Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Quick Fire choose your own death adenture.

• 01-06-2011 5:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭

Characters: DakotaYoda, Mahatma coat, SUNGOD, SmileyPaul, chasethislight, wavehopper1, deise go deo, phill106, Goodoak

Location: Dublin City center pub (the sub lounge: http://www.sublounge.ie/)
    located right in the city center, next to the river liffey and below railway tracks

A cool breeze was blowing through the bar as the hunters meet for their annual discussion on the idea and Zombies. Mahatma is in the middle of a heated discussion with SunGod about the best Vehicle while Dak, Chase and Smiley are at the bar doing shots.
    The last beams of sunlight make the dust in the bar visible in the rays and are floating playfully and peacefully. their is a quite atmosphere with them being the only customers but the conversation is flowing nicely as if the group were old friends.

As the glasses slam hard on the bar deise, phil and good oak call out to the group, as they look in astonishment a man was standing in the beer garden close to the entrance 5 metres behind them.

His pale skin is horribly recognisable to the group. 4 lacerations run down the side of his deathly face, one which has looked to penetrate into his eye socket leaving the surrounding area covered in an already crusty dark gloop. his clothes state allowed the group to see there had been a struggle with some form of attacker, his bloodstained shirt torn at the sleeves and many buttons were missing.

Through the glass doors they could see the mans chest was heaving as if he'd ran a marathon, his mouth curled into a snarl and his remaining eye showed the lust for something. Blood.

before anyone could say a thing the shadow of a man had burst through the door and lunged straight for Chase who had pushed through the group to get a better look. Having trained in martial arts in the past she instinctively through him off and in the direction of mahatma who was caught by surprise and let out a little shriek before composing himself and throwing the man to the ground. Before anyone could move Dakota Had picked up a large oak bar stool and crushed the skull of Chases admirer.

"What the fudge was that?!?!" Cried out Smiley (quite girlishly.... because of astonishment.... he's really manly and cool otherwise)
    "it had to be done" replies Dakota in a quite whisper of a voice. "This happened at home, thats why I came across to Ireland, wanted to keep it under wraps but it looks like it's followed me...." his face is still, his eyes, show no remorse.

"So what now?" Sungod says blankly as he looks on in disbelief and surveys the rest of the bar which contains a single bar man, standing awestruck.

"we get out of here" Phil interjects. "we go west, like the plan. We're too out in the open and it's too late to hold up for a few weeks, and impossible to do so here"

"Whoever can carry the poles of the stools take them, something is better than..." Dak began to say before the bathroom door smashes open.
    The group jumped and looked to the figure now standing in the ope.

"hey........ what did I miss? oh...." says wavehopper sheepishly as if ruining a surprise before a surprise party.

"enough, lets move. Smiley you know the area whats the situation?"

Choices: There is a dublin city tour of the liffey boat approximately 400 metres up stream of the bar which is easily accessible and can carry up to 40 people. you must cross the river first and pass perpendicular to o connell street (busiest street in Dublin)

You can gain access to the railway line above and begin walking it, it goes north south and west.

Stay and attempt to hold up in the sublounge with a smelly corpse, and a urine soaked bartender.

Sorry it's so long I got carried away :P shall we keep it short for the next few rounds? deaths and choices with a bit of conversing?

2 options lead to death
    1 to survival

Roll out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭Goodoak

Ahh! Panic :eek: No, no calm down. Let me see mauled to death by zombies hit by a train or alcolhol poisoning. I choose Train.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

I choose B

You can gain access to the railway line above and begin walking it, it goes north south and west.

Crossing by o'connell street may be full of the undead already. Havent a hope.

Pub doesnt sound defendable, cold breeze flowing through and sunlight showing through means windows and open doors all over the place.

Considering the undead shouldnt be too smart, and are notoriously bad climbers, i think the railline overhead is an excellent idea. If zombies abound, the trains wont be running, so should be safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭wavehopper1

B: get up to the railway line. As it's on a height in some parts of the city centre, it also offers the opportunity to scan the surroundings.

Stop following me (kick, kick):p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 930 ✭✭✭robertpatterson

Youd have to err for B theres hardly gonna be any zeds on the train line

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

A girly shriek :eek:, seriously, :(

Anyway, before I'd choose B I'd need to know if we had to pass through any stations, they will be teeming with people and your escape is very restricted.

I'd pick A, its a specific goal as opposed to Wander along the railway line and hope

Tho C, Get really really pissed first holds a certain amount of appeal :D

Whatever happens, someones goonnnaaa diieeee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,394 ✭✭✭DakotaYoda

B - obvious I'm not from 'round these parts so, for now, I'm following the locals that seem to know where to go.

And THANKS for makin' me the reason the Zombies made it to Ireland. :pac::pac::pac:
    I love it. Good stuff gang!

Characters: DakotaYoda, Mahatma coat, SUNGOD, SmileyPaul, chasethislight, wavehopper1, deise go deo, phill106, Goodoak

Time: 9.30 pm.

While Phil and Mahatma are arguing about the next move, the rest of the group grab the high wooden barstools and break off the legs for makeshift weapons. Deise and Sungod run in behind the bar - Deise crams 14 cans of coke into his backpack, while Sungod's backpack is filled with 40 chocolate bars.

The group exit the bar into the attached train station and head for the tracks. Sungod looks around and shouts "Hey wait, where's Mahatma?" Phil shakes his head sadly "he's going solo. Says if he makes it to the boat, he'll try and fire a flare, let us know we can turn back and go join him". Without further comment, Phil starts walking north along the track. The rest of the group follow silently, but stop abruptly at the sound of a bloodcurdling yell that is unmistakeably Mahatma. Grimly the group move on again and in their haste they quickly approach the next station. "This is one of the main stations in the city" relates SmileyPaul for the benefit of those new to the city. "From here we can switch to the track that goes West. But first we have to make it past the platform for the North-South line.".

The group slow down and scan the platforms as the track brings them into the station building. There is a constant cacophony of beeps and tones from cell phones, and most waiting commuters are talking agitatedly on their phones. Suddenly the volume of noise increases exponentially as people shout simultaneously at their handsets: "What do you mean there's a riot?" "What, did you say that the neigbhours have gone mad?", "Slaughter? Honey, did you say slaughter?"

There is a great surge of movement as many on the platform decide they must return to their families as quickly as possible. "Just as I thought" mutters Dakota. Goodoak shoots him a dark look. As most of the commuters are making for the exits, the group have little trouble making their way to the western line and starting their long journey towards their agreed destination of safety. Once out into the open again, their movement is hampered by the darkness of a cloudy night. They angle their cell phones downwards and watch the ground carefully.

They aren't long down the track when Goodoak moves alongside Dakota and speaks accusatorially. "You and Chase arrive from America out of the blue, but you knew this was coming. You know more than you're saying." Dakota keeps walking but starts to speak. He explains that he'd seen increasing rumours on messageboards of zombie outbreaks occurring in China and Eastern Asia. Then an entire town had been quarantined by an unnamed illness in a remote part of his home state, and he started posting what he knew. "Two homeland security agents arrived at my door and accused me of being part of some terrorist plot. They warned me they'd be watching my movements. I decided it was time to leave for a safer place."

Chase gives her side of the story. "I saw the same stuff, but mostly I was nervous about rumours of a secret U.N. agreement that any city would be carpet bombed to destruction within 24 hours of the first verified sighting of a zombie by an agent from a NATO country." The gulping swallows of her listeners are audible. Deise says calmly - "But we have until morning at least before the British will send MI6 to verify. 24 hours from then is more than enough time to get out of Dublin." Dakota shakes his head. "Unfortunately not, my friend. The zombie in the beer garden? That was one of the agents who interviewed me. If his partner escaped, he'll have phoned in the verification. I spotted them both looking healthy when I was having dinner earlier. That means sometime between 7pm and 9.30 tomorrow this town will be reduced to rubble".

The group has continued walking but, distracted by these revelations and the necessity to watch the ground, they have paid scanty attention to a glow around a bend of the track ahead. Suddenly they find themselves 100 yards from the lights of the back of a stationary train, stopped at least a mile from the next station. They hold their breaths and once again, listen hard. The city is quieter than usual, but amidst sudden distant shrieks and cries there is still a rumble of buses and buzzing of car engines. Relief begins to permeate the group as all human and non-human sounds are at a distance. That relief evaporates when a slow lingering moan seeps into the night from the train.

A. Sungod gestures over the north embankment of the tracks and whispers that he has a childhood friend who has a house a five minute walk away. His friend is working in London and his house is empty. Sungod suggests that the group leave the tracks, head for the empty house, break in and hole up for the night.

B. Deise points out that they can hear buses running but that may not last for long. "We need a safe way of traveling through the night. Lets head for a main road and pile onto a bus. Once the door is shut, we hijack the vehicle. No need to hurt anyone, just grab the driver and keep the passengers in their seats, I'll drive us out of town and on into the west".

C. Phil moves quietly to inspect the fencing that separates the tracks from a thin strip of gravelled land. On the other side of the strip is a high wall that backs the gardens of the town houses. "Zees won't be able to climb over this fence. I travel this line a lot, I know it's like this until the next station, it'll get us past the train".

Hmmm
    A. Sungod gestures over the north embankment of the tracks and whispers that he has a childhood friend who has a house a five minute walk away. His friend is working in London and his house is empty. Sungod suggests that the group leave the tracks, head for the empty house, break in and hole up for the night.

Dont think i like thus one, leaving the tracks and into an area with lots of houses, could be full of zs

B. Deise points out that they can hear buses running but that may not last for long. "We need a safe way of traveling through the night. Lets head for a main road and pile onto a bus. Once the door is shut, we hijack the vehicle. No need to hurt anyone, just grab the driver and keep the passengers in their seats, I'll drive us out of town and on into the west".

Main roads, mean main arteries of travel. Lots of people. Also infected people who try to leave the city who dont drive, how will they try and leave quickly? The bus! No thanks

C. Phil moves quietly to inspect the fencing that separates the tracks from a thin strip of gravelled land. On the other side of the strip is a high wall that backs the gardens of the town houses. "Zees won't be able to climb over this fence. I travel this line a lot, I know it's like this until the next station, it'll get us past the train".

Since apparently this is my idea, Im going with it. The reasoning is sound, just hope I am right!
    I pick C.

RIP Mahatma....spills some booze on the ground for my homeys...

Although C. might seem the safer option we don't know how much time we have till the city is bombed.

I'm going with B. it might seem a bit risky but if we can't wait around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭SmileyPaul

A. while things could be good for a while once reaching the house (and this was going to be my initial choice) I realised we're still in the city center and holing up means we're stuck for 2 weeks, not just 1 night. it's a toss up between this and C

B. Like already said this leads to a large artery of travel within Dublin which wont be good at all! I have other reasons too XD

C. Fudge it! lets roll with C it's gonna be slow going but I think if we can get passed the train through gardens and then get to some building still on the tracks to hole up for a few hours we might be ok, thats what I'm going for

Rockin' w/ C - keep moving and keep to relatively safety if we can. Gotta keep moving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭ChaseThisLight

Just realized that while I can't write at the moment, I can still vote.

I say C as well...stay moving...the other two options have too many unknowns attached to them - Is the house really empty? Is that area safe? If you go for a bus, will the bus have any infected on it? etc, etc.

So yeah, C, stay moving, and use the fence to get past the train.

Time: 10.30 pm.

The group gives a solemn goodbye to goodoak as he whips out his multi trip ticket, heading for the bus. As we scramble over the fence, a distant "Mahatma! I thought you were dead! Those other lose*Argghhhgrooooannnoowwwwwwiieiiieeeuufffucckkkkkerrr*!" is heard as goodoak is found by mahatma at the bus stop. It did not end well...

On the far side of the fence the ground is covered with gravel both up and down the direction we came from, and the direction we are going to. The crunch of our footsteps is usually the only sound, save for the occasional gunshot or truncated scream.
    From the sounds of the shots, it seems most people were going solo, no organised resistance is apparent.

As we past the front of the train, the boundary wall which had been the back of houses changes to that of the rear of a large commercial building with a emergency exit backing out onto us. It looks like it could be a shopping centre.

The way ahead towards the next station continues as before.

To the left through the fence, you can see are now well past the train. On our side of the fence there is approximately a dozen railway sleepers for the railway to repair lines.

Do you

A) Investigate the large building to the right

B) Continue to the next station along the same graveled area

C) Climb back over the fence and walk along the tracks

Moan......

Hmm.... I'm unfamiliar with the area. I'd guess if others want to go into the shopping center I will follow but my preference is to keep moving to the next station, as long as we aren't heading further into town.

So, for now, I will vote B.

C. Back onto the tracks and head for the station. It's dark at 10.30, so the feel of the tracks will keep you moving along. Don't like walking along the verges, over sleepers and gravel and god knows what. If the group needs to break out into a run, at least you know whats under your feet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭Dissenter

Isn't the idea that something actually happens in each chapter to progress the story?

Sorry, if that sounds overly critical and ungrateful, but it's true. Sorry Phil :)

Dissenter wrote: »
    Isn't the idea that something actually happens in each chapter to progress the story?

Sorry, if that sounds overly critical and ungrateful, but it's true. Sorry Phil :)

He gave us our choices, so we can choose what happens.

Sorry, if that sounds overly critical and ungrateful. Sorry Dis :)

C Continue back over the tracks, if we hit any trouble we can get back over to the gravelled area. the next station is going to be almost completely empty or at least should be because of the time and it may be a good place to find a bit of shelter :)

I forgot to vote. :o

I'm going to go with C as well...what SmileyPaul said makes sense...getting back to the graveled area is easy, and we're going to need shelter - staying out in the open for too long won't be good.

RaaaaaaaaWrrrrrr

Me and goodoak are now Following ye ;)

Stay out in the open, we cant move that fast :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭badgerhowlin

God lads you must be all dead. spending a week on the side of the railway tracks. :D

Walking back along the tracks was the safe option. I'll try make the choices here a little mor difficult ;)

DakotaYoda, Mahatma coat, SUNGOD, SmileyPaul, chasethislight, wavehopper1, deise go deo, phill106, Goodoak

“Well I guess all those months on the zombie boards has made us a bunch of very cautious feckers.” Wavehopper1 remarks as you all make your way along the tracks.
    “Maybe we should pick up the pace a…” SUNGOD stops in mid sentence as ahead on the tracks you can all see a military roadblock (or track block) has been set up.

The question runs trough all your minds at the same time. “Are they here to help or contain the outbreak?”

It looks like they are still in the midst of setting up and haven’t spotted you yet.

O.K. hot shots what do you do:cool:

A) Approach the barricade hands raised saying we are not zombies don’t shoot.
    B) Head back to the mall you’re bound to find vehicles in the car park or supplies you can loot from the shops there that can help you escape the city.
    C) Go back through the fence and try and sneak around

ill go for a, hopefully they will recognise we arent zombies though!

ps i think im going to die :P

I'm gonna go for C!
    in the midst of them setting up we should be able to get through quite easily, I wouldn't trust approaching anyone really

and the mall is an epic no go

by the time the daylight comes the military will be well set up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭OutsiderAkuma

If someone wants to write me into the next phase of this story, by all means :D

Edit: oh and C, b is a no go for sure, and a, I just wouldn't walk up, that's way to risky

C. Approaching them would be risky - there's always the chance one of them might be scared/trigger happy; and as far as the mall goes, seen that movie, don't want to live it. ;)

I'll vote C!
    Get back and find another way around before they start firing on what they think are zombies. :D

C for me. Don't trust "the man"...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭Rick Deckard

just waiting on Deise and Sunny.

as im away with work, and bored in the evenings, my contribution is a little longer than the regular chapter.

just waiting on Deise and Sunny.
    how long will i give them before going with the majority?

As this is supposed to be qickfire perhaps we should make it vote or die. Hesitation costs lives people :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭BigDuffman

This reminds me of the "choose your adventure" books of old! Ah Nostalgia.

I'm not sure Deise is on as much for the summer: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=72604828&postcount=349
    Goodoak wrote: »
    As this is supposed to be qickfire perhaps we should make it vote or die. Hesitation costs lives people :p

I agree...vote or die, so we don't get held up waiting.

Good god, has the letter V been missing from adventure in the title of this thread the whole time?

phill106 wrote: »
    Good god, has the letter V been missing from adventure in the title of this thread the whole time?

Don't worry, quick fix for that - we'll introduce an evil dentist that's out to replace the rotting zombies teeth with dentures so they can continue feasting on our flesh.

Goodoak wrote: »
    we should make it vote or die. Hesitation costs lives people :p
    vote or die, so we don't get held up waiting.
    ye are a hard bunch.. can't do that to SUNGOD.

We'll say a reprieve to 8 this evening.

Until then Sunny, choose wisely. For whom shall the bell toll?

3rd Star Private Cathal Daly clambered out of his bunk, trying to block out the squeal of the sirens, wondering how life had brought him to this; a 27 yr old, being woken up in the middle of the night by this lick arse standing in the doorway, “Roll call and briefing 10 minutes in the mess” came the bark from the Corporal.
    “Fúck off” Daly muttered under his breath. But beneath his bravado, he loved the Army.
    He was thrown out of every school he ever attended, mostly for fighting, sometimes for just not turning up, so his father wasn’t surprised when the Garda Community Officer recommended the army. Cathal signed up on his 18th birthday, and never looked back.
    He was still jetlagged after his flight from his tour of duty in the Lebanon. The rest of the unit had taken the leave they were all entitled to but not him, he had nothing to go back to.
    Taking a chair near the back of the mess, he could hear the others asking each other if they knew what was going on.
    Idiots, it’s 5 in the morning, whatever is happening is breaking now. He wouldn’t get any info from the gossips, so he waited for the brief to start.
    “Ok lads, settle down.” ordered the Commandant. “We don’t have much time, so I’m not going to explain everything. I’ll leave that to your Captains. Late last night, we started getting requests from Gardaí stations in Dublin for assisstance. As of 10 mins ago, we have received 18 individual requests for assistance in everything, ranging from general public disorder to Gardaí going missing. We are in contact with Garda HQ in the park, and according to them this seems localised to the city. Reports of trouble were initially confined to the docklands, but have since spread. We’re sending in units, both static and mobile. And, yes, we’re going in hot.”
    The audible gasp around the room echoed Cathal's own surprise at the Commandants last words. An army presence on the street yes, but deadly force if required? This was something big..........
    Daly’s unit sped along the North Circular Road, barely slowing for red lights. It was a sign of the magnitude of the rollout when the captain had told Daly he was getting his own unit. A 3rd Star Private in charge of five privates curtailing movement on the Connolly to Sligo track.
    “Rioting in the streets, and we get assigned to a ****ing train track!!! Bollox!” protested Daly. But his complaints fell on deaf ears.

All that was hours ago. Nothing had come either way since the 15.47 to Sligo.

Until now.

Daly took cover as he hushed the others in his small unit. “There’s a group down there at the bend, looks like they’re splitting up, three of them are coming this way. The others are slipping through the fence”
    “Do you want me to circle round and get the others?” asked one of the grunts.
    “If I did, I would have told you as much, now quiet. Safety’s off lads”
    But before Daly could stop him, the private had dashed off and around the wall in pursuit of the group.
    “Fool. Too eager for a bit of action. I can’t leave the lads to go after him , with these guys coming straight at us” Thoughts were hoping around Daly’s head as another privates finger pulled and three shots later, the approaching group fell.
    As Daly spun round, he could only watch the one of them fall to his knees, hands still raised in surrender. The sight of the blood pouring from his forehead and the tears pouring from his eyes would haunt Daly for many years. The other two were lying face down on the tracks.
    200yds away Dakota paused momentarily, half thinking of going back to help, but he knew it was no use. “The army obviously have a shoot on sight policy; better not take any more chances with the Gardaí, army or anyone else for that matter.”
    There was a dumb founded silence as the small band tried to come to terms with the last copule of hours, a bullet ricocheting off the lane wall broke their silence and a bone in Hoppers right foot.
    Everyone else instinctively started to run. But seeing Hopper struggling, Smiles and Chase went back and scooped him under the shoulders.
    Dakota was already on point, checking out the next alley; “Looks clear, c’mon! Keep moving!”
    They all filed past, Dakota eyeing the surroundings. “From the way he takes cover, our shooter seems to be operating alone.”

Dakota motioned the rapidly dwindling group to hide behind a wheely bin, for a quick sit rep;
    “Lads, if we don’t change our tack, we’ll be z food in no time. That shooter is following us;

A: “If we wait at the corner, one of us can grab the barrel of his gun, and two others can tackle him.”
    B: “This lane is full of sheds and garages, he can’t check them all! We hideout and wait till he moves on.”
    C: “These lanes are like a rabbits’ warren, if we keep moving, we’ll loose him”

Nice writing.. er I mean moan shuffle.

the barrel of the rifle will be fairly hot if he's just fired it

I recomend ye hide in one of the sheds, Maybe one wth a rear door ye havent noticed, the rest of us have an advantage now as we can Smell wavehoppers Fresh Wound
    Raaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaawrrrrrrrrrr

nice man, difficult decisions...... I'm gonna go for A though, completely possible the only thing is the guy is gonna turn around the corner quickly and probably burst off a shot so we could maybe have hopper as a distraction at the end of the lane just before the other 3 react?

EDIT: The barrell wont between the time it will take him to get off his shot and then approach, hopefully he'll run around the corner stupidly because he's all gun hoe :P

Great post Mr Deckard.

I'll vote C - when in doubt: keep moving. A is tempting but I'd opt to keep moving for now.

We're now being hunted by the living and the dead but so much more is the fun!

NOTE: On vaca until next Wednesday and I have no idea if I'll have any net access at all. If in doubt please skip and I will pick up on Wednesday at the latest. Thanks!!

For me C is tempting, and feels safest - if we didn't have an injured person with us. So I'm going with A - we need to immobilize the threat, and maybe even get ourselves a weapon out of it.

Who do i send the outcomes to?

1. DakotaYoda
    2. Mahatma coat
    3. SUNGOD
    4. SmileyPaul
    5. chasethislight
    6. wavehopper1
    7. deise go deo
    8. phill106
    9. Goodoak
    10. peatcass

You may have to skip to Mahatama coat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

is this any good?

who's still in it?

are the dead writing? I'm not sure :P

Jester252 wrote: »
    is this any good?

Yes, yes it is. :)
    SmileyPaul wrote: »
    who's still in it?

are the dead writing? I'm not sure :P

Well, Goodoak just wrote recently, and he's dead (literate zombies?! :eek:). So, maybe the dead do write.

Dakota just went on vacation, so according to the list, Mahatma would be next.

I'm still in, and I can write when my time comes, as things have settled for me quite a bit.

Oh, and just 'cause I'm confused: who's dead and who's alive as of Rick's post?

DakotaYoda, Mahatma coat, SUNGOD, SmileyPaul, chasethislight, wavehopper1, deise go deo, phill106, Goodoak

4 students remaining