Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Taxi sickness

• 29-05-2011 9:08am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭

Ever get sick in a taxi?,had few close calls,never have to cough up €150 yet..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Have had to ask him to pull in a couple of times. Never had to cough up either though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

I puked all over a pretty filthy mini-cab in Slough once. Might have been the trigger to him cleaning it, so I think I did him a favour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

Only time I'm sick in a taxi is when I'm robbed charged by the driver!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Some auld one pissed in my Dad's taxi then tried to claim that it was already there when she sat down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭jimpump

just leg it if ya do puke

jimpump wrote: »
    just leg it if ya do puke
    classy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Fremen

Ever get sick in a taxi?

No, but I've shat myself on a hovercraft.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

No, because I'm no longer a stupid 16 year old who drinks more than he's able to handle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭jimpump

phasers wrote: »
    classy.

ah sure i know i am :D no need pointing it out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,407 ✭✭✭Dartz

No, because I'm no longer a stupid 16 year old who drinks more than he's able to handle.

Was actually badly food poisoned the last time I got sick in a taxi.... in fairness I probably should've called up for an ambulance but I didn't think I needed one since I could walk to the main road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 644 ✭✭✭wolf moon

yep, 120€ i paid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Some of those bastards drive fast, just so they make you throw up.

The ramps don't help mind you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

yep, only a little bit and it was all over myself

driver kicked me out and I didn't pay anything, and it was a 5 minute walk to my house = result!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,169 ✭✭✭ironictoaster

Never in the taxi but had to tell the driver to pull over once.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭seanbmc

Just recently had a close call. On the same night it happened in two taxis. At the first one, we were sitting at the lights and I just had to open the door and puke on the side of the road. The driver went absolutely mad at me, but I argued that it's better on the road than on your fúcking seats!

Then I hopped in another taxi and just before I got home I had to ask him to pull over and I puked out the door again. :pac:. Another close call. He was grand about it and made sure I was alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Seloth

I was about to say not since I was a kid but then I remembered....

First night back in second semester of college...The Club near by was full so had to get a taxi into town which I randomly got with this group of girls.Taxi pulls up in town...Straight out I land ,sitting down on the ground...either side I bring my guts up.

Head over to the que to the random girls.After 40 seconds I'm like..."Yeah I need to get back".Luckily one of the girls gets the taxi back with me(They live in the same Student acom I found out) as she needs to "Pee".Soon as the taxi pulls into the Student accom place I fall out get sick.

Walk up to my place as she wants to "see my room".Open the door,I point in the general direction and say the doors open.Walk into the jacks puke my gut up.

Head down to my room and try and shift her

....After getting sick on at least 3 occasions that night infront of her she politely refused.

The next day I'm informed of how later that night my house mates come down to find me wrapped in a blanket against the corner of the wall on my bed shivering,saying I appreciate their visit but to make an appointment and come visit on a later date.

And thats the tale of when I nearly got sick in a taxi last...

70cl's ey :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭Nemanja91

I did once but I was lucky the driver was sound and he gave me a plastic bag as soon as I got into the taxi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭Ronin247

About 1986, friend and a few other students on an end of term bash in Limerick got a taxi out to the digs.The driver let 6 of them pile in and the lad directly behind the driver who was sitting on someones knees puked straight down the back of the drivers neck.....£25 was the price of the clean up them days and he paid up.Still makes me laugh thinking of it.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 27,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

There should be sick bags in taxis, especially for the drivers doing the late shifts around city centres with clubs/pubs closing. It can't come as a shock to them that they get passengers who are pissed drunk, can it??
    (Not that I'm saying it's pleasant to have someone puking all over your car either...)

Posy wrote: »
    There should be sick bags in taxis, especially for the drivers doing the late shifts around city centres with clubs/pubs closing. It can't come as a shock to them that they get passengers who are pissed drunk, can it??
    (Not that I'm saying it's pleasant to have someone puking all over your car either...)
    The type of person who can't even manage to ask the driver to pull over is probably too drunk to handle a sick bag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭smk89

Was with someone who threw up down her sleeve in a taxi. You stay classy Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,804 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

Some of those bastards drive fast, just so they make you throw up.

The ramps don't help mind you

Ok put it this way, If I gave you €140 right now in exchange for me puking/p!ssing/sh!tting on the upholstery of your car. Would ya?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Berns

Think over in Ayia Napa mate had a bit much so we gotta taxi back. Got charged a few Euro/Cypriot Pounds whatever at the time fo a sick bag :o Don't think he ended up sick though, got it all out before got in the taxi, but was a bit shocked at chargin for plastic bag :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Karona

Never got sick in a taxi but my cousin spilt some of her red bull in a taxi heading out one night, taxi driver didnt notice then, but about 2 hours later we get a phone call demanding we pay 150 for spilt red bull. She told him to go and s***e and that someone else could have done it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Tubsandtiles

I never got sick in a taxi but I had a friend get sick multiple times beside me for about a half an hour without the taxi driver knowing, the next day I got a call from a friend saying I was being blamed for wrecking the taxi in sick :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

Karona wrote: »
    Never got sick in a taxi but my cousin spilt some of her red bull in a taxi heading out one night, taxi driver didnt notice then, but about 2 hours later we get a phone call demanding we pay 150 for spilt red bull. She told him to go and s***e and that someone else could have done it.
    How did he get your number?

I know a guy who got sick into his jumper and cradled it in the jumper all the way home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Posy wrote: »

Agreed, it must be a pain when the driver can't get clearance from ATC to pull over for a sick passenger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Yep, from the backseat I managed to plaster the radio and dashboard after going over a humpback bridge.
    It was my mates aul man as well so he couldn't give me the charge :D
    He hates me now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,649 ✭✭✭✭The Princess Bride

Mortification.
    A long long time ago, had far too many pints of carlsberg(probably not a good idea).
    Got taxi with then BF(now hubby) and he & taxidriver were discussing people who drank too much and puked in taxis- this conversation was not doing anything for my tummy, and I felt myself retch.
    That driver hit the brakes faster than anything,luckily I had red scarf which acted as bucket. BF pleaded with him to drive us home.....as we were stuck in middle of nowhere.There were no fines back then,just a lot of swearing.
    (wonderful BF washed my clothes afterwards, put cream jumper and red scarf in same wash.........but then,if he witnesses you puking and still wants you,that's love:))

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Seloth

msthe80s wrote: »
    red scarf in same wash.........but then,if he witnesses you puking and still wants you,that's love:

Or the shift :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭yosemite_sam

You are joking, all part of the game they should have some sort of insurance if they are carrying paying customers

Degag wrote: »
    How did he get your number?

I know a guy who got sick into his jumper and cradled it in the jumper all the way home.

The place where she rang kept the numbers incase they needed to call back to ask where the house was etc.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Fulton Crown

In fairness taxi drivers have to put up with a lot of sh1t from drunken customers.

That said some of them can be right bashterds too.

I had imbibed far too heavily one night in city centre and hailed a taxi for home.

Guy was a fat obnoxious cnunt, who kept riling me from the minute I got into his cab.

Had one of those cabs with the perspex sheet between passanger and driver so he could not see to much of the back seat.

Kept going on and on about foreign taxi drivers ,price of fuel yada yada yada.

Iwas well pissed so I eased down the kekks in the back seat as soon as i I got close to destination.

Told driver to let me off a few streets short of my apartment and paid him.

No tip.

"Thanks for your generosoity" was his sour rejoinder as i exited the taxi.

"Don't mention it pal" I said

I laughed to myself as i pictured his face when he discovered the quart of sour Guinness p1ss I has seeped into his back seat.!

Majic !:D

In fairness taxi drivers have to put up with a lot of sh1t from drunken customers.

I had imbibed far too heavily one night in city centre and hailed a taxi for home.

Guy was a fat obnoxious cnunt, who kept riling me from the minute I got into his cab.

Had one of those cabs with the perspex sheet between passanger and driver so he could not see to much of the back seat.

Iwas well pissed so I eased down the kekks in the back seat as soon as i I got close to destination.

No tip.

I laughed to myself as i pictured his face when he discovered the quart of sour Guinness p1ss I has seeped into his back seat.!

He probably thinks you're an obnoxious cnunt too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭brokenhinge

Nearly did once when everyone pushed me and everyone out of the taxi-a two minute walk from home. After puking my intestines up I spent the two minute walk home whining as to why we got off so early.

I was not a popular boy the next day.

A filty old taxi driver tried to get with me one night in his cab the dirty b*****d.

Was horrified and quickly escaped.:eek:

Gives me shivers even thinking about it.

Eh ?:confused:

Less of the personals pal ,,if you don't mind....:mad:

Considering you pissed in another mans car, his livlihood, it would be safe to assume that would be the least he thought of you. Buddy.

No tip.

You're disgusting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

No tip.

Seriously squire, could you not have just baked/kept it on a low simmer until you baled and found a public or private convenience. Not a huge fan of the type of driver you describe but he sure as hell did not deserve that. Not funny. Not magical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

Haven't puked in a taxi yet. I do believe this is why women carry handbags with them on a night out, I know a few who use them as a makeshift sick bag. Not fun fishing out those keys to unlock the front door.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭HavingCrack

Closest I came to throwing up I hadn't actually been drinking and it was the middle of the day on my way to the train station. I'd eaten a dodgy fish and chips from a certain chipper in Bray and felt like ****e. When the taxi stopped at a red light I felt the puke coming so just threw open the door and jumped out :eek:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

I told him I needed some air, I proceeded to roll down the window and spray puke out the window for the next 3-4 minutes, he didn't say anything but I insisted on poking my head back in a couple of times to assure him I was fine. When we arrived I was right as rain, although I did look at the back of his car when he was leaving, the blasted wind had blown the chunks all over the back door!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

How does that fine work? Do they take you to the garda station or do they send you a bill or what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

How does that fine work? Do they take you to the garda station or do they send you a bill or what?

heard its on the spot if you have it,garda station if dont,looked up uk rates,its £40 :confused:

http://www.tfl.gov.uk/gettingaround/taxisandminicabs/taxis/taxifares/1142.aspx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

No tip.

I'm not going to say that you are the lowest of the low..... but that's low.

padd b1975 wrote: »
    Seriously squire, could you not have just baked/kept it on a low simmer until you baled and found a public or private convenience. Not a huge fan of the type of driver you describe but he sure as hell did not deserve that. Not funny. Not magical.

No !

Cnunt continually annoyed The Crown...deliberately !

He was lucky he did not get the chump of floury sh1te I had "on simmer" as you say.

Was sorely tempted.........was sorely tempted Buddy....:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

No !

Cnunt continually annoyed The Crown...deliberately !

He was lucky he did not get the chump of floury sh1te I had "on simmer" as you say.

Was sorely tempted.........was sorely tempted Buddy....:mad:

Who's this dude?

The Flutt's alter ego!?!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

No tip.

Fulton only thinks the taxi driver is a Kuhnt, whereas from his own confession Fulton is one :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

Yes, once. All I can remember is the cabbie complaining that he wouldnt be able to work again that night and me giving him more and more 20's...

Embarrassing as hell, even when pissed drunk.