could happen....

If I could drop everything and afford to travel the world I would in a heartbeat, I want to say I've lived in another country at least once in my life. I dont get the insular thing of living and dying in the same city you grew up in and never seeing the world past a few weeks holidays, theres an entire planet out there waiting to be seen, thats just me though. The brief trips I took abroad, a few weeks here and there have been worth every penny and minute, cant wait to do it for longer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

OP, life is short. What you're doing right now is the opportunity of a lifetime, it takes guts and get-up-and-go and fair play to you! Don't cheapen the process by worrying about the conventional course that you're 'supposed' to take when it all ends - you could move home to Ireland tomorrow and spend the next three years waiting to meet someone and settle down - you can't control these things.

Sometimes I do think about these things too, as I'm 26 and in Canada for at least another year, then, who knows but more than likely more travel...what happens if I arrive back home at 29, 30...everyone is settled and I find it hard to adjust and build up a life for myself? But then I realise, I'm living a life that is right for me right now, literally living a dream and I wouldn't swap with any of my more settled friends back in Ireland for all the money in the world. And also...being in your 30s means a different thing for us now than it did in our parents' time. It's the new twenties...haven't you heard? ;)

Ultimately travel is making me a more open-minded, bold, easy going, educated and well rounded person, so I'm happy to become the person I'll be by the time I decide to come home - think of it that way. All the invaluable experiences and lessons you learn along the way will be a part of the person you will be when you move home. Better than having fallen into a comfortable rut with someone (your ex fiance?) and having lived to regret not seeing the world like you wanted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

It's a fantastic experience and on one level I envy you and absolutely hope you get the life you dream of but just want to advise that arriving bank to Ireland at 30+, setting yourself up in a career and finding 'the man' is no easy task...

It's no easy task trying to do those things while living in Ireland either, no matter what age you are tbh.

OP you could come back home to try and "set up your career" and "find a man" and end up being unemployed and single for the next 4 years anyway! So you might as well enjoy seeing the world, instead of wasting 4 years in Ireland trying to find a job (an almost impossible task at the moment).
    Also relationships are something which tend not to be "found", they just happen.

Don't worry OP. Don't throw away your plans on a what if, it doesn't mean any of it men/babies/job will happen even if you did come home 4 years earlier.
    If it's going to happen for you, it will, if it's not then it won't! Not much you can do about it either way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭seenitall

beks101 wrote: »
    OP, life is short. What you're doing right now is the opportunity of a lifetime, it takes guts and get-up-and-go and fair play to you! Don't cheapen the process by worrying about the conventional course that you're 'supposed' to take when it all ends - you could move home to Ireland tomorrow and spend the next three years waiting to meet someone and settle down - you can't control these things.

Sometimes I do think about these things too, as I'm 26 and in Canada for at least another year, then, who knows but more than likely more travel...what happens if I arrive back home at 29, 30...everyone is settled and I find it hard to adjust and build up a life for myself? But then I realise, I'm living a life that is right for me right now, literally living a dream and I wouldn't swap with any of my more settled friends back in Ireland for all the money in the world. And also...being in your 30s means a different thing for us now than it did in our parents' time. It's the new twenties...haven't you heard? ;)

Ultimately travel is making me a more open-minded, bold, easy going, educated and well rounded person, so I'm happy to become the person I'll be by the time I decide to come home - think of it that way. All the invaluable experiences and lessons you learn along the way will be a part of the person you will be when you move home. Better than having fallen into a comfortable rut with someone (your ex fiance?) and having lived to regret not seeing the world like you wanted.

Big resonance with me. I'm like you, beks101, only Ireland is my Canada, and I stayed! :D

I can only echo this post, OP; you have one life, live it to its fullness. There is plenty of time for everything in life - I had my baby in my early thirties and really can't see myself any the worse for it than someone who had their first at 24. My twenties were for me the time of exploring the world and myself, and maturing, until I came to the point where I was completely comfortable with having a baby (among other things!).

Don't be hard on yourself, and don't worry so much, OP. Enjoy the life you have, otherwise you might be sorry you didn't once you start looking back on this time.

Worry or not, life happens. Just let it happen, and you'll find yourself enjoying it much more. That's all.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I disagree with most of the posts and given that the OP places a strong emphasis on having children, think that her approach is foolish.

If she thinks that she will never meet a soulmate while travelling, and wants to settle down with someone Irish, then discounting that she may meet one while travelling, she is going to come back here aged thirty, trying to establish herself on both the work and social scene, while hoping to have three children. Most studies show that female fertility declines from 35 so she has five years to do all of that?

Not realistic imo.

I also don't get why the OP is travelling for another four years to recoup the costs of travelling to NZ? as per the OP?

Time to prioritize imo, partner, family, as opposed to travel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

Oddly enough I do kind of feel like this sometimes. And I'm only frickin' 23. :mad:

I've been wondering how my love life's going to pan out with all this traveling. I genuinely don't think I'm going to be able to manage one. I'm starting to come to the realization that I'm probably going to be single for an incredibly long time (if not forever tbh), and it's more than a little daunting, as I was always a long-term relationship girl.

I don't have the energy for new romance. I hate the pressure of getting to know someone, wondering if they like you as much as you like them, slowly building up trust, etc. It's exhausting! Plus, I really can't seem to find people I'm compatible with romantically; I'm not the most desirable prospect around the place so that's not helping much either.

And the more I think about it, the more I rationalize about how unfeasible it'll all be, sure if I'm going to be living in a new place every 1-2 years it's hardly fair on a potential partner, I've tried long distance before and it just doesn't work. And by the time I actually want to settle somewhere, or the 'kid switch' in my head magically flips to 'on', my sea of proverbial fish is going to decline dramatically, if not be gone entirely.

Love or lifestyle is an incredibly tough choice. And as much as I hate to say it, I think I've resigned myself to the fact that love isn't going to be on the cards for me while I'm of the age to make a fair go of it. The romantic in me has died a rather tragic death recently :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

All the time :)

The OP clearly wants 'the whole thing' or at least is not totally averse to the idea of having it, and there's nothing wrong with that. Though not impossible it will be difficult to come back at 30ish and settle down - by then you'll have spent the last 7 years building your life overseas (regardless of how often you move around) and you'll be coming back to the life here you left behind, except everyone else has spent the past 7 years building their lives here.

I came home at 28 after living abroad for longer than you (moving countries and cities a lot though!) and I'm not gonna lie, it's tough. There will be lots of times you'll feel maybe you shouldn't have gone, or stayed away so long, and you will see how much further into the 'whole thing' all your friends/colleagues are and think was it worth it? Then you'll most likely snap out of it and think of all the fun you had, but it will cross your mind more than once ;) I had the time of my life being away but on the relationship side of things I've stayed purposefully single most of the time, because I knew where I was then was most likely not where I was gonna be in 6 or 12 months time.

It's ultimately a decision only you can make, different strokes for different folks etc.

liah wrote: »
    Oddly enough I do kind of feel like this sometimes. And I'm only frickin' 23. :mad:

I've been wondering how my love life's going to pan out with all this traveling. I genuinely don't think I'm going to be able to manage one. I'm starting to come to the realization that I'm probably going to be single for an incredibly long time (if not forever tbh), and it's more than a little daunting, as I was always a long-term relationship girl.

I don't have the energy for new romance. I hate the pressure of getting to know someone, wondering if they like you as much as you like them, slowly building up trust, etc. It's exhausting! Plus, I really can't seem to find people I'm compatible with romantically; I'm not the most desirable prospect around the place so that's not helping much either.

Thats pretty much the reason I'm staying single now, I want to do my own thing without having to do the "get to know ya" stage with someone new, that can be fun, it really can, but along with that comes the stuff that could make or break you as a couple further down the line as well. Ideals, lifestyle choices, prospects, general stuff you disagree on etc all that stuff matters in the long term and your head has to be in the right place to want to get to know someone enough to get into a relationship with them (or is that just me)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭SarahBeep!

One often meets their destiny on the road they take to avoid it.

Things will work out OP, just roll with it!

The reason that its gonna take me about 4 years to get home is that my time spent in NZ has completely drained my travel fund of everything. So im starting from scratch, trying to save money to hit South/Central American in 2 years. Do that in one year, then go to Canada, again for one year and go home.

Realistically, I am being foolish if Stheno would like to put it like that- and of course being selfish. The main reason I'm not coming home to Ireland before that time is due to the recession - i have a job in NZ, i wont have a job in Ireland. The industry I'm qualified in is one of the worst hit back home, so why go home to join a dole queue.

At the same time . . i dont see myself settling anywhere apart from Ireland. I have the chance of residency here but its not for me.

I do want children, i do want to spend my life with someone . . and i do agree that everything happens for a reason etc . . but sometimes you make your own fate and this scares me that im making the wrong choices!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

Aw supermouse, no matter what you will be doing what's right for you. Like I said earlier, you have no idea what's around the corner. One thing we all have to remember is that we will be in the grave longer than not, and when you're presented with an opportunity, take it, with both hands take it. Travelling could what you're meant to do.

I met my husband in Spain on holiday. He's actually Dutch, and he was there with friends, and I was there with my sister and a good friend. Before we left my sisters little girl had a massive seizure, stopped breathing the works. My now father in law had a stroke the exact same day (just over a week before we met). We both nearly didn't go, as we didn't know how things were going to work out. So now we're married with two kids. Go figure :)

Without the risk of sounding all self helpy, but you're life is going to take the course it was always meant to, it may deviate slightly, but lets be honest that's the only way we learn.

Grab it all with both hands, and enjoy every second of it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭TommyTippee

I don't have the energy for new romance. I hate the pressure of getting to know someone, wondering if they like you as much as you like them, slowly building up trust, etc. It's exhausting!

Liah, you're going out with the wrong men.

The first year of a new relationship is amazing....all those long chats, flirting, the kissing and the sex.....if it's "pressure" then you're doing it wrong, it should be wonderful!

should be, isnt always though can depend on the other person as well, I've been in new relationships where the getting to know you stuff was kinda dull, and some where its been fantastic, my last relationship was definitely the best first year of any relationship I've had, the fact it lasted longer than first year kinda makes me wonder if I'll ever have that again though

I'm really not, though. My serious relationships have been fantastic, with really good men - they've just all started very unconventionally and in each we were close (like, tell each other everything close) basically from day one. I'm completely inept at doing the conventional dating/slowly, incrementally getting to know a person thing, I just feel under pressure that way, too much guesswork. ESPECIALLY that fecking first date. I'm more of a 'let stuff happen at its own pace, naturally' person than a 'schedule dates and go out places' kind of person, if that makes sense.

I guess I just want to skip the stupid not-knowing-anything stage and go straight to the complete-comfort-and-trust stage. Which is literally impossible now, hence why I'm giving up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭Kaneda_

Alot of people here travelled at quite a young age.

Im 25 now and thinking of heading to OZ in september and who knows from there.

Am i a bit to old to be thinking of doing these things???

Off topic i know but i didnt want to start a new thread..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭seenitall

You are NEVER too old for travel and adventures and expanding your horizons in every way. Especially when you have no responsibilities like kids, mortgage etc.

A friend of mine is going teaching in Asia this year, she's 28 and single; she's beyond excited, as you can imagine.

Do it. :cool:

Kaneda_ wrote: »
    Alot of people here travelled at quite a young age.

Im 25 now and thinking of heading to OZ in september and who knows from there.

Am i a bit to old to be thinking of doing these things???

Off topic i know but i didnt want to start a new thread..

went aged 33.

best thing I ever did.

went aged 33.

best thing I ever did.

Wow thats great.

So many people i know have left Ireland.It seems 70 percent of friends/people i know have gone or are in the process of saving etc and the only ones left are the people with kids/college commitments.

The only thing ive wanted to do in life is travel.I havent had the finacial backing of alot of friends (parents) but ive been saving for 3 years,every thing i could and now i have enough nearly!

Good to know you went and loved it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 CazzaPinky

Don't panic! We're all leaving it later and later to settle down nowadays. I was single for about 5 yrs til I met hubby in oz at 29. He's Irish too. Now 38 and pg with baby no.2 and delighted I lived it up before settling down. Have a ball and if it's meant to be it shall be:-)

deleted by poster

I guess I just want to skip the stupid not-knowing-anything stage and go straight to the complete-comfort-and-trust stage. Which is literally impossible now, hence why I'm giving up.

Maybe it's a female thing.

As a man, I loved the dating thing....all the excitement of meeting up and wondering what's it gonna be like and how the night would go. I never saw is as anything other than fun.

I might get killed for this, but I always could see that Irish girls seemed to be trying to suss you out and looking for a potential partner, rather than just enjoying the night out and the laughs.

That maybe just my experience, but when I met all sorts of other nationalities they didn't seem to do this at all. They just took you as you were and didn't care about jobs, cars, money etc.

Yeah!

I split with my long-term gf in 2008, she bought out our apartment.

With that money I left my job in Dublin, which I quite liked, after four years, went straight to Sydney....travelled around Oz and Nz for months and months. Met dozens of great people, most younger, but many older.

Age didn't make any difference though...if you were good fun, everyone wanted to talk to you. In fact, having money and experience made the whole thing more enjoyable I reckon as I appreciated what it is to have every day to yourself and not have to go to work.

As a nice aside, as well as meeting loads of single, attractive women, I also met the love of my life from UK, where I live now.

We got married last year and had our baby boy three weeks ago.

I could never have predicted anything like that was ever going to happen three years ago. I was sitting in my fancy apartment in north dublin, with my big tv and expensive sofa, fed up and wondering what the hell happened to my life.

Could not be happier now!

There's a big beautiful world out there full of people waiting to meet you. I would never return to live in Ireland now, no matter what happened.

Im so happy to know things turned out in such a way that your happy!

I feel the same way now that you used to,at 25 it night be late but im after realising that living for the weekend is very...well temprimental.

I want to see the world,meet new people and try new things.I know this town will always be here for me and alot of people think its the center of the world but i want to experience life in a different way,whats the worst that could happen?!

Great thread and i apoligise the OP for hi-jacking it ;)

Maybe it's a female thing.

As a man, I loved the dating thing....all the excitement of meeting up and wondering what's it gonna be like and how the night would go. I never saw is as anything other than fun.

I might get killed for this, but I always could see that Irish girls seemed to be trying to suss you out and looking for a potential partner, rather than just enjoying the night out and the laughs.

That maybe just my experience, but when I met all sorts of other nationalities they didn't seem to do this at all. They just took you as you were and didn't care about jobs, cars, money etc.

Nah, think it's just a me thing. Plus I'm not Irish.

I had fun messing around but it's not what I'm looking for - I'm not looking for marriage, a house, or kids either (at least, as of right now that's not in my plan), nor do I put any weight in a person's job, car, or wallet. It's not that kind of thing at all. I just don't perform well in the conventional dating set up. I prefer to get to know people a little more organically, I guess.

Kaneda_ wrote: »
    I want to see the world,meet new people and try new things.I know this town will always be here for me and alot of people think its the center of the world but i want to experience life in a different way,whats the worst that could happen?!

Well then you know what to do!

No time like the present....get yourself to Trailfinders tomorrow and book it.

You will NEVER regret it, I promise you that.

I think that going traveling is the best thing you can do. I know a girl who met her husband when traveling and he is not Irish.
    I traveled a bit when I was younger and It was one of the best things I ever did.
    If I won a few thousand I would do some more traveling now.
    You could have staying in Ireland, lived in the same place with mammy until you married a local man and had 2.5 children like many people do but you had the guts to leave and broaden your mind.
    If you stayed in Ireland there is nothing to say you will met the love of your life so travel is good it broads your mind and outlook.
    At the moment the jobs market is poor so why come back to sign on the dole.

DO IT DO IT DO IT DO IT!!!!!

I can hand on heart say the best thing I have ever done is travel. I started at 16 on and off till now and its just incredible.

You're put in situation you would never have been in, you're interacting with people from places you've only heard about in the movies, you're seeing sights that your minds eye will never forget, you're pushing yourself emotionally further than you probably ever will in your entire life, you're putting yourself out there - and you will not regret it!

Like seenitall said - you have no ties, what have you got to loose? Book a return ticket - if you want, use it.... but i can nearly guarantee you wont.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 16,186 ✭✭✭✭Maple

liah/Tommy Tippee, this isn't a relationship issue thread for you to discuss your own situations, please stop derailing it.

Maple

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭I am a friend

Op has specifically stated that she believes she's best suited to an Irish guy and her best chance of meeting an Irish guy for a long term relationship is in Ireland (can happen while abroad but chances obviously as fewer) and on this basis, her waiting til she is 30+ to come home further reduces the chances of that.

I also experienced an element of discrimination from potential employers when I returned home at 31 due to my travElling in my late 20's and that was only after 2 years. While it's all good and well encouraging the op To experience life, from my experience it's not a walk in the park when you return home at 30+...

IMHO, from an employers perspective, 7 or 8 years travelling the globe unless following a specific career path is indulgent and I do think the op won't find it as easy to get work as her peers who have travelled for 1 or 2 years and who display a more settled lifestyle.

OP, can I ask, are you going to all those destinations you've planned because you really want to, or because it's the done thing? You shouldn't need four years just to recoup losses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭fghijkl

I also experienced an element of discrimination from potential employers when I returned home at 31 due to my travElling in my late 20's and that was only after 2 years. While it's all good and well encouraging the op To experience life, from my experience it's not a walk in the park when you return home at 30+...

IMHO, from an employers perspective, 7 or 8 years travelling the globe unless following a specific career path is indulgent and I do think the op won't find it as easy to get work as her peers who have travelled for 1 or 2 years and who display a more settled lifestyle.

While that may have been the case a few years ago, things are a lot different now, the OP says the industry she's qualified in has been hit hard by the recession, I'm sure most employers would see someone who's done something proactive with their time during a recession, getting a job, traveling, as a much more proactive, motivated individual with a can do attitude and therefore more employable, than someone who spent 3 years stuck in ireland on the dole doing nothing.
    Op has specifically stated that she believes she's best suited to an Irish guy and her best chance of meeting an Irish guy for a long term relationship is in Ireland (can happen while abroad but chances obviously as fewer) and on this basis, her waiting til she is 30+ to come home further reduces the chances of that.

Just because it's her "best chance" it doesn't mean it's a dead cert, she could come back to ireland and never find a man. With all due respect the very notion of coming back home just "to find a man" seems like utter madness to me, being over 30 is not a death sentence. In fact the very notion of giving up anything which makes you happy now and enriches your life now on the possibility that something might happen to make you happy in the future seems like utter foolishness imho.
    Live in the present not the future, you may not even wake up tomorrow.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

supermouse wrote: »
    The main reason I'm not coming home to Ireland before that time is due to the recession - i have a job in NZ, i wont have a job in Ireland. The industry I'm qualified in is one of the worst hit back home, so why go home to join a dole queue.

Your choice makes more sense to me now given that post :)

OP, can I ask, are you going to all those destinations you've planned because you really want to, or because it's the done thing? You shouldn't need four years just to recoup losses.

As i said earlier, i dont need 4 years to recoup my losses... i need 2 years to work in NZ to gain anything like the money i had saved before i left Ireland. NZ isnt cheap, cost of living is high, wages are generally low, so 2 years of solid saving should be enough to leave and continue the rest of my journey (incase you didnt read, 9months South America 1 year Canada)

I've done South America before, but loved it so much that i want to properly explore the region.Canada .. i've been on holiday and travelled a little, and found it amazing. Truthfully, its another year i can do on a WHV that allows me to be employed and hopefully gain further experience in my field.

I agree that coming home over 30 having travelled for 7 solid years isn't amazing looking to most employers - yet in my industry its an important aspect (im a travel consultant!) so it all fits together.
    In the same breath i dont want to be a consultant forever and will probably go back to uni at some stage when i get back home - once i find out what it is i want to do with the rest of my life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

You should'nt worry about a thing.... I know a couple who known each other a fair few months there booth ready and know what they want..... Things are progessing comfortably for booth of them :) and there booth in there umm that number....

Im under the opinion that things like that happen precisely when they mean to! :cool: